176 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread, Maxis FTTH launched 1st Sep 2010!

iipohbee
post Nov 21 2011, 09:58 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Nov 21 2011, 11:26 AM)
if you need port-forwarding in your ps3, you may have problem then.. Maxis is generally giving out private IP and based on forummer's past experience you can't do port-forwarding in maxis router..
There's a supposed work around for it already posted in the Official US PS3 Community Boards.

http://community.us.playstation.com/thread...tart=0&tstart=0

You need to do proper port forwarding in the router and set a static IP for your PS3.
AlphaOmega001
post Nov 22 2011, 10:09 AM

254 posts

QUOTE(iipohbee @ Nov 21 2011, 09:58 PM)
There's a supposed work around for it already posted in the Official US PS3 Community Boards.

http://community.us.playstation.com/thread...tart=0&tstart=0

You need to do proper port forwarding in the router and set a static IP for your PS3.
you can do this with private ip ?
numbertwo
post Nov 22 2011, 11:01 AM

1,784 posts

I doubt so.. ports opening in private IP is always forbidden..otherwise, what is the purpose of controlling us by giving us private IP?
iipohbee
post Nov 22 2011, 01:49 PM

603 posts

Maxis actually takes the extra mile of providing security to its subscribers by providing 2 logins to its users.

By default, they put you under private IP to hide normal users from security threats and advanced users who wish to get public IP can login with an alternative ID.

This simply can be accomplished by changing from:
xxxx@home.maxis.com.my to xxxx@public.maxis.com.my

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2044550

Does other ISPs make the effort to provide managed firewall as value added feature to subscribers?
numbertwo
post Nov 22 2011, 02:08 PM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(iipohbee @ Nov 22 2011, 01:49 PM)
Maxis actually takes the extra mile of providing security to its subscribers by providing 2 logins to its users.

By default, they put you under private IP to hide normal users from security threats and advanced users who wish to get public IP can login with an alternative ID.

This simply can be accomplished by changing from:
xxxx@home.maxis.com.my to xxxx@public.maxis.com.my

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2044550

Does other ISPs make the effort to provide managed firewall as value added feature to subscribers?
This is not a known 'extra security', this tips must have been found out by a fellow forummer... Usual subscribers have to call, ask, and perhaps begging, to get a Public IP..

This post has been edited by numbertwo: Nov 22 2011, 02:55 PM
iipohbee
post Nov 22 2011, 02:20 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Nov 22 2011, 02:08 PM)
This is not a known 'extra security', this tips must have been found out by a fellow forummer...  Usual subscribers have to call, ask, and perhaps begging, to get a private IP..
It is extra security. NTT Japan had this featured in their NGN some 2-3 years back.

When subscribers are put under private IP, they are shielded from attacks. Some sort of managed firewall by the ISP.

They gave the option to those who knew what they're doing to bypass it.

Good idea.
aricat
post Dec 12 2011, 01:55 AM

QUOTE(iipohbee @ Nov 22 2011, 02:20 PM)
It is extra security. NTT Japan had this featured in their NGN some 2-3 years back.

When subscribers are put under private IP, they are shielded from attacks. Some sort of managed firewall by the ISP.

They gave the option to those who knew what they're doing to bypass it.

Good idea.
I'm sorry but applying such security precautions is only justified when users are notified properly and have an option NOT to have it. As what done by NTT Japan as you have reported.

Not to start a war, but I sense your comments are a little biased towards the good side Maxis...

Why does Maxis need another forum member to preach the good things they're doing ? To simply put it, this so called safety precaution is causing a lot of limitations towards their end users, and publicizing would only cause even more challenges and invites controversy.

I am simply looking for an answer that no one ever answered.
As a home user, am I not allowed to connect back my home from anywhere else I want to ? I want to be able to see my own home's network - security cameras, remote desktop from anywhere around the world ?

** Of course, when I am a user capable of setting up such things, I am knowledgeable enough of it's consequences and risks and will take precautions which I deem necessary.

For a normal home user, with a typical setting on their router, which is blocking most ports UNLESS port forwarded, is very unlikely a target for hackers.

Cost saving - maximize profit is what I would rather categorize this into - it's a good move, MOST users don't bother about having a public IP. But to put it bluntly the more exposed you are as a home user of the technologies available and it's uses of having a unique identity to your computer, the more you'd curse when you're bound with a 24 month contract not being able to achieve what you intend to do.

** Business packages ( lowest at RM188 ) gives you 1 fixed IP - that's public IP )

Lastly to add in : I'm not buying this.

This post has been edited by aricat: Dec 12 2011, 01:58 AM
gogetter83
post Dec 12 2011, 05:42 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(aricat @ Dec 12 2011, 01:55 AM)
I'm sorry but applying such security precautions is only justified when users are notified properly and have an option NOT to have it. As what done by NTT Japan as you have reported.

Not to start a war, but I sense your comments are a little biased towards the good side Maxis...

Why does Maxis need another forum member to preach the good things they're doing ? To simply put it, this so called safety precaution is causing a lot of limitations towards their end users, and publicizing would only cause even more challenges and invites controversy.

I am simply looking for an answer that no one ever answered.
As a home user, am I not allowed to connect back my home from anywhere else I want to ? I want to be able to see my own home's network - security cameras, remote desktop from anywhere around the world ?

** Of course, when I am a user capable of setting up such things, I am knowledgeable enough of it's consequences and risks and will take precautions which I deem necessary.

For a normal home user, with a typical setting on their router, which is blocking most ports UNLESS port forwarded, is very unlikely a target for hackers.

Cost saving - maximize profit is what I would rather categorize this into - it's a good move, MOST users don't bother about having a public IP. But to put it bluntly the more exposed you are as a home user of the technologies available and it's uses of having a unique identity to your computer, the more you'd curse when you're bound with a 24 month contract not being able to achieve what you intend to do.

** Business packages ( lowest at RM188 ) gives you 1 fixed IP - that's public IP )

Lastly to add in : I'm not buying this.
Actually, security is not the main reason, the main reason is to preserve the limited IPv4 address pool. Never the less, you can get a public IP address by calling up Maxis and requesting for one. Have you tried it? I'm going out on a limb, but Maxis is thinking that if their users want a public IP, they'll ask for it. Why waste it if users don't ask for it? Not sure why that seems to bother some people.

But you'll get a dynamic public IP (same as Unifi), not the most reliable for security cameras as you can't have the IP addresses changing in case of internet session reconnection.

Don't compare with the business package, that's a different story. You'll get 1 dynamic public IP and 1 fixed public IP. As far as I know TM Biz lowest package only gives you 1 dynamic public IP and no fixed IP, so Maxis is better off at this point for it's lowest biz package.

This post has been edited by gogetter83: Dec 12 2011, 05:44 PM
nooboy
post Dec 12 2011, 06:59 PM

499 posts

i go to maxis website

got some question here,...

is it ftth come wit astro or internet+phone only?

lch78
post Dec 13 2011, 12:27 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

Just installed Maxis Home 4Mbps line today. Found that it is not very stable, get disconnection quite frequent from 8pm to 12am. Now after 12am it is fast and responsive again. Annoyed with this, cause my previous streamyx line, despite slower still suffer no disconnection issue like just now..

Btw, a few questions like to ask:
1. How to change my DNS server add?
2. I want to set up NAS server-How to configure? There is no port forwarding option in the Maxis Router. Any guide? Ok. Found the guide!
3. The phone, is it a VOIP phone? Meaning it cannot work if the internet is down?

Hopefully someone can provide some explanation on this. Still blur with this Maxis Home thing.

This post has been edited by lch78: Dec 13 2011, 08:56 AM
numbertwo
post Dec 14 2011, 10:24 AM

1,784 posts

3. the phone, it is a VOIP Phone.. So, the phone is as good as dead if you turn off the ftth.

Added on December 15, 2011, 10:01 amapparently, the maxiss promotion flyer indicates that maxis mobile user will get additional xxx free minutes of talk time if you subscribe to their ftth service...So if you are existing ftth user pls call them to activate for you?

This post has been edited by numbertwo: Dec 15 2011, 10:01 AM
aricat
post Jan 11 2012, 12:20 PM

QUOTE(gogetter83 @ Dec 12 2011, 05:42 PM)
Actually, security is not the main reason, the main reason is to preserve the limited IPv4 address pool. Never the less, you can get a public IP address by calling up Maxis and requesting for one. Have you tried it? I'm going out on a limb, but Maxis is thinking that if their users want a public IP, they'll ask for it. Why waste it if users don't ask for it? Not sure why that seems to bother some people.

But you'll get a dynamic public IP (same as Unifi), not the most reliable for security cameras as you can't have the IP addresses changing in case of internet session reconnection.

Don't compare with the business package, that's a different story. You'll get 1 dynamic public IP and 1 fixed public IP. As far as I know TM Biz lowest package only gives you 1 dynamic public IP and no fixed IP, so Maxis is better off at this point for it's lowest biz package.
In fact, I have tried ( during my subscription on FTTH ), asking if it's possible to get a public IP, and I was told by the technician that it's not possible. So no, the last I checked it was not possible. As what I said, I know very well what are the consequences having a public IP, and of course, it's not always the best option for connection back home but it's better than no options at all.

By making assumptions like how Maxis is doing, with their lacking of understanding of their user's needs, it's indirectly creating problems for the users. The reason why certain networks are not working is a result of that - staying behind another layer of firewall - ports getting blocked. As big an organization as Maxis is, I would ASSUME ( you can have my limb for making this assumption ) they know better NOT to apply this before finding out first hand what's best for the users. And I can tell you, it's bothering some people simply because the service is NOT working the way it should - simple ain't it ?

Having said that, I am absolutely agreeable IF there are more feedback out there that simply making a call to Maxis now will get you a public IP. Since you're quite certain that they've eased a little on that restriction, are you one of the FTTH subscribers who successfully got it, or you're a maxis employee who can endorse this claim ?

The reason I'm checking back here is to find out if Maxis have made improvements, and I have nothing against them smile.gif So they can have my money if they've 'loosen' up the limitations.

I would appreciate feedback from those who have successfully gotten their public IP as well and if there are still any problems when connecting to certain networks ( that has a requirement of NAT2 - no NAT3 etc ). Thanks!

numbertwo
post Jan 11 2012, 12:30 PM

1,784 posts

I have got their 'kindness' to change mine into public IP indeed, but it wasn't as simple as just giving their CS a call, it was a long and hot heated route.

And beware that the gateway itself will get rebooted or the public IP will get refreshed at times even if you turn it on for 24x7, so you need something else (dydns update) if u wanna use it for security cameras..
gogetter83
post Jan 11 2012, 10:27 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(aricat @ Jan 11 2012, 12:20 PM)
In fact, I have tried ( during my subscription on FTTH ), asking if it's possible to get a public IP, and I was told by the technician that it's not possible. So no, the last I checked it was not possible. As what I said, I know very well what are the consequences having a public IP, and of course, it's not always the best option for connection back home but it's better than no options at all.

By making assumptions like how Maxis is doing, with their lacking of understanding of their user's needs, it's indirectly creating problems for the users. The reason why certain networks are not working is a result of that - staying behind another layer of firewall - ports getting blocked. As big an organization as Maxis is, I would ASSUME ( you can have my limb for making this assumption ) they know better NOT to apply this before finding out first hand what's best for the users. And I can tell you, it's bothering some people simply because the service is NOT working the way it should - simple ain't it ?

Having said that, I am absolutely agreeable IF there are more feedback out there that simply making a call to Maxis now will get you a public IP. Since you're quite certain that they've eased a little on that restriction, are you one of the FTTH subscribers who successfully got it, or you're a maxis employee who can endorse this claim ?

The reason I'm checking back here is to find out if Maxis have made improvements, and I have nothing against them smile.gif So they can have my money if they've 'loosen' up the limitations.

I would appreciate feedback from those who have successfully gotten their public IP as well and if there are still any problems when connecting to certain networks ( that has a requirement of NAT2 - no NAT3 etc ). Thanks!
Smaller ISPs tend to dish out private IPs because they have limited public IP pool especially with next gen broadband (cost related of course). This is based on my experience with other ISPs (local and other countries).

I'm not a subscriber nor a Maxis employee, but let's just say I had a part in that whole thing. That being said, my information from the employees was that getting a public IP is as easy as calling their CS. But I'm not one to defend them, to go through the channels as an end user must be frustrating.

The problem with Maxis is their customer facing people are not being educated enough to know what is additional options the customer have, they easily resort to "NO" when they don't know (well, isn't that how is it with most helpdesk?). When you mention that you asked the technician, are you talking about the installers? Believe me, those guys know jack about IP stuff, maybe you could try to give their CS a call? I hope by now, they've educated their CS enough to not give customers a hard time.
Sabunist
post Jan 20 2012, 04:32 AM

Maxis just announced unlimited quota extended until further notice
azizul9736
post Jan 21 2012, 12:53 AM

463 posts

i just subscribed Maxis, but i dont really understand this IP problem , public IP and private IP

can anyone enlighten me a bit?

Added on January 21, 2012, 12:41 pmI called maxis staff they said they can give me public ip for free

This post has been edited by azizul9736: Jan 21 2012, 12:41 PM
iipohbee
post Jan 21 2012, 05:44 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Sabunist @ Jan 20 2012, 04:32 AM)
Just as predicted!

All the ISPs will extend the unlimited quota till they achieve their target of installs. rclxms.gif

Reason is to be able to sell more lines further.

azizul9736
post Jan 22 2012, 08:47 AM

463 posts

i have installed Maxis FTTH but when i do torrenting i only get like 70-200KBPS donwload

speedtest

Added on January 22, 2012, 8:48 amis it because of the private IP?

This post has been edited by azizul9736: Jan 22 2012, 08:48 AM

kernel123
post Jan 22 2012, 12:32 PM

1,746 posts

QUOTE(Sabunist @ Jan 20 2012, 04:32 AM)
is it true ?! any links to prove that ?
wow.it really showed that maxis really wanna compete with unifi.but once the targeted users been achieved,they will be imposing quota and we the consumers will have nothing to say because tied to stupid contract.kalau setahun boleh bla lagi.ini 2 years.aiyaaa
they applies the same strategy as TM.we'll see who's first gonna impose the quota.

This post has been edited by kernel123: Jan 22 2012, 12:39 PM
azizul9736
post Jan 22 2012, 12:50 PM

463 posts

QUOTE(kernel123 @ Jan 22 2012, 12:32 PM)
is it true ?! any links to prove that ?
wow.it really showed that maxis really wanna compete with unifi.but once the targeted users been achieved,they will be imposing quota and we the consumers will have nothing to say because tied to stupid contract.kalau setahun boleh bla lagi.ini 2 years.aiyaaa
they applies the same strategy as TM.we'll see who's first gonna impose the quota.
no quota impose true

BTW this is the speed that im getting while download

176 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0342sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:00 AM