[Help!] Ubuntu Problems, everything related to ubuntu goes here

c9
post Jun 18 2007, 03:34 PM

5,824 posts

I hate NM applet, I'd rather stick with the command.
nabelon
post Jun 19 2007, 01:53 AM

Walk of Life
1,714 posts

I'm downloading ubuntu 7.04 rite now and this is my first time venturing into linux.I am really keen on trying it out but now i have a single hdd with no partition whatsoever.How do i install my ubuntu without the need of reformatting my hdd which currently is only on one partition which is drive C.

Thanks for helpin me out.smile.gif
Sprit
post Jun 20 2007, 02:44 PM

278 posts

I'm currently using Xubuntu 7.04 with MySQL PHP5 and Apache2 installed.

I think I'm experiencing memory leaking from one of the aboved mentioned software package.

Before are graphs I've recorded between system crashes from the memory leak.

System Load:

Processes:

Memory Usasge: (I have 256mb of ram, the graph displayed the value incorrectly as 'K' should be 'M')

The empty part of the graph is due to rebooting from previous crash and crashing again.

The system didn't exactly crashed. With all the physical and swap memory used up, the system became so unresponsive that it was unusable.

Anyway for me to track the cause of the problem?
kons
post Jun 20 2007, 03:37 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(nabelon @ Jun 19 2007, 01:53 AM)
I'm downloading ubuntu 7.04 rite now and this is my first time venturing into linux.I am really keen on trying it out but now i have a single hdd with no partition whatsoever.How do i install my ubuntu without the need of reformatting my hdd which currently is only on one partition which is drive C.
What is your current OS? Windows XP?
Might have to repartition it though.

QUOTE(Sprit @ Jun 20 2007, 02:44 PM)
I'm currently using Xubuntu 7.04 with MySQL PHP5 and Apache2 installed.

I think I'm experiencing memory leaking from one of the aboved mentioned software package.

The system didn't exactly crashed. With all the physical and swap memory used up, the system became so unresponsive that it was unusable.

Anyway for me to track the cause of the problem?
With just 256MB of RAM, I believe you need further tweaking of Apache and MySQL to conserve memory though.

This is a good startup point.
chuafc2006
post Jun 23 2007, 03:21 AM

471 posts

Anyone know how to use Emerald Theme Manager?
I installed it, but I don't know how to Apply the theme in Ubuntu...Can anyone guide me please?

and one more thing...how to play .rmvb or realplayer files in the Ubuntu?
Any ideas? I can't find any installer of Real Player of Linux Ubuntu.. icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by chuafc2006: Jun 23 2007, 03:23 AM
stevanistelrooy
post Jun 23 2007, 08:05 AM

Ten seconds you won't believe what's gonna happen.
2,450 posts

chuafc, either you install realplayer 10 or another player called totem

i had this PITA with real player decoder..somehow, totem works for me.
you might try this. Do google it. It tooks me a couple of hours before I finally solve my own problem sweat.gif
slash_ex
post Jun 23 2007, 09:35 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(chuafc2006 @ Jun 23 2007, 03:21 AM)
Anyone know how to use Emerald Theme Manager?
I installed it, but I don't know how to Apply the theme in Ubuntu...Can anyone guide me please?
I'm assuming that you've already have beryl installed and runnin'-- emerald will only work with beryl runnin!!. If you couldn't find emerald in d menu, press alt+F2 and type

CODE
emerald --replace

in d box and press enter...dat should open a menu to select it.. hope dat helps!! icon_rolleyes.gif

chuafc2006
post Jun 24 2007, 12:11 AM

471 posts

QUOTE(stevanistelrooy @ Jun 23 2007, 09:05 AM)
chuafc, either you install realplayer 10 or another player called totem

i had this PITA with real player decoder..somehow, totem works for me.
you might try this. Do google it. It tooks me a couple of hours before I finally solve my own problem sweat.gif
Oh, thanks ...really appreciate that.

QUOTE(slash_ex @ Jun 23 2007, 10:35 PM)
I'm assuming that you've already have beryl installed and runnin'--  emerald will only work with beryl runnin!!. If you couldn't find emerald in d menu, press alt+F2 and type

CODE
emerald --replace

in d box and press enter...dat should open a menu to select it.. hope dat helps!! icon_rolleyes.gif
Ic ic ...need Beryl to be installed.. Consider I'm a beginner,
so, what is Beryl actually? I heard of it before I install the Emerald Theme Manager too.. is it like an expansion of Ubuntu? or a is it a Theme manager?
Could you please teach me how to get Beryl installed in my set of Ubuntu Feisty Fawn 7.04? What file should I download from http://www.beryl-project.org/ and save it in which directory then install it using what command? or double clicking the files?

Thanks notworthy.gif

shiuhrong
post Jun 25 2007, 12:30 PM

722 posts

projector problem!

have you guys use projector with Ubuntu?

i cant get the projector display on ubuntu laptop, i am using nvidia go 7600 with restricted driver.

another problem is i cant get ubuntu to hibernate!
slash_ex
post Jun 25 2007, 03:23 PM

35 posts

Ic ic ...need Beryl to be installed.. Consider I'm a beginner,
so, what is Beryl actually? I heard of it before I install the Emerald Theme Manager too.. is it like an expansion of Ubuntu? or a is it a Theme manager?
Could you please teach me how to get Beryl installed in my set of Ubuntu Feisty Fawn 7.04? What file should I download from http://www.beryl-project.org/ and save it in which directory then install it using what command? or double clicking the files?

Thanks notworthy.gif

You can go to beryl website to find out more about it..

emerald is a window decorator...that allows you to customize you window border-just like metacity(gnome default)..but emerald must be used only with beryl/compiz desktop and provide much more customization option(transparency n etc).

You can find a lot of howtos-just google for it...gudlak rclxms.gif
chuafc2006
post Jun 27 2007, 10:56 AM

471 posts

QUOTE(slash_ex @ Jun 25 2007, 04:23 PM)
You can go to beryl website to find out more about it..

emerald is a window decorator...that allows you to customize you window border-just like metacity(gnome default)..but emerald must be used only with beryl/compiz desktop and provide much more customization option(transparency n etc).

You can find a lot of howtos-just google for it...gudlak rclxms.gif
I installed the Beryl Manager, Emerald Theme Manager can be used.
Thanks thumbup.gif
heizad
post Jun 29 2007, 03:59 PM

~ Harimau Malaya ~
1,743 posts

can anybody show me steps to set up a small LAN server in hostel?

using pentium 3 600MHz...i'm gonna use ubuntu 7.04 as the OS...how to configure the PC so it can be the DHCP server??

This post has been edited by heizad: Jun 29 2007, 04:29 PM
UbuntuClient
post Jun 29 2007, 09:29 PM

1,417 posts

U need file /etc/dhcpd.conf. Try use sudo apt-get install dhcpd if not in ur system. Some guide for u.

DHCP Guide rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by UbuntuClient: Jun 29 2007, 09:32 PM
kons
post Jun 29 2007, 09:31 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(UbuntuClient @ Jun 29 2007, 09:29 PM)
U need file /etc/dhcp.conf.
It's not /etc/dhcpd.conf?
yjwong
post Jun 30 2007, 11:24 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(kons @ Jun 29 2007, 09:31 PM)
It's not /etc/dhcpd.conf?
Isn't it /etc/dhcp3/dhcpd.conf? (On Ubuntu) laugh.gif
kokyun
post Jul 1 2007, 09:03 PM

770 posts

can anyone share this source list with me ? cos i think i have mess up mine (/etc/apt/sources.list)

i got this error. dont know how to fix it o
Err http://us.archive.ubuntu.com feisty-updates/main Packages
Sub-process gzip returned an error code (1)
Fetched 9B in 7s (1B/s)
Failed to fetch http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/...386/Packages.gz Sub-process gzip returned an error code (1)
Reading package lists... Done
E: Some index files failed to download, they have been ignored, or old ones used instead.

yjwong
post Jul 2 2007, 03:01 PM

282 posts

UbuntuClient
post Jul 3 2007, 04:06 PM

1,417 posts

Right now link to US got problem in few day. The connection so slow, use Singapore for fast update.
RokXIII
post Jul 7 2007, 12:43 AM

C'est la vie, Chérie
1,634 posts

Well, I'm just install Ubuntu 7.04 in my computer. So, now running Ubuntu and Vista under 1 harddisk. When i start my computer, it will enter into a OS selection screen to let me choose which OS i want to load.
Initially, the system set Ubuntu as default OS, is there any ways to set my Vista as default OS to be loaded? So, even i dun click anything, after the time count to 0, it will load vista automatically.
spacerx
post Jul 7 2007, 01:52 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(RokXIII @ Jul 7 2007, 12:43 AM)
Well, I'm just install Ubuntu 7.04 in my computer. So, now running Ubuntu and Vista under 1 harddisk. When i start my computer, it will enter into a OS selection screen to let me choose which OS i want to load.
Initially, the system set Ubuntu as default OS, is there any ways to set my Vista as default OS to be loaded? So, even i dun click anything, after the time count to 0, it will load vista automatically.
You have two options:

1. edit your /boot/grub/menu.lst and put windows vista to be the first in the list.

2. you can install easybcd (free download) and easily configure and manage your boot sequence in window vista.

nod.gif

This post has been edited by spacerx: Jul 7 2007, 01:52 AM

95 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0283sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:17 AM