Drums LYN Drummers Paradise v3 thread

isaacmiranda7
post Aug 2 2011, 07:20 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(OH- @ Aug 2 2011, 07:02 PM)
Where? I'm too farrrrrrr. Perlis T_T

BTW guys, I'm catching up on playing double bass now. I can do fast 16th notes. The problem is, I'm feeling a little discomfort from the pedal position. the left one. I'm not sure whether it is too close or too far apart. How long you all open your axis? And also if some of you can share some pictures of your pedal position?

Thanks!  icon_question.gif
KL biggrin.gif Come down lah!

Hmm.. I still use my double pedals for rolls or for short runs only wink.gif HAHAHAHA!
Anyway, what works for me might not work for you. It depends on your snare size, and whether there's enough space especially with all the stands in the way. This is where the racks excel.
isaacmiranda7
post Aug 3 2011, 06:29 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

HEY GUYS! My band got into the finals of the MY Challenge competition 2011! Come support on the 10th of September? DBKL Auditorium. biggrin.gif

isaacmiranda7
post Aug 6 2011, 02:34 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

Tama Starphonic. :/ Next snare perhaps?
isaacmiranda7
post Aug 7 2011, 03:22 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

US$650 retail lah... Online stores selling for US$499 I think. Should be about 1.8k here? I dunno. Starclassic cheaper biggrin.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Aug 8 2011, 08:07 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(jejari7 @ Aug 8 2011, 04:17 PM)
in the middle of choosing between tama superstar sk hyperdrive 6pc or pdp x7. what u guys say?
AHA! The old debate, finally back here. biggrin.gif

Both are nice kits, undoubtedly the Superstar has more resale value, but both play nicely.

I'd go with the X7. Extra tom = win. biggrin.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Aug 11 2011, 05:53 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(DrGreenthumb @ Aug 11 2011, 11:05 AM)
Heylo fellow drummers. Im still a noob looking for advice from anyone anywhere.

Just a quick question to all the double-pedal drummers out there, what kinda exercises do ya'll do
to improve speed and control? What works best for ya'll?

Lemme know.thx
HEY THERE! biggrin.gif

Practice, slowly. Like really slowly. Start at 60bpm perhaps? I find playing slow harder than playing fast(er) for myself. Slowly move up. After maybe a few minutes of consistency, move up 5 bpm or so. Also, practice different patterns. Perhaps use your sticking rudiments for your kicks. Practice triplets, paradiddles and flams for your kicks to improve control.
isaacmiranda7
post Aug 14 2011, 05:07 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

@Namqul : I WANT. Where to get my hands on it? :/

I'm having a bit of a problem timing my 13 stroke rolls. :/ Tips anyone?
isaacmiranda7
post Aug 14 2011, 11:05 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(brokenbomb @ Aug 14 2011, 06:49 PM)
erm. improve ur doubles? haha.
Admittedly, my doubles are relatively slow lah smile.gif But I just find it a bit tough to add to my normal "repertoire" of licks and rolls that I normally do.
isaacmiranda7
post Aug 15 2011, 06:53 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(brokenbomb @ Aug 15 2011, 04:26 PM)
isaac - pelan2 bh. hehe

gooner - trad grip? hurm. better learn it urself eh. or go watch dci snare line player. haha. they have the best trad grip around.
Yeah, its like I have to really think about it before I execute it. xD HAHAHA! Today played lah, can lah. Slowly slowly. Now trying my 7 and 9 stroke rolls. tongue.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Aug 18 2011, 11:52 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

[
QUOTE(WintersuN @ Aug 17 2011, 03:04 PM)
slide technique will get a different sound feeling compare to using 2 legs.. it will feel like "dub dub" "dub dub" not the smooth "dub dub dub dub" feel
Yes, I agree, unless you're really good at it wink.gif HAHAHA!

QUOTE(SkodengMan @ Aug 18 2011, 03:33 AM)
im a new drummer to this thread.
i can see u guys are talking about foot techniques.
i jus wanna share my 2cents smile.gif

my experience is maybe a little non orthodox.
i also go thru the increase in tempo. another way to build stamina and resistance for 2xpedals, is to play with the tension coil abit. really stiff to really soft. the contrast in conditions will really test ur technique level.

issac - a tip for odd groupings. try syncopation over 2 hands first. like 4/3(clap 4 in one hand and 3 in one hand, both starting at the same point.) den slowly move up to maybe 5/2,4/5,5/3,5/7. once u can understand the subdivisions, it will all be more manageable

cheers smile.gif
Yeah mate biggrin.gif I've tried it out, and its really tricky at first tongue.gif
Working a lot on my odd stuff now la, trying to write some experimental stuff for a project I'm working on.

QUOTE(brokenbomb @ Aug 18 2011, 09:03 AM)
skodeng - humph. is it ok if i start with 66bpms on 32nd, but with a tight spring tension? i mean MAX out punya. haha.
In my opinion, playing with spring tension that's too tight isn't really good la, not for your legs, or for your technique. xD
isaacmiranda7
post Aug 18 2011, 01:29 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Aug 18 2011, 01:04 PM)
yalo i dun practice wif so many different spring tension just stick to one that im comfortable with

Your leg will adjust differently to different spring tension you will just f*** up your technique and not progress

when u play u will only use 1 tension anyway so why make life difficult for yourself
Hmm... Actually no, practicing with different tensions is good, just "in my opinion" not maxed out, cause most places, ie. studios, gigs where we share equipment, tension will generally be somewhere between loose to middle. smile.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Aug 18 2011, 04:55 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Aug 18 2011, 02:18 PM)
I always bring my pedal with me so getting use to my own tension is the best.

I can actually adapt to many tension as well if play regular normal songs. JUst the extra custom tweaking is when I play double bass stuff. If different tension i will feel sucky

Of course if the range is too large then got some problem la.. but can adjust
I know what you mean, I bring my Cobras with me everywhere too, but still, you never know la wink.gif

isaacmiranda7
post Aug 19 2011, 06:20 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Namqul @ Aug 18 2011, 06:19 PM)
isaacmiranda7 : Amazon. I don't think it'll be available here. I might be ordering one soon. Will let you know when I've already decided.

Talking about pedals and legs, I think my left leg is wearing out. Nowadays I need to wear knee support. Maybe new sets of pedal will help, no?
Perhaps a set of direct drives? They shouldn't pump your leg for as much gas right? tongue.gif

Speaking of drummer injuries, what battle scars do you guys have? biggrin.gif

I was playing at several places over a few nights in a row, and besides that I had practices in the day. On the first day, I had about 3 blisters on my hands already, and I continued playing hard over the next few days. On the last day, I had another blister over one of my original ones and there was blood oozing inside it. It looked rather gory wink.gif HAHAHA! I've had a calf injury too before lah, but that was more of overstraining it cause of drumming after sports tongue.gif

Anyway, I've stopped whacking as hard as before, and I changed my technique immediately after that. It took some work, but at least I don't get as many blisters as last time. You guys should have bigger drummer injuries kan? xD

QUOTE(SkodengMan @ Aug 18 2011, 07:12 PM)
well for me the spring tensions are important, you never know the next kit your gonna play on. but yea, if u bring ur own pedal around it doesnt matter that much. but sometimes its just too much effort. and by tweaking the spring, u can find out ur own sweet spot...jus my 2cents.

what u guys practice for 4 way independence?
Yes, I agree. smile.gif However, I've never managed to get the exact "sweetness" on my own set of Cobras that I found on another pair of Cobras :S Different springs maybe? xD But I play fine with mine lah.

I rarely get to practice nowadays with studying and commitments to my solo EP project, which I'm currently writing as well as with a band that I'm currently in a competition in, but I usually play at least twice or thrice weekly, in church or where I study, and on a good week (like once a month or two or so) when all my drumming commitments clash, I get to play more. cool.gif

I incorporate a bit of what I used to practice four way into my warmups lah, like start with hats or kick going, and break into a latin beat with odd timings and slowly add in different parts of the kit, changing timings with different limbs and whatnot. But just for a short while, before getting my speed into gear. biggrin.gif HAHAHA! I still can't get a good swing going on my ride with a fast rock beat though. It frustrates me when I see other drummers do it so easily. tongue.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Aug 22 2011, 06:53 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Aug 20 2011, 12:04 AM)
Fingers injuries - Palm, index finger, thumb and middle finger.

Ear injuries - Gone deaf

Legs injuries - Not yet. So far so good. Only bass skin injured, not my leg.

Face injuries - When trying to toss drumstick, ended up throwing at my own face.

Head injuries - **Too much head bangs

Mouth/lips injuries - Drum stick accidentally whack my own mouth. Got blister then.
Kena deaf ah?
I use headphones now for ear protection. They don't isolate you too much, and they increase the "bass presence".

QUOTE(brokenbomb @ Aug 20 2011, 12:13 AM)
bump in fingers? i think they have a term for that. caelous? calus? hahaha forget. haha. but tats common for drummers smile.gif

skodeng - gary breed? hehe or some latin groove. haha.

i just stick to my max out tension. hehe. wanna see some results
QUOTE(CreamCracker @ Aug 20 2011, 01:30 AM)
thank goodness lol. but im not allowed to pick up the sticks for 2 days until the callus heals aih... glad to know im not alone though  flex.gif
Nope, nope. I don't think its a callous. Its almost a blister, but its not. If you keep playing, those bumps should become blisters, if they hurt now. Callouses are just rougher skin (which can form after a blister) but they shouldn't hurt.

I've got a callous on my right middle finger that has formed gradually after 7 or 8 blisters at the same spot, some that formed before even completely being healed.

Like I mentioned previously, I changed my technique, and the blister frequency went down, but yesterday I was drumming in church and I broke one of my Tamas during the second song of a one hour set, and I switched to my Vic Firth's, which I rarely use. Now that really aggravated my skin. :/

isaacmiranda7
post Aug 22 2011, 04:48 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(CreamCracker @ Aug 22 2011, 04:10 PM)
yeah my callus... or blister, or whatever that is, hurts like mad now. actually, it hurts so much that my fingers automatically hold the stick differently, and now i have red bumps all over my hands  shakehead.gif

i thought of changing the way i hold the sticks also, but my instructor never said anything about it. he used to correct me last time but he stopped, so i presume i'm holding it correctly... BUT WHYYYY. it hurts!!!  vmad.gif

oh yeah. i found this on youtube and thought it might be a useful wake up call for you drummers to start wearing ear buds or headphones or something.

nah. use headphones listen carefully. i can hear up to 12kHz only!!
Regarding the blisters, my advice is, stop hitting so hard. Honestly. Yes, its super fun to hit hard, but there has to be a compromise somewhere. What I did was, I used lighter sticks with less grip, so that it wouldn't harm my hands so much.
isaacmiranda7
post Aug 22 2011, 06:34 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Vryon @ Aug 22 2011, 05:43 PM)
Drummer reporting in here. smile.gif Beginner.
Welcome to the club! Tell us more about yourself and your drumming! smile.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Aug 27 2011, 02:16 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Aug 24 2011, 10:55 PM)
isaac, you still had not tell me you which church leh
Trinity Community Centre smile.gif

QUOTE(scorpio94 @ Aug 25 2011, 11:15 PM)
no body wanna get new sticks? sad.gif
Ya loh tongue.gif I need a few more pairs now actually. Stuck using my Vic Firths after I broke a few during my last run of gigs.
TAMA COME BACK!
isaacmiranda7
post Aug 27 2011, 08:07 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(OH- @ Aug 27 2011, 07:38 PM)
Guys, what size drumsticks you all use?
My favourites are 7As. But not the Vic Firth or ProMark 7As or Zildjian 7As.

The Tama Powertools 7As, or the Tama Flamesticks 7As. Very different weight.
isaacmiranda7
post Aug 28 2011, 02:38 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(OH- @ Aug 27 2011, 10:29 PM)
i"ve been using Tama's 5A's and they're okay for me, feel comfortable. Also with nylon tip makes it very suitable for my eDrum. Would you guys recommend 7A sticks for eDrum? Coz I would really like to try them, and also with nylon tip. What model/brand would you recommend?
Tama Powertools, or the Flamesticks. Amazing feel and durability.
isaacmiranda7
post Aug 29 2011, 07:44 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

This is kinda sad wehh guys. Do you use ear protection? I started taking it seriously earlier this year, and I'm glad I have.

25 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0532sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:30 AM