151 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Personal financial management, V2

kinwing
post Oct 11 2010, 12:37 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Oct 10 2010, 09:23 PM)
I have read up on value investing, wb & FA stuff. but is graham as rich as wb?
more likely wb was at the right place & at the right time, something like li ka shing
otherwise, all of graham followers occupy the forbes top 100 rich list  laugh.gif

do u even follow wb method 100% or r u just cherry picking?  hmm.gif
furthermore, y dun u just follow what he buys & maybe can be the top 2 richest also
instead of reinventing the wheel & putting wb concept into bolehland context, it does save the work & hassle just to follow wb

doesn't want to set aside the collateral, and wants existing derivatives contracts to be exempted from the rules.
http://articles.moneycentral.msn.com/Inves...px?post=1747221

he states that his favorite holding period is forever
http://www.fool.com/investing/value/2010/0...fett-sells.aspx

wb does buy & sell, he does not keep EVERYTHING long term, remember ptr?
http://finance.yahoo.com/news/Warren-Buffe...104421.html?x=0

anyway, I not here to start a topic on criticizing wb! just that some of his followers r hypocrites, only follow certain things abt wb & not follow in full
I do not take things at face value after staying in bolehland for so long. if govt says vote bn is good for rakyat, do u do / dun agree?  cool2.gif 
I read those anti wb to get a better perspective on investment & trading, which leads me to TA & etc

for bolehland, I just buy & hold those 1st liner & good track record unit trust. I dun trade much in bolehland
there are topics on securities, properties, unit trusts/mutual funds and fixed deposit, if someone would just use the search function
well, u can help those newbies out by showing them the way how u tackle this topic & get this topic back in track  nod.gif
As I noticed someone is trying to over-emphasis on TA, so I brought Warren Buffet as one of the FA type to neutralise the investment style. Whether anyone should have agreed how Warren Buffet works his way out base on Graham's theories or any other investment guru such as philip fisher, it is always up to them to find out the topics instead of some one is trying to sell something too hard over here.

Added on October 11, 2010, 12:46 am
QUOTE(buylowsellhigh @ Oct 10 2010, 09:45 PM)
I didn't realise how hot this topic can be. How did we get sidetrack into TA huh? hehe..

Anyway, not to say whose right and wrong, just to sum it up, when it comes to personal financial management, different people have different knowledge, experience, perception, style, personality, etc. I guess what is right for someone may not be right for others. And it shows in this thread. There are some basic principles that applies to all but the approcah can still vary.

Some prefer Fundamental Analysis, some Technical Analysis, it is indeed part of financial management. And I guess there are very few who have spent years and years trying both and are qualified to judge both. I am definitely not one of those, so I reserve any criticism on Fundamental Analysis.

I guess I was seen as coming off too strong initially, such that it triggered quite some reaction, my apology. At the same time, ithe discussion has given me some important points I need for my presentation, thank you.
I welcome further enquiry as some of you have done through emails or even open minded discussion. I do appreciate that.

I look forward to participate in more open minded discussion.
I'm not sure if the discussion is leading to a genuine one. I always noticed some one who is promoting something too hard in the forum (not only this forum, any other forums that I been also caught in this kind of promotion).

For example when one is promoting TA analysis, and some forumers who are interesting would post more queries and they would be told to PM or email. Then the forumers would be told in the PM or email to buy a TA software with a cost of few thousand Ringgit. Or those who are interested about the timing strategy and they are led to the direction that it is a good timing to buy. When the forumers ask what to buy since it is good time to buy, they were told "buy Public XXX Fund lah, PM I will help you this". Don't you smell something fishy over here?

This post has been edited by kinwing: Oct 11 2010, 12:46 AM
cranx
post Oct 11 2010, 03:17 AM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Sep 27 2010, 11:13 PM)
for 3 minutes, just ignore the blue tag

i'm currently nearing my thirties. what i do and how much i earn shouldn't be important, rigth?

currently,

1. i maxed out my ASB investment
2. HP repayment about RM 800, another 2 yrs left  <-- my only liability, currently
3. property loan repayment = RM 2k per month, 9.5 yrs left

i've been saving almost 60% of my salary. my ASB goes from zero to max within 5 years.

i don;t desire many things but i still do spend normally - a new phone every year, this and that, fine watches, bicycles, gadgets, etc etc

now my big problem: i just don't have any idea what else to do with the money. pls help.

atm, i just dump my extra money into ASM or ASW which earns me about 6% return annually.

and to quote from a popular pop song "i wanna be a billionaire, so freaking bad... bla bla bal bala bal"

and oh yeah. i'm single. w/o insurance (never believe in insurance)
looks like you are on a 5-digit monthly income.
be more adventurous and go for some high risk investment. higher the risk, higher the returns brows.gif
anthonywongy
post Oct 12 2010, 06:30 AM

227 posts

Hi Im a Diploma student from KDU, just graduated and now working as a chef in restaurant.I am earning about 1300+ after all the deduction of SOCSO and others, the problem with me is that I hardly keep track on my bank account because I know every time I go to atm i know there's money.In my line, I hardly go out lepak with my friends due to my working hour (3pm-1am)...feeling not satisfy i will always buy myself beers as reward for myself, and also spend a lot on my gf and also stuff like computer thingy. Its really hard for me to save.
almeizer
post Oct 12 2010, 05:24 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(anthonywongy @ Oct 12 2010, 06:30 AM)
Hi Im a Diploma student from KDU, just graduated and now working as a chef in restaurant.I am earning about 1300+ after all the deduction of SOCSO and others, the problem with me is that I hardly keep track on my bank account because I know every time I go to atm i know there's money.In my line, I hardly go out  lepak with my friends due to my working hour (3pm-1am)...feeling not satisfy i will always buy myself beers as reward for myself, and also spend a lot on my gf and also stuff like computer thingy. Its really hard for me to save.
U know ur problem then what advise u expect from us? Just change ur spending habit or have zero saving.
yhtan
post Oct 12 2010, 10:54 PM

8,650 posts

Hi Im a Diploma student from KDU, just graduated and now working as a chef in restaurant.I am earning about 1300+ after all the deduction of SOCSO and others, the problem with me is that I hardly keep track on my bank account because I know every time I go to atm i know there's money.In my line, I hardly go out  lepak with my friends due to my working hour (3pm-1am)...feeling not satisfy i will always buy myself beers as reward for myself, and also spend a lot on my gf and also stuff like computer thingy. Its really hard for me to save.
cut down the beer, spend lesser on gf will do
lonely_dream
post Oct 13 2010, 12:49 PM

533 posts

I will advise you to cut down the beer expenses,coz beer price in M'sia is really high.
You can save a lot.

So,what course u study in KDU ? have you made study loans when you studied ?
You need to do financial management wisely.
kellysmith
post Oct 15 2010, 03:22 AM

Try to invest your earning to get more earning for you .... tongue.gif

btw, do you ever read the inflation killer article from insurance and financial review site? click on link to get the full detail.

it works for me smile.gif great tips from there

anthonywongy
post Oct 15 2010, 03:37 AM

227 posts

alright thanks a lot for most of the advice!

Added on October 15, 2010, 3:45 amoh ya my dad is calling me to open one gold account,so im wondering whether its worth it anot, after what i red on the inflation killer i think its good cuz i can see the gold's value is going up.

This post has been edited by anthonywongy: Oct 15 2010, 03:45 AM
nemoexcel
post Oct 16 2010, 05:28 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(anthonywongy @ Oct 15 2010, 03:37 AM)
alright thanks a lot for most of the advice!

Added on October 15, 2010, 3:45 amoh ya my dad is calling me to open one gold account,so im wondering whether its worth it anot, after what i red on the inflation killer i think its good cuz i can see the gold's value is going up.
2 ways of conventional savings method when pay day comes:-

a) spend 1st.. then whatever left in payroll account are my savings
b) set aside an amount (it can be as little as RM100) on pay day... then spend whatever left.. even spend all also nvm, at least RM100 sudah saved.

80% of employees adopt method (a) .. this will NEVER work!! After 10 years, your bank account will still be ZERO.. TRUST me....

Bro, do yourself and your family a favour, go adopt savings method (b) ..... go sign up a forced savings plan... if dunno how, then PM me

dreamer101
post Oct 16 2010, 07:10 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(nemoexcel @ Oct 16 2010, 05:28 PM)

b) set aside an amount (it can be as little as RM100) on pay day... then spend whatever left.. even spend all also nvm, at least RM100 sudah saved.

80% of employees adopt method (a) .. this will NEVER work!! After 10 years, your bank account will still be ZERO.. TRUST me....

Bro, do yourself and your family a favour, go adopt savings method (b) ..... go sign up a forced savings plan... if dunno how, then PM me
nemoexcel,

Come on...

Option (b) is called "Pay Yourself First". Anyone can Google and find out more information on this method??

PM you??

It is VERY SIMPLE. Setup auto-deduction of certain percentage of your pay check to an A/C that you have NO ATM card and on a bank that is VERY INCONVENIENT for you to get to and withdraw money.

Dreamer

yhtan
post Oct 16 2010, 08:15 PM

8,650 posts

on the bolded sentence, is this indirectly promoting saving investment? whistling.gif
cscheat
post Oct 17 2010, 11:13 AM

V.V.I.P member
1,262 posts

b = pay yourself first !!!
nemoexcel
post Oct 17 2010, 11:34 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Oct 16 2010, 08:15 PM)
on the bolded sentence, is this indirectly promoting saving investment? whistling.gif
u moron, go study proper english b4 pulling your gun !! If i were to promote, would i suggest him to "GO SIGN UP a forced savings plan??" ... I work with a bank for the past 15 years, thus providing sensitive/insider info on reducing my bank's profit shld not be done in open forum!! .. hence, PM ... but to think of it, ppl like u dont deserve my knowledge
gark
post Oct 17 2010, 02:55 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(nemoexcel @ Oct 17 2010, 11:34 AM)
u moron, go study proper english b4 pulling your gun !! If i were to promote, would i suggest him to "GO SIGN UP a forced savings plan??"  ... I work with a bank for the past 15 years, thus providing sensitive/insider info on reducing my bank's profit shld not be done in open forum!! .. hence, PM ... but to think of it, ppl like u dont deserve my knowledge
My my, what rude words. You are asking him to PM you, if you are not promoting, just write the info you wish to help in the forum for the benefit of all. And also you are implying you work in a bank, and by giving some information on the so called savings plan, you can affect your bank's profitability? Most bank/insurance post details of such plans on their website, what is so secret about it? In fact most banks/insurance have better profit selling savings plans than deposits. I pity the bank that hire you. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Oct 17 2010, 02:58 PM
TScherroy
post Oct 17 2010, 04:28 PM

25,802 posts

Without understanding of individual financial situation, recommend a forced insurance saving plan or insurance endowment plan, is not a right way to do.

Those so called "forced saving plan", you cannot get money out from it even you have emergence usage.
You will lose a lot of money if you pre-mature cancel/withdraw the money.

You will "die" because of no cash during emergency or period you really need the cash time.
Those "forced insurance saving plan" is not going to help you a single cent, in those situation.

The initially starting point of "forced saving" should go to FD/saving account, and not to insurance saving plan.
Insurance saving plan is a long term commitment, and shouldn't be commit if one is not ready for it.
SKY 1809
post Oct 17 2010, 04:33 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Oct 17 2010, 02:55 PM)
My my, what rude words. You are asking him to PM you, if you are not promoting, just write the info you wish to help in the forum for the benefit of all. And also you are implying you work in a bank, and by giving some information on the so called savings plan, you can affect your bank's profitability? Most bank/insurance post details of such plans on their website, what is so secret about it? In fact most banks/insurance have better profit selling savings plans than deposits. I pity the bank that hire you.  laugh.gif
There is no such thing as " Forced Savings Plan" under the BNM guidelines.

Any Distortions could lead to some prosecutions or fine by BNM.

It does not mean one who is well versed with English can overwrite BNM rulings.

Yes, normally promoted by people deal with some forms of insurance.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Oct 17 2010, 04:54 PM
TScherroy
post Oct 17 2010, 04:34 PM

25,802 posts

u moron, go study proper english b4 pulling your gun !! If i were to promote, would i suggest him to "GO SIGN UP a forced savings plan??"  ... I work with a bank for the past 15 years, thus providing sensitive/insider info on reducing my bank's profit shld not be done in open forum!! .. hence, PM ... but to think of it, ppl like u dont deserve my knowledge
Wow, insurance forced saving plan, got a lot of sensitive or insider info, this is first time I heard it. I am noob.
So must secretive one! whistling.gif

Wah, banks really scare people to withdraw money a few hundred or a couple of thousand from bank account to commit into saving plan which can affect their profit big time!

So far I know,
Banks got its own insurance subsidiary company. :
Even banks do get commission from selling third party or associated company insurance. whistling.gif

hddglobal
post Oct 17 2010, 06:07 PM

42 posts

Hi there....wah never know there so many sifu who can help me invest in lyn...

Anyway, here goes my story..
Im 20years old....currently doin my 2nd year in deg in Mechnical Engineering...will complete and start working in 3years time...currently im just doin small scale partime buy n sell trading ( computers related item) roughly permonth i can earn up to rm2.5k maximum ...depends on my sales and profit i gain..

My expense permonth....
Car loan>>> rm700 (left balance rm 3.8k)
monthly expenses eat, play, basic needs>>RM450
Phone bill>>>> rm100
studies>>>>rm200
My Gf >>>>rm600 need support her too.. as we are both same age and still studying ....
Sumtimes unexpected expenses like bike or car repair...>>>rm300

i do hav some saving not much...less then 10k...

SO GUYS..........PLSSSSS help me figure out how i can save? AND how i can invest?? As im planning to settle by the age of 30 laugh.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by hddglobal: Oct 17 2010, 06:11 PM
yhtan
post Oct 18 2010, 12:51 AM

8,650 posts

oh well, is that how a 15 years experience banker handle their customer, the bank must be very "fortunate" to have such a staff

i don't need such plan because i can manage my money well, no need to sign up saving plan bla bla bla to force me saving, many forumers had mentioned how bad is the saving plan could be, u cannot withdraw the money immediately since it subject to term and condition
Ken
post Oct 18 2010, 11:46 AM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

2 ways -

1. put saving into FD ...
2. find more money

151 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0240sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:40 PM