519 posts

OMG! I overclocked my GTS 450,
Core Clock: 925 MHz
Shader Clock: 1850
Memory Clock: 2000
Minimum: 42C max 74C (temperature)

before overclocking i've got like 16-22 FPS in BF3 ultra settings
1600x900

after overclocking ive got an average of 35 fps and max 50 FPS..
all depends on what situation, environment in game, etc.
same settings.

is it safe? im impressed with the result,
and is it safe if i increase them a little? if it is, what should i increase the clocks to?

This post has been edited by IntensiveBytes: Feb 2 2012, 10:25 PM
ne0cz
post Feb 4 2012, 03:47 PM

Zoom Zoom
5,372 posts

sure it's stable?
IntensiveBytes
post Feb 4 2012, 04:15 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(ne0cz @ Feb 4 2012, 03:47 PM)
sure it's stable?
Stable as in what?
Err, if stable as in PC, then yeah, no crashes nothing.
kelvin_hata
post Feb 4 2012, 06:03 PM

V.S.O.P
2,696 posts

anyone face this issue before?

spec:-

i7 980x
gtx 480 1.5gb sli
12gb ram
1200watt psu

no overclock.. jus stock, but once run furmark.. system will shutdown and reboot... tested with single gc also same...

will it be the gc problem?? both gc also have a same problem.. any sifu can help?
IntensiveBytes
post Feb 4 2012, 06:12 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Feb 4 2012, 06:03 PM)

i7 980x
gtx 480 1.5gb sli
12gb ram
1200watt psu

no overclock.. jus stock, but once run furmark.. system will shutdown and reboot... tested with single gc also same... 

will it be the gc problem?? both gc also have a same problem.. any sifu can help?
Did you install any necessary drivers? Was it alright back then and only crashed now or was it always like that the first time you tried it?
kelvin_hata
post Feb 4 2012, 06:19 PM

V.S.O.P
2,696 posts

yup.. the 1st time.. sad.gif

is not mine.. was my customer... i help him test now...

if the gc card got problem.. tak kan both also same problem??

once.. i start run furmark... the system will reboot. i tot was the mainboard or psu problem.. both already replace.. still the same... izzit the card problem?? i run all other test lik 3d mark van or 11.. all passed ...
IntensiveBytes
post Feb 4 2012, 08:23 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Feb 4 2012, 06:19 PM)
yup.. the 1st time.. sad.gif

is not mine.. was my customer... i help him test now...

if the gc card got problem.. tak kan both also same problem??

once.. i start run furmark... the system will reboot. i tot was the mainboard or psu problem.. both already replace.. still the same... izzit the card problem?? i run all other test lik 3d mark van or 11.. all passed ...
Might be the Furmark's problem, or maybe you'll have to install new drivers?
Try installing the latest drivers.
Remember, programs like these stress test the hardware so maybe it's the hardware's problem, but that also being a small chance.
Try reinstalling Furmark, and trying again,
or you can try using another graphic card and run Furmark to see if it crashes or not.

TSowikh84
post Feb 4 2012, 08:34 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Feb 4 2012, 06:03 PM)

i7 980x
gtx 480 1.5gb sli
12gb ram
1200watt psu

what's the max temp during furmark run recorded by GPU-Z?
other than that could be a bad PSU.
kelvin_hata
post Feb 4 2012, 10:26 PM

V.S.O.P
2,696 posts

QUOTE(IntensiveBytes @ Feb 4 2012, 08:23 PM)
Might be the Furmark's problem, or maybe you'll have to install new drivers?
Try installing the latest drivers.
Remember, programs like these stress test the hardware so maybe it's the hardware's problem, but that also being a small chance.
Try reinstalling Furmark, and trying again,
or you can try using another graphic card and run Furmark to see if it crashes or not.
tested with few drivers

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Feb 4 2012, 08:34 PM)
what's the max temp during furmark run recorded by GPU-Z?
other than that could be a bad PSU.
jus now tested with server psu 1800watt... still the same. sad.gif

no max temp... jus click the go... den reboot... not even really kick in the run yet sad.gif
silverbolt143
post Feb 16 2012, 11:24 PM

283 posts

hi sifoo, i'm running reference GTX580 at the moment...
Been ran it at 900/1800/2050 @ 1.1volt in Unigine and 3DMark11 few times, so far the max temp is 71'c with progressive fan profile max at 84%...No crash what so ever during the test run, manage to complete accordingly... sweat.gif

Do u guys feel these speed and temp SAFE (or OK) for 24/7 gaming...the 900 clock is good enuf for me, didnt plan to push it further...just have to bear the loud noise from the stock cooler sweat.gif
powerangah
post Feb 19 2012, 08:24 AM

387 posts

Hello there fellow overclockers. I thought of walking past the line of "safe" and decided to overclock. Currently I'm running on this specs:

Intel Core i5 2500k | Cooler Master V8 180w | GIGABYTE P67A-UD3-B3|4 GB X 2 Kingston RAM | Asus GTX460 | Kingston 1TB | GIGABYTE Odin Plus 700w | Raidmax Enzo

What are the parts that can be overclocked? Does it increase performance that much or just a little? Do I only need to use a software or must I use certain hardwares too other than coolers. Basically, I'm really new at this and hoping for all the fellow good people here to help me. I'll put it in point forms.

1. What are the parts that can be overclocked?
2. Does it increase performance on a large scale?
3. Do I need to tweak my hardwares too or just use a software?
ALBHmiri
post Feb 19 2012, 01:18 PM

51 posts

Guys if my display card is top/OC version, can i still overclock it or it already reach the maximum?
Vigilant
post Feb 22 2012, 05:11 PM

Be ever vigilant, but never suspicious
1,288 posts

Of course you can. OC/TOP edition doesn't mean that it's been overclocked to the maximum possible.

However OC/TOP edition overclock can be considered a safe overlocking by factory/manufacturer.

This post has been edited by Vigilant: Feb 22 2012, 05:13 PM
tech_frix
post Feb 23 2012, 05:44 AM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

QUOTE(powerangah @ Feb 19 2012, 08:24 AM)
Hello there fellow overclockers. I thought of walking past the line of "safe" and decided to overclock. Currently I'm running on this specs:

Intel Core i5 2500k | Cooler Master V8 180w | GIGABYTE P67A-UD3-B3|4 GB X 2 Kingston RAM | Asus GTX460 | Kingston 1TB | GIGABYTE Odin Plus 700w | Raidmax Enzo
What are the parts that can be overclocked? Does it increase performance that much or just a little? Do I only need to use a software or must I use certain hardwares too other than coolers. Basically, I'm really new at this and hoping for all the fellow good people here to help me. I'll put it in point forms.

1. What are the parts that can be overclocked?
2. Does it increase performance on a large scale?
3. Do I need to tweak my hardwares too or just use a software?
1. Increase ur core clock...then shader n mem..
2. Not in a large scale..depends..
3. Just use MSI Afterburner...
ALBHmiri
post Feb 23 2012, 01:21 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(Vigilant @ Feb 22 2012, 05:11 PM)
Of course you can. OC/TOP edition doesn't mean that it's been overclocked to the maximum possible.

However OC/TOP edition overclock can be considered a safe overlocking by factory/manufacturer.
Noted thanks... this is the answer i'm looking for icon_rolleyes.gif
powerangah
post Feb 23 2012, 01:45 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Feb 23 2012, 05:44 AM)
1. Increase ur core clock...then shader n mem..
2. Not in a large scale..depends..
3. Just use MSI Afterburner...
Okay, thanks.
vivakarna
post Feb 29 2012, 04:44 PM

1,360 posts

Hi can anybody reccommend me how to setting msi afterburner for playing ultra setting on bf3 because when I play that game, it gets hang and the temperature is on 70c and above..

spec:i52500k and gtx570 twin frozr iii
tech_frix
post Feb 29 2012, 05:35 PM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

70c and above still ok..mine hover around 80c n no hang..
try inc ur fan speed then..set it to 100% or a lil less..
vivakarna
post Mar 1 2012, 10:06 AM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Feb 29 2012, 05:35 PM)
70c and above still ok..mine hover around 80c n no hang..
try inc ur fan speed then..set it to 100% or a lil less..
100% is the maximum right?
pili
post Mar 2 2012, 06:25 PM

CPU: Intel Core i7-3930K
VGA: ASUS GTX580 Matrix Platinum
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage 4 Extreme
Memory: AVEXIR Core Series 4GB 2000 CL9 x 4 @ 2133MHz CL9
PSU: Seasonic X-850

33 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top