126 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Bottom

Nokia N8 V7-King of Multimedia, Pls read FP!location changed!

Eoma
post Oct 17 2010, 12:39 AM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

the wikireader app seems unstable too. Caused one of the homescreen customizations to be reset (an error message on widget not installed properly or something).

On OVI crashes, so far so good. But i did update the OVI app though (it asked to download an update when i first accessed it).

Any idea/update why 3G/Packet data still downloads even when there's nothing going on and set to "always Ask" in the Settings.
BBXiong
post Oct 17 2010, 12:41 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

ok, some googling, and i notice that N8 has no custom EQ yet? wtf?
doomx
post Oct 17 2010, 12:45 AM

Look at mah stars
2,802 posts

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ Oct 17 2010, 12:31 AM)
There is something to be said about Nokia vs the other phone manufacturers. I'm not saying that Nokia is perfect in this regard, but it's the only manufacturer I know that regularly comes out with firmware for their more popular models and supporting it until it's EOL. A few of my experiences :-

1. XpressMusic 5310, i think, the slim XpressMusic phone - A firmware update manages ton increase the volume of the speakers, which was quite soft before.

2. The update that turned N95 from disaster to popular.

3. The endless E71 updates.

Based on that track record, I think Nokia is going to improve the whole N8, seeing it as the flagship model that's supposed to replace N97 with regular firmware updates. Good thing is they have a knack of putting upgrades that visibly improve the phone's function.
That is the problem i was the first batch who use bought the 5800 although it is cheap i was still busy raging about it firmware.
Always seems that nokia release half-baked firmware and update it on the go which kinda make the first batch of buyers like a lab rat.
BBXiong
post Oct 17 2010, 12:50 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(doomx @ Oct 17 2010, 12:45 AM)
That is the problem i was the first batch who use bought the 5800 although it is cheap i was still busy raging about it firmware.
Always seems that nokia release half-baked firmware and update it on the go which kinda make the first batch of buyers like a lab rat.
actually N8 also have obvious glitches here and there, i feel like i am using a final phrase beta firmware @@
sklchan
post Oct 17 2010, 12:54 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Oct 16 2010, 02:30 PM)
If you are not on any data plan, change your settings of the phone to always ask for connection.

Also, you can put your widgets on homescreen to offline mode.

Another tip: Create a new destination (which is a prioritized list of connections the device will use when searching for network)

Make 1 list/destination: "Free internet" and put only WLAN or free wifi under it.
then make another list: "Paid internet" and put your operater network connections under it such as Maxis 3G, Digi internet etc.

Whenever your app or device wants to connect to the internet, it will then ask and you can decide whether to choose "Free internet" or "Paid internet".

It's troublesome, yes, but this phone is designed to work in default to have full network capabilities.  Therefore it is highly recommended to get a data plan (unlimited or at least capped after reaching a limit).

Remember, the search function in Ovi Maps needs the network otherwise you can't search.
+1

VERY NICE TIPS!!!... cool function improvement on these connections setting... notworthy.gif
doomx
post Oct 17 2010, 01:05 AM

Look at mah stars
2,802 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Oct 17 2010, 12:50 AM)
actually N8 also have obvious glitches here and there, i feel like i am using a final phrase beta firmware  @@
ya hence the half-baked firmware issue comes to play again. almost all their handphones have this problem. need wait 4 months down the road only then stable.
sklchan
post Oct 17 2010, 01:11 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(mushkins @ Oct 16 2010, 03:56 PM)
Hey Nokia Rangers smile.gif Just uploaded group pix from last night on the Nokia Malaysia Facebook page. Do tag yourselves there if you'd like smile.gif

Everyone, saw some great photos taken with the N8. Fantastic! Feel free to post them up on the Nokia Malaysia Facebook page to share, guys! Enjoy the device. smile.gif
thanks for the update... and thanks for the rangers invitation as well... exploring the device now, just back from the chuch event took 100+ photos and >50% with flash... battery left 50% now... seem like the battery can easily last for 200+ photo shot with ~50% flash use... quite outstanding as i can say... thumbup.gif
BBXiong
post Oct 17 2010, 01:12 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(doomx @ Oct 17 2010, 01:05 AM)
ya hence the half-baked firmware issue comes to play again. almost all their handphones have this problem. need wait 4 months down the road only then stable.
well..not that bad too if u ask me...if they have better keyboards and a decent browser, i might switch back...sell IP4 and get Ipod Touch instead for gaming tongue.gif
but for now, still a big NO
RiuK3n
post Oct 17 2010, 01:19 AM

The Pursuit of Knowledge Dies With Age, Not Time
1,391 posts

guess i'm the 1st user who has hardware defect on the n8. My 3.5mm jack spoiled when tested. Wonder if ncc opens tmr :-/
will try go pyramid tmr rclxub.gif
kelvinlym
post Oct 17 2010, 01:20 AM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 16 2010, 04:29 PM)
Did a drop test 1.5meter on my Nokia N8 (with Spine case on). No scratch or dent. Work perfect.
Hey, that's my job tongue.gif
silrave
post Oct 17 2010, 01:29 AM

5,893 posts

bbxiong means wat ?
means that n8 still not good o
toughnut
post Oct 17 2010, 01:31 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Oct 17 2010, 01:20 AM)
Hey, that's my job  tongue.gif
i thought u doing NDT laugh.gif
wkh_united
post Oct 17 2010, 01:33 AM

243 posts

Am i correct to set the following:
Switch to WLAN to Manual
Data use in home network to WLAN only
Data use when roaming to WLAN only
so that the app/device wont charge my credit and use only Wifi?
(i m using prepaid)
pirateguy
post Oct 17 2010, 01:41 AM

1,409 posts

QUOTE(wkh_united @ Oct 17 2010, 01:33 AM)
Am i correct to set the following:
Switch to WLAN to Manual
Data use in home network to WLAN only
Data use when roaming to WLAN only
so that the app/device wont charge my credit and use only Wifi?
(i m using prepaid)
That should be correct.
sklchan
post Oct 17 2010, 01:45 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(apecx92 @ Oct 16 2010, 06:57 PM)
can i have the pic?
it's at here, posted in nokia malaysia fb... http://www.facebook.com/photos.php?id=113065628706153 thumbup.gif

Added on October 17, 2010, 1:51 am
QUOTE(apecx92 @ Oct 16 2010, 07:27 PM)
my mom angry with me where i got this phone and she force me to give the phone back biggrin.gif
don worry.. checked the agreement letter.. no hidden agenda hehehe...
btw the rangers cant resale their given N8 at least for 12 months... that's cleary stated in the agreement... tongue.gif
but u think the rangers will?? NO WAY!!! i LOVED the camera... flex.gif

Added on October 17, 2010, 1:57 am
QUOTE(trustmeiamlegit @ Oct 16 2010, 07:50 PM)
hi
can some1 pls post more HD video recordings from the N8 pls.. and pls include the original file for dwload if possible !!

so do u guys think that this is the best video recording mobile phone on the market rite now?

thanks in advance
YES.. it's the best camera/video phone for now... all HD sample very big to upload using bolehland bb lah... sweat.gif
some more there're already mods for highier framerate video capture and photo compression as well... drool.gif (pending to be verify)

This post has been edited by sklchan: Oct 17 2010, 01:57 AM
nicks
post Oct 17 2010, 01:57 AM

TC
2,070 posts

i went to Nokia centre at 1U, testing the Nokia N8. What can I say more? Its full of awesome and really impressed me a lot. Ya, the browser thinggy can improve more, and my guess the next firmware will fix the browser (hopefully better adobe flash integrated inside) and stability, (u can refer the changelog of Nokia 5800, the fix 1 by 1, or 2, or so on, but not everything together.

Quote of the day (or Week!)

"Sebut Symbian, Pasti Ingat Nokia"

p/s: brand lain pakai symbian tue saja nak amek Nokia user, lol.
Andy214
post Oct 17 2010, 01:57 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Oct 17 2010, 01:20 AM)
Hey, that's my job  tongue.gif
kelvin,

For the contacts, there's no option to display by "nickname"?

kelvinlym
post Oct 17 2010, 02:34 AM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Oct 16 2010, 06:31 PM)
i thought u doing NDT  laugh.gif
What's NDT?

But yeah, I don't really do the testing. Just drop test simulations.
Clementyeo
post Oct 17 2010, 02:37 AM

265 posts

anyone know what is the best setting for video?
what format of visual and audio.. smooth to play without any lagggggging or able to play fully HD (nt just audio or video )
Andy214
post Oct 17 2010, 02:39 AM

3,308 posts

Here's a rough sample how my N8 screen show the difference:
Original File, if you view in PC, there is no layering, the colours blend well and smooth:

But on my N8, it looks something like this.....

126 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:32 PM