Personal financial management, V2

kparam77
post Aug 23 2011, 12:24 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(vergas @ Aug 23 2011, 11:42 AM)
Anybody knows what is the record return for savings in SSPN?

Added on August 23, 2011, 11:46 am

Nice spreadsheet and powerpoint that you have. Do you have more data on the education cost at at 2009? eg other country UK, USA etc. Can you point to the source? Tq.
try this http://www.publicmutual.com.my/LinkClick.a...8E%3d&tabid=170
kparam77
post Aug 23 2011, 11:33 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(kinmanfong88 @ Aug 23 2011, 09:34 PM)
Hey guys, newbie here.

Just wanna ask about the emergency fund that was mentioned, I read somewhere that advised us to save 3 months of salary.

So which one is better in that sense? 6 months of expenses or 3 months of salary?

Thanks!
recomended 6 month. the more the better.
kparam77
post Aug 24 2011, 02:48 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Aug 24 2011, 12:34 PM)
Quick question to any here. I have Rm 500 in coins consist of 5 cents to 50 cents n I plan to bank in.
Should I segregate the coins for them (the bank), I Or just bring my 3 big container and let them calculate.?

Sorry for asking here cz dun wanna open new thread for this noob question
JUST BRING, BANK GOT MECHINE TO CALCULATE FOR U.
kparam77
post Sep 1 2011, 10:51 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(khinfai @ Sep 1 2011, 10:15 AM)
When I was an undergraduate in Year 2, I had a saving amounted to nearly RM10,000. Then a financial consultant in EON bank tell me I should dump all those in the unit trust because it is safer than stock, no risk. Then bank interest is ridiculously low, FD also.

The unit trust I go for was promised 8% yield or something, I forgot what he said. He said every % profited will be reinvested back into the bond.

Its already pass 2 years and I cant even contact the consultant anymore.

I do receive some letter every 6 months with things that wrote on it that I do not understand.

Okay, if 8% per year is valid, how much my investment had really profited ?
call the company and ask abt the status.

or, u can calcualte by urself.
how much units u have X latest unit price = ur invstment status.

Unit trust still has risk, but less than direct stock.

kparam77
post Sep 7 2011, 09:44 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Sep 7 2011, 09:27 PM)
any good investment book/website to recommend... starting to learn about financial management....

Added on September 7, 2011, 9:34 pmbasically my net income is from my salary job (about 3k after deduction) then minus expenses is about 40% to 60% leftover in my SA which I consider as savings since i dint used the money, haven't brought any insurances/ fund/ FD etc... looking for knowledge how to manage my finance since i have extra each month and i think its better put it elsewhere rather than spend it or put it in bank...

just open GIA at PBB, maybe put more money in it coming money, keep survey and look to the market...
how old r u?
dont invest without any insurance.
keep at least 6 months of u monthly expenses as emergeny fund.
u can consider to unit trust investment.

plan first ur financial needs n work on it.
kparam77
post Sep 8 2011, 10:46 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Sep 7 2011, 10:20 PM)
i am 27, i don't have any personal insurance plan except those company 1... basically as long as i am working i have fund left every months
1.its better to hv ur personal insurance rahter than depends on company. medical card should be enough.

2. if u interested on unit trust. PM me, we can mit, I will brief u abt UT and later u can make decision.

i think u not married yet, So, plan wisely abt ur future financial needs such as retirment and kids education (later). its better to start now and don;t put all the money in 1 place. spilt it base on ur plans.

my email is kparam77@yahoo.com
kparam77
post Sep 25 2011, 10:22 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(viosturbo500hp @ Sep 25 2011, 08:20 PM)
hi guys, im a student, working part time. Earning about 1.3k basic with allowance from my parents, about rm500 per month . Cars, tolls, petrol is all provided by my parents (card) so basicly. i have like 1.8k to spend every month.

so its a total of 1.8k per month

my usuall spending would usually be

food: rm100-150 per week, which makes it Rm500 on average
hobby: i dont usually spend on hobby, but since i recently got a job, and some extra money. i started to spend some. like enhancing my car, poker games(which i always lose) , and thats about it. most of my exoenses is on my food. Er.. i dont have the amount. but this month(september) i spend about rm700 on my car...i already stop spending on my car. waste of money. Anyways. .. this are my usual expenses.

if i dont spend on my car. i would spend like 800 out of my 1.8k ..

So guys, every month. i if i manage to save up 1k. what should i do with this 1k?
1. study abt invetment.
2. make sure u hv insurance.
3. is ur education fund support by ur parent?

since, u still a student and u can safe RM1000 monthly. Assume u r not going to use the money near future.

1. RM200 in bank as emergency fund.
2. RM300 in bond funds
3. RM500 in equity funds or stock.

u must read/study/analize/research abt the UT and stock before enter it.

Or, if u plan to use the money near future, just let it in FD.

kparam77
post Sep 27 2011, 08:37 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(viosturbo500hp @ Sep 26 2011, 11:31 AM)
1) i have studied abit about investment, infact i had attended a seminar by t harv earlier this year
2) i think my dad bought insurance for me d. im not sure. but why is it important?
3) equity fund or stock, hmmm.. why not gold? or others..

yea.. thanks for the advice. im not researching on how and what to invest on. Thankss  smile.gif
u must be hv very good parent taking care of u. thanks to them.

let say if u hv enough money but don have insurnce. u need to spend ur money for ur medical expenses. u can safe ur hard earn money if u hv insurance.
check with ur father wat type of insurance u hv. get an insurance agent, ask him plan for u. dont buy insurance for retruns. insurance is for healthy. its shud be cover all the all the expenses include disability. life policy or medical card shud be enough.

ya, gold, good too. but dont put all the money in gold, very risky. just allocate 10-20% in gold. buy from banks is better and more safe..

everybody should hv unit trust/stock in their investment portfolio.
kparam77
post Oct 19 2011, 10:36 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(ahpingko @ Oct 19 2011, 10:08 AM)
i am a fresh graduate..start working last year Jan...so far..i feel that my expenses are way too high..any way to ensure savings?...any good investment to make?..instead of spending my money on gadgets like new phone/PC/tablets/DSLR stuffs...

i am having a stable gf for 5 years already...planning to tie the knot in next few years...problem is..my financial not strong enough..i might earn higher than average..but i do spend alot..

so i am thinking of spending on something else that will give me more return...which ppl say money grow money...what should i start with?>.
read the links in my signatures. email me to kparam77@yahoo.com if u interested.

tq.
kparam77
post Nov 9 2011, 09:54 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(LonelyMoney @ Nov 8 2011, 05:37 PM)
guys need some advice whether i am consider ok or not financial wise

Monthly income RM8-9k
Family RM800 give to FnM
Saving in FD 100k
Saving in normal account ~50k
Saving in Life assurance ~30k to be 60K in 5 more years
single no GF
no loan at the moment.
- increace your ins coverage - it should be 10 times ur annual income.
- buy house.
- any car? if not, buy car if u hv plan to hv it.
- leave 25K in naromal saving.
- leave 30k in FD.

- the balance allocates in BOND/equity funds or buy growth/dividedns stocks or any other investment where can generate highrer return than FD.

kparam77
post Dec 17 2011, 06:55 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(gnne84 @ Dec 17 2011, 02:26 PM)
thanks for the info  rclxms.gif
i curious because google get the the fund name all with Syariah

EPF scheme for all malaysian and shariah funds for all malaysia too.
kparam77
post Dec 20 2011, 12:09 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Dec 20 2011, 10:09 AM)
Dear all, its been an interesting read.

I'd like to get some advice as well, I am a non-bumi and have just moved back to Msia.

How should I split my balance cash (from employment) for investment?
How much cash in hand should I have? (non rainy day cash)

I already have a strong rainy day fund set aside from my prior employment.
So unless I need to withdraw from there I don't need to top it up yet.

I use a database to track my accounts and expenses, but I need to use my money to help make me money.

This is to reduce my reliance on 'employment income' and of course in the case of unemployment/retirement it will allow me to maintain a decent lifestyle.
1. ur current commitments?
2. ur future plans? like kids education plan ?, retirmnt? properties?
3. ur risk appetite?
4. any plan to move back to overC?
kparam77
post Dec 20 2011, 02:50 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(Gavyn88 @ Dec 20 2011, 01:28 PM)
Hi, I am a fresh graduate (non-bumi), just starting my career life. I need some financial planning and management advice.

Now my monthly salary is around RM 2500.

No car, no house, no insurance, no debt (except PTPTN)

The only expenses I have is personal use RM 500 & family expenses RM 500.

So I can save around RM1000++ every month. But, I don't think that put them in current saving acc in bank is a wise choice...

I wish to maximize the use of this saving & do some secure investment.... but I have no idea how to pick up a right financial product, especially nowadays so many financial service providers....

Hopefully someone can give some advice on which financial service company is good to go for it & what kind of financial product i should looking for...

P/S: I am curious whether there is some kind of financial products/ services fair, which are just like PC fair/ Matta fair?
hw old r u?
u need to spend some time to read/analyse/educate abt investment. u can subscribe to the edge personal money, very helpful.

basicaly..as usual... u need to hv some emegency fund, at least 6 month of ur montlhy expenses.
u need to plan for ur;
1. marriage
2. house,
3. car,
4. others.

VERY IMPORTANT, BUY INSURANCE FIRST. THE REST AFTER U UNDESANTD ABT INVESTMENT AND DONT BUY ANY PRODUCT WHICH U NOT UNDERSTAND.
kparam77
post Dec 20 2011, 04:06 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(Gavyn88 @ Dec 20 2011, 03:23 PM)
Fresh graduate 23 years old.

I no need a car yet as I have motorbike & seldom traveling. Marriage & house not for now also...

I have no idea about personal insurance, which types need to buy? My company got provide insurance for me, do that enough?

I wish to know any saving plans/ investment scheme will suitable for me to deal with my extra cash.... or which I should get the financial advice from? bank? insurance company? financial company? (The financial services/ products must be secure & can keep up with inflation, not skim cepat kaya or speculation plans)
1.If u plan to hv car in future. u need to prapeare the down payment.

2. same goes to marriage & house...need to plan too.

3. if ur company privide insurance...check with them wat type of insurance and also the coverage. still better if u hv madical card seperatly with full coverage on critical illness, permanent disability... etc..get a insurance agent to explain u abt the medical card. not need to hv investment link policy where the return is much more lasser than onther invesmtnt. (if ur intention is get return upon maturity n its up to u to choose it).

saving plan.
1. buy share.... growth stock/ dividedns stock.
2. REIT.
3. bond funds.
4. unit trust/ mutual funds.
5. gold.
6. FD

u can go through my links at signature abt unit trust investment.

kparam77
post Dec 20 2011, 04:22 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Dec 20 2011, 03:42 PM)
1. No current commitments
2. Yes of course, but that will be with my wife of course. Double income allows for more flexible financial planning.
The idea is that I save for our retirement/investment and she for the kids and balance for retirement/investment.
As for properties, the area I am in have low rental returns -> ~1.5-2%. The property market bubble is extremely inflated right now. And with me just having started working in Malaysia, I don't think I qualify to take on any loans yet until I build up my credit ratings.
3. Don't like too risky, but I want a balanced portfolio. I know the share market and FD. Which I have already planned for. But share market of course depends on economic times, now its too volatile to pump any money in.
4. No plans to move anymore.
Other things to note, as far as for marriage, it won't be another 24 months. We don't plan to have big celebration which will end up as a financial burden and probably get wasted (the splitting headache type) as well.
do not put al the money in 1 basket. waht u hv to is, calculate how much u can save monthly. ur monthly saving can iincrease over the time follow the inflation too.

its depends how u plan for ur retirment for both of u and also education.
u need to calculate how much u want to hv upon u retire.. 1 mil? 5 mil?
and also wat type of education u want to give to ur kids..... medical? engineer? need to plan too.

u r a moderate investor,
So,

Stock - 30%
bond - 10%
FD - 20%
UT - 20%
REIT - 20%

u can hv ur own portfolio too n u can revise ur portfolio once a year to re-balance it.

u can hv the sample of retirment plan and education plan in my link in my signature.

kparam77
post Dec 20 2011, 04:44 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Dec 20 2011, 04:22 PM)
do not put al the money in 1 basket. waht u hv to is, calculate how much u can save monthly. ur monthly saving can iincrease over the time follow the inflation too.

its depends how u plan for ur retirment for both of u  and also education.
u need to calculate how much u want to hv upon u retire.. 1 mil? 5 mil?
and also wat type of education u want to give to ur kids..... medical? engineer? need to plan too.

u r a moderate investor,
So,

Stock - 30%
bond - 10%
FD - 20%
UT - 20%
REIT - 20%

u can hv ur own portfolio too n u can revise ur portfolio once a year to re-balance it.

u can hv the sample of retirment plan and education plan in my link in my signature.
forget to mention abt insurance. make sure u hv sufficiant insurance plan too.
kparam77
post Dec 21 2011, 01:23 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Dec 21 2011, 12:14 PM)
No problems with stock, bond, FD and REIT.
I have been studying these 4 for quite a while.

But what UT should I be looking at?
I don't like the idea of some bank UT where every month I need to commit a certain amount to it.
Not sure if the UT scheme from banks have changed, but if its a monthly commitment, I rather not put into UT.

And for stocks, @ 30% and REIT @ 20%, but this is assuming I am using the money.
What if like now, where stocks are not really a good buy, what do I do with the cash on hand?
Do I just place them in my savings a/c?
its up to u to make lump sum (VCA) or commited to monthly/regular investment (DCA) in UT. The main reason for monthly investment is to reduce risk and at the same time to get better average unit price without worry abt market trend.

if u active monitor the market, u can forget abt the regular investment. the regular investment recomended for those passive investor, who normaly not follow the market trend.

buy cheap sell high for profit. so, u need to wait for correct time to enter. its can be today, tommorow, next month or next year. if u can wait, than u can wait. or, u hv option regular investment. even if u commit monthly, u can stop it any time. no side affect.

u can apply VCA and DCA method for both stock and UT.

ya, u just leave the cash in bank before enter to any market.
kparam77
post Dec 24 2011, 09:53 PM

952 posts

[attachmentid=2603214]
QUOTE(lunchtime @ Dec 24 2011, 10:27 AM)
kparam77,

on your links you said you are certified, share with us how you are certified and which certification do you hold? How long have you been in the business? Full time / Part time? What is your background?

can we check you via this link? http://www.fimm.com.my/utc_verification.as...0035&zid=100008

I m sure those you are advicing online would like to know too.
u got it.....

Added on December 24, 2011, 9:54 pm
QUOTE(kparam77 @ Dec 24 2011, 09:53 PM)
[attachmentid=2603214]

u got it.....
and.....

This post has been edited by kparam77: Dec 24 2011, 09:54 PM
kparam77
post Dec 24 2011, 11:27 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Dec 24 2011, 10:06 PM)
And how are you certified?
like tis....

Added on December 24, 2011, 11:30 pm
QUOTE(lunchtime @ Dec 24 2011, 10:06 PM)
And how are you certified?
just sit CUTE exam, if u pass it, u will be certified/lisence to distribute/market unit trust. very simple only.

This post has been edited by kparam77: Dec 24 2011, 11:30 PM
kparam77
post Jan 4 2012, 09:59 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(rickk @ Jan 4 2012, 09:44 PM)
Hey yea!
Saving is because to generate more and more $! Make my life become much more easier! So I am desperately wanna know all about investment! Of course, start with low-risk investment. So guys, any idea of it? And normally to start an investment like fund, unit trust or whatever la, the most most minimum capital require hw much yea? 1k enough? or less than that enough? =)
want to learn abt UT and also can join as UTC... read my links in my signature. if u interest to gain some extra money as UTC like me...of course part time... u r welcome.

abt investment... since u r just start to tink abt it... educate urself first before take action. do not buy the product which u not understand. subcribe the edge personal money. very usefull abt investment tips.

0.0610sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 08:44 AM