124 posts

hi guys smile.gif visa couriered out ady! ^^
limeuu
post Sep 24 2010, 05:50 PM

12,292 posts

QUOTE(Balaclava @ Sep 24 2010, 09:33 AM)
Haha, why the both of you kept nitpicking on each other? tongue.gif

On the side note, I'm flying tomorrow morning 2AM. Any fellow LYN?
2am?!.....

emirates..... hmm.gif
fullstop
post Sep 24 2010, 06:34 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(tehtmc @ Sep 24 2010, 04:15 PM)
That's good. Mind telling when you submitted your application?

Friend of mine submitted on 9th Sep, and is waiting impatiently. The most expensive visa with the most teruk service yeah?
i submitted on 8th. he should get it soon too.
chelsh
post Sep 24 2010, 07:17 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 24 2010, 05:50 PM)
2am?!.....

emirates..... hmm.gif
which uni r u going in uk? smile.gif when r u flying?
Balaclava
post Sep 24 2010, 08:45 PM

5-Star Swagger
941 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 24 2010, 05:50 PM)
2am?!.....

emirates..... hmm.gif
I love night flights <3 though 2AM is abit too much for me. Alas, I'm getting used to it. rclxub.gif

QUOTE(chelsh @ Sep 24 2010, 07:17 PM)
which uni r u going in uk? smile.gif when r u flying?
Is this question directed to me or limeuu? unsure.gif
chelsh
post Sep 24 2010, 08:54 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(Balaclava @ Sep 24 2010, 08:45 PM)
I love night flights <3 though 2AM is abit too much for me. Alas, I'm getting used to it.  rclxub.gif
Is this question directed to me or limeuu?  unsure.gif
was planning to ask limeuuuu..but curious where balaclava is going too! biggrin.gif
Balaclava
post Sep 24 2010, 08:59 PM

5-Star Swagger
941 posts

Sheffield; Law; 3rd year degree. tongue.gif

Edited:
Update: My plane is delayed for 2 hours due to sand storm in Dubai. My boarding time is now 3:45 AM. FML.

This post has been edited by Balaclava: Sep 25 2010, 12:04 AM
alvinz
post Sep 25 2010, 07:53 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 24 2010, 08:46 AM)
security guards???!.....wow....

visas are processed by british border agency (previously british border and immigration agency, ukvisas, and hm revenue and customs), through the respective british high commissions(commonwealth countries) and embassies(others)........

ie, you may have sent your application through vfs, to the bhc, but it is processed by bba and they are the ones who make the decision....

so what's so difficult with bba in the msian bhc to send an email to applicants about their visa decision?........and what's so difficult for vfs to courier ALL passports back to applicants......
lol ... u missed my point though .. nah, its ok ...

my god, the weather here at my place is bad .. been drizzling the whole day and the temp is below 10C .. LOL .. i am surviving with only my leather coat and on breads for now due to lack of utensils .. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(fullstop @ Sep 24 2010, 03:54 PM)
i just got my visa smile.gif)))))))
congratz!

QUOTE(chelsh @ Sep 24 2010, 04:35 PM)
hi guys smile.gif visa couriered out ady! ^^
goood ... see u around in england tongue.gif

QUOTE(abcdegf @ Sep 25 2010, 01:00 AM)
will be checking in tomorrow. the weather here is really taking a toll on me.
weather here at guildford has gone mad .. heard it was good on monday toill wednesday ... and since yesterday its been raining almost the whole day, today was the worst and hope 2morrow will be better ... at least no rain!! i might be heading to london for some sight seeing ...
btw, be prepared to meet alot of chinese from china and indians .. haha
Mr Marshall of international student office mention that englishman already complain, and its sooo true that everyone that works in campus kept complaining about the bad weather .. LOL laugh.gif
limeuu
post Sep 25 2010, 08:10 AM

12,292 posts

there is a very good reason why the majority of msian students in uk will return to msia after they graduate.....

and want to stay on, if they were in oz.......
angelfella
post Sep 25 2010, 10:47 AM

14 posts

i got my visa in around 8 working days, they couriered it with ABX express.
I have a question here, why everyone is taking emirates? how much does it cost totally to reach UK?

i took Airasia direct flight to UK, it costed me RM1450 one way.. my luggage limit was 30KG..

I saw so many ppl here took emirates instead?
limeuu
post Sep 25 2010, 11:49 AM

12,292 posts

emirates is full service airline.....free food......free movies.....more leg room.....chance to fly a380......and lands at lhr instead of small stansted.....

to some people, it's worth paying the extra for that......
fullstop
post Sep 25 2010, 01:31 PM

17 posts

how much do you have to bring to the UK when you arrive? I might bring 2k bank draft (to open account) and some cash (800) first. Do i have to bring all 5400 to the UK? I'll bring my bank statement to prove that i have sufficient fund to stay in the UK if they ask me to show them. My mum will send $$ to me times to times. Is that okay? Please advice. Thanks.
twinklejiun
post Sep 25 2010, 03:53 PM

17 posts

Wonder why some ppl unable to get visa since they submit with proper documents? Any reason?

Anyone applied visa after raya?
limeuu
post Sep 25 2010, 04:25 PM

12,292 posts

QUOTE(fullstop @ Sep 25 2010, 01:31 PM)
how much do you have to bring to the UK when you arrive? I might bring 2k bank draft (to open account) and some cash (800) first. Do i have to bring all 5400 to the UK? I'll bring my bank statement to prove that i have sufficient fund to stay in the UK if they ask me to show them. My mum will send $$ to me times to times. Is that okay? Please advice.  Thanks.
the gbp is at a near historical low at the moment (at least since 1997), so it might be advisable to change all the money you need now.....if you have the money.........
fullstop
post Sep 25 2010, 04:30 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 25 2010, 04:25 PM)
the gbp is at a near historical low at the moment (at least since 1997), so it might be advisable to change all the money you need now.....if you have the money.........
my mum doesnt want me to bring all the money to the UK as she thinks i will overspend, which i might hah. Its a way to limit myself. Just to ask is it okay when i bring along my recent bank statement states that i have sufficient fund to stay in the UK when in hand i have 2k pound bank draft and 800 in cash when passing through immigration. Thanks.
limeuu
post Sep 25 2010, 05:55 PM

12,292 posts

QUOTE(fullstop @ Sep 25 2010, 04:30 PM)
my mum doesnt want me to bring all the money to the UK as she thinks i will overspend, which i might hah. Its a way to limit myself. Just to ask is it okay when i bring along my recent bank statement states that i have sufficient fund to stay in the UK when in hand i have 2k pound bank draft and 800 in cash when passing through immigration. Thanks.
they will not ask you for proof of finances at airport immigration.......the student visa, once approved, means they have verified you have the money........

one way is for your parents to convert into gbp now, and deposit the money in a foreign currency (ie gbp) account......most banks have such accounts nowadays.....when they want to transfer some money over, withdraw and convert into a gbp draft and send over.....

alternatively, they can open an account in uk, and use internet banking to transfer money to you, but they will need to be physically be in uk to do that........
SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 25 2010, 05:58 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 25 2010, 04:25 PM)
Nobody knows for sure. Looking at old historical data, it may even go down to RM4 vs today's 4.80

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Sep 25 2010, 06:03 PM

limeuu
post Sep 25 2010, 06:40 PM

12,292 posts

as you can see from the graph, 97 was when the asian financial crisis caused most asian currencies to devalue.........ie it was not the pound strengthening, but the ringgit weakening......

current myr appreciation is not myr strengthening per se, but the 'old' currencies like gbp, usd, euro weakening.........

therefore, short of the economies of us and europe crashing, it is unlikely to see the rate at below 4........at best, with britain in great deficit, it may weaken a bit more.....i certainly would buy in if it ever reaches something like 4.5...........

remember, msian economy is not in great shape either.....all we need is another mega-billion scandal like bnm's 93 forex loss, or the 3 bailouts bank bumiputra had to spook foreign investors........and once they start taking their money out, expect the myr to weaken quickly.........
SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 25 2010, 06:53 PM

12,696 posts

Based on Technical Analysis, you don't really have to know why it happened. All you need to know is that it HAD happened. And since it HAD happened before, it may happen AGAIN. That is the one of the fundamental rules of TA in that history tends to repeat itself.

Again based on my limited knowledge of TA, RM5 is a crossroad and if the GPB can not break above it, then the downside is more likely to be RM4

Like I said, nobody really know for sure what will happen in the future.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Technical_analysis

limeuu
post Sep 25 2010, 06:55 PM

12,292 posts

as for stock prices, technical analysis is not accurate for exchange rates.......

174 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0234sec    0.96    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:25 AM