5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Nokia N8 V7-King of Multimedia, Pls read FP!location changed!

pirateguy
post Oct 16 2010, 08:18 AM

1,409 posts

Aik, my name is not on the dark grey / black team list?
pirateguy
post Oct 16 2010, 08:53 AM

1,409 posts

QUOTE(tyja @ Oct 16 2010, 08:37 AM)
i remove all my homescreen. still there's data transfer. hope they will have application to auto block all this.
Taken from Nokia website:

Many features in your Nokia N8 device increase the demand on battery power and reduce the battery life time. To save battery power, note the following:

1. Features that use Bluetooth technology, or allowing such features to run in the background while using other features, increase the demand on battery power. To prolong the operating time of your device, turn the Bluetooth technology off when you do not need it (Menu > Settings > Connectivity > Bluetooth > Bluetooth = Off).

2. Features that use wireless LAN (WLAN) increase the demand on battery power. WLAN on your Nokia device switches off when you are not trying to connect, not connected to another access point, or not scanning for available networks. To further reduce battery consumption, you can specify that your device does not scan, or scans less often, for available networks in the background. WLAN switches off in between background scans. When Menu > Settings > Connectivity > WLAN > Options > Settings > Show WLAN availability is set to Never, the WLAN availability icon is not shown in the standby mode. However, you can still manually scan for available WLAN networks and connect to WLAN networks as usual.

3. If you have set Packet data connection to When available in connection settings, and there is no packet data coverage (GPRS), the device periodically tries to establish a packet data connection, which causes increased demand on battery power. To prolong the operating time of your device, select Menu > Settings > Connectivity > Admin.settings > Packet Data > Packet data connection > When needed.

4. The Ovi Maps application downloads new map information when you scroll to new areas on the map, which increases the demand on battery power. You can avoid the automatic downloading of map data by downloading the needed map data via PC to your device.

5. If the signal strength of the cellular network varies much in your area, your device must scan for the available network repeatedly. This increases the demand on battery power. If the network mode is set to dual mode in the network settings, the device searches for the UMTS network. If it is not available, the device uses the available GSM network. To only use the GSM network, select Menu > Settings > Connectivity > Network > Network mode > GSM.

6. The backlight of the display increases the demand on battery power. To change the timeout after which the backlight is switched off, select Menu > Settings > Phone > Display > Light time-out. To adjust the light sensor that observes the lighting conditions and adjusts the brightness of the display, in the display settings, select Light sensor.

7. Screensaver clock can be turned off to save battery. Select Menu > Settings > Themes > Screensaver > None.

8. The notification lights can be turned off to save the battery. Select Menu > Settings > Phone > Notification lights and disable the breathing light in Breathing light and adjust the light settings for different events in Notification light menu.

9. Leaving applications running in the background increases the demand on battery power. To close the applications you do not use, press and hold the menu key, swipe to the application in the list and close it by selecting X.

10. Pay special attention that you don't leave applications running in the background which are using GPS or network connection, for example Maps and AccuWeather, if you are not using these applications.

11. Home screen widgets may periodically connect to internet if the home screen is in online mode. If you are not actively using the widgets, the automatic connection can be disabled by selecting Options > Widgets to offline mode on the home screen.

12. Installed 3rd party applications may consume extra power. Uninstall the application if you have noticed that power consumption has increased after the application was installed and if the application is not needed any more.

13. The AMOLED display in your device consumes more power with white color. Therefore the themes with a lot of white colors (e.g. in wallpaper image) may consume more power than the other themes.
No one reads the manual these days.
pirateguy
post Oct 16 2010, 09:11 AM

1,409 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 16 2010, 09:07 AM)
cant connect my ext harddisk 500gb to the phone. Probably not enough power
When it comes to running external hard disk using a single USB head, it is a hit or miss.
pirateguy
post Oct 16 2010, 09:14 AM

1,409 posts

I haven't tried this. Can you directly upload the MP4 HD video recording to youtube?
pirateguy
post Oct 16 2010, 09:20 AM

1,409 posts

Tried it with external HDD (laptop HDD) and can't work. I can hear my HDD go 'click...click' which indicates lack of power.

Added on October 16, 2010, 9:20 am
QUOTE(sklchan @ Oct 16 2010, 09:19 AM)
hehe, here i will list down something that I might try to evaluated first... (if anyone have more time on hand now might try it first as well)  nod.gif

1. GPS performance compare with the tube (since both using same gps chip, would like to check the N8 gps attenna performance)
2. The camera mod functionality, will capture some b4 and after mod photos/videos see got any "good" result or not.

but still, applying for the cert now for my beloved N8 ... tongue.gif
What do you mean applying for cert?

This post has been edited by pirateguy: Oct 16 2010, 09:20 AM
pirateguy
post Oct 16 2010, 09:34 AM

1,409 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Oct 16 2010, 09:27 AM)
signing cert for the new N8 loh... if not how u gonna ...... ehhh what to call... "lompatpenjara"? "penjararuntuh"? or "hellbreak"? or "heavenfree"?? LOL...  whistling.gif
I'm totally blank on this signing cert.
pirateguy
post Oct 16 2010, 10:04 AM

1,409 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 16 2010, 10:01 AM)
U dun care losing 12 months addition warranty?
Let him wait and see lah.

Whether he is right or not, it will be his gain or lost.

Let's just continue to poison him. tongue.gif
pirateguy
post Oct 16 2010, 10:05 AM

1,409 posts

The FP list is funny.

1. nicholasbeh
2. PyOsE
3. andrekua
4. Leo the Lion
6. Apecx92
7. zero_kbom
8. doomx
9. cloud8318
10. kae7
11. BBXiong
12. sklchan
13. x132755
14. HexPhoenix
15. Aspire2006

Who is the mysterious No.5 ?
pirateguy
post Oct 16 2010, 10:42 AM

1,409 posts

testing typing via opera
pirateguy
post Oct 16 2010, 12:22 PM

1,409 posts

Using Opera on the N8 not good although smooth. Cannot pinch to zoom!
pirateguy
post Oct 16 2010, 12:30 PM

1,409 posts

Holy crap. I compare the photos I view online with my N8 and Samsung monitor (3 years old), I can see the color on the N8 more vivid.

pirateguy
post Oct 16 2010, 02:09 PM

1,409 posts

I somehow cannot disable the WLAN. Everytime I disconnect, it auto connects! Fix this bug, Nokia!
pirateguy
post Oct 16 2010, 04:59 PM

1,409 posts

QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Oct 16 2010, 04:53 PM)
I think so. You'll need acid or some special material to scratch anodised aluminium. I think they did it on purpose to badmouth N8. This proves the N* is a threat to crapple fans and fandroids. Desperate attempts i can say.
I would take peeling off paint than this:

pirateguy
post Oct 16 2010, 06:23 PM

1,409 posts

Black / Dark Gray.
pirateguy
post Oct 16 2010, 07:58 PM

1,409 posts

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Oct 16 2010, 07:53 PM)
I'm seeing everybody enjoying their N8, but I cant get it as its still not available in Penang. cry.gif
How can that be. Even in Sarawak already have it since Friday.

You must have picked the wrong shop.
pirateguy
post Oct 16 2010, 07:58 PM

1,409 posts

QUOTE(Clementyeo @ Oct 16 2010, 07:57 PM)
why cant get swype... nt available in my country
Region locked, and perhaps another reason why some people had to resort to hacking. doh.gif
pirateguy
post Oct 16 2010, 08:11 PM

1,409 posts

Who dare to do this?

pirateguy
post Oct 16 2010, 08:22 PM

1,409 posts

QUOTE(moniqee @ Oct 16 2010, 08:16 PM)
nokia rangers... coz theirs are free...

and the fella left out screwdrivers and nails to complete the test... //(^0^)// now... i wonder if any idunk4 owners would respond to tiz youtube?
Better don't la. Be proud that your N8 glass is tough. flex.gif

Added on October 16, 2010, 8:23 pm
QUOTE(VeeJay @ Oct 16 2010, 08:19 PM)
Thanks nicholasbeh and BuFUng, very helpful indeed.

Hmm, I could with the "shortfall" like flash but AV output...I need the 3.5 jack out put since I use my N79 as GPS media output to my car stereo 7" monitor  flex.gif

If N8 comes with just hdmi...wonder if there is any cable to convert to RCA, then?  rclxub.gif
N8, I think, cannot output RCA.

This post has been edited by pirateguy: Oct 16 2010, 08:23 PM
pirateguy
post Oct 16 2010, 08:28 PM

1,409 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Oct 16 2010, 08:20 PM)
guys hope u guys understand chinese
try to watch this video http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=125190967535986
at facebook
wao iphone can do this ?? then n8 sure more nice lo xD
Nothing new, last year I believe some Spanish student did the same thing only with a Fuji digital camera.
pirateguy
post Oct 16 2010, 09:37 PM

1,409 posts

Prepaid + WiFi.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0459sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:24 AM