Personal financial management, V2

SKY 1809
post Jan 5 2012, 01:01 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jan 5 2012, 12:41 PM)
If you only save, then with the low interest rate you get, sooner or later it get eaten up by inflation. You need to yield at least above the current inflation rate of 3%-5%.

For me I practice the following...

1 month Expenses in Cash form in SA - For Daily use

6 months Expenses in e-FD form (1 Month-Auto renew) - For emergency Use

The rest in investment, that is well diversified across equity, bonds and others. So if 'kena' 1 bad investment got another 9 other investment to backup. If you are conservative (scared to lose), put a majority of your investment in bonds and only some in high quality equity. With careful portfolio management, you can lower your investment risk substantially by diversification.

So far works well for me.  rclxms.gif
Asset Allocations hmm.gif
inv
post Jan 5 2012, 03:39 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jan 5 2012, 12:41 PM)
If you only save, then with the low interest rate you get, sooner or later it get eaten up by inflation. You need to yield at least above the current inflation rate of 3%-5%.

For me I practice the following...

1 month Expenses in Cash form in SA - For Daily use

6 months Expenses in e-FD form (1 Month-Auto renew) - For emergency Use

The rest in investment, that is well diversified across equity, bonds and others. So if 'kena' 1 bad investment got another 9 other investment to backup. If you are conservative (scared to lose), put a majority of your investment in bonds and only some in high quality equity. With careful portfolio management, you can lower your investment risk substantially by diversification.

So far works well for me.  rclxms.gif
thx for your advice.

i'm just starting to build up my savings and investment portfolio now. i just opened a GIA from PBB and i have some in unit trust as well.

1-month-auto-renew didn't even crossed my mind until u mentioned it.
l3g3nd1314
post Jan 5 2012, 04:03 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(rickk @ Jan 4 2012, 05:28 PM)
I'm fresh graduated. Already work for 3months.
And, I didn't see any saving! Help me!

My current salary: 1800 (after deduct epf sosco)
My fixed expense: car loan (Saga FL) 430
                            fuel                    370 (50/3-4days)
                            gv mom              500
                            makan      around  250
                            phone      around 200

balance left 50 for other expense! like entertainment, buy things and others!

So every end of month, surely got no saving! (at least these 3months, don't have =().
And this month onwards, another commiment will add, which is PTPTN, hv to pay around 100-200.

So, need some advise from you guys, how do I survive in such situation!
(Pls do not ask me the cut this cut that, as this is my lifestyle, I blive most of ppl are hard to change, right?), what I wanna know is, how to gerenate more money with money. INVESMENT! thanks! =)

p/s: my so called INVESTMENT knowledge is nearly equal to zero... *shame!
Hmm spending around RM400 on fuel each month is quite substantial? Does your work require you to travel extensively? Is there any way to claim them as traveling allowance?
rickk
post Jan 5 2012, 04:28 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(l3g3nd1314 @ Jan 5 2012, 04:03 PM)
Hmm spending around RM400 on fuel each month is quite substantial? Does your work require you to travel extensively? Is there any way to claim them as traveling allowance?
Well, yea indeed as my car mileage is about RM1.8/km.... Stupid proton... lol
Erm, no way to claim =(

wongmunkeong
post Jan 5 2012, 04:34 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(rickk @ Jan 5 2012, 04:28 PM)
Well, yea indeed as my car mileage is about RM1.8/km.... Stupid proton... lol
Erm, no way to claim =(
Rickk, your fuel consumption = 1km using 1 liter?! Assuming RM1.80 = 1 liter of petrol?!! shocking.gif
If it's true, shere's something very wrong with your car's fuel burning if true. It's usually a sign that there's something majorly wrong with the car - better bring it to have a total checking at a service centre. Safety first bro

My manual 19yr old Wira 1.5 averages 10km to 11km using 1 liter
My mum's 10yr old auto Wira 1.6 averages 8km to 9km using 1 liter

inv
post Jan 5 2012, 04:45 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 5 2012, 04:34 PM)
Rickk, your fuel consumption = 1km using 1 liter?! Assuming RM1.80 = 1 liter of petrol?!!  shocking.gif
If it's true, shere's something very wrong with your car's fuel burning if true. It's usually a sign that there's something majorly wrong with the car - better bring it to have a total checking at a service centre. Safety first bro

My manual 19yr old Wira 1.5 averages 10km to 11km using 1 liter
My mum's 10yr old auto Wira 1.6 averages 8km to 9km using 1 liter
i think what he meant is $0.18/km.. which is the average for proton cars. sweat.gif

been reading the whole thread from page 1. very long and interesting read. learnt alot esp from you.
rickk
post Jan 5 2012, 04:56 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Jan 5 2012, 04:45 PM)
i think what he meant is $0.18/km.. which is the average for proton cars.  sweat.gif

been reading the whole thread from page 1. very long and interesting read. learnt alot esp from you.
Haha! Ya, it's 0.18.. roughly la... Psps...
It is quite high and kinda regret that bought proton. lol...

anyway, it's out of topic eh, back to the topic.. haha!
l3g3nd1314
post Jan 6 2012, 01:58 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(rickk @ Jan 5 2012, 04:56 PM)
Haha! Ya, it's 0.18.. roughly la... Psps...
It is quite high and kinda regret that bought proton. lol...

anyway, it's out of topic eh, back to the topic.. haha!
Hmm may I know how come you need to travel so extensively? Are you working in the sales line?
dello
post Jan 7 2012, 01:42 PM

381 posts

Pay - 3800
Pay (after deduction) - RM 3400

FIXED
Study Loan - 450
Parents - 250
Bill - 100
Credit Card - 100
Food and misc - 800

BALANCE - RM 1800

Should have gotten better grades.. lose so much on student loan darnz
With this balance can buy house and car ar?

This post has been edited by dello: Jan 7 2012, 01:45 PM
potemkin
post Jan 7 2012, 04:57 PM

143 posts

Hey guys ,

I'm 30 this year and to be honest, i haven't really consider planning my financials properly until i made some financial mistakes that set me back. I'm thinking on how could i plan and invest with my current situation:

Pay (plus allowances) - 6600
After deduction of EPF + Taxes - Rm5000 (5k + but round it down)

Bills that i gotta pay :

Study loan - 400 (ending in 2014)
Mom - 10% so 600
Car - 860 ending 2017 (one of my many errors)
Insurance - 250

Totalling - 2110
Petrol/Tolls/Food hits me at rm1500 (lower most of the time but i take my max )

Minus entertainment and everything i have a surplus of RM1000 monthly.

I'm thinking of getting a house but the current market doesn't leave me with much choices.

Other than that , what would you do with the extra surplus ?
yiivei
post Jan 8 2012, 12:10 PM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

Have you build up your emergency funds (6 months)?

Before you consider bout property, i would suggest you build up your EF first, and control your spending.

Besides, i think you forgo some expenses like car maintenance, car insurance, your personal insurance and etc?

iStevei
post Jan 8 2012, 01:41 PM

204 posts

Here mine:

Salary: 2.7k net
Saving per mth: 1.2k avg (30-35%)

Car - 498 (2 more years)
Study loan - 10k (plan to settle this yr or latest next year)

ASW: 35k
FD: 11k (3 mths EF)
GIA: 7k
Cash 15k

Where should i park my extra cash?
1. Increase my EF
2. Increase GIA
3. Dump some into shares / stock. No UT pls
4. Clear my study loan? i had dump 15k last year.

i plan to go sg early this year if there a opportunity. Or should i keep more cash?

Any advise on what should i do with this extra cash?

cubiclecarbonate
post Jan 8 2012, 05:26 PM

558 posts

Hi all,

Im a fresh graduate, 23yo and just starting my career with a 2.5k salary. Right now, the only saving i have done is 30% from my salary. I just started my job last month in the middle of Dec.

I need some suggestion on investment. What should i do with the rest of my salary? I drive a kancil to go to work. Can claim petrol and company sponsored the seasonal pass for parking for 160 per month. Since right now is the beginning of the year, i want to do some investment. What investment is good and promising?

Which is good? Buy a house or made some savings or investment like ASB or FD or Gold investment? Since im still 23, so i dont have to care much about the repayment time, but based on scenario la.

Thanks. Peace.
kparam77
post Jan 8 2012, 06:43 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(cubiclecarbonate @ Jan 8 2012, 05:26 PM)
Hi all,

Im a fresh graduate, 23yo and just starting my career with a 2.5k salary. Right now, the only saving i have done is 30% from my salary. I just started my job last month in the middle of Dec.

I need some suggestion on investment. What should i do with the rest of my salary? I drive a kancil to go to work. Can claim petrol and company sponsored the seasonal pass for parking for 160 per month. Since right now is the beginning of the year, i want to do some investment. What investment is good and promising?

Which is good? Buy a house or made some savings or investment like ASB or FD or Gold investment? Since im still 23, so i dont have to care much about the repayment time, but based on scenario la.

Thanks. Peace.
FD is saving not invstment.

setup emergency fund in FD... at least 6 month ur monthly expecses.

if u bumi, ASB is the right choice for the safety.

buy insurance first, medical card enaugh for health protection.

take sometime to educate urself for riskier invetment like stock, unit trust, gold, properties and others. subscribe to the edge personal money will hep u too for the knowledge.
cubiclecarbonate
post Jan 8 2012, 06:47 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Jan 8 2012, 06:43 PM)
FD is saving not invstment.

setup emergency fund in FD... at least 6 month ur monthly expecses.

if u bumi, ASB is the right choice for the safety.

buy insurance first, medical card enaugh for health protection.

take sometime to educate urself for riskier invetment like stock, unit trust, gold, properties  and others. subscribe to the edge personal money will hep u too for the knowledge.
i will buy personal insurance this month. roughly 100 per month.

will go into asb, but dunno how to start sweat.gif

already read from the asb thread, but still dont quite understand the flow.
tech3910
post Jan 9 2012, 02:47 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

my leftovers from salary after minus expenses is 1.5k

currently, i need to start paying back 2 debt.
1) ptptn - just 20k wit 1% fixed interest
2) car left 10k with 2.5% fixed interest

so, my question is, how long u think i shud drag the repayment plan?
iriswilson
post Jan 9 2012, 02:49 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Jan 9 2012, 02:47 PM)
my leftovers from salary after minus expenses is 1.5k

currently, i need to start paying back 2 debt.
1) ptptn - just 20k wit 1% fixed interest
2) car left 10k with 2.5% fixed interest

so, my question is, how long u think i shud drag the repayment plan?
Hey, just wondering. How do you switch your ptptn to 1% interest? I have to pay with 3% interest.
tech3910
post Jan 9 2012, 02:52 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(iriswilson @ Jan 9 2012, 02:49 PM)
Hey, just wondering. How do you switch your ptptn to 1% interest? I have to pay with 3% interest.
last time wen the offer com out, just need to register the change on9.
then i went to ptptn office to check the status, they said now processing earlier batch, mine not yet.

actually took a while, almost a year.
then i check on their website, it says successful.

http://www.ptptn.gov.my/gateway/ujrah.jsp
iriswilson
post Jan 9 2012, 02:59 PM

60 posts

Ohh i've tried to register but it says there, they don't have a record of me OO. Time to call them perhaps?
tech3910
post Jan 9 2012, 03:02 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(iriswilson @ Jan 9 2012, 02:59 PM)
Ohh i've tried to register but it says there, they don't have a record of me OO. Time to call them perhaps?
no record?

try here check here see can find ur record o not.
http://www.ptptn.gov.my/web/english/check

151 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0169sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:20 AM