PENANG FOOD, Hawker, Kopitiam & FoodCourt see Pg1

TSDarkNite
post Jun 5 2011, 07:17 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(imthebrand @ Jun 5 2011, 06:36 PM)
u know the most good chicken rice at where? the batu lanchang there
Where in Batu Lanchang? hmm.gif
katopunk
post Jun 5 2011, 08:08 PM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jun 5 2011, 07:17 PM)
Where in Batu Lanchang? hmm.gif
I guess he meant the on located inside the Batu Lanchang market. I'd say it's pretty good. Almost top mark for the "Chai Boey" http://eatingpleasure.blogspot.com/2011/02/chai-boey.html.

Best I ever had is the Lam Fatt Chicken rice located in Paya Terubong.
http://laihooisan.wordpress.com/2011/05/26...-paya-terubong/

This post has been edited by katopunk: Jun 5 2011, 08:08 PM
sampack
post Jun 6 2011, 02:21 AM

QUOTE(etigge @ May 16 2011, 07:11 AM)
Two and a half days, can you do it all?  laugh.gif  shocking.gif  The whole trip, my guess is you will be glued to the GPS. You barely have time to sample the flavours and you will not be relaxed enough to actually enjoy the food. I have taken friends to Penang and many places otherwise, I know that if you want to cover everything in a short span of time, you are going to ruin your holidays. My suggestion is tour it in a relaxed way, enjoy and if you can't make it, Penang is not going to sink into the sea. There's always another trip. icon_rolleyes.gif
Can't agree more with this. I often get caught up so much in the research for food places (and their location) that i miss the point of holidays - to relax! And trying to get from place to place does get harrowing at times, especially when the sun's beating on your back! So for my upcoming trip to penang, i'm just going to select a few places. Specifically well known places for seafood and dim sum!
TSDarkNite
post Jun 6 2011, 08:46 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(katopunk @ Jun 5 2011, 08:08 PM)
I guess he meant the on located inside the Batu Lanchang market. I'd say it's pretty good. Almost top mark for the "Chai Boey" http://eatingpleasure.blogspot.com/2011/02/chai-boey.html.

Best I ever had is the Lam Fatt Chicken rice located in Paya Terubong.
http://laihooisan.wordpress.com/2011/05/26...-paya-terubong/
The one inside the Batu Lanchang market's food court is so so nia.
There is also one in So Young cafe, I see many people queue but never try, dunno if this is it?

Lam Fatt chicken rice is best known for its char siew and expensiveness! laugh.gif
crazy25kid
post Jun 6 2011, 03:37 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jun 6 2011, 08:46 AM)
The one inside the Batu Lanchang market's food court is so so nia.
There is also one in So Young cafe, I see many people queue but never try, dunno if this is it?

Lam Fatt chicken rice is best known for its char siew and expensiveness! laugh.gif

Lam Fatt is best known for the chai boey and not the char siew la. -_-ll

reijikageyama
post Jun 8 2011, 11:27 AM

whatthingamajigga
1,202 posts

Lorong Selamat wan tan mee is gooding! right at the corner lot if you enter from macalister road.. map coordinates: 5.416275,100.324174

char koay teow and koay teow th'ng is quite nice for me at Say Por Kiew (only at night)

This post has been edited by reijikageyama: Jun 8 2011, 11:30 AM
supadupa
post Jun 8 2011, 12:46 PM

beer beer !!!
839 posts

my fav...!

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TSDarkNite
post Jun 8 2011, 08:09 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(supadupa @ Jun 8 2011, 12:46 PM)
my fav...!
This one is the corner of siam road and anson road?
Corrupted Spirits
post Jun 13 2011, 01:35 AM

Somewhere out there
633 posts

Nobody tried Mee Goreng Sotong at Esplanade? brows.gif
Mefzouk
post Jun 13 2011, 01:45 AM

52 posts

Tried kuey teow thng all over george town, best is still the one that used to be in Hai onn, now moved to nearby hong leong bank.
etigge
post Jun 13 2011, 02:06 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(Mefzouk @ Jun 13 2011, 01:45 AM)
Tried kuey teow thng all over george town, best is still the one that used to be in Hai onn, now moved to nearby hong leong bank.
I used to like the one in Argyll Road but eversince they shifted opposite the flavour has degraded a bit. smile.gif
TSDarkNite
post Jun 13 2011, 11:15 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jun 13 2011, 02:06 AM)
I used to like the one in Argyll Road but eversince they shifted opposite the flavour has degraded a bit.  smile.gif
There are 2, which ones are you referring to and where have they shifted?
etigge
post Jun 13 2011, 03:40 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jun 13 2011, 11:15 AM)
There are 2, which ones are you referring to and where have they shifted?
There was only one last time, if you look from the front it was in the coffeeshop on the left. Then the Koay Teow Th'ng shifted opposite and another stall took over the place. That's why there are two now. laugh.gif Have you notice? In penang the fishball (self made, I think) are not springy?
TSDarkNite
post Jun 13 2011, 07:40 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jun 13 2011, 03:40 PM)
There was only one last time, if you look from the front it was in the coffeeshop on the left. Then the Koay Teow Th'ng shifted opposite and another stall took over the place. That's why there are two now. laugh.gif  Have you notice? In penang the fishball (self made, I think) are not springy?
I think it should be Hutton Lane.

QUOTE(etigge @ Jun 13 2011, 03:40 PM)
.... In penang the fishball (self made, I think) are not springy?
laugh.gif I used to sell fishball for a manufacturing company. Penang have many old people so the taste is not springy like KL.
BTW In China also they're not springy especially those made in the restaurant.
etigge
post Jun 13 2011, 09:21 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jun 13 2011, 07:40 PM)
I think it should be Hutton Lane.
laugh.gif  I used to sell fishball for a manufacturing company. Penang have many old people so the taste is not springy like KL.
BTW In China also they're not springy especially those made in the restaurant.
Probably is Hutton Lane but round the corner is where Swatow Lane ice kacang was. hmm.gif Yes, you are right, it is Hutton Lane. Not used to Hutton Lane on this side, I think of Eden all the time. laugh.gif
ahchak
post Jun 14 2011, 12:05 AM

Well...
558 posts

no discussion on mainland's food? smile.gif

btw, where can i taste laksa lemak in penang?? i heard it's delicious..
cskeong
post Jun 17 2011, 11:47 AM

438 posts

add in info for prai side. ong cheng huat seafood in bagan lalang. famous for deep fried chicks,deep fried cucur udang made from popiah skin, the mango kerabu is oso good. got a lot of other option but that 3 is a must when u get there. they also serve home made palm wine. take note they dun serve rice u have to order fried bihun or fried mee.

rojak in bagan near butterworth container terminal.fruits cut into pieces skewered onto sticks. choose from tomato,mango,water apple(jambu air), guava etc and dip into rojak sauce. will add more when i can think of more tongue.gif

edit:
just thought of more. the "or koay" in new world park is good so is the ou chien.

dim sum in prai side is chow chuen (duno spelling correct or not) for morning time main shop is in bagan near the morning market. second branch is in jalan ong yi how. night time dim sum is tong pou (still duno spelling correct or not) oso nearby the bagan morning market.

malay char koay teow got two good one. one is in sungai dua. from the NSE on the way north take the exit to sungai dua, turn left at the traffic light and about 100 or 200 meters down the road on the left is the shop. the other one is in permatang pauh on the old road towards bukit mertajam on the left side.the satay there is quite nice too.

This post has been edited by cskeong: Jun 17 2011, 12:04 PM
TSDarkNite
post Jun 17 2011, 01:31 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(cskeong @ Jun 17 2011, 11:47 AM)
add in info for prai side.

notworthy.gif
Many thanks but proper address or gps coordinates ah?
hackwire
post Jun 17 2011, 05:44 PM

4,256 posts

today went to the mee mamak in pulau tikus. chinese new year pack like hell. the mee is so sweet n soggy. i think the one in esplanade is better?
samlee860407
post Jun 17 2011, 05:53 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Jun 17 2011, 05:44 PM)
today went to the mee mamak in pulau tikus. chinese new year pack like hell. the mee is so sweet n soggy. i think the one in esplanade is better?
today is chinese new year? @@

27 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:42 PM