Proceeded from http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/368156/+2500
TScherroy
post Sep 29 2010, 04:51 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Eelinkim @ Sep 29 2010, 12:26 AM)
Hi, Im 20 this year and im doing my 2nd year diploma. im doing some part-time and able to earn up 800 per month. Till now im able to save up 5k in my saving account. Recently one of my friend introduce me a investment company that invest in forex. http://www.owgfx.com/ im not sure whether i should put in some money inside to invest cause i like to see my money keep growing or continue to earn 800 per month? please give me some advise what should i do now and any ideas that can help me to keep my money grow. thanks people.
It is impossible to have any investment that can earn you Rm800 per month consistently with a 5K capital.

For forex issue, please read this.
http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=8&pg=14&ac=1976
TScherroy
post Oct 9 2010, 11:19 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(buylowsellhigh @ Oct 8 2010, 10:16 PM)
Ho Nomen, sorry for the late reply.
The first thing you want to focus on is selecting the right unit trust company
The second most important or maybe the first? is selecting a unit trust consultant. You need a unit trust consultant who can help you to maximize your profit, not just his/hers.
Then the last one is selecting the fund, it is not the other way around.
I will follow up with other posts.

Added on October 8, 2010, 11:00 pm

The key to to success in unit trust invetsment is timing/switching, i.e. when to move from equity fund to bond fund and vice versa. If you do it well, God willing, it will be very profitable. The key then is to find a unit trust company that let you switch easily without incurring unnecessary charges. Then you need to find a unit trust consultant that can tell you when to switch, unless you have the expertise.

Some unit trust company doesn't encourage switching, you pay the sales charge when you come back in again even though you have paid it before. You need to be able to do it easily without asking permission or paying the sales charge again.

The unit trust consultant that can advise you about market timing or when to switch should have some fundamental knowledge such as
-Intermarket relationship
-Market sentiment
-Sound knowledge and experience in technical analysis

I have my bias, I will PM you some details.
I disagree smile.gif
Although selecting the good unit trust company is important.
Selecting a right UT which suit to individual risk appetite is the most important and which is always the one dictates how well your invested money is doing.

Under a good unit trust company, there is a fund register 20% gain from last year performance, there is also a fund register 30% losses since launched 2 years ago. Some even 40-50% since first day launching, even come from a big reputable and good UT company.

The key to success of a investment is always the right investment, not timing. Althought timing does help, and sometimes very important.
Timing a unit trust is just like timing a stock goes up and goes down and your earn between from it. This is very difficult and most people won't able to do it in real life.
There is a good unit trust or fund that has been register hefty gain since start 10 years + ago, which you don't need to time the market at all to have a 200% gain over the last 10+ years.

Although timing can maximise the profit, it could minimise the profit as well. It works both well.
Try to time the market, is like try to more clever than the market.

Although sometimes, we can time the market, as it doesn't need rocket science or specific analysis to know the market is too high, just like bond is going up non-stop for the last year or so until now, which common sense does tell us bond price is a bit high now.
In ordinary market condition, timing the market is always a bad practice, and may minimise your profit instead maximise it.

Invest in UT is about long term investment. It is not advisable to invest long term based on TA alone. Long term investment is all about fundamental issue.
TScherroy
post Oct 10 2010, 01:07 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(buylowsellhigh @ Oct 9 2010, 05:38 PM)
I can sympathize with xu7jp and cherroy view indeed. The view is correct for most people since timing the market is a skill possessed by a select few. At some point I felt the same way and was contented with putting my hard earned money in a safe but low return investment vehicle. Our conclusion is shaped by our assumptions and our assumptions are based on our knowledge. Once our knowlede expands, so will our assumptions and therefore our conclusion. I think it is best to say that if you can't find a person or a way to relaiably time the market then just stick to what most people do.

As for me, the charts below speaks for themselves. The first one is how my system, pure TA, signals the bottom of the market in early 2009 and the second one is how KLSE is doing now. The system determines the cycle direction, momentum, strength, and also how the other asia pacific bourses are performing. The system was developed to tell me when the market is starting an uptrend, downtrend or moving sideways and by taking into account various market behavior over decades. there is demand for such timing advise for those who do not want to dabble in the stock market. If anyone has more detailed question not related to this thread feel free to PM me.

The question I ask myself is which one is safer, letting my profit disappear during a bear (downturn) market or protecting it if we can?. I think each of us know the answer. Anyhow, best of luck to all.

Early 2009. note also how my system called the market top early 2008.
No offence, it is too late to talk about this.
What concern whatever TA, or fundamental POV is where we are going now.

We can look back and put tons of theory and TA on it, but this doesn't address what we are most concerning now.
Everytime we make investment, is what next. Not looking back on what system pointed out which is signal this and that. No offence. smile.gif

If this has been posted during 2008, to signal high so that people get out of market, I congratulated.
If this has been posted during early 2009, signal bottom has been formed and guide people to buy, I congratulated.

Often TA or a lot of TA tehory doesn't address top or bottom was formed after market trend has been formed later on, aka too late.
It doesn't address the current issue.
Just like now, I ask where is TA currently pointing to which direction?
This is the answer we want.

The correct way to prove a TA works or not, is posting now what TA is pointing us to.
Then we look back after 6 months or so, and this process repeating, only then the validity of the TA has more credibility.

We can have tons of TA theory out there to prove 2007-2008 was the market high and 2008-2009 was the market bottom.
As look back is easy, going forward is not. smile.gif
TScherroy
post Oct 10 2010, 10:17 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(buylowsellhigh @ Oct 10 2010, 03:16 AM)
RIGHT NOW
Actually no offense. I thought I have answered your question before you actually asked it since I posted the chart that shows how it looks like NOW.
Now it is pointing up. That's the red curve pointing up, it is showing the current trend. That's all I need. That's me going foward. I will remain bullish until when it changes direction.

Investors just want this short answer for any TA.
Then we can evaluate how good the system is, after commit in real life investing.
No point looking back to say how good the system is.
A system can be foolproof for years but can stumble with unpredictable market trend.

Forward testing is not reflecting the real situation out there, although you can key in many variable as we wish.
When the signal changing direction it may prompt you to sell, but the do you sell?
Also, signal can change within weeks as well due to unpredictable market movement.

I don't mean to criticise, just blindly believe any TA is always a bad practice. TA is the one to guide and give clue how the market trend. It doesn't predict the future market trend. smile.gif

Also most TA is based on indices, and even index surge to all time high like KLCI to surpass 1500, it doesn't address still large portion of stocks especially 2nd liner stocks are underwater.
Unless one is trading in Index ETF, Index future, then the TA only applicable.

Also, index doesn't represent every stocks out there.

Anyone with some mathematical skill can always create different kind of TA by using historical data as reference to prove the validity of TA.
Just like we know the result of 2 x 3 = 6. So it is not difficult to create a system to find out the answer (?) of 2 x ? = 6. Because TA being created by looking back what had happend and based on pattern it showed.
Anyway, I don't mean to criticise about TA, as any TA is always good to give some indication. But blindly believe any system is always a bad practice to start with (other may disagree or not, never mind, just my pov which I would like to highlight)

This issue is a bit OT with this topic, so I think better post this kind of issue elsewhere.

Cheers.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Oct 10 2010, 10:33 AM
TScherroy
post Oct 17 2010, 04:28 PM

25,802 posts

Without understanding of individual financial situation, recommend a forced insurance saving plan or insurance endowment plan, is not a right way to do.

Those so called "forced saving plan", you cannot get money out from it even you have emergence usage.
You will lose a lot of money if you pre-mature cancel/withdraw the money.

You will "die" because of no cash during emergency or period you really need the cash time.
Those "forced insurance saving plan" is not going to help you a single cent, in those situation.

The initially starting point of "forced saving" should go to FD/saving account, and not to insurance saving plan.
Insurance saving plan is a long term commitment, and shouldn't be commit if one is not ready for it.
TScherroy
post Oct 17 2010, 04:34 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(nemoexcel @ Oct 17 2010, 11:34 AM)
u moron, go study proper english b4 pulling your gun !! If i were to promote, would i suggest him to "GO SIGN UP a forced savings plan??"  ... I work with a bank for the past 15 years, thus providing sensitive/insider info on reducing my bank's profit shld not be done in open forum!! .. hence, PM ... but to think of it, ppl like u dont deserve my knowledge
Wow, insurance forced saving plan, got a lot of sensitive or insider info, this is first time I heard it. I am noob.
So must secretive one! whistling.gif

Wah, banks really scare people to withdraw money a few hundred or a couple of thousand from bank account to commit into saving plan which can affect their profit big time!

So far I know,
Banks got its own insurance subsidiary company. :
Even banks do get commission from selling third party or associated company insurance. whistling.gif

TScherroy
post Oct 21 2010, 04:39 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(RedShirt @ Oct 21 2010, 12:45 PM)
2B) My expenses, huh ? This, unfortunately, is something that I do not have yet, as I like to be prudent and be on the safe side (I'd take the calculation of 6 months).
Well, by personal financial management and by what I said about investments, I thought that it would be a discussion on how to financially manage your savings/wealth so that you do not in the end, allow your savings/wealth to be eroded by factors such as inflation when you just dump it in a vanilla savings account, which defeats the purpose of managing anything to begin with.

And if you're saying that this thread's purpose is to tell someone to cut expenses and spendings alone, then you're right and I am sorry, this is probably the wrong thread to post in from the beginning.
My purpose was for someone who going through the same phase as I am, being in the early/mid twenties or those who have gone through my phase, to advise me on planning for some financial management for the savings that I have or that I will accumulate in due time for strategic purpose.

I do not have much obligations at the time being and I would like to maximize whatever I can instead of letting it sit in my vanilla savings account.
For investment part, we only talk about the investment method, aka the particular investment product issue discussion (like stock, properties, UT or whatever, which there are specific topic around which can join in the discussion smile.gif).
There is never a issue like, ok, I have saved 50K, I should invest in stock or properties, or which. There is no answer and pointless discussion if in this way.
That's why you see little discussion on this.

It is individual preference, choice of risk exposure. Nobody can advise on it.
It is same with the question what dinner should I take today. Only you knows.
Any investment may potential yield losses, instead of gain.

Some may prudent in spending and save a lot in FD, while he/she doesn't even know what is stock market about. So money sitting in FD is "right" for him/her.
Nothing wrong. There are many old generation people just prudent in saving and keep the money in FD, in the end of day save a couple of hundred thousand for their kids overseas study.

While another person may more adventurous invest in derivatives market, as long as the person is understanding the risk being taken, then it is fine.

Which is better? There is no answer of which is better than the other.

Financial management is about how to manage the available money, while investment part is about individual preference.

Added on October 21, 2010, 4:40 pm
QUOTE(RedShirt @ Oct 21 2010, 12:45 PM)
Well, by personal financial management and by what I said about investments, I thought that it would be a discussion on how to financially manage your savings/wealth so that you do not in the end, allow your savings/wealth to be eroded by factors such as inflation when you just dump it in a vanilla savings account, which defeats the purpose of managing anything to begin with.

And if you're saying that this thread's purpose is to tell someone to cut expenses and spendings alone, then you're right and I am sorry, this is probably the wrong thread to post in from the beginning.
My purpose was for someone who going through the same phase as I am, being in the early/mid twenties or those who have gone through my phase, to advise me on planning for some financial management for the savings that I have or that I will accumulate in due time for strategic purpose.

I do not have much obligations at the time being and I would like to maximize whatever I can instead of letting it sit in my vanilla savings account.
For investment part, we only talk about the investment method, aka the particular investment product issue discussion (like stock, properties, UT or whatever, which there are specific topic around which can join in the discussion smile.gif).
There is never a issue like, ok, I have saved 50K, I should invest in stock or properties, or which. There is no answer and pointless discussion if in this way.
That's why you see little discussion on this.
It is irresponsible to put a recommendation for others, like hey, bro, you should invest in UT or stocks. smile.gif

It is individual preference, choice of risk exposure. Nobody can advise on it.
It is same with the question what dinner should I take today. Only you knows.
Any investment may potential yield losses, instead of gain.

Some may prudent in spending and save a lot in FD, while he/she doesn't even know what is stock market about. So money sitting in FD is "right" for him/her.
Nothing wrong. There are many old generation people just prudent in saving and keep the money in FD, in the end of day save a couple of hundred thousand for their kids overseas study.

While another person may more adventurous invest in derivatives market, as long as the person is understanding the risk being taken, then it is fine.

Which is better? There is no answer of which is better than the other.

Financial management is about how to manage the available money, while investment part is about individual preference.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Oct 21 2010, 04:40 PM
TScherroy
post Nov 22 2010, 12:58 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Coach_Princess @ Nov 22 2010, 12:50 AM)
QUOTE(afosz @ Nov 1 2010, 10:23 PM)

Wow, you have 30k and still studying. What about your study, fully own money, loan or scholar ? What about transportation, possess any ?
If you're under loan, I'd suggest save up for easier to repay later. If no transport, save up for downpayment later after you graduated and looking for a job.
I suggested you to put in investment like unit trust.
Maybe 30k can assign 20K put in funds which can help you to generate more than 8% per annuam
Another 10K place in FD for emergency use.

Bank that offer better rate in FD:
(1) Maybank 9.88% 3 month, this is FD:UT campaign.
(2) Eonbank 10.18% 2 month, this is FD:UT campaign.
(3) OCBC bank, invest UT by "0%" sales charge

You may take it as consideration.
UT is not necessary can generate 8% pa, it can yield you a loss as well.

TScherroy
post Nov 30 2010, 10:50 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(singdreams @ Nov 28 2010, 07:48 PM)
Hi there, observing this thread for quite a while and decided to post

Age 19, working as customer service officer 1800
spend all and work again LOL, wanna buy a car but thinking of commitment of 9 years, scare already
Car is the worst spending and one of biggest culprit why people have not enough money left each month.
TScherroy
post Dec 1 2010, 04:50 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Ken @ Dec 1 2010, 10:41 AM)
no choice ... due to poor public transport and increasing criminal case ... car is a must nowadays ...

like people work in IT com in cyberjaya ...

Added on December 1, 2010, 10:42 am

should be earn more salary ...

downpayment for car is not espensive compare the monthly loan + maintenance
Actually, it is an excuse and modern people get use to it.
It is not totally a "must".

In the old day, when I was students and graduated, no everyone after graduated buy car to go to work one.
Most ride motorbike, only after few years saving enough significant downpayment, only buy car.

Now we see even student drive car to school as it is a "must" as public transport is poor.

QUOTE(singdreams @ Dec 1 2010, 12:18 PM)
Car is important as i need to go back my hometown in perak, just fork some portion of my salary?
normally i ride a bike to work because of jam, i will just use it for going hometown and raining
can explain lain lain? insurance? road tax?
It is not about drive or not drive alone, having a car mean monthly commitment on car loan, maintenance, insurance, road tax, even parking fee is not cheap etc.

If really want or 'must' own, take the smallest and cheapest car option.
TScherroy
post Dec 12 2010, 11:13 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(pauerxi @ Dec 12 2010, 11:08 PM)
hi all,

I just start working for 1 month and my salary is just 1800. I am planning to buy a car for me but i dont know what is the car that can suit my salary and also about the loan. So i need advice from u guys. In addition, how to manage my money? how much should i provide for saving?what about my insurans? what are things that must be done?eg. unit trust, asb ext. i really dont have a good idea about this. so again..please help me..tq
My advice, don't buy car if can.

Car liabilities is quite huge to start with, monthly payment for smallest car can be around Rm300~400, but you need to take into account of insurance, petrol, maintenance stuff, easily another Rm300-500 per month easily which is quite norm. So if commit to buy a car, almost half of 1800 gone first. Left you around 900, which you not yet feed yourself, self expenditure etc.

Car is one of worst culprit why most people don't have enough money left each month.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Dec 12 2010, 11:15 PM
TScherroy
post Dec 16 2010, 09:45 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(BoltonMan @ Dec 15 2010, 10:31 AM)
still depend where you work.

last time i work in cyberjaya, without car, you gonna waste a lot of times in public transport.
There is a transportation called motorbike. tongue.gif

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Dec 15 2010, 10:58 PM)
yes i do agree with u to a certain extent, but in reality, it's not that easy sometimes, eg transportation issue,time, etc.
Imo, get a cheap,easy to maintain car for eg, kancil. I myself driving a 15yr old kancil that is light to my pocket, require little maintenance (relatively speaking) and a less of a car hijacking attention. off course, make sure it is good in condition, and it is around 5-7k depending on age/condition. A car doesn't break down that easily, assuming u do proper maintenance (timing belt, engine oil etc).
Although i could afford buying a better and new car, but i chose not to. this is a gratification that can be delayed in later years, and I believe money should be invested/put to better good use @young age. Buying a car is easy, and be a slave to it for the next 9-11yrs which depreciates over time. Sometimes, really, looking @ those young adults driving good cars (vios, etc) & lavish lifestyle , i could just imagine how bad is their savings rate. (assuming it's self bought and normal employed).
my advice as above, cut story short.
It is an exponantial factor, you spend first then no saving left for investment purpose that can generate you passive income, even FD also is a passive income generator.

We have motorbike that can be used as transportation as well. Not necessary between public transport and car only.
I don't know why people never consider this option.
In fact, motorbike is more effective in traffic jam time, more time saved.

Saving 20-30k, even pathetical FD rate at 3%, still generate you Rm900 pa, equivalent to about Rm80 per month to pay off your bill. As time pass, those saving and passive income factor can replicate and compounded even bigger as compared spending all to loan repayment each month with little saving left.

One with figure going up (saving), one with maintaining at zero (spend all), for sure, as time goes, the gap will be widen.

By then the passive income become substantial, which at that times, only thinking of changing new car also too late, which financial situation become more comfortable.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Dec 16 2010, 09:45 AM
TScherroy
post Dec 16 2010, 04:17 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Dec 16 2010, 02:11 PM)
Then, what is the point to save money when you will die the next minute?

Added on December 16, 2010, 2:15 pm
A lot of way to do it actually. Get a cheaper car if you want to save and invest, especially since motorbike quite dangerous in your opinion (same as mine), but to some forumers especially in this topic, they will not agree. I personally feel that there is no point in keep saving money in bulk while you are not going to enjoy it. It is better to have a balance aka not over stretch your income or becoming too stingy to yourself. Just my opinion though.
Yes, if one could afford it, no problem.
or
can get a second hand Kancil, which cost no more than 10-12k.

Just throwing some option.
Yes, in Penang, Motorbike has little problem vs KL.

Life is full of risk everywhere.
Yes, risk of motorbike accident is high and can kill, so does car as well.
Driving a car won't save a person from fatal accident as well.

Life is never perfect. It is about give and take.
I won't disagree for safety reason, get a car as compared to motorbike.

It is about how individual balance their life with available disposal income.
As I had seen many had spent beyond their ability in the first place.
Just graduated, with less than 2K income, then must/think to buy a 50-60K new car

TScherroy
post Dec 29 2010, 03:51 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Dec 29 2010, 02:45 PM)
have consulted a wealth manager (i am not sure if this is his so called position) who advised me to invest in unit trust, by taking out my EPF 1st account monies and monies monthly auto debit into his personal account.

1.  i asked why cant i bank in into his company account, he said is hard to manage as it is a pool account. whereas to his personal account, is easier to monitor and is the normal arrangement.  Is this correct?

2.  is that normal to "auto debit" the monies from EPF to the designated account and if so, what is the formula used in doing this?

thanks in adv.
There is no such thing of bank into personal account. EPF won't allow this as well.

Also, please do not do this. It is risky by bank in any investment money to any person Personal account.

Even you want to invest in xyz mutual fund, the money should be deposited or bank in into xyz mutual fund, not to any person name.

2. It is not normal.
TScherroy
post Dec 29 2010, 04:44 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Dec 29 2010, 04:09 PM)
For the EPF transaction, I believe it will be deposited into the mutual fund personal account.

If i were to instruct that payment be made into the mutual fund's account, how is it possible for the person to manage it?
Mutual fund is managed by mutual fund manager already. Why you need somebody to manage.

Wealth adviser, is to advice, not to manage.

To get a person money and manage, you need SC approval for that.
If not, it is deem illegal in the first place.

Just like mutual fund company got SC approval to manage your money, aka to invest.

No one can take other money to invest or manage on behalf simply.
TScherroy
post Dec 29 2010, 11:08 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Dec 29 2010, 05:50 PM)
As I do not have any clue as regards the type of unit trusts, I have appointed an agent to act on my behalf, i.e., to select and invest the monies on my behalf to achieve the goal. I have been made to understand that the agent is earning his commissions thru the service tax levied on the monies which i deposit into my unit trust account. 

To facilitate such investment, I have been asked to arrange a standing instruction to debit my monies directly into his account so that he could invest on my behalf.

This, I believe it not the mutual fund manger's role.

Hence, my 2 abovementioned questions.

What is the role of a mutual fund manager?
No agent can act on behalf, except those fund manager, company that are SC approved to carry such a task.

Bank in/deposited into a person personal account is fishy to start with already.

Do you know mutual fund charge 5-6% service charge for that already?
Somemore standing instruction to a person personal account... sweat.gif

Even nowadays, buying shares in stock market, you don't bank in into the broker company account, but a separate trust account, which technically company cannot touch those money for their company operation side one.

Personal account?? shocking.gif shakehead.gif sweat.gif

Mutual fund manager is already the role take your money and decide what stock to invest on behalf on you.
You take another person that charge you again to choose which fund to invest. Setting aside the legal issue of the agent first, you are paying double charges...

Wealth adviser only advise what to invest, which fund is suit to you, they never decide for you, their role is not on this and also not allow to do this either.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Dec 29 2010, 11:14 PM
TScherroy
post Dec 30 2010, 04:41 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(juno88 @ Dec 30 2010, 05:29 AM)
share my current status. i wan more money!!!

here is the +++ plus
salary 3k+-
side income 500+-
i rent my house to ppl 550

here is the -- minus...
car loan 872
house loan 570
give mom 500
credit card monthly about 200-350
play kutu monthly 300 tat means every 5 month i will get extra +1200
saving fixed 500 monthly

here is the plus or minus...
gambling spend monthly about 500+-
sometimes win sometimes lose...

any idea make it better?

Your car loan is eating you a lot.

Quit gambling.
TScherroy
post Jun 18 2011, 11:06 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(goer&doer @ Jun 18 2011, 11:16 AM)
I thought property yield the highest return compare to other investment tools. Would you mind clarify on that? hmm.gif
If talk about rental yield, most residential net rental yield is kinda quite low across.

Only commercial properties can fetch good yield, but commercial properties is totally different ball game with residential properties.

TScherroy
post Mar 15 2012, 05:51 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(yap2001 @ Mar 14 2012, 03:41 PM)

We really need your advice to re-built our financial wall. My wife and I really not good in manage our wealth. Both of us are 30 now and end of this year will welcome another family member, so we really hope to built a strong financial background for our future  flex.gif .
The following are out detail,

Husband:-

Income in RM:

Monthly Salary = 4,400
After Epf =3800

Car loan is too excessive resulted little saving.
Car is a liability, get a smaller car, RM1000 monthly payment is too much.

Saving is too little, resulted little opportunity for investment that can provide extra passive income.
The second house is crucial, if it is an investment that can yield passive income and cover the loan, then it is still debatable.

With another family adding, this will put the budget even into more stress.
So need to reduce the expenses side.

A household income of RM7000 should have more comfortable zone and more saving. Cars are the main culprit.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Mar 15 2012, 05:51 PM

0.0350sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:08 AM