174 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

Studying in the UK V3

vincent_ng86
post May 6 2011, 07:45 PM

1,659 posts

I find Newcastle a very fine city to be in. Finished my MSc in Northumbria last year. Found a few jobs outside of Newcastle but decided to stay in Newcastle because I found it hard to leave the city (might because of the friends and social life).

University wise, I do think Northumbria is not the top of the range but student service and the facilities being offered are considered good where the University does looks into your problems and try their best to solve whatever issues that are brought to their attention. A new and I think best sports centre has just been built in Northumbria and lots of my friends seem to enjoy it very much.

Was studying in Taylor's before, and had the experience of class being cancelled. Brought the matter to the school, but did not have solid responses. Had the same thing here in Northumbria, brought it up and the matter gone straight to the head of the school, and dealt straight away. Did not have the problem again.
amy_jacinth
post May 8 2011, 04:42 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(vincent_ng86 @ May 6 2011, 07:45 PM)
I find Newcastle a very fine city to be in. Finished my MSc in Northumbria last year. Found a few jobs outside of Newcastle but decided to stay in Newcastle because I found it hard to leave the city (might because of the friends and social life).

University wise, I do think Northumbria is not the top of the range but student service and the facilities being offered are considered good where the University does looks into your problems and try their best to solve whatever issues that are brought to their attention. A new and I think best sports centre has just been built in Northumbria and lots of my friends seem to enjoy it very much.

Was studying in Taylor's before, and had the experience of class being cancelled. Brought the matter to the school, but did not have solid responses. Had the same thing here in Northumbria, brought it up and the matter gone straight to the head of the school, and dealt straight away. Did not have the problem again.
o.......the new sports centre wub.gif
it was still building when i leave newcastle
i will definitely miss it laugh.gif
LightningFist
post May 8 2011, 04:55 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(kael90 @ May 3 2011, 12:44 AM)
yeah... hmm.gif

too much of questions in my mind....

and how much does UK cert helps in job seeking...how does students from top uni in UK compared to mid-range uni like sunderland?...
This varies according to the individual prestige and reputation of the university how your potential employer perceives this. It varies by industry as well.

Some will care, some won't. Those who will care may not always be prejudiced - it's just how they work. Those from English-speaking countries would care more (as they are likely to have heard of/know of such schools). In general, the better the school, the better your chances, obviously - not least because some are completely unheard of, and the fact that many of the top schools in the UK are not well known outside of it at all.

You've got your Golden Triangle, and your Warwick, St Andrews, SOAS, Durham, Bristol, and your schools made famous by football (Manchester, Southampton, Liverpool), but that's about it. Your Liverpool, Nottingham, Reading, Leeds, Sheffield etc may be heard of, perhaps even be better known than Warwick outside the UK, but in reality Warwick or St Andrews would be better. Of course everyone would know Oxbridge.

Stuffi
post May 8 2011, 07:08 PM

Orchid Malevolence.
1,154 posts

May I ask anyone here is JPA sponsored students to UK?
crazym
post May 9 2011, 10:27 AM

QUOTE(finecut @ Jan 18 2011, 03:37 PM)
Anyone know if there's any requirement for master courses? Planning to join the september intake this year, i have a second lower degree and almost 2 years working experience but the master course i'm planning to get is a different majoring from my degree but both are in design. But my work now is in the same field as the master.
Is there anyway i can get a scholership with my sucky degree result? Dint really like what i've studied but what the heck smile.gif
Hey, I am somewhat in the same situation like yours, except I dont have 2 years of working experience lol. So have you got any idea about studying in UK already?

Added on May 9, 2011, 11:50 amDoes any of you know which universities in UK offer master in construction management...is there any web site with the list of universities? thanks

This post has been edited by crazym: May 9 2011, 11:50 AM
Stuffi
post May 9 2011, 02:03 PM

Orchid Malevolence.
1,154 posts

QUOTE(crazym @ May 9 2011, 10:27 AM)
Hey, I am somewhat in the same situation like yours, except I dont have 2 years of working experience lol. So have you got any idea about studying in UK already?

Added on May 9, 2011, 11:50 amDoes any of you know which universities in UK offer master in construction management...is there any web site with the list of universities? thanks
look at the right side of the page for 'Course Category'

http://www.educationuk.org/Malaysia/Home
kael90
post May 19 2011, 04:09 PM

576 posts

Any graduates from U of Wolverhampton or a current student there?
joonwei23
post May 23 2011, 05:22 AM

1,019 posts

Anyone knows how long it takes for the university to give a reply to my decisions ?
I settled my ucas on 29th of April, till today only 1 replied but it was a conditional offer from Uni of Southampton.
Still waiting for Keele & Kingston to reply me.

Nervous wreck sad.gif

This post has been edited by joonwei23: May 23 2011, 05:35 AM
corad
post May 23 2011, 06:53 AM

Hard to see, the dark side is.
2,403 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ May 8 2011, 04:55 PM)
This varies according to the individual prestige and reputation of the university how your potential employer perceives this. It varies by industry as well.

Some will care, some won't. Those who will care may not always be prejudiced - it's just how they work. Those from English-speaking countries would care more (as they are likely to have heard of/know of such schools). In general, the better the school, the better your chances, obviously - not least because some are completely unheard of, and the fact that many of the top schools in the UK are not well known outside of it at all.

You've got your Golden Triangle, and your Warwick, St Andrews, SOAS, Durham, Bristol, and your schools made famous by football (Manchester, Southampton, Liverpool), but that's about it. Your Liverpool, Nottingham, Reading, Leeds, Sheffield etc may be heard of, perhaps even be better known than Warwick outside the UK, but in reality Warwick or St Andrews would be better. Of course everyone would know Oxbridge.
I would say the classification of your degree is the 1st thing employers look at.

Second would be your CV ie: any internships, societies or representations.

Unless you're going to some kiasu company like Temasek, university rank is practically meaningless after the 1st round of interviews.
LightningFist
post May 23 2011, 08:03 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 2 2011, 11:45 PM)
the lower half of the pecking order of uk unis are fill with ex-polytechs and tafe's turned unis.......

full fees international students are highly sort after, as the fees help cushion the dropping state funding.......

from the perspective of fees paying students, with the amount of fees you are paying, it makes no sense to go to lower rank unis.....the top half of the table are full of good unis with equivalent fees...........
Exactly... but it can vary significantly in some cases, where the lower range charges ~9k pounds while the higher end charges nearly 15k pounds, and this is just the fee for "standard" courses, not lab sciences/engineering/medicine/dentistry... add that up to at least 3 years (MSc would be 4 years, or other degrees could be long), with ~7% inflation, and the ~9 is very far from the ~15.
joonwei23
post May 28 2011, 03:02 PM

1,019 posts

Anyone going to Southampton ? smile.gif
popeye93
post May 29 2011, 10:35 AM

Can anyone advise what is the mininium expenses (fees & cost of living) to study Medic in UK now ? Which U is cheap and good ? If I have a budget of Rm500k, can i manage ?
LightningFist
post May 29 2011, 11:27 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Fees you can easily look up. Depends on whether it is just the MBBS (5 yrs) or with the (sometimes compulsory) BSc (1 additional yr).

Living cost depends on location - you'll find estimates from websites (but these are often inaccurate underestimates - actual costs can be much higher, and that's before accounting for the fact their info is from 2009/2010). Though the exchange rate is favourable now. For rent it'll be can from 125-250 pounds a week in larger cities, and depending on your other expenses (travel, food, books, entertainment, clothes, stuff), about 1000 pounds a month (more expensive rent includes food).
SUSOptiplex330
post May 29 2011, 12:11 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(popeye93 @ May 29 2011, 10:35 AM)
Can anyone advise what is the mininium expenses (fees & cost of living) to study Medic in UK now ? Which U is cheap and good ? If I have a budget of Rm500k, can i manage ?
Hard to give you a figure because it depends on where you go. For example, Imperial's 5 years tuition fees is RM250,000 more than the cheaper universities. And room rental in cheap city like Leeds is half of London.

Overall, I think if you opt for cheaper place would need about RM600,000.

joonwei23
post May 29 2011, 01:15 PM

1,019 posts

I have a friend doing Medical at Cardiff.
Seems like a good uni to her. smile.gif
Might wanna check it out.
C-Note
post May 30 2011, 10:39 AM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

Hey guys,hows the cost of living in london like? I'll be going ucl this sept. Is it possible to spend less than 200 pounds including accommodation? I applied for hostels already..not sure which im getting...intercollegiate or halls. Most probably selfcatered.

And the olympics is around the corner...hope it doesnt cause a rise in prices of stuff..
kreditdebit
post May 30 2011, 10:53 AM

any good and affordable UK uni/college for ACCA?
plan to take last Option papers ( P4/P5/P6/P7) in UK. only 1 paper per semeter in UK. the rest do in M'sia lor...
limeuu
post May 30 2011, 12:01 PM

12,293 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ May 30 2011, 10:39 AM)
Hey guys,hows the cost of living in london like? I'll be going ucl this sept. Is it possible to spend less than 200 pounds including accommodation?
are you kidding?........

your rent is likely to be gbp150................per week........... biggrin.gif
SUSOptiplex330
post May 30 2011, 12:08 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 30 2011, 12:01 PM)
are you kidding?........

your rent is likely to be gbp150................per week........... biggrin.gif
And only half price if you go to cheaper cities like Leeds

limeuu
post May 30 2011, 12:10 PM

12,293 posts

the cheapest med school full fees is about gbp100k for 5 years.........if there is an extra year for b med sc, that is extra.......

living expense depends on city, and lifestyle.....but out of london, living frugally, one can manage with gbp500/mth or 30k in total........

so if you lock in at current exchange rate, you need minimum rm650k......not including start up costs (visa fee, airfare, beddings, etc)........

174 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0357sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:06 AM