125 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V46!, The Orange Legion

ReasonsofThanatos
post Sep 18 2010, 12:48 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Sep 17 2010, 02:27 PM)
where did u heard the news from?
i know it's gonna be delayed but i didn't know it won't be launched here
Some forum online..i've forgot the exact site but if you google "sony a560 malaysia" there should be 1 of d post there..

QUOTE(albnok @ Sep 17 2010, 03:09 PM)
mastering89: Yeah I hope so too!

The Sigma 85mm F1.4 EX DG HSM is RM4xxx. Madness! sad.gif

ahpingko: The MSPD was probably pirated. My WX-1 and NEX-5 both say the same thing on an MSPD that works perfectly on my A700 and A900 (because Sony didn't make a big issue about it then I guess.)

You know lah if properly exposed, an ISO1600 shot can be very clean also.

5564321: I wrote a tutorial way back to restore tones in blown colors:

http://www.glaringnotebook.com/default.asp?id=1313

ReasonsofThanatos: It has not been launched yet, but that doesn't mean it will never be launched - the A380 and A500 made it here after all even though they were not supposed to be.

clivengu: Not that hard honestly. The Samyang 35mm F1.4 UMC is a FF lens. Same goes for the 14mm F2.8 and 85mm F1.4, while the 8mm F3.5 diagonal fisheye is APS-C only.

And to think, I used to think the Minolta 35mm F1.4G was a heavy lens, and it was front-heavy (it's fairly long for a prime.)

yuhi: Clean your A350's flash contacts with a blue ink eraser. Turn off and turn on camera and flash. It should be in sync.
Oo...well hopefully we'll see it in M'sia soon..coz im really into this 2 model..i still have doubts on a33 and a55...

evilhomura89
post Sep 18 2010, 01:22 AM

5,886 posts

QUOTE(eddybeh @ Sep 17 2010, 11:42 PM)
oh guys, wanna ask ur opinion about EVF. i personally don really like it coz it doesn look real. haha....
well, no one can really tell u until you try it out
i've seen some really bad EVF but i'm not sure about the a33/55 EVF
albnok
post Sep 18 2010, 01:23 AM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

Reasonsofthanatos, did you miss this posting? I called the Alpha product manager to confirm this. The A560 will be delayed but the A580 will be coming soon.

QUOTE(albnok @ Sep 17 2010, 08:19 PM)
The A580 will be coming to Malaysia in October 2010. Just in time to be tried against the A55. The A33 and SEL18200 are already in Sony Style outlets.

Deerc: Handheld Twilight is a lot cleaner than if you set ISO manually. If you insist on using a lower ISO then use 7 FPS drive mode instead.

Added on September 18, 2010, 1:32 amfansoption: A55 is coming in October 2010.

zeipher: Yes contrast/saturation/sharpness.

eddybeh: Have you the EVF on the A33?

d4rkholeang3l: Put your F42 and 360 bounce card on the floor, pointing up. Trigger it wirelessly.

Observe how much light goes in front, and how much goes behind the flash. Take a picture of it and show us.

The Gary Fong Lightsphere is a major light sucker (since it bounces half of the light to the back!)

And no, TTL will not be misled by bounce cards. TTL will always send one pre-flash, and detect how bright that pre-flash is through the lens (hence the TTL name) and then adjust power accordingly.

This post has been edited by albnok: Sep 18 2010, 01:32 AM
ieR
post Sep 18 2010, 01:34 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(d4rkholeang3l @ Sep 18 2010, 12:00 AM)
guys, especially sifu...
wanna ask, recently my Ansmann battery used in my f42 discharge damn fast..

couldnt even last for 100 shots...

I using 360 bounce card for the flash (recently just start using )
will this cause the flash to use more power ?

I wanted to warranty the battery but the shop keeper ask me try with direct bounce first (bounce with ceiling )

he said the bounce card will cause the TTL to misread and use more power ..

tak tau betul or not..

i do understand that by bouncing, i suffer light loss , thus use more power, but will it be that significant ?

from few hundreds shots to about 50 ?
using any modifier, usually end up with using more power.

direct uses the less power....

direct bounce are good, big bounce card are good too...

but modifier tat 'block' or 'slow/disperse' the light, take up HUGE amount of power to get the same exposure of above setting. gary fong toilet bowl, stofen, etc... take up more power.

ReasonsofThanatos: something u have to learn, there are many jealous fanboy out there, posting nonsense no source or proof speculation in other forum to mislead or spoil sony reputation. pls dont speculate more false info. thank you.

Added on September 18, 2010, 1:37 amopps, albnok answered right before me... lol.

albnok, how do u rate the EVF of A33, like compare to the feel of Nex LCD display? how does it fare up at night? i mean, human eye are marvelous creation, we can enjoy a dance show even with 1lux of light... does the EVF can see 1 lux then our eye through OVF?

Added on September 18, 2010, 1:39 am
QUOTE(albnok @ Sep 18 2010, 01:23 AM)

d4rkholeang3l: Put your F42 and 360 bounce card on the floor, pointing up. Trigger it wirelessly. set manual power of 1/8

Observe how much light goes in front, and how much goes behind the flash. Take a picture of it and show us.

The Gary Fong Lightsphere is a major light sucker (since it bounces half of the light to the back!)

And no, TTL will not be misled by bounce cards. TTL will always send one pre-flash, and detect how bright that pre-flash is through the lens (hence the TTL name) and then adjust power accordingly.
albnok hope u dont mind. this way, it will go consistence. else the TTL will fire more but cant be felt... with manual, it can see obviously other modifier dont bring as much light into front then direct smile.gif

This post has been edited by ieR: Sep 18 2010, 01:39 AM
fansoption
post Sep 18 2010, 01:40 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(blowsh @ Sep 18 2010, 12:36 AM)
wow...love the raindrop bubble by fansoption...
blowsh : thx
eddybeh
post Sep 18 2010, 01:47 AM

830 posts

albnok & evilhomura89: well, the EVF i'm speaking of is not about the evf of A33 or any model. just a general discussion. i've tried 1 of the leicas that uses EVF and i seriously don like it.
ieR
post Sep 18 2010, 01:50 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

eddybeh, tubik tested A33 in SG, and he said, its better then nex lcd. so..... smile.gif

i have some old fuji and minolta camera... they uses EVF too, and they are terrible... i get what u mean, but u cannot generalize them since tech is improving daily tongue.gif
albnok
post Sep 18 2010, 02:52 AM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

ieR: The EVF is great! It might not be able to gain up so much in very low light, but then I have not tried it in much lower light.

If I try recording a video in low light with a F2.8 lens and EV +1.3, the LCD may show the proper +1.3 EV effect, but during the video, because it has to shoot at at least 1/30s, the video looks underexposed. However once I mount the F1.4 it gets my intended exposure during video. So there will be a limit to how dark the EVF can see in.

And yes thanks for pointing out about the fixed manual power.

eddybeh: Ironically, the FDA-SV1 optical viewfinder for the NEX-3/NEX-5 is optically crap. It is very smeary off center unless you stick your eye exactly aligned to it... even then it looks very trippy inside.

The Leicas that used EVF were probably the Panasonic rebadges - as I remember those were many years ago.
eddybeh
post Sep 18 2010, 03:09 AM

830 posts

ier & albnok: noted. thx. really overlooked this very simple point "development". tongue.gif
Deerc
post Sep 18 2010, 08:37 AM

~ KeV ~
762 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Sep 17 2010, 08:19 PM)

Deerc: Handheld Twilight is a lot cleaner than if you set ISO manually. If you insist on using a lower ISO then use 7 FPS drive mode instead.
But Handheld Twilight cant set ISO... so it sometimes uses crazy ISO 6400... 7FPS is good but no AF for the continuous shot...
esmonde
post Sep 18 2010, 09:42 AM

510 posts

QUOTE(Deerc @ Sep 18 2010, 08:37 AM)
But Handheld Twilight cant set ISO... so it sometimes uses crazy ISO 6400... 7FPS is good but no AF for the continuous shot...
Handheld Twilight ISO 6400 I seldom see any noise in it because it combines 7 different shots to reduce the noise. Continuous shot do not have AF but AF will be fixed on the first shot.

It should work like this. Correct me if anything is wrong. smile.gif
Deerc
post Sep 18 2010, 09:59 AM

~ KeV ~
762 posts

Is it maybe my subject moving so not so effective?
mintii
post Sep 18 2010, 10:17 AM

90 posts

Hi all, any of you been to taman seribu bunga melaka before? where's the exact location ah? i cant find in google map..>.<
and any other plc for shooting in the area of ayer keroh? hehe thx thx... ahpingko is on his way to melaka~~ rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
esmonde
post Sep 18 2010, 10:26 AM

510 posts

QUOTE(Deerc @ Sep 18 2010, 09:59 AM)
Is it maybe my subject moving so not so effective?
Moving object not so effective. Because it needs 7 same shots to merge together. I have tried with static object and sometimes the result is not that clear too because maybe my hand was shaking. sad.gif

I think is just like taking HDR shot, if you shake abit you can see 2 layers . Don't know how to describe. Its like having shadow.
destfull
post Sep 18 2010, 11:05 AM

Brain for Creativity
1,063 posts

QUOTE(mintii @ Sep 18 2010, 10:17 AM)
Hi all, any of you been to taman seribu bunga melaka before? where's the exact location ah? i cant find in google map..>.<
and any other plc for shooting in the area of ayer keroh? hehe thx thx... ahpingko is on his way to melaka~~ rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Ayer keroh got so many places to go to shoot... Zoo, Taman Botanical Garden, Taman Buaya, The lake etc
d4rkholeang3l
post Sep 18 2010, 11:14 AM

1,373 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Sep 18 2010, 01:23 AM)
Reasonsofthanatos, did you miss this posting? I called the Alpha product manager to confirm this. The A560 will be delayed but the A580 will be coming soon.

Added on September 18, 2010, 1:32 amfansoption: A55 is coming in October 2010.

zeipher: Yes contrast/saturation/sharpness.

eddybeh: Have you the EVF on the A33?

d4rkholeang3l: Put your F42 and 360 bounce card on the floor, pointing up. Trigger it wirelessly.

albnok, as u said, TTL will send the pre-flash, but if it suffers light loss from the bounce card, means it will set my flash to higher output power rite ?
mintii
post Sep 18 2010, 11:24 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(destfull @ Sep 18 2010, 11:05 AM)
Ayer keroh got so many places to go to shoot... Zoo, Taman Botanical Garden, Taman Buaya, The lake etc
taman buaya i heard gt vy few buayas d...xD haha thx ya!!
jedi_master
post Sep 18 2010, 11:32 AM

165 posts

A33 - A Very Brief Hands-On at Sony Style KLCC - 17 September 2010

As Thursday was a public holiday, most people opted not to work on Friday (17/9/2010). As me and my buddy were in the office - we work in KLCC, and did not have much work to do due to lack of people, we decided to make a trip to Sony Style - hoping that either the A33 or A55 had arrived.

To our delight, there was an A33 available for testing. We came prepared with a 8GB SDHC card so that we could pixel peep later. Since the camera was tethered to the display base, we could only shoot within the shop. However, our initial impressions of the camera were good, and I would like to share some with you guys here.

A33 - Size and Build

First thing we noticed was the size of the camera. It was really smaller than expected. The grip was comfortable enough, with the little finger tending to curl under the body. I have long fingers and the grip seemed decent.

The finish was OK, a bit rubbery to the touch, and I hope it doesn't wear with time.

A33 - EVF

The thing I was personally most skeptical about was the EVF. Therefore, I was really pleasantly surprised by the quality of the viewfinder. I do not know how to describe it properly or take a photo of it, but I urge you to go and try it out. While panning, there is a kind of blur, sort of like the view on those old LCD monitors with slow response times. However, IMHO, this is not a major concern. Also, I wear glasses, and still the EVF was comfortable to use. The pixels are hardly noticeable, and I was instantly comfortable with it.

I also found that the menus are accessible from within the EVF. I was able to change ISO on the fly with my eye glued to the EVF. Also, the review image pops up immediately and you can review it in the EVF. I did notice a slight delay however after the shot was taken, and the review image pops up. Whether this is due to the slow memory card or camera issue I am not sure.

Overall I am quite satisfied with the EVF quality and can imagine myself using one in the future.

A33 - Performance

Here I will let the images speak for themselves. All were shot in fine JPEG mode, STD colour setting.

Camera: Sony A33
Lens: 18-55 SAM
Aperture: F5
Zoom: 18mm

ISO comparison (100% crops from the center of the image):

As you can see, ISO800 is still useful, ISO1600 gets softer but I believe is passable with RAW and good processing. Above ISO6400 there is a yellowish tint to the image. I'm not sure why this happens, actually.

Full size photos are available here:

ISO800 - http://www.flickr.com/photos/20607955@N05/...57624854158311/
ISO1600 - http://www.flickr.com/photos/20607955@N05/...57624854158311/
ISO3200 - http://www.flickr.com/photos/20607955@N05/...57624854158311/
ISO6400 - http://www.flickr.com/photos/20607955@N05/...57624854158311/
ISO12800 - http://www.flickr.com/photos/20607955@N05/...57624854158311/

Some more full size photos for pixel peepers - close up of the teddy bear at 55mm F5.6:

ISO800 - http://www.flickr.com/photos/20607955@N05/...57624854158311/
ISO6400 - http://www.flickr.com/photos/20607955@N05/...57624854158311/

HDR Effect:

The camera can increase its dynamic range by either resorting to DRO or HDR mode. In HDR mode it fires a burst of shots, which are then merged. This can lead to some interesting effects, if the subject is not stationary (see below).

HDR/DRO Off:

DRO Level 5:

HDR Level 6:

Another example:

HDR/DRO Off:

HDR Level 6:

Note the effect of HDR Level 6 multiple shots on this guy:

Panorama:

The burst shot mode is also used to great effect to shoot panoramas. Tried it out and got this on my first attempt.

Of course, nothing is perfect and there are some errors, such as these.

Error 1: http://www.flickr.com/photos/20607955@N05/...57624854158311/
Error 2: http://www.flickr.com/photos/20607955@N05/...57624854158311/

However, the overall effect is still kind of pleasing. Note the crop though, a normal picture is 3056 pixels high, but the panorama is only 1856 pixels high. The full shot is available here - http://www.flickr.com/photos/20607955@N05/...57624854158311/

Here is one last shot using the pop up flash and ISO100 (that is my friend!): http://www.flickr.com/photos/20607955@N05/...57624854158311/

Conclusion

It's up to you! biggrin.gif

Parting Remarks

Sorry for the amateur review quality and lonnngggg post. Hope you guys can make more sense of it than I did. notworthy.gif
Deerc
post Sep 18 2010, 11:58 AM

~ KeV ~
762 posts

QUOTE(esmonde @ Sep 18 2010, 10:26 AM)
Moving object not so effective. Because it needs 7 same shots to merge together. I have tried with static object and sometimes the result is not that clear too because maybe my hand was shaking.  sad.gif

I think is just like taking HDR shot, if you shake abit you can see 2 layers . Don't know how to describe. Its like having shadow.
So for conclusion HHT is for low light condition with subject not moving eh... haha. The HDR is just eyecandy to showoff. Nothing beats the manual HDR merging of different exposure photos.
esmonde
post Sep 18 2010, 12:33 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(Deerc @ Sep 18 2010, 11:58 AM)
So for conclusion HHT is for low light condition with subject not moving eh... haha. The HDR is just eyecandy to showoff. Nothing beats the manual HDR merging of different exposure photos.
Yaya, HDR if you move then will like the photo that d4rkholeang3l showed above. biggrin.gif

125 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:39 PM