25 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Drums LYN Drummers Paradise v3 thread

isaacmiranda7
post Sep 20 2011, 06:56 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(CreamCracker @ Sep 17 2011, 02:42 PM)
no lah, ask him to play single/double stroke only first mah. but you do have a point there tongue.gif

anyways wanna ask. do you guys wear wrist bands or anything when you play? i don't have any wrist injuries/pains/whatever but i heard many drummers experience carpal tunnel syndrome (CTS). and prevention is better than cure  biggrin.gif
I think the best counter for CTS, is proper warmups. Take 5-10 minutes AT LEAST to stretch.
isaacmiranda7
post Sep 20 2011, 05:49 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Party2DMax @ Sep 20 2011, 11:11 AM)
Yes, very fortunate indeed and thanks for sharing. Nothing mentioned on the seats, though.
Edit: Got my tix in the email already. Based on my tix number and the size of Bentley's auditorium... no hurry la.
And you're right about it being Roland's event. Haha rclxms.gif
Warm up and stretching is different.
Never stretch before warming up, when your muscles and joints are cold. Light stretching after warm up, heavy stretching after everything is done.
So goes the ideal routine for workouts. Should be the same for drumming.
WHAAAAAAAT? :/ That means I've been doing it wrongly this whole time. Usually I do some light tapping to get my consistency out, then stretch my hands and arms, before moving to full speed warmup with rudiments etc.
isaacmiranda7
post Sep 21 2011, 06:38 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Sep 21 2011, 07:17 AM)
Wah? Best Drummer? What you do wo? 300BPM on 1foot? tongue.gif 

BTW Morning Guys. biggrin.gif
No lah tongue.gif HAHAHAHA!

QUOTE(treflip @ Sep 21 2011, 06:05 PM)
hehehe yup...hopefully it will reach me in time for our recording in oct...AMIN!! hehehehe...its another DW collectors this time its a 10+6 maple 14x6 snare...the third one in the DW family hehehe
Whoa. Fudgesticks. HAHAHAHA! Nice one mate smile.gif Thinking of grabbing a Yamaha Mushashi at the end of the year.
isaacmiranda7
post Sep 22 2011, 05:14 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(treflip @ Sep 21 2011, 07:39 PM)
A friend of mine just gotten himself a 14x6.5 musashi snare second hand heheheehe..for a good deal!! hehehe
Heh. If he wants to sell, panggil saya. I'm gonna get to play with a Pearl Brass snare for a bit while recording my EP. tongue.gif If you want to lend me your DW, I wouldn't mind also wink.gif HAHAHAHA! Lawak aje.

Long time never see you around, overseas tour ka? flex.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Sep 23 2011, 07:39 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Sep 23 2011, 01:26 PM)
Then what did you do?  hmm.gif

BTW What song you play?  hmm.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
I played, my style lah. biggrin.gif Rock version of Adele's Rolling In The Deep.

QUOTE(treflip @ Sep 23 2011, 05:23 PM)
hhhehehe no lah...was busy with my internship and all...hehehe now free!! hehehe
Internship kat mana? yawn.gif My school is sending us for work experience. I'm going to be working in a recording studio in early November, the after that, if you guys wanna cari me, I'll be in Music Master late November and December. First couple weeks of December going into the studio for recording biggrin.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Sep 24 2011, 06:24 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Sep 24 2011, 11:56 AM)
Kewl. Trolling in teh deeeppp... tongue.gif

Your style eh can share?  brows.gif Jack of all trades master of none?  laugh.gif
I think every drummer has their own style. Even when doing studio work, the way you play really shines through.
Most people know me as a hard-hitting rock drummer with bad timework la tongue.gif HAHAHAHA! But I've had to tone down a lot, since last year, after starting more studio work.

Here's a piece of advice la tongue.gif The softer you hit your cymbals, the more the tone shines through, and with a good contrast of volume on your plates and your drums, the drums will sound bigger. I read it in Modern Drummer, March I think. xD

I like incorporating a lot of accent and dynamic work on my hats. :/ I think that's a very pivotal part of my playing. I'm starting to move into more tom work and extrapolation on beats nowadays lah, thus expanding my drum vocabulary.

QUOTE(treflip @ Sep 24 2011, 02:02 PM)
cool!! music master as in ss2 is it? did internship in media prima hehehe

Added on September 24, 2011, 2:24 pm
eh no lah...biasa only la hehehe...
Yes, Music Master SS2. biggrin.gif

Anyone know when the next Yamaha sale is? Gotta save up. HHX crash needed badly tongue.gif HAHAHAHA!
isaacmiranda7
post Sep 25 2011, 02:59 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(brokenbomb @ Sep 25 2011, 01:29 AM)
plus. hitting cymbals softly can save u a lot of $$. hahaha.
Ya meh? I haven't broken any cymbals (YET) HAHAHAHA!
isaacmiranda7
post Sep 26 2011, 01:35 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Sep 26 2011, 07:36 AM)
LOL! Hard leh for me  sad.gif  tongue.gif

Eh I wanna ask when performing live where to put mics? Just like recording in studio?  blink.gif
QUOTE(5p3ak @ Sep 26 2011, 01:21 PM)
Okay. Wow Like that all the mics over me... like very weird leh....Then Plug it into? Connect to the hall's PA system?  icon_question.gif
The basic one is to mic your kick, your snare as well as a couple of overheads. And what do you mean the mics all over you? xD Clip your mics to the rims of your toms and snare la biggrin.gif

Of course, if you have the equipment, you can mic everything up.

But yes, through the hall's PA system, or you could run through a interface or a mixer first if the hall mixer/PA does not have enough inputs.
isaacmiranda7
post Sep 27 2011, 01:58 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

I'll upload some pictures later of how I've mic-ed up a few kits in the studio with clips as well as my church kit smile.gif So yeah. You don't have to always use stand mics like the one in your picture for the toms and snare.
isaacmiranda7
post Sep 27 2011, 05:49 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Sep 27 2011, 05:21 PM)
Okay. biggrin.gif Or you those small ones ah? Like do interview de the one can clip on the clothes?
Umm.. not exactly. xD HAHAHAHA!

As you can see, I've drawn circles around the mics. biggrin.gif They're clipped like that. The snare one is clipped to the underside of the snare. Usually we've got one on top as well, a Shure SM57 or something but not in this shot.

Something like this, perhaps?
Just one of the many types.

isaacmiranda7
post Sep 28 2011, 07:11 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Sep 28 2011, 07:36 AM)
Hmmm not bad. Where to get 'em? Bentaly got sell?  hmm.gif Cuz I can just walk there lol.
Sell what mate? The mics or the mic holders? tongue.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Sep 30 2011, 06:50 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Sep 29 2011, 07:54 AM)
Both lar @.@ Shyt weh~ So much thing

Even more then my guitarist's Pedals. Pening sia.....
Heh bro tongue.gif You have no idea. xD I'm going the other way around now. From all my drum equipment, now investing in more and more guitar stuff. This year haven't bought anything drum related yet. xD

QUOTE(hamstrex @ Sep 29 2011, 10:24 AM)
bro... i suggest you go for drum microphones, because they have already tune the microphone to be responsive in certain frequency.. unlike the sm57/sm58 which is a multipurpose mic... it can be ranged from RM800-10k....
RM800? The IVA mic set arh? I have used them before, they are okay, but if you have the cash, go for something a bit more expensive. I got this set when I first moved into recording drums, but the bass kick mic didn't work, the condensers gave me some problems..

Either ways, yes, if you have the cash, go listen to what you like, and see what you would like to use. I know someone who uses the Audix D7 set, and while expensive, they are really good mics.

For my last recording I used Audio Technica and Shure heavily, forgot what mics adi. The SM57 was my top snare mic, and I used a bass kick mic to mic the bottom of my snare. FAT SNARE SOUND YO!

QUOTE(Party2DMax @ Sep 29 2011, 11:44 AM)
You do know that those specialised snare mics are mostly based on the SM57, right? You do know that the SM57 has a bump in the presence range which makes it real nice for most drum applications, right? And you do know that it is the among the most popular mic in drums, right?

So what "drum microphones" do you mean, unlike the SM57?
thumbup.gif

isaacmiranda7
post Oct 1 2011, 06:00 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Sep 30 2011, 05:32 PM)
So what should I get for the mics and stuff? moI Lost liao cry.gif
Depends on your budget, and what you'll use them for biggrin.gif
I suggest, for a starter kit, get the Samson mics at least, and maybe get a multipurpose mic like the SM57 that you can throw anywhere and use for anything.

QUOTE(muckstefan @ Sep 30 2011, 06:56 PM)
I'm planning to bur Mapex MPX birch snare 13x6 and replace the head with remo black-x batter head. how does that sounds to u guys?
btw this is my 1st post in this thread.hello everyone:)
That sounds like a very dark but punchy snare tongue.gif HAHAHAHA!

Anyone else entered the Battlefield Drums Snare Giveaway contest? THEY'RE REVEALING THE WINNER TOMORROW I THINK.

Edit: I'm thinking of starting drum lessons again, I need to get my theory in line, and improve my technique. Heh. Anyone here teaching, or recommend any teachers?

This post has been edited by isaacmiranda7: Oct 1 2011, 07:39 PM
isaacmiranda7
post Oct 3 2011, 06:59 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Oct 1 2011, 08:54 PM)
My Budget below 500.... can ah?  cry.gif  brows.gif

I'll use them fro Drums,obviosly  laugh.gif  sweat.gif

In that case, I think you should save up a bit more. :/ Maybe you could get at least three good quality used mics, one for your bass, one snare and one overhead, at least for starters biggrin.gif

QUOTE(muckstefan @ Oct 1 2011, 11:55 PM)
btw does anyone know about C&M Music? I was thinking about buying some drum stuffs frm them online...are the services any good?
I'd say they're okay la, but their prices are a bit above average. Service is good though.
*subtle advertising* I sell what they sell for cheaper too wink.gif HAHAHAHA!

QUOTE(scorpio94 @ Oct 2 2011, 01:51 PM)
No tips on the slide technique? sad.gif
I don't use the slide technique for playing my kick but maybe Afiq or Wintersun could have something to say about this?
isaacmiranda7
post Oct 3 2011, 07:30 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

Take into consideration, you'll need an interface too smile.gif

For a "good" one, at least a grand plus maybe?
isaacmiranda7
post Oct 4 2011, 06:49 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Oct 4 2011, 04:32 PM)
Fark...like that I wasted my 12K for ESP KH-2 SE  cry.gif  But who cares that $$$ ain't mine  brows.gif  laugh.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
Walao tongue.gif Then who's money arh? belanja me lah biggrin.gif Shredder arh bro? xD I use ESP too. I've got a Mirage loaded with BKPs!

And by the way, as per your earlier question, I use heel down or heel up. Comfortable with both. smile.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Oct 4 2011, 07:14 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Oct 4 2011, 07:06 PM)
Some sponsor...well not all she sponsor la... blush.gif  tongue.gif
So what Mics&Mixing Eq you use?  hmm.gif
I go into a Behringer mixer and a Zoom R24 interface for monitoring and recording simultaneously. At the moment, I'm using Sennheisers and Shure mics la. smile.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Oct 5 2011, 06:01 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Oct 4 2011, 08:32 PM)
I see...so lets just say if the budget of 2K what can I get? Thanks.  notworthy.gif
You still haven't said exactly what you want to use it for. Studio-level recording, home-recording, monitoring, jamming studio or what? xD

But with two thousand bucks I'd get a few used good quality mics, see what's on the market and a decent interface.
isaacmiranda7
post Oct 7 2011, 07:06 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

I got my set at a pretty good deal, so I spent about 3.2k on a mid-level kit. Then add in my Iron Cobras, about 1.2k new. Then my hats, crash and ride cost me a measly 1.2k, at 70% off. So you've got a decent kit with professional hardware and cymbals for about 6000 bucks. smile.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Oct 8 2011, 05:21 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Oct 8 2011, 07:15 AM)
Isaac, chiU haven answer my Q yet... cry.gif
Oh right biggrin.gif HAHAHAHA! Sorry, must've missed it. Hmm... Honestly, all I can tell you to do is look for good bargain deals at around that price. Get a good interface, maybe a Zoom R24 or at least an 8 track interface, used if possible, and look around for good deals on mics. Some vocal mics can be used well on drums too. For around this budget, you can't really get the high end mic sets like the Audix D7 or stuff. smile.gif

Maybe get a Samson mic set and a cheaper interface. smile.gif

25 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0556sec    1.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:13 PM