[Help!] Ubuntu Problems, everything related to ubuntu goes here

kons
post Jan 10 2006, 10:15 PM

Конс
6,180 posts

QUOTE(sky_jap @ Dec 20 2005, 10:16 AM)
how much space is need to install Ubuntu? and wat is the desired space?
I dont know.
I got it installed in my 4.3 GB HDD.
Well. 5.04, that is.
kons
post Jan 10 2006, 10:17 PM

Конс
6,180 posts

Fuh.
I don't know.. i dont know.
It seems Ubuntu can't support newer ext2 and ext3.

I got this message when trying to mount it.

CODE
EXT2-fs: couldn't mount because of unsupported optional features

kons
post Jan 18 2006, 12:28 PM

Конс
6,180 posts

Last time I checked..
It's just difficult to get USB Modem to work with Linux..
Better off getting an Ethernet based modem.

kons
post Jan 19 2006, 08:04 AM

Конс
6,180 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Jan 18 2006, 07:42 PM)
my modem support ethernet, just that my pc dont have the ethernet port/network card. xD
I suppose you are using an ancient mobo without on board lan?

It's a sign you should upgrade your pc dude..
kons
post Jan 19 2006, 08:17 AM

Конс
6,180 posts

QUOTE(jwlam @ Jan 18 2006, 07:19 PM)
I'm having this problem when booting the installation disk...
it stops running after the line:

[#:#] ata1: sata ...blablabla... irq18
[#:#] ata2: sata ...blablabla... irq18
[#:#] ata1: dev 0 ATA, max UDMA/133, 156301488 sectors:

note: #'s are some numbers

then my cdrom stops running, no hdd activity either...

i have 2 sata hdd which i think shud b detected correctly as in the first 2 lines. the last line shud b my cdrom. correct me if i'm wrong... noob here...

can anyone help pls?
Are you using breezy?

Warty is current having some problem with writing boot record into SATA drive with another PATA drive present.. The solution is to yank the PATA drive out..

I heard hoary users have to do the same thing too...
kons
post Jan 19 2006, 11:05 AM

Конс
6,180 posts

QUOTE(d8kd @ Jan 19 2006, 10:52 AM)
i think jwlam using is both sata drive. but both shows irq18, could it be irq conflicts?
I dont think so.
In Linux, if there is irq conflict, it will tell us that something is too busy on that channel...

He needs to tell us which ubuntu he's using after all.

Ubuntu and SATA is a particularly widely discussed subject ever since Ubuntu was released a few years ago.
kons
post Aug 29 2006, 04:32 PM

Конс
6,180 posts

YOu need a /boot partition too.

cheers!
kons
post Sep 22 2006, 07:41 AM

Конс
6,180 posts

QUOTE(ryurhrt @ Sep 22 2006, 12:34 AM)
User's $HOME dicrectory must be owned by user and not  writable by other users.
The solution given is pretty obvious.

Before doing chmod, first you must do chown to change the owner of the file/directory to the correct user:group.
Then only you chmod it to 644.

Look closely, it says "directory", not "file".

So probably you need to do chown and chmod the directory, and also the .dmrc file. Putting a -R switch there might be better when doing the directory.

That's all for now.
Cheers!
kons
post Sep 22 2006, 10:26 AM

Конс
6,180 posts

QUOTE(ryurhrt @ Sep 22 2006, 09:51 AM)
the owner is the user for sure i had checked that, but the msg i dun understand is "the file $HOME/.dmrc is being ignored", what this means?
Sounds like the .dmrc file could not be read, or the permissions is wrong.
But to fix this, it requires some trial and error after all.
I've heard about this *bug* before....
Lots of solution out there.

Can't contribute much as my Ubuntu Server 6.06 doesn't have this problem..
Oh well.
kons
post Oct 3 2006, 06:51 PM

Конс
6,180 posts

What browser do you mean?
Internet browser?
kons
post Oct 4 2006, 06:40 AM

Конс
6,180 posts

I see that you did burn it on the cd.
Well, you burn it the wrong way dude.

You have the burn it as image, not burn the whole file into the cd.
kons
post Nov 1 2006, 06:37 AM

Конс
6,180 posts

Some common ubuntu questions and problems threads have been merged in here.

Cheers
kons
post Nov 6 2006, 01:51 PM

Конс
6,180 posts

QUOTE(elfreakz @ Nov 6 2006, 10:43 AM)
(a) guess what i try to install 2 os in a single hdd, at first every goes very well.. ubuntu also can login, but when try to use xp, it say autochk not found, and it turn blue .. why ah?
What tool did you use to partition your hdd in the first place?
Is your Windows XP running on ntfs?

QUOTE(elfreakz @ Nov 6 2006, 10:43 AM)
(b) i dont understand how to create connection in ubuntu, im using cable/usb via phone as modem...
Well, i'm sure you need a driver for that.
Contact the manufacturer and see if they provide drivers for linux.

Try if the driver is included in Ubuntu, but chances are, slim.
kons
post Nov 7 2006, 07:22 AM

Конс
6,180 posts

Frankly speaking, I have never expected ubuntu to give such problem...

Hmm, have you tried to unhide the NTFS partition?
Just add a line in the grub.conf
So it will look something like this

CODE

title Windows XP Professional SP2
unhide (hd1,1)
root noverify(hd1,1)
makeactive
chainloader +1

Note: (hda,b)
a corresponds to the drive and b corresponds to the partition.
(hd1,1) means second hdd, second partition.

By the way, if you want to be more adventurous, you can always get into grub and run the commands line by line and end it with boot

cheers
kons
post Nov 9 2006, 12:37 AM

Конс
6,180 posts

swap in Linux is always called swap.
You just need to define a swap type partition with a fixed size for it.

It depends what tool are you planning to use to create the partition.
Can't really say which one is better.

Btw, have you tried to unhide the ntfs partition?
kons
post Nov 12 2006, 07:36 AM

Конс
6,180 posts

QUOTE(elfreakz @ Nov 10 2006, 11:26 PM)
so which one should be swap, and which one is root (/)

should partition C (XP) be swap?
After all, are you trying to install two O/S into a single HDD?
Making dual-boot?

Windows XP partition can never be swap.
Swap itself is a partition and it cannot be shared between Windows and Linux.

Are you confused or something? tongue.gif
kons
post Dec 23 2006, 11:10 PM

Конс
6,180 posts

QUOTE(ainnatasya @ Dec 22 2006, 11:53 AM)
I just started using Ubuntu 6.10 on my new computer. Everything is run smoothly except I cannot access certain website like Google and Yahoo. I'm using Aztech DSL600EU Router and Streamyx for my ISP.
Please help, what configuration I should do?
If you're using a router, there should be no problem with DNS if you are running with DHCP.
Try doing host -v www.google.com and see if it's being resolved.
Or try to do dig www.google.com and see.
kons
post Dec 24 2006, 09:02 AM

Конс
6,180 posts

QUOTE(stealer @ Dec 24 2006, 08:53 AM)
in the terminal type sudo yourcommand to run a program as a root
or sudo -s to become root
you'll need the root password for that.
can always do sudo su - as well
kons
post Jan 26 2007, 08:08 AM

Конс
6,180 posts

QUOTE(jiant @ Jan 25 2007, 09:06 PM)
any body can help me...?some problem with dual boot winxp and ubuntu..

some problem during install ubuntu ...step 6.(make partition for / and /root or etc..forgot already)
Well, what problem are you facing exactly?
kons
post Jan 26 2007, 10:06 PM

Конс
6,180 posts

How much space could you allocate for Ubuntu?
It's better if you let us know that.
Then probably we can give you a rough estimate of /,/root and swap

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0787sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:19 PM