Studying in the UK V3

lleoyu76
post Jul 30 2015, 10:36 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(munlok30 @ Jul 29 2015, 09:46 PM)
within 24 hours you will reach ^^

it depend how many stop you have ... and sometime the flight might be delay 1-3 hours depending on the weather @.@ ..

therefore , i assume in 24 hours you will reach your destination  smile.gif
i thought u went there before.. jz wan to know the cheaper price of direct flight.. thanks anyway
lleoyu76
post Jul 30 2015, 10:40 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 29 2015, 09:48 PM)
lleoyu76
I don't fly that route so I'm not sure what airlines fly to Nottingham.  Chances are you would have to stop over at LHR.  Unless you want to fly MAS I don't think there's any other direct flights that doesn't transit anywhere else between KL + LHR.
thanks for the reply also.. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
lleoyu76
post Jul 30 2015, 10:41 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(rara_ana @ Jul 29 2015, 10:47 PM)
one way?freaking expensive
it is more expensive than 1 stop flight.. but it save time i guess.. thanks for the link provided below
lleoyu76
post Jul 30 2015, 10:45 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Jul 29 2015, 11:27 PM)
I second this. It is basically the best flight aggregator if you do not have a fixed date. The downside is it does not aggregate some low-cost airlines (like AirAsia) but no worry between the KUL-LHR route.
As far as I know, for this route, only MAS and BA (British Airways) offer direct flights and cheapest fare seems to be about 2.1k. If TS does not mind Vietnam Airlines (they are flying with Boeing 787 BTW,  thumbup.gif ), you can actually fly with only 1.1k one way.
Most people who make a transfer will stopover at Middle East cities via Emirates, Etihad or Qatar Airway.

As for the train from London to Nottingham, you can look it up in the National Rail (UK's KTM) website . http://www.nationalrail.co.uk/
so do u know any aggregate does provide low cost airlines?

vietnam airlines with 1.1k!!? direct flight or??

thanks for the national rail website.. it does help me a lot
lleoyu76
post Jul 30 2015, 10:51 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 30 2015, 07:54 AM)
There are many ways to get from KL to London.... If price is important, choose the cheapest, but be prepared for transits and transfers and longer time. Otherwise go non stop with mas or ba.

If you know your end date, book return, it is always cheaper than 2 one way tickets....alternatively, book one way, and when you return for summer break, book return ....fares can be surprisingly cheaper when starting from UK...

You will land in lhr mostly, but some airlines may land in Gatwick.... From lhr, the easiest way to Nottingham is the direct bus....if you want to take the train, you will need to go down to central London to the st pancras station first to catch the train....not convenient for first timers....

p/s as an alternative, consider flying into east midlands airport, which is the airport of the area, eg with klm via amsterdam....they connect with flybe into ema...save a 3 hrs bus/train journey, but it will likely cost more...
will it be convenient if i take direct bus with my luggage at the first time i reach there?
lleoyu76
post Jul 30 2015, 11:04 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Jul 30 2015, 08:27 AM)
this one not bad as well.. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
tanjinjack
post Jul 31 2015, 12:10 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(lleoyu76 @ Jul 30 2015, 04:45 PM)
so do u know any aggregate does provide low cost airlines?

vietnam airlines with 1.1k!!? direct flight or??

thanks for the national rail website.. it does help me a lot
You probably shouldn't be looking at low cost airlines anyway. Most low cost airlines operate regionally and I am not aware of frequent flights between SEA and Europe being offered by these airlines. Your best bet is the so-called normal airline.

Like I say, you only have 2 options for direct flight - MAS or British Airways. Most of the time, airlines do not operate long-haul direct flights outside of their main hub, which is usually in their own country (MAS in KLIA, SIA in Changi etc. etc.). There are several transfer options. Most popular one are those at Middle East because they are at the mid point between SEA and Europe. They are at Dubai (by Emirates), Abu Dhabi (by Etihad), Doha (by Qatar). You may find some other alternatives offered by different airlines (like the Vietnam Airlines) but it depends how confident you are with those airlines and whether you want to take a longer time to travel or not.
shereen82
post Jul 31 2015, 12:23 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(chungdavi @ Jul 28 2015, 09:02 PM)
There are specific places which they recognize.
https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/...ing-in-malaysia

EDIT:
Just sent my visa application form and documents to VFS Global Malaysia in Wisma MCA. Hope everything goes well.  smile.gif
Would like to share with you all some differences I saw compared to when I first applied in year 2011:
- They now provide 'pre-application scrutiny' service on 3rd floor of the building, that's where the security guards on 19th floor directed me to go when I reached there half an hour before my appointment time. On 3rd floor they'll organize and check the documents which you want to submit, and sealed in an envelope which you can just passed to the counter on 19th floor straight away when your number is called. So you should actually go to 3rd floor first, and they'll start scrutinizing your documents about 5 minutes before your appointment time.
- Education certificates and financial evidence are optional, but I submitted them all anyway since I brought everything there. Please bring a photocopy of the documents that you are going to submit, keep this in your mind: if you want to have the original copy back when you're collecting your passport, send the photocopy version along. This includes the TB screening certificate.
- For Immigration Health Surcharge (IHS), they asked me to provide the exact amount that I paid for IHS, which isn't written on the email with IHS reference number, it's in another email they sent, so do take note.
- On 19th floor, the queue system still have rooms for improvement, cause it doesn't have a display which shows the queue number, and you have to listen to the announcement to know it's your turn.

That should be all, everything else is pretty much just follow the instructions.

Hope this post helps.
thank you so much!!! My agent didnt tell me to get all the photocopy of my documents, will take notice about that.. i didnt receive any email from IHS so far, will I receive it when i submit my application??
chungdavi
post Jul 31 2015, 12:35 AM

Keep Calm and Keep Cubing
620 posts

QUOTE(shereen82 @ Jul 31 2015, 12:23 AM)
thank you so much!!! My agent didnt tell me to get all the photocopy of my documents, will take notice about that.. i didnt receive any email from IHS so far, will I receive it when i submit my application??
You're welcome, glad I could help.
You will receive 2 emails regarding IHS AFTER you made the payment for IHS (not visa application fee, that's another thing). 1 email provides you payment reference (the amount paid, and the IHS reference number, sort of), and another will provide you the IHS reference number only, without the amount paid.
shereen82
post Jul 31 2015, 12:37 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(chungdavi @ Jul 31 2015, 12:35 AM)
You're welcome, glad I could help.
You will receive 2 emails regarding IHS AFTER you made the payment for IHS (not visa application fee, that's another thing). 1 email provides you payment reference (the amount paid, and the IHS reference number, sort of), and another will provide you the IHS reference number only, without the amount paid.
when, whr and how do i pay IHS? My agent didnt mention about it although i aware of IHS

Im still waiting for my ATAS clearance..
chungdavi
post Jul 31 2015, 12:39 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(shereen82 @ Jul 31 2015, 12:37 AM)
when, whr and how do i pay IHS? My agent didnt mention about it although i aware of IHS

Im still waiting for my ATAS clearance..
Oh okay. May I know how did you fill up your visa application form?
I used https://www.visa4uk.fco.gov.uk to submit my application.

As you progress through the application it will automatically direct you to pay for IHS and visa application fee after you have completed the form.
shereen82
post Jul 31 2015, 12:47 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(chungdavi @ Jul 31 2015, 12:39 AM)
Oh okay. May I know how did you fill up your visa application form?
I used https://www.visa4uk.fco.gov.uk to submit my application.

As you progress through the application it will automatically direct you to pay for IHS and visa application fee after you have completed the form.
icic, thank you so much!!!
lleoyu76
post Jul 31 2015, 12:52 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(chungdavi @ Jul 28 2015, 09:02 PM)
There are specific places which they recognize.
https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/...ing-in-malaysia

EDIT:
Just sent my visa application form and documents to VFS Global Malaysia in Wisma MCA. Hope everything goes well.  smile.gif
Would like to share with you all some differences I saw compared to when I first applied in year 2011:
- They now provide 'pre-application scrutiny' service on 3rd floor of the building, that's where the security guards on 19th floor directed me to go when I reached there half an hour before my appointment time. On 3rd floor they'll organize and check the documents which you want to submit, and sealed in an envelope which you can just passed to the counter on 19th floor straight away when your number is called. So you should actually go to 3rd floor first, and they'll start scrutinizing your documents about 5 minutes before your appointment time.
- Education certificates and financial evidence are optional, but I submitted them all anyway since I brought everything there. Please bring a photocopy of the documents that you are going to submit, keep this in your mind: if you want to have the original copy back when you're collecting your passport, send the photocopy version along. This includes the TB screening certificate.
- For Immigration Health Surcharge (IHS), they asked me to provide the exact amount that I paid for IHS, which isn't written on the email with IHS reference number, it's in another email they sent, so do take note.
- On 19th floor, the queue system still have rooms for improvement, cause it doesn't have a display which shows the queue number, and you have to listen to the announcement to know it's your turn.

That should be all, everything else is pretty much just follow the instructions.

Hope this post helps.
Hi, may I ask you a question about the translated birth cert? Currently I have translated my birth cert into english, and ask lawyer to certify it is an accurate
translation of the original document. However, 2 different lawyers said that they dont provide the service and another one said I should ask traslator agency to translate my doc

Do you know any laywer who can certify it?
chungdavi
post Jul 31 2015, 08:56 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(lleoyu76 @ Jul 31 2015, 12:52 AM)
Hi, may I ask you a question about the translated birth cert? Currently I have translated my birth cert into english, and ask lawyer to certify it is an accurate
translation of the original document. However, 2 different lawyers said that they dont provide the service and another one said I should ask traslator agency to translate my doc

Do you know any laywer who can certify it?
I'm sorry I can't help you for this. I actually submitted just the bank letter for financial evidence. The person who scrutinized my documents said 'it should be fine' since the letter showed both my parent and my name.
And my application is not approved yet, so can't tell whether it's really fine or not.

However, I remember seeing 1 of the earlier posts mentioned that you can go to JPN and request for bilingual version of birth cert? Anyone can help verify this?

This post has been edited by chungdavi: Jul 31 2015, 08:57 AM
limeuu
post Jul 31 2015, 10:59 AM

12,293 posts

there is NO low cost airline between msia and europe at the moment....

the bus is a full size tour bus, with lots of space at the bottom for bags....but they do specify only one bag allowed....google it and check lah, don't expect everything to be spoon fed....
MLSW94
post Jul 31 2015, 11:33 AM

QUOTE(MLSW94 @ Jul 30 2015, 11:53 AM)
Hello, I would like to ask is it possible to make a minor change to my printed application form in addition to attaching a covering letter explaining the changes to the error I made?
Will it affect my application if I used a pen to correct the mistake on the printed form? Or should I just leave the form the way it is and attach a covering letter to bring attention to the mistake and state the correction?
Thank you!!!
anyone?? Dx
lleoyu76
post Jul 31 2015, 05:22 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(chungdavi @ Jul 31 2015, 08:56 AM)
I'm sorry I can't help you for this. I actually submitted just the bank letter for financial evidence. The person who scrutinized my documents said 'it should be fine' since the letter showed both my parent and my name.
And my application is not approved yet, so can't tell whether it's really fine or not.

However, I remember seeing 1 of the earlier posts mentioned that you can go to JPN and request for bilingual version of birth cert? Anyone can help verify this?
I asked TS (the one who opened out this thread) but he seems to be disappear cry.gif cry.gif

i will try to go to JPN
lleoyu76
post Jul 31 2015, 05:31 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 31 2015, 10:59 AM)
there is NO low cost airline between msia and europe at the moment....

the bus is a full size tour bus, with lots of space at the bottom for bags....but they do specify only one bag allowed....google it and check lah, don't expect everything to be spoon fed....
thanks for the infor!! i will google them later, but it is better if i got some background information right biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
tanjinjack
post Jul 31 2015, 07:50 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(lleoyu76 @ Jul 31 2015, 11:31 AM)
thanks for the infor!! i will google them later, but it is better if i got some background information right  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Google should be where you get the "background information". And I am sure making a google search is much simpler and faster than starting a thread here and waiting for replies.
limeuu
post Jul 31 2015, 07:58 PM

12,293 posts

asking here is for people who have personal experiences to share...but details, you have to research yourself....

i know there is a regular bus service between nottingham and lhr, but details on schedule, fares, bags, i can't remember, just that it takes about 3 hours...

174 Pages « < 164 165 166 167 168 > » Top

0.0199sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:24 AM