YTL Wimax launched?

iipohbee
post Oct 31 2010, 03:31 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(pcbase @ Oct 31 2010, 02:15 PM)
maxis have unlimited package rm99/month. Please read maxis wireless bb thread.

YTL ? Where is beta tester ? They canot just open service for everyone nationwide on 18 November 2010 without testing. Better wait and see.

I think they are conducting trials with TARC students at the Kampar campus.

Very likely YTL will start big at Ipoh area since YTL Power has lots of investments in Perak such as their power generation plant at Segari and the world award winning Pangkor Laut Resort all located here.

It's good to wake TM up because there're still companies who are willing to cover Ipoh and its surrounding suburbs when TM is for some reason avoiding investments in Ipoh due to its large population mainly which consists of ethnic Chinese.

There are many other isps which see the potential here such as Jaring, Umobile and DiGi.

iipohbee
post Nov 5 2010, 12:57 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Nov 5 2010, 08:55 AM)
dont know bout you guys after P1 make a mess I dont think I ever wanna get Wimax again...
You sure about your comments?
My 4mbps Streamyx is even less reliable than all the mobile HSDPA providers.

I have to resort to Umobile to surf properly at night when I get back from work. Notice I only mentioned "surf".It's that bad that you can't even load sites properly even with a 4mbps line.
iipohbee
post Nov 5 2010, 03:23 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Nov 5 2010, 03:13 PM)
Agree, Streamyx quality is bad. Don't use it anymore. What is your 4Mbps price per month?

And one cannot generalise Wireless broadband because there are all sorts or services from all sorts of companies, 3G, 3.5G, HSPA, HSPDA, GPRS, 2G, yada yada, and now supposed "4G / WiMax" and HSPA+...

And atrocious claims - e.g. UMobile has 42Mbps HSPA+ but only predicts average speeds of 3-10Mbps.
Even at half or a quarter of 42mbps is still impressive.
That's an average of 10mbps..

Anything faster than Streamyx 4mbps will sure enough to give TM a run for its money.
Believe a not?

If Jaring comes out with 3mbps ADSL, P1 returns with the early 10mbps Wiggy plan with more consistency or Umobile starts the 42mbps HSPA+ MIMO plan with similar prices, people will start abandoning their 4mbps Streamyx.

Even better if they include call plans/voice.

Consumers will have more options in fixed lines and start to "potong".

It's time we start to get "data only lines" into our homes.
All calls, video, and internet routed through the same "dry" line.Conventional POTs is obsolete.

iipohbee
post Nov 8 2010, 07:28 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Nov 8 2010, 07:13 PM)
I'm guessing that YES will charge for data by volume, phone calls by time (different mobile and fixed line charges) and SMS by message.

You all do realise that YES stands to make money terminating calls to your YES 018 numbers too (paid by originating telcos) ?

Also maybe free or one time per call charge between YES subscribers.
Do remember that a real 4G network is completely IP based meaning everything travels with data.

Observing how modern day SIP based voip providers operate, on-net calls can be totally unlimited with just a small monthly fixed fee.
Off-net calls can also be unlimited to fixed/mobile networks if pricing structure is right at RM150-200.
When a network is totally IP-based even an overseas call can be FREE

Just like how you make a Skype call from Malaysia to a friend who might be in the Himalayas who happen to have a good internet connection as well.
Since both uses the same soft app, Skype, your calls will be FREE.

The internet has no boundaries.It'll only get better with speed.

But then we are still operating the per-minute calls over here with our ageing networks.
iipohbee
post Nov 17 2010, 08:31 PM

603 posts

The dangerous thing is the password. If it falls into wrong hands, many people will go bankrupt.

They better put a monthly maximum cap of RM250 to their bills or else if your password gets stolen, you're going to pay thousands for your negligence.
iipohbee
post Nov 18 2010, 08:11 PM

603 posts

For those wishing to get a touch screen phone, there's HTC 4G Max,But that phone is also dated.

Added on November 18, 2010, 8:14 pm
QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Nov 18 2010, 08:08 PM)
I think it is not a bad deal.

Maxis and Digi charges users 10 sen for 10kb.

YES only charges 9 sen for 3000kb.

The only concern now is that is there any billing limit or not.
But you can't apply that pricing to internet surfers using the desktop.
That kind of pay as you use pricing scheme was meant for those who surf WAP sites on their GPRS phones.

To apply this with a 10mbps line is insane!
Each gigabyte will cost you RM30. Compared to 3GB plans of other mobile isps it's way overpriced.

For comparison, a multimedia rich site which uses flash mostly requires like 2mb to load.
How large a HD Youtube video is? It's around 100mb

This post has been edited by iipohbee: Nov 18 2010, 08:19 PM
iipohbee
post Nov 18 2010, 08:20 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Nov 18 2010, 08:18 PM)
Yeah. Users will went crazy if like that.

However, if there is any upper billing limit, some people might consider about that.
Loading just a few favourite Youtube videos will cost you quite an amount!
iipohbee
post Nov 19 2010, 03:15 PM

603 posts

The only good reason to have Yes for me is just to make calls, use it for voip and boast how fast my connection in Malaysia is at a speedtest site.

It's only good for voice calls, internet messaging and casual browsing occasionally.

RM30 for a GB is way overpriced for downloading. You wouldn't even want to download a Linux DVD image because it'll cost you close to RM100 for each attempt.
iipohbee
post Nov 19 2010, 07:14 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(ks98 @ Nov 19 2010, 07:12 PM)
from what i see, a lot of ppl put a very high expectation on YES... this shows how desperate we are as broadband subscriber in this country...

Whenever we see a new comer of ISP in this country, everyone will put a high expectation... same thing happen when Digi launched its BB on May 2009 last year.

I don't know if this is ISP or users problem or someone else problem...
The only good thing about it is just the voice calls.
Might want to use it to replace my TM HomeLine if they can come out with a VOIP adapter or some sort so I can plug in my regular phone.
I can't be turning on my soft phone on my computer all the time.
iipohbee
post Nov 19 2010, 11:03 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(greatgreedyguts @ Nov 19 2010, 11:01 PM)
then melaka still suck as before, every time a new provider comes, they never come to melaka, see p1 so long alrdy melaka oso dont have
Malacca is mostly dominated by TM.
Majority are Malays living there.
iipohbee
post Nov 20 2010, 09:06 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(rasyeed @ Nov 20 2010, 06:42 AM)
Malays do not deserve good service for P1.. hmm interesting
I'm not saying that Malays do not deserve P1. It's just that Malaysia seems to have the polarization across so many industries.
Just like Telekom is so reluctant to expand here in Ipoh.

You could definitely notice that many of the Celcom subscribers are mostly Malays, most that I know off while the Indians choose Maxis hence Chinese favour DiGi.

I don't know how to explain but it's important for companies in Malaysia to target a certain market or else it'll not work.

Take for example if you market DeTV to areas which consists of majority Malays, it won't sell or you organize Jom Heboh, the Chinese community won't attend.You can see the crowd yourself who they mainly are.
iipohbee
post Dec 4 2010, 11:23 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Dec 4 2010, 11:15 PM)
I did not even hesitate to log in after i found out their rate and hardware requirement sucks. Let's see if they have balls to chase us for the RM50 or not.
Me too. I pre-registered last time. But didn't have the time to make my way to their Yes flagship store to confirm my registration.

They can't force it down people's throat like that.
iipohbee
post Dec 5 2010, 09:05 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Dec 5 2010, 12:56 PM)
I see. Thanks for replying, guys.
I've already paid up online.

Now no more payment due.

Getting the Huddle in next few days time.
iipohbee
post Dec 19 2010, 12:02 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Dec 18 2010, 11:58 PM)
Just wanna ask, we need to maintain how much for each month? I remember is RM30, but I got a email from Yes saying this:
Simply pay a one-time RM50 activation fee to continue the service and a RM10 minimum reload to enjoy our service.

???
Need to maintain a commitment of RM30 every month.So regardless of use or not that RM30 sure will be used up even if you use less.

System will automatically deduct -RM30 at the start of each month. So if you have a prepaid credit of RM1200 every month deduct -RM30 lor.
That equals 40 months of validity if you only use less than 1GB per month.
iipohbee
post Dec 26 2010, 02:12 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(plateau @ Dec 25 2010, 11:58 PM)
Getting yes is like driving ferrari on an empty highway at 50kmh. Whats the use of getting good dl speeds if u can't download alot cause scared of high bill...
This is to avoid abuse..
You cannot treat it as your fixed line broadband because it's meant for convenience.
It's meant to be taken as Mobile Internet access.

Those who opt for cheaper broadband access takes the risk of having bumpy speeds it's shared.
iipohbee
post Jan 1 2011, 01:17 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Dec 31 2010, 10:45 PM)
I found out that I can link cabled to the Huddle and disable WiFi. This effectively secures the connection; however, you are right ... since YTL Yes is PAYU I also constantly worry that someone compromises my ID/password and eats up my credits.
Not to worry just make sure that your account has sufficient credits inside and not in excess will ensure that you won't be compromised.
RM100 is more than enough inside.

There's some concern about the RM1199 Free Huddle plan though which gives you a free Huddle with RM1200 credit.
If someone gets hold of your password say bye bye to your 40 months of RM30 1GB pre-payment.

So make sure your account has just enough.If your password is stolen, you'll know right away that someone has been using your line even when you didn't touch the account.
iipohbee
post Jan 1 2011, 05:40 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Jan 1 2011, 03:13 PM)
@iipohbee

Does the huddle allows the user to set which device can connects based on their MAC address?
I thought i read in somewhere this thread that the YTL is the first prepaid system with negative balance?

I forgot which page already, but i think it is somewhere in this thread.
Based on the system,I am not comfortable in using their service as I prefer the bill worry free subscription.
Nope and not recommended as well. With a personal mifi device, you're better off setting WPA2 and a strong password.

Also the negative balance only happened when they gave the complimentary 10GB last month.

Now no more, you won't get the negative balance and internet access will cut off once hits RM0.
A minimum of RM30 will be deducted every month or else if it doesn't find that amount , you'll get a negative in this case.

That's why don't top up too much in your account. Those who subscribed to the prepaid RM1200 with Free Huddle plan have to be very careful or else you'll be paying RM50 for the next 24months while still having to top up a minimum of RM30 for the next 2 years to keep your account alive.
iipohbee
post Jan 1 2011, 06:01 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(karheng @ Jan 1 2011, 05:49 PM)
as i know free huddle plan RM50 x 24 months, no need to top up minimum RM30 every month. I have asked this question at their facebook.
It's mean the credit will last for 24 months or when you finish, see which 1 go first.
The system deducts RM30 minimum every month regardless if you use or not from the balance. More is ok.

When you buy the RM1200 plan, RM1200 will be pre-credited into your account. They never say it'll last you for the next 24months.
What if you use it heavily like RM200 for the first 6 months all the amount will be used up already...requiring for further top up to keep your account active.

An example:
Say the 1st month - you use up all the RM1200 because someone stole your account's access.
Your balance will be RM0

Second month when time comes for another minimum RM30 deduction. Where will you get the credit to offset the amount?
-RM30?

I don't get it because I did not subscribe to that plan due to the risks involved. If you pay RM50 every month meaning will that amount only be credited into your account while when you swipe your CC for easy payment, Yes sells you the Huddle for the full price?

This post has been edited by iipohbee: Jan 1 2011, 06:07 PM
iipohbee
post Jan 1 2011, 06:32 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(karheng @ Jan 1 2011, 06:14 PM)
yeah, that what i mentioned just now, see which 1 go first, so if you use RM1200 credit for first month. No more credit for balance 23 months.
But i think you no need to top up for next month, because the plan is active for 24 months. Your account is active, only thing is no credit.
RM50 is bill to your credit card every month, but actually RM1200 already paid by bank to YTL.
If the RM1200 is paid in advanced, and you lost all of it in just the 1st month then that's really not worth it.
Dust bitten and got nothing...
iipohbee
post Jan 2 2011, 02:12 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Jan 2 2011, 12:22 PM)
Hi BigMan123,

How many "bar" reception do you get?

For me if I get 4 bar I can get

but if I get 3 bar I can only get 5Mbps or worse.....

Seems YTL Yes is very sensitive to signal quality.....
That is true. A 2 bar signal only would not get you anything more than 3mbps.

When I place my Huddle behind walls inside my bedroom, it'll only get 2 bars at most. Speedtest will not exceed 3mbps.

0.0340sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:08 PM