[Help!] Ubuntu Problems, everything related to ubuntu goes here

vandetta
post May 22 2007, 03:41 PM

658 posts

Can I ask one Q.
What is it really universe repository, izzit something like place for debian-based drivers?
How can we see it/know it turn on or off?
Just brief me something about it biggrin.gif
WesT(^_^)v
post May 22 2007, 07:25 PM

QUOTE(vandetta @ May 22 2007, 03:41 PM)
Can I ask one Q.
What is it really universe repository, izzit something like place for debian-based drivers?
How can we see it/know it turn on or off?
Just brief me something about it biggrin.gif
"universe" component

The universe component is a snapshot of the free, open source, and Linux world. In universe you can find almost every piece of open source software, and software available under a variety of less open licences, all built automatically from a variety of public sources. All of this software is compiled against the libraries and using the tools that form part of main, so it should install and work well with the software in main, but it comes with no guarantee of security fixes and support. The universe component includes thousands of pieces of software. Through universe, users are able to have the diversity and flexibility offered by the vast open source world on top of a stable Ubuntu core.

Please note: universe is not enabled by default when you install Ubuntu, you need to turn it on yourself. Canonical does not provide a guarantee of regular security updates for software found in universe but will provide these where they are made available by the community. Users should understand the risk inherent in using packages from the universe component.

You can enable the universe component by editing the file "/etc/apt/sources.list" after installing Ubuntu.

Popular or well supported pieces of software will move from universe into main if they are backed by maintainers willing to meet the standards set for main by the Ubuntu team.

Hopefully, that answers your question a bit better.

To disable or enable u go to
System>Administration>Software Sources
then click Ubuntu software tab..
tadaaa~~ icon_rolleyes.gif
ben_ang
post May 22 2007, 08:26 PM

ITS JINX NOW.POWDER FELL DOWN A WELL
2,013 posts

any player bside vlc 2 play rmvb, divx, mpeg..etc..? coz dun really much like vlc..
WesT(^_^)v
post May 22 2007, 09:30 PM

QUOTE(ben_ang @ May 22 2007, 08:26 PM)
any player bside vlc 2 play rmvb, divx, mpeg..etc..? coz dun really much like vlc..
check this web site..
http://www.ubuntugeek.com/install-mplayer-...eisty-fawn.html
rolleyes.gif
ben_ang
post May 23 2007, 07:19 PM

2,013 posts

thanks, definetly will try it out!!
vandetta
post May 24 2007, 01:59 AM

658 posts

@WesT(happy.gif)v
Thx, that give me clear information.
I already ON it biggrin.gif
ben_ang
post May 24 2007, 08:58 PM

2,013 posts

d*mn, facing some prob with d ./configure.. cannot complile d source... it show this error..

Error: Cannot find header either inttypes.h or bitypes.h (see DOCS/HTML/en/faq.html).

wonder if any1 encounter this? i'm in feisty fawn btw..

WesT(^_^)v
post May 24 2007, 10:04 PM

QUOTE(ben_ang @ May 24 2007, 08:58 PM)
d*mn, facing some prob with d ./configure.. cannot complile d source... it show this error..

Error: Cannot find header either inttypes.h or bitypes.h (see DOCS/HTML/en/faq.html).

wonder if any1 encounter this? i'm in feisty fawn btw..
maybe i can help but
please attach the whole output and not just the last sentence!..

ben_ang
post May 24 2007, 10:39 PM

2,013 posts

thanks in advance 1st!! notworthy.gif

hope u can help me. notworthy.gif
FleshWound
post May 24 2007, 11:26 PM

76 posts

ben_ang
post May 24 2007, 11:39 PM

2,013 posts

WesT(^_^)v
post May 25 2007, 12:50 AM

QUOTE(ben_ang @ May 24 2007, 11:39 PM)
well, did tried tat b4.. it gave me this  rclxub.gif

any pointers?
Check whether all your repositories are enabled or not.
Go to system>Administration>Synaptic Package Manager>Settings>repositories. Now 'ADD' or just check the community maintained universe and non-free (copyright restricted) multiverse boxes. Then close the window and click 'reload' tab in Synaptic Package Manager.

after that try this command
sudo aptitude install mplayer libxine-extracodecs

This post has been edited by WesT(^_^)v: May 25 2007, 01:12 AM
ben_ang
post May 25 2007, 08:10 PM

2,013 posts

ok, ticked all those checkboxes in the repositories-ubuntu software-download frm main server..but when i typed d "sudo aptitude install mplayer libxine-extracodecs" i got this ..

then i tried typing "sudo apt-get install mplayer" i got this

i wonder wat happend.. still a noob here.. sweat.gif hope sifus can help... notworthy.gif

littleman
post May 25 2007, 08:20 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(dreadlessdream @ May 22 2007, 12:31 PM)
what is the error?
No error, it just stopped.
stealer
post May 25 2007, 09:04 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ May 25 2007, 08:10 PM)
ok, ticked all those checkboxes in the repositories-ubuntu software-download frm main server..but when i typed d "sudo aptitude install mplayer libxine-extracodecs" i got this ..

then i tried typing "sudo apt-get install mplayer" i got this

i wonder wat happend.. still a noob here.. sweat.gif  hope sifus can help... notworthy.gif
did u run "sudo apt-get update" first ?

ben_ang
post May 25 2007, 09:29 PM

2,013 posts

tried tat. still not working.. cry.gif
ChopSuey
post May 25 2007, 09:44 PM

222 posts

have you tried Synaptic Package Manager? It's easy to
add repositories to Synaptic and you can browse around
to see if Mplayer is listed.

Some software is easier to install from the GUI and some
better by apt-get, from my experience :-)

- yap
ben_ang
post May 25 2007, 10:25 PM

2,013 posts

hmm.. actually i've tried a lot of thngy, try find mplayer on d synaptic manger, use apt-get, even try download d source code 2 compile myself.. it just doesnt work.. pitty it doesnt hav debian packages which can be download...
LittleLinnet
post May 25 2007, 11:49 PM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

newbie in Ubuntu here
i downloaded the ISO, burnt it, boot it, but cant seems to install it
i choose to install, after the loading bar loads finish, nothing came up. Why ?

I tried with 7.01 before, just now tried 6.06 and this time it allow me to type something.
Do i really need to type something to get it installed ?

This post has been edited by LittleLinnet: May 25 2007, 11:51 PM
vandetta
post May 26 2007, 12:10 AM

658 posts

I faced with something like this last time.
And it caused by my old HDD.

95 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:03 AM