AMD Radeon™ Discussion V4, Cut Cut Cut!~ Go Red !
Jet23sky
Nov 1 2010, 09:15 AM
Seriously what for do those people who own 5800 graphic card butthurt? I mean..... we get graphic card is to play games mostly ( I guess ). No point just to get graphic card again for the sake of chasing technology. If 4000 and 5000 series can play almost all ( except few with "ultra" high ) of the game, then 6000 would be some way like, even better only. Unless you are benchmark freak who just want to compare benchmark points. I don't think they will kill 5800 so straight forward, it just that the 5800 price would drop dramatically. But those 5800 users should have known there would be one day that the price would drop. But we never expect the price would be hanging on for almost 1 year without even dropping. Thats wat we are proud for those 1 year Heard that 6900 series is a power killing graphic card, consumption is not green anymore. But would gladly see how can the ATI can tune the 6900 to wat limit.
8tvt
Nov 1 2010, 09:24 AM
QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Nov 1 2010, 09:15 AM) Heard that 6900 series is a power killing graphic card, consumption is not green anymore. But would gladly see how can the ATI can tune the 6900 to wat limit.  if the performance is doubled.. expecting all also doubled.. if like 5970 performance.. too powerful la..
sai86
Nov 1 2010, 09:45 AM
QUOTE(8tvt @ Nov 1 2010, 09:24 AM) if the performance is doubled.. expecting all also doubled.. if like 5970 performance.. too powerful la..  if 6970 performance is like 5970, its too Godlike dy  , and the 6990 will be Beyond Godlike? really cant wait to know wat is the performance of 69xx since 6870 already past 5850 and behind 5870
Clem1982
Nov 1 2010, 09:48 AM
QUOTE(sai86 @ Nov 1 2010, 09:45 AM) if 6970 performance is like 5970, its too Godlike dy  , and the 6990 will be Beyond Godlike? really cant wait to know wat is the performance of 69xx since 6870 already past 5850 and behind 5870  True.. 69xx is the real replacement for the 58xx so we'll probably see a decrease in the 5870 as what happened to the 5850
leyley
Nov 1 2010, 12:14 PM
For me, 58xx series is more than enough. The 69xx launching is just to push down the 58xx pricing which is good for buyers
law1777
Nov 1 2010, 12:40 PM
QUOTE(leyley @ Nov 1 2010, 12:14 PM) For me, 58xx series is more than enough. The 69xx launching is just to push down the 58xx pricing which is good for buyers  6xxx main purpose is to kill nvidia 4xx and on par with 5xx. enuf said
shinjite
Nov 1 2010, 12:58 PM
Well 6 series still has the single card crown to take at high end
mingdynasty
Nov 1 2010, 01:08 PM
hey guys so the choice is ?? 5870 or 6870 ??? price is about the same(in aus)..performance about the same ?? i been reading online allto bout it..some say 6870 better with new dx11 and stuff.. i'm kinda confuse.. just need a bottomline answer...heeheh
cheers thanks..
angah_as
Nov 1 2010, 01:18 PM

QUOTE(mingdynasty @ Nov 1 2010, 01:08 PM) hey guys so the choice is ?? 5870 or 6870 ??? price is about the same(in aus)..performance about the same ?? i been reading online allto bout it..some say 6870 better with new dx11 and stuff.. i'm kinda confuse.. just need a bottomline answer...heeheh cheers thanks.. price is NOT about the same(in Malaysia)
mingdynasty
Nov 1 2010, 01:30 PM
hmm.. which better?? my main objective is playing wow/sc2/blackops.. in max...i did as much reading as possible...still dono which is best.. most did single then with CF.. making me pretty confused.. @.@
angah_as
Nov 1 2010, 01:41 PM

if price is about the same, i think better take 5870
8tvt
Nov 1 2010, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(angah_as @ Nov 1 2010, 01:41 PM) if price is about the same, i think better take 5870 i'm sure ur looking on the performance basis where 6 series actually have plenty more benefit which most not even notice.. red more reviews and seek on the advantage..
TiF
Nov 1 2010, 02:00 PM
As great as 6000 series, I still gonna stick to my 5870CF. But would welcome drastic price drop for 5000 series, especially 5770 or 5850 for my 2nd rig  5770 for RM300-350 mayb?
angah_as
Nov 1 2010, 02:09 PM

5850 is RM599 @ czone ^^
Demonic Wrath
Nov 1 2010, 02:14 PM
If already got HD5870, then no need to change (not even an upgrade)... Performance about the same, even for Tessellation..
I think HD6970 performs better than GTX480 by 10%, consuming less power, and then GTX580 performs better than HD6970 by 10%, consuming a lot more power, as always.
TiF
Nov 1 2010, 02:25 PM
QUOTE(angah_as @ Nov 1 2010, 02:09 PM) 1 time promo? until when? QUOTE(Demonic Wrath @ Nov 1 2010, 02:14 PM) If already got HD5870, then no need to change (not even an upgrade)... Performance about the same, even for Tessellation.. I think HD6970 performs better than GTX480 by 10%, consuming less power, and then GTX580 performs better than HD6970 by 10%, consuming a lot more power, as always. lol, GTX580.
Jet23sky
Nov 1 2010, 02:30 PM
QUOTE(Demonic Wrath @ Nov 1 2010, 02:14 PM) If already got HD5870, then no need to change (not even an upgrade)... Performance about the same, even for Tessellation.. I think HD6970 performs better than GTX480 by 10%, consuming less power, and then GTX580 performs better than HD6970 by 10%, consuming a lot more power, as always. Less power? erm... I dont think so, maybe a bit... but rumours said that the power consumption is almost same as GTX480, which is watt eater LOL. But have to wait for their prerelease first only we know. O gosh, 5850 cost only RM600? I hope 5870 can drop until RM800 then I will straight rush IT shop buy one to CF.
Piros
Nov 1 2010, 04:39 PM

QUOTE(mingdynasty @ Nov 1 2010, 04:26 PM) moral of the story ? no one really answer me lol..>,< HD5870 still has the lead, but I think HD6870 is a wise choice because it is on par with HD5850. It also doesn't cost that much plus you get new technology. A HD5770 can play most of the games smoothly (Not ultra setting), so a HD6870 will fill the needs to push everything to ultra. Do keep in mind upcoming drivers will also improve the overall performance of the 6xxx series. Just my 2 cents
TiF
Nov 1 2010, 04:53 PM
QUOTE(Piros @ Nov 1 2010, 04:39 PM) HD5870 still has the lead, but I think HD6870 is a wise choice because it is on par with HD5850. It also doesn't cost that much plus you get new technology. A HD5770 can play most of the games smoothly (Not ultra setting), so a HD6870 will fill the needs to push everything to ultra. Do keep in mind upcoming drivers will also improve the overall performance of the 6xxx series. Just my 2 cents  I feel 5000 series still can improve by newer drivers, just hope that AMD dun forget bout us 5000s users
shinjite
Nov 1 2010, 04:54 PM
5 series needs improved tesselation performance