174 Pages « < 165 166 167 168 169 > » Bottom

Studying in the UK V3

nuut
post Aug 3 2015, 09:58 AM

In my case, I just realised I need my older passport to prove that I visited UK in 2009. Basically I will be handing in three passports in total (current, recently expired, expired since 2011). Read that if you forgot to add one travel history and make some minor mistakes you can do that, it depends how 'minor' the situation is. However I have prepared a cover letter with the correct details along with explanations. Would this be helpful or should I just cancel the application?! In dilemma now cause I booked my appointment on Tuesday! NEED HELP! sad.gif

This post has been edited by nuut: Aug 3 2015, 09:59 AM
hostageinprison
post Aug 3 2015, 11:10 AM

I had to do bilingual copy and acceptalefrom recognised from approved people only.
Potassium_Square
post Aug 3 2015, 08:10 PM

13 posts

Is anyone going to Sheffield this September?
I am alone and a little nervous. Already 20 but going to the international college of the University of Sheffield.
lleoyu76
post Aug 3 2015, 09:10 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Jul 31 2015, 07:50 PM)
Google should be where you get the "background information". And I am sure making a google search is much simpler and faster than starting a thread here and waiting for replies.
U r right.. I can get a lot of information from google.. but I want more exp from other ppl.. to me, those infor is more tressure to me, haha
lleoyu76
post Aug 3 2015, 09:13 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 31 2015, 07:58 PM)
asking here is for people who have personal experiences to share...but details, you have to research yourself....

i know there is a regular bus service between nottingham and lhr, but details on schedule, fares, bags, i can't remember, just that it takes about 3 hours...
yea yea, this is what im trying to do.. will combine both information to make up my own plan.. Thanks!!!
Winston.Tan
post Aug 4 2015, 02:05 AM

19 posts

How does this topic got to do with "Education Essentials" At the very least, please merge this with "Studying in UK V3" thread.
nuut
post Aug 12 2015, 09:51 AM

QUOTE(chungdavi @ Jul 28 2015, 09:02 PM)
There are specific places which they recognize.
https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/...ing-in-malaysia

EDIT:
Just sent my visa application form and documents to VFS Global Malaysia in Wisma MCA. Hope everything goes well.  smile.gif
Would like to share with you all some differences I saw compared to when I first applied in year 2011:
- They now provide 'pre-application scrutiny' service on 3rd floor of the building, that's where the security guards on 19th floor directed me to go when I reached there half an hour before my appointment time. On 3rd floor they'll organize and check the documents which you want to submit, and sealed in an envelope which you can just passed to the counter on 19th floor straight away when your number is called. So you should actually go to 3rd floor first, and they'll start scrutinizing your documents about 5 minutes before your appointment time.
- Education certificates and financial evidence are optional, but I submitted them all anyway since I brought everything there. Please bring a photocopy of the documents that you are going to submit, keep this in your mind: if you want to have the original copy back when you're collecting your passport, send the photocopy version along. This includes the TB screening certificate.
- For Immigration Health Surcharge (IHS), they asked me to provide the exact amount that I paid for IHS, which isn't written on the email with IHS reference number, it's in another email they sent, so do take note.
- On 19th floor, the queue system still have rooms for improvement, cause it doesn't have a display which shows the queue number, and you have to listen to the announcement to know it's your turn.

That should be all, everything else is pretty much just follow the instructions.

Hope this post helps.
Hey! Just wondering if you submitted IHS reference number email receipt as well? They asked me the same question regarding the amount, and I showed both the payment receipt and IHS reference number but they return it back to me so I thought it wasnt necessary hahaha so confused
cckkpr
post Aug 12 2015, 04:39 PM

4,518 posts

Wow, the Ringgit against the pound is now RM6.29.

Looks like no brakes and yet to see the hike in interest rates in US and UK.
limeuu
post Aug 12 2015, 08:33 PM

12,293 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Aug 12 2015, 04:39 PM)
Wow, the Ringgit against the  pound is now RM6.29.

FYI, it reached 7.1 in 2007, so it still has legs.... lol
Flame Haze
post Aug 12 2015, 09:11 PM

814 posts

At this rate, studying in UK will be like paying for space travel laugh.gif
podrunner
post Aug 12 2015, 10:28 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Aug 12 2015, 04:39 PM)
Wow, the Ringgit against the  pound is now RM6.29.

BNM not even doing anything, and August/September is a time for buying more sterling especially for those going over for the first time.
limeuu
post Aug 12 2015, 11:10 PM

12,293 posts

BNM already wasted USD 8billion of reserves supporting the myr.....

It is not possible in a freely traded currency to fight market forces....a lot of money is moving out of msia...foreign funds exiting klse...and msians money flight....

If msia's rating goes below to b grade, foreign funds will start selling msian gov bonds, then the fun will really start....sell down of klse has been going on for 3 months, but prices kept afloat by local funds...that support us buckling....
chungdavi
post Aug 13 2015, 07:53 AM

Keep Calm and Keep Cubing
620 posts

QUOTE(nuut @ Aug 12 2015, 09:51 AM)
Hey! Just wondering if you submitted IHS reference number email receipt as well? They asked me the same question regarding the amount, and I showed both the payment receipt and IHS reference number but they return it back to me so I thought it wasnt necessary hahaha so confused
I brought the email printout along, and like your case, they didn't take it.
I guess they already have the IHS reference number, they just don't know how much you paid for it, so they asked for the amount.
chungdavi
post Aug 13 2015, 07:54 AM

Keep Calm and Keep Cubing
620 posts

EDIT: Sorry, my slow Internet made me double posted.

This post has been edited by chungdavi: Aug 13 2015, 07:55 AM
cckkpr
post Aug 13 2015, 08:59 AM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 12 2015, 08:33 PM)
FYI, it reached 7.1 in 2007, so it still has legs.... lol
My client told me still ok. His time RM8.50

i normally send half yearly, in early Sept and end Jan but this round I got the gut feeling that its better to do it a bit early. I sent the whole year expenses last Monday and I do save quite a bit but it is still 10% over the previous year amount.

I might be wrong if it strengthen over the next 6 months. The yuan devaluation has created a lot of uncertainty and sending ripples to both the policy makers in both US and UK amidst a drop in earnings of some major companies. unsure.gif
limeuu
post Aug 13 2015, 10:26 AM

12,293 posts

I have been telling people with children in UK to hedge when it was around 5.2....and that was just 1 year ago....you know you are going to need x amount of pounds, if you have the funds already in myr, just convert....why wait to do yearly or half yearly, and subjected to fluctuations?....
cckkpr
post Aug 13 2015, 11:04 AM

4,518 posts

Old habits die hard when you are always on the lookout for opportunities and want the monies to work.

A friend of mine who has got a conditional offer this September is still waiting for the results to be out before getting things done. The argument is getting the confirmation is more important than worrying about the currency fluctuations. If only he is sure of getting accepted.... things would be different.
limeuu
post Aug 13 2015, 11:50 AM

12,293 posts

UK A levels out today, students will have access from 8am UK time, or 3pm here....

azzaim92
post Aug 13 2015, 05:43 PM

375 posts

Just a fun video my friend made, enjoy!

I don't know why it's not playing, but here's the link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=09-J0BPkf2Y&feature=youtu.be (How to Survive in the UK)

This post has been edited by azzaim92: Aug 13 2015, 05:48 PM
wintermelon0826
post Aug 14 2015, 07:13 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(Potassium_Square @ Aug 3 2015, 08:10 PM)
Is anyone going to Sheffield this September?
I am alone and a little nervous. Already 20 but going to the international college of the University of Sheffield.
you will be fine.. ppl here in general are nice smile.gif relax and good luck!

174 Pages « < 165 166 167 168 169 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:17 AM