Drums LYN Drummers Paradise v3 thread

isaacmiranda7
post Oct 29 2011, 12:57 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(AhBoy~~ @ Oct 28 2011, 07:38 PM)
Thanks~ yeah last year I also went on hunting HHX during the yamaha sale but only can find AA~ even early this year I went to yamaha at the curve also they say don't HHX model... sweat.gif

is HHX Evolution 18" Crash at RM800 a good price to grab? or should wait for some big sale?  smile.gif
18' crash new? not bad lah actually smile.gif I think can push for more discount though wink.gif

HEHEHEHE I think I got the last HHXs wink.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Oct 29 2011, 01:53 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Oct 29 2011, 01:17 PM)
Where you bought them? BTW I like Holy China.....any views about it? brows.gif

Tho must wear ear protection...if not GG laugh.gif
The Chad Smith one arh? biggrin.gif Yeah, it is cool. x)

I frequent the Midvalley store.
isaacmiranda7
post Oct 30 2011, 12:34 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Oct 29 2011, 04:57 PM)
I see.....eh 1guy offered me a 2nd hand (1month old) Pearl Forum for 1.2K good buy? hmm.gif?

I have 3K....3 - 1.2 = 1.8K more for cymbals and pedals.....

Feedback? notworthy.gif
I don't think they make the Pearl Forum anymore, correct me if I'm wrong. So, it can't be one month old, unless old stock, no? Okay lah, I guess, but remember to get new heads. But I'd rather go for a secondhand, better kit so don't need to upgrade so fast.
isaacmiranda7
post Oct 30 2011, 02:04 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(AhBoy~~ @ Oct 30 2011, 12:44 AM)
what cymbal u get that time? flex.gif
pearl still making forum but is the new model with ISS mount
I got my HHX hats, and a friend of mine picked up two crashes and a ride as well as a pair of hats wink.gif HAHAHAHA!

Si fu what you suggest to me.
HAHAHAHA! I'm not sifu la xD

I suggest you scout the forums for a while more first, and see if got good deals around. But if you're satisfied with the forum, get some used good quality cymbals maybe? as well as good drumheads. biggrin.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Oct 30 2011, 04:11 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Oct 30 2011, 02:38 PM)
I see....but my brain now thinking of Tama....I read up online and they say Tama Goodding.... drummerworld forum I think is the name.

How now rclxub.gif
Tama, well, the Imperialstar is so so la. :/ Try getting a used Superstar?
isaacmiranda7
post Oct 30 2011, 06:05 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Oct 30 2011, 04:23 PM)
Where to find them......
Imperialstars? Bentleys biggrin.gif HAHAHAHA!
isaacmiranda7
post Oct 30 2011, 09:41 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Oct 30 2011, 08:14 PM)
I mean 2nd hand stuff doh.gif
LYN, Jamtank, friends biggrin.gif Online, just keep asking. Sure got people selling de.
isaacmiranda7
post Oct 31 2011, 08:01 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(killerkamote7 @ Oct 31 2011, 11:20 AM)
My fellow musicians,

Any drummer here interested to join a little collaboration project just for fun? Thanks!

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2064769
Honestly, I would love to, but my drums are all packed up at the moment. I might be getting BFD soon, so I COULD possibly do ome drum tracks for you, sometime.
isaacmiranda7
post Nov 2 2011, 07:28 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Jenglot @ Nov 2 2011, 01:08 AM)
hoho...master of puppets...

still remember back in the 90's when jamming this song at Amerah studio in Pertama Complex...broke the cymbals stand...have to paid them in installment..rm10 per month...

heheh...school kids where got money...
Go jazz bro biggrin.gif Quote Unquote wink.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Nov 3 2011, 09:50 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Nov 2 2011, 05:04 PM)
Agree quite hard to control......Sigh need practice more lo....  sad.gif

Eh guys I wan ask something....2.3K for Brand New Imperialstar....good price?  drool.gif  hmm.gif (No Cymbals)

Thanks.  smile.gif
Pretty okay price smile.gif The snare is actually pretty alright, but the rest of the kit is... uhh.. YEAH. biggrin.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Nov 3 2011, 09:20 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Nov 3 2011, 05:48 PM)
Crap then what you suggest.... 40 DW?  sweat.gif
What's your budget just for the kit again? smile.gif

For around RM2.5k, I could probably get you a ddrum Reflex or a Pearl Vision, which are pretty good for the price. And for slightly higher than that, you could get your hands on the Mapex M-Birch, which is an alright mid-range kit.

For even lower than the Imperialstar, if you'd need to get cymbals and so on, I'd advise you to go for the Ludwig Element. One of the best in that price range.

isaacmiranda7
post Nov 4 2011, 09:19 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Nov 4 2011, 07:07 AM)
Well my budget is....3k+- for whole set....cymbals too....  laugh.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif

Thanks smile.gif
What cymbals are you planning to get? biggrin.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Nov 7 2011, 03:02 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(zacharyseng @ Nov 7 2011, 10:37 AM)
hi, do you guys put something in the snare to muffle the sound?
You mean to muffle the overtones right? If yes, a lot of people I know use moongels or a Remo O Ring (or an Evans E Ring) to cut the overtones. Sometimes, you get people using wallets to dampen some of the overtones too.

But if you mean, muffling the sound for a more lo-fi sound, yes, I do that sometimes by covering the snare batter with a layer or two of loth nd looening the snare wires slightly at the bottom.

Added on November 7, 2011, 5:01 pmAnd guys, how much do you guys pay for shipping a snare from the US to here? Checking out some Battlefield and SJC stuff.

This post has been edited by isaacmiranda7: Nov 7 2011, 05:01 PM
isaacmiranda7
post Nov 7 2011, 07:42 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Nov 7 2011, 06:00 PM)
BF3? Why buy from US? o.o
Battlefield, as in the custom drum company biggrin.gif HAHAHAHA! And buy from US cause I think shipping straight from US will be cheaper than going through Singapore.
isaacmiranda7
post Nov 9 2011, 09:25 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

[quote=Jenglot,Nov 7 2011, 09:34 PM]

Added on November 7, 2011, 5:01 pmAnd guys, how much do you guys pay for shipping a snare from the US to here? Checking out some Battlefield and SJC stuff.

[/quote]
shipping snare will cost around usd 90 - 130..depending on the courier. Cheaper will be us postal and dhl or fed ex more exp...remember the custom tax about 10%

[/quote]

Thanks bro smile.gif I'm hoping to see something come up pretty soon!

Anyway, I'm going to try a minimalist setup this Sunday at Tropicana. Bass kick, floor tom, snare, a pair of hats, a crash and a ride. Anyone wanna come along? Can yamcha/have snare shootout after that tongue.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Nov 10 2011, 08:56 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Nov 9 2011, 04:05 PM)
Go tropicana do what? Which area? Bring 4-piece? brows.gif

No rack tom? ohmy.gif
Details are in my sig smile.gif its a short three-song thing la. Nope, no rack toms. So, basically its a three piece, not a four piece tongue.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Nov 10 2011, 04:08 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(junky_man @ Nov 10 2011, 09:13 AM)
Hey guys, this not the usual thread I visit, but have you guys checked out David Letterman's drum week a few months ago?

They invited a few drummers like Tony Royster Jr, Steward Copeland and Dennis Chambers to do some drum solo accompanied by the in-house band.

Out of all the drummers who played, the one who blew me away was Gavin Harrison!

Phenomenal. Even me, not a drummer, can easily see how good he is. My respect to him ten-fold when he does short videos on drum tips in youtube.
The drummers he invited were among the best in the world smile.gif Gav is the Porcupine Tree drummer I think.

Anyway guys! Have you been voting for what cymbals Sabian should make next year?
isaacmiranda7
post Nov 11 2011, 09:28 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Nov 11 2011, 07:31 AM)
I see....why you always Gig o.o so much time?  hmm.gif
Playing at shows, besides giving you that exhilaration and adrenaline rush, lets you better yourself as a drummer, as well as lets you make new friends and contacts. And its so fun. wink.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Nov 12 2011, 05:21 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(DrGreenthumb @ Nov 11 2011, 04:10 PM)
totally agree with isaac!
but sadly i've only played like once in a show..lol

Anyway hi guys im in the learning process as well. Just got myself a drumset n found a band this year.
Would like to join in the conversations. smile.gif
Hi! Welcome to our awesome drum sanctuary biggrin.gif Tell us more about yourself, your style of play, what you like listening to, etc biggrin.gif

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Nov 11 2011, 04:38 PM)
yup i also like to gig and play show but difficult to find bands in penang.

Like im new and most of them are pro's so level very different sad.gif
Penang has a pretty bustling pub scene right? Why not try those out for kicks with a band? smile.gif
OR. Play on the beach. Seriously. wink.gif

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Nov 11 2011, 04:42 PM)
I always wanted to do that....

Tho, I usually perform on stage lol~ Well not drums haha its Diabolo  biggrin.gif
Ahh, diabolo, I suck at that :/
isaacmiranda7
post Nov 12 2011, 07:13 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Nov 12 2011, 05:43 PM)
^

HAHAH! tongue.gif Now I learning drum...hard control tempo(Hitting the hi-hat)....any tips.... doh.gif

I notice the best speed I am at is 70BPM....if I go slower can but the longer I stay the more likely I will speed up....it's the opposite if I go faster lol...
Well, you can probably start counting in your head, play along with songs and practice with a metronome smile.gif That ought to do the trick. And of course, no one can maintain constant tempo without a click track, and then some.

25 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0627sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:10 PM