Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V6, Please read FAQ at 1st page!! Vroom...
mengsuan
Nov 6 2010, 09:28 PM
9W2NNS
QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Nov 6 2010, 09:24 PM) I ask if he got sell, he ask me why i wan buy and told me the 'problems', so I think he didn't take in SGS. He has a Galaxy 5 (five) on display though. Mengsuan you from Puchong right? I'm refering to the HTC shop at Digital World IOIMall. Is there a reason shops are selling this thing so expensive? Was quoted one at 2599 another at 2699. Crazy... Yeah, am at Puchong. I never bought anything from the digital world in IOI mall. If they quote you that expensive, might as well you buy it without contract from Maxis. Same price. Lol..
GreenGoat
Nov 6 2010, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(llk @ Nov 6 2010, 09:24 PM) Honestly i never do that so many times i flash Doc's rom. Thanks Bap3 I am currently on Darky's.. but Docs looks impressive too O.O now wait till my batt full n start flashing
ken2291
Nov 6 2010, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Nov 6 2010, 09:24 PM) I ask if he got sell, he ask me why i wan buy and told me the 'problems', so I think he didn't take in SGS. He has a Galaxy 5 (five) on display though. Mengsuan you from Puchong right? I'm refering to the HTC shop at Digital World IOIMall. Is there a reason shops are selling this thing so expensive? Was quoted one at 2599 another at 2699. Crazy... tis guy from Samsung Mobile, Pertama Complex sellin at RM2250 16gb ori. mayb u can negotiate a cheaper price from him?? Added on November 6, 2010, 9:30 pmQUOTE(Bap3 @ Nov 6 2010, 09:27 PM) thanks!! I thought i'll b troublesome n nid to do tis do tat. if like tat then good This post has been edited by ken2291: Nov 6 2010, 09:30 PM
namiaz
Nov 6 2010, 09:32 PM

why dont u guys just buy it from maxis at 1099 and take advantage of the 24 month data plan??? ure gonna njoy it plus 10 ringgit discount... so it 78+value plan... plssss.... if ure still thinking of prepaid... maybe this aint the phone for u...
DJFoo000
Nov 6 2010, 09:34 PM
the >2K price tag is still a bit of a deterrent. Am scouting for a 2nd hand SGS.
Just to be sure, there isn't a place to tie a lanyard to the SGS, right?
^lol, my campus is full of WiFi signals, and my house has WiFi. So a data plan is not needed. Not that much of a data junkie anyway (i hope, yet to own a smartphone).
This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Nov 6 2010, 09:36 PM
gajahwhite
Nov 6 2010, 09:35 PM
QUOTE(one81 @ Nov 6 2010, 07:06 PM) u can capture photo with secondary camera using 'Self shot' in shooting mode.. but not for record... didn't noticed that..  thanks
mengsuan
Nov 6 2010, 09:36 PM
9W2NNS
QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Nov 6 2010, 09:34 PM) the >2K price tag is still a bit of a deterrent. Am scouting for a 2nd hand SGS. Just to be sure, there isn't a place to tie a lanyard to the SGS, right? I think there is.
Bap3
Nov 6 2010, 09:36 PM
QUOTE(GreenGoat @ Nov 6 2010, 09:28 PM) Thanks Bap3 I am currently on Darky's.. but Docs looks impressive too O.O now wait till my batt full n start flashing i'm exactly from darkyy's too...cannot tahan isap battery..i changed to doc's yesterday...battery improve alot...now tonight want to change to ver7.6..haha..
GreenGoat
Nov 6 2010, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(Bap3 @ Nov 6 2010, 09:36 PM) i'm exactly from darkyy's too...cannot tahan isap battery..i changed to doc's yesterday...battery improve alot...now tonight want to change to ver7.6..haha.. yeah.. this morning i unplugged for 1 hour n batt falls to 97% without any activities! huhu btw.. on ADVICE part : " Do not factory reset phone if you have removed any apps from the base rom. If you want to factory reset, flash the base rom before again if you made any changes" what does this mean?
namiaz
Nov 6 2010, 09:40 PM

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Nov 6 2010, 09:34 PM) the >2K price tag is still a bit of a deterrent. Am scouting for a 2nd hand SGS. Just to be sure, there isn't a place to tie a lanyard to the SGS, right? ^lol, my campus is full of WiFi signals, and my house has WiFi. So a data plan is not needed. Not that much of a data junkie anyway (i hope, yet to own a smartphone). yeah its a plus point i guess being a s tudent and campus life... I'm working and i need constant connection... the phone has replaced my bb's and iphones... its perfect... but if ure put off with the 24 months... trust me... before u change to a phone thats plugged into ur synaptics (the future phones??)... u'll not notice its been 2 years already...
erymanthus
Nov 6 2010, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Nov 6 2010, 08:54 PM) i've read that prior to asking the fella. Only GPS and RFS lag highlighted so far. I'm especially attracted to the damn good performance running Quake in the video vs Desire. So i dun really care about the Quadrant or Linpak benchmark results vs the Desire Z. @ken2291, yeah no news so far about 2.2 update fixing the issues mentioned. The shopkeeper fella recommended the original Desire, saying 'it's 2.2 wor, SGS only 2.1'. That time I confirm he know bollocks about phones. Haha, it's so obvious he's trying to clear stock for Desire. After all Desire got no front camera, which means that no video call
ken2291
Nov 6 2010, 09:41 PM
is backup usin CWM/nandroid needed when flashin frm 2.1 to Doc Froyo??
TShihihehe
Nov 6 2010, 09:43 PM
QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Nov 7 2010, 12:34 AM) the >2K price tag is still a bit of a deterrent. Am scouting for a 2nd hand SGS. Just to be sure, there isn't a place to tie a lanyard to the SGS, right? ^lol, my campus is full of WiFi signals, and my house has WiFi. So a data plan is not needed. Not that much of a data junkie anyway (i hope, yet to own a smartphone). u can tie a strap on this phone it is located at top left side
chunpang
Nov 6 2010, 09:50 PM
Hi, reporting back. just got home from be business trip yesterday. Tried froyo update through kies. No joy yet. I'm in uk, my phone is locked to O2. It's on stock firmware. I guess O2 is releasing froyo on the 11th on nov.
Bap3
Nov 6 2010, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(GreenGoat @ Nov 6 2010, 09:38 PM) yeah.. this morning i unplugged for 1 hour n batt falls to 97% without any activities! huhu btw.. on ADVICE part : " Do not factory reset phone if you have removed any apps from the base rom. If you want to factory reset, flash the base rom before again if you made any changes" what does this mean? if you removed the base apps...e.g samsung apps...when you do the factory reset..the phone will restore it back to original state with base apps in it...then your phone will stuck at searching the base apps that you already remove...  then..you'll be sweating all over...hahah
areankim
Nov 6 2010, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(Bap3 @ Nov 6 2010, 09:51 PM) if you removed the base apps...e.g samsung apps...when you do the factory reset..the phone will restore it back to original state with base apps in it...then your phone will stuck at searching the base apps that you already remove...  then..you'll be sweating all over...hahah  this does not include medium or full package rite? only the base.
Bap3
Nov 6 2010, 09:53 PM
QUOTE(ken2291 @ Nov 6 2010, 09:41 PM) is backup usin CWM/nandroid needed when flashin frm 2.1 to Doc Froyo?? no need i think as long you already backup your data with third party apps.. e.g titanium i'm not familiar with cwm and nandroid backup...just use titanium backup or mybackup pro apps...either one..maybe forumers here have been used the cwm/nandroid backup on their phone... Added on November 6, 2010, 9:54 pmQUOTE(areankim @ Nov 6 2010, 09:52 PM) this does not include medium or full package rite? only the base. yes..and u can upgrade it whenever u want it... This post has been edited by Bap3: Nov 6 2010, 09:54 PM
GreenGoat
Nov 6 2010, 10:07 PM
QUOTE(Bap3 @ Nov 6 2010, 09:51 PM) if you removed the base apps...e.g samsung apps...when you do the factory reset..the phone will restore it back to original state with base apps in it...then your phone will stuck at searching the base apps that you already remove...  then..you'll be sweating all over...hahah  lol ok noted! thanks for the advice
frankgan
Nov 6 2010, 10:43 PM

Hi guys,
What kernel do y'all use when you flash to Doc's v7.5 / 7.6?
When I look at the instruction, it was saying to flash the custom kernel before installing the rom from CWM.
That means the Doc's rom should be using the kernel that I flashed before installing the rom? or the rom itself will replace it to another kernel?
Besides, what if I wanted to change it to another kernel after I flashed to the Doc's rom? Flash it straight in ODIN? Or do I have to reinstall everything from JM9 to JPM to custom kernel to Doc's rom all over again?
Sorry but the instruction posted on doc's site was very minimal in info and I lazy to flip about 500 pages
thanks in advance
freakfingers12
Nov 6 2010, 11:02 PM
QUOTE(frankgan @ Nov 6 2010, 10:43 PM) Hi guys, What kernel do y'all use when you flash to Doc's v7.5 / 7.6? When I look at the instruction, it was saying to flash the custom kernel before installing the rom from CWM. That means the Doc's rom should be using the kernel that I flashed before installing the rom? or the rom itself will replace it to another kernel? Besides, what if I wanted to change it to another kernel after I flashed to the Doc's rom? Flash it straight in ODIN? Or do I have to reinstall everything from JM9 to JPM to custom kernel to Doc's rom all over again? Sorry but the instruction posted on doc's site was very minimal in info and I lazy to flip about 500 pages thanks in advance Nope, it's a full rom, including kernel, and he stated that he included hardcore's H1-250Hz kernel, so you just have to flash the rom from CWM and you're good to go. If you want a different kernel later, just flash from Odin. You don't need to wipe or restore.