141 posts

QUOTE(elfreakz @ Nov 12 2006, 01:17 PM)
ok my hdd is 80GB now.

got 3 partition oledi.

1) 20GB on C: --> here is the XP files
2) 30GB on D: --> for my mp3s and videoclip almost full oledi
3) 30GB on E: --> only documents

then?
oh... ur D and E is logical or primary?i hope both of them is logical... if not, ur linux maybe will be in trouble... because a hdd can only have 4 primary partition, unless it is in logical... linux need at least 2 partition. if ur D and E is primary, then ur linux maybe fail to install the swap.

so...what what do u plan for ur linux? 10GB? 5GB?

ok, if u can, reinstall xp, make it about 10 to 15GB, and left the rest unpartition, it is about 5 to 10GB, after finish ur xp, then install ur Ubuntu in that unpartition space.every should be fine...

elfreakz
post Nov 12 2006, 03:03 PM

3,905 posts

both D and E is logical....

how if i manually resize my xp C partition, then the balance i create empty partition for ubuntu which will be call F:

is it possible?
idope
post Nov 12 2006, 04:11 PM

233 posts

owh..sorry bout didn't search on this thread earlier

my question:

i've installed linux on "/root" on my ext 3 and swap file on "ext 2" but what "/home or /media etc do"

i consider swap partition is a virtual place for swapping? is it? and i couldn't put any stuff in it?

about Error 21: can't load up GRUB in after plug off hdb1 contains ubuntu linux os

i've search the ubuntu forum and found similar case Error 21 im still undecided to follow that guide..scary

ryurhrt
post Nov 12 2006, 04:17 PM

141 posts

stop bringing the concept of partitioning in window environment.
there is no C,D or E even until Z in linux.

all the hardware will be listed as a file in the /dev folder.

normally when u install linux, it will call the 1st hdd name like:
1.) /dev/hda for PATA drive
2.) /dev/sda for SATA/SCSI/USB drive

then if ur HDD is PATA, and ur window is in the front of the partition then it will be called /dev/hda1, as u say ur D,E is logical, then they will be called as /dev/hda5 and /dev/hda6.

let's say u re-install ur xp, or resize the partition to 15GB, there will be 5GB behind the XP partition ©

then during the ubuntu installation, another partition will be create, that will be called /dev/hda2 for root(/), one more partition will be create, that is the swap. which might be /dev/hda3 or /dev/hda7
ryurhrt
post Nov 12 2006, 04:19 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(idope @ Nov 12 2006, 04:11 PM)
owh..sorry bout didn't search on this thread earlier

my question:

i've installed linux on "/root" on my ext 3 and swap file on "ext 2" but what "/home or /media etc do"

i consider swap partition is a virtual place  for swapping? is it? and i couldn't put any stuff in it?

about Error 21: can't load up GRUB in after plug off hdb1 contains ubuntu linux os

i've search the ubuntu forum and found similar case Error 21 im still undecided to follow that guide..scary
dun plug off the hdb1, the GRUB is in that partition.

idope
post Nov 12 2006, 05:02 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(ryurhrt @ Nov 12 2006, 05:19 PM)
dun plug off the hdb1, the GRUB is in that partition.
opps..correction it's in sdb1 (SATA hd)..could i install GRUB in windows partition? coz i might moving that hard disk around?

well..u see after living in microsoft windows OS for a long time u happen to relate similar problem with the old one..

anyway thanx

ryurhrt
post Nov 12 2006, 06:26 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(idope @ Nov 12 2006, 05:02 PM)
opps..correction it's in sdb1 (SATA hd)..could i install GRUB in windows partition? coz i might moving that hard disk around?

well..u see after living in microsoft windows OS for a long time u happen to relate similar problem with the old one..

anyway thanx
Wat i recommand u is to find the "Super Grub Disk", then try to play around with it.
or try to fix the window boot manager with window Xp cd.

then i recommand u to install some 3rd party boot manager like, Acronis OS selector. then when u plug ur 2nd hdd in, the os selector know there is a linux there. and it won affect ur xp anyway.
TSe-jump
post Nov 17 2006, 10:20 AM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

Guys, anyone tried booting LiveCD using Qemu?
*using Qemu n LiveCD in attemp for testing/learning VM

http://kidsquid.com/cgi-bin/moin.cgi/QemuOnWindows
i already have the liveCD iso on same directory

so far i manage to boot the liveCD using the cd itself using
$qemu-system-x86_64.exe -L . -cdrom "\\.\G:"

but im lost on how to boot using the iso image cry.gif

-----------edit----------------
figured it out using
$qemu-system-x86_64.exe -L . -cdrom "\\.\x....\Ubuntu.iso"

however, using VM, do i need to fix a LILO/Acronis etc too? (*if i install it via Qemu)

This post has been edited by e-jump: Nov 17 2006, 11:10 AM
ryurhrt
post Nov 17 2006, 02:08 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Nov 17 2006, 10:20 AM)
Guys, anyone tried booting LiveCD using Qemu?
*using Qemu n LiveCD in attemp for testing/learning VM

http://kidsquid.com/cgi-bin/moin.cgi/QemuOnWindows
i already have the liveCD iso on same directory

so far i manage to boot the liveCD using the cd itself using
$qemu-system-x86_64.exe -L . -cdrom "\\.\G:"

but im lost on how to boot using the iso image cry.gif
-----------edit----------------
figured it out using
$qemu-system-x86_64.exe -L . -cdrom "\\.\x....\Ubuntu.iso"

however, using VM, do i need to fix a LILO/Acronis etc too? (*if i install it via Qemu)
Are u using Qemu in Window ? or in linux ? why dun u try VMware player, which is also free. u can also use the Vmware Server, there is a free edition also. this two are easier to use as u r not familiar with CLI.

if u want to test the live-cd why don't u just burn it and boot it with ur pc, it won't affect ur system at all.

This post has been edited by ryurhrt: Nov 17 2006, 02:12 PM
TSe-jump
post Nov 17 2006, 02:43 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

QUOTE(ryurhrt @ Nov 17 2006, 02:08 PM)
Are u using Qemu in Window ? or in linux ? why dun u try VMware player, which is also free. u can also use the Vmware Server, there is a free edition also. this two are easier to use as u r not familiar with CLI.

if u want to test the live-cd why don't u just burn it and boot it with ur pc, it won't affect ur system at all.
LOL, i kinda see that one coming laugh.gif

well, actually i still need the windows environment (games etc) while i wanna learn sum linux. (windows as Host)
All these while i've been using dual boot, n guess what, I entered linux oS less than 20 times doh.gif
thats why I'm thinkin of using VM.

yeah, maybe i should try VMware, as it seems virtualization in Qemu is so damn faggotry slow.

So now im dloading Xubuntu n hope it runs well in V mode on Qemu, while gonna try VMware later on.

---------------------------------

damn faggotry with ubuntu 5.10 liveCD .. ultra slow/lag to boot doh.gif
mission success with Qemu + Slax biggrin.gif
user posted image user posted image
it seems i do really need dual core anytime soon, 1 core dedicated for VM
*time to study on installing linux with Qemu

This post has been edited by e-jump: Nov 17 2006, 07:30 PM
ryurhrt
post Nov 17 2006, 10:28 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Nov 17 2006, 02:43 PM)
LOL, i kinda see that one coming laugh.gif

well, actually i still need the windows environment (games etc) while i wanna learn sum linux. (windows as Host)
All these while i've been using dual boot, n guess what, I entered linux oS less than 20 times doh.gif
thats why I'm thinkin of using VM.

yeah, maybe i should try VMware, as it seems virtualization in Qemu is so damn faggotry slow.

So now im dloading Xubuntu n hope it runs well in V mode on Qemu, while gonna try VMware later on.
I used Qemu b4, but it is really slow even with the Kemu to boost up, that is why last time i turn to use vmware workstation for learning linux in window environment, for now, i dual boot Ubuntu 6.10 & Window Xp, i log-in to ubuntu do almost everything, even playing DOTA (with AI), haha, the only time i login to window is to playing dota online, bcos the Blue Server's Bprotect cannot open using wine, haih...

now, i also installed the vmware server free edition in ubuntu, to test other linux distro... smile.gif

This post has been edited by ryurhrt: Nov 17 2006, 10:30 PM
twho
post Nov 19 2006, 02:52 AM

487 posts

hi..
i juz wanna know if ubuntu is better than mandriva?
I'm currently a mandriva user.. thinking of using ubuntu...
Should i?
KucingKelabu
post Nov 19 2006, 06:47 AM

372 posts

You can always try by booting into the Ubuntu Live CD first biggrin.gif fiddle around with it before decided to click the 'install' tongue.gif
ryurhrt
post Nov 25 2006, 11:20 AM

141 posts

problem !!!!, when i just start up, the partition which is in Ext3 File system is mount with root, i cannot copy file inside...

This is small problem, then i just simply chmod 777 to that mount point. After copy my file inside, i can access to that folder that i create, and even add files. However, after some while, i found the problem. when I delete file, the file doesn't go to trash 1st, i afraid if i wrongly deleted something...

ok then i chown and chgrp the mount point, problem solve...

Main problem :
but is there any way to set in /etc/fstab to mount the partition by user, and not root.

Thanks for helping ... smile.gif
babymilo83
post Nov 26 2006, 01:17 PM

89 posts

i have a weird problems with ubuntu....
at first i can;t connect to internet.. i check my DNS server the IP is my own modem IP so then, i change to streamyx default DNS 202.188.0.133 ...
after i changed it, an hour or sometimes 30 mins later, the DNS will auto change back to my ORIGINAL MODEM DNS.... then i can;t connect to the internet again.. anybody knows the solutions? thx
ryurhrt
post Nov 26 2006, 11:10 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(babymilo83 @ Nov 26 2006, 01:17 PM)
i have a weird problems with ubuntu....
at first i can;t connect to internet.. i check my DNS server the IP is my own modem IP so then, i change to streamyx default DNS 202.188.0.133 ...
after i changed it, an hour or sometimes 30 mins later, the DNS will auto change back to my ORIGINAL MODEM DNS.... then i can;t connect to the internet again.. anybody knows the solutions? thx
ur modem is router modem or just pure modem?
ericmaxman
post Nov 27 2006, 09:05 AM

-
7,951 posts

hi, can i join?? i ran ubuntu live-cd, but when reach kde, the keyboard and mouse does not respond..
anetwork
post Nov 27 2006, 10:00 AM

660 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Nov 27 2006, 09:05 AM)
hi, can i join?? i ran ubuntu live-cd, but when reach kde, the keyboard and mouse does not respond..
Yes! u r welcome.

When u edi reach KDE & mouse/ kboard failed..nothing much u can do..u can try with other kboard & mouse 1st. Then, come back here. Giv us d result..
ericmaxman
post Nov 27 2006, 05:17 PM

-
7,951 posts

oww...so i'll have to swap my logitech internet pro with something else, ya? not fair..my bro using microsoft comfort curve 2000 no problem..
oshiri
post Nov 27 2006, 05:31 PM

751 posts

Check your bios if you are using usb keyboard; and enable USB legacy support.
Sometimes when you enable both keyboard and mouse usb legacy support, it will conflict.
Try play a bit with it.

95 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0187sec    1.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:39 PM