Studying in the UK V3

cherriedpie
post Sep 11 2010, 02:50 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(s3r^ph @ Sep 11 2010, 12:27 AM)
i've been downloading games n movies all through direct downloads hosted on websites like megaupload n the sort. so far so good. using HORNET in my uni.
n i get good speeds too. about 1mb/s to 2mb/s compared to my msian screamyx connection which gives me 10kb-50kb/s
I know HTTP download is generally quite safe, but it's a hassle looking for downloads like that since it's almost extinct.
Would be very very sad if I don't get to use PPS. =(
Thanks anyway. happy.gif
s3r^ph
post Sep 11 2010, 03:50 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(cherriedpie @ Sep 11 2010, 02:50 PM)
I know HTTP download is generally quite safe, but it's a hassle looking for downloads like that since it's almost extinct.
Would be very very sad if I don't get to use PPS. =(
Thanks anyway. happy.gif
not really. there r many websites hosting all these links n files. the one i used i can get almost anything torrentz websites have. but yea...this is gettin out of topic. ahaha sweat.gif
alvinz
post Sep 11 2010, 04:25 PM

832 posts

hmm.gif i dont think its out of topic, as wat u all r discussing are also info for those who going to study in UK plus those who r already there ... as for me, u all had geared me up for alot of occasion, better to be prepared than last min ..
SunofaBeach
post Sep 11 2010, 06:26 PM

413 posts

Working part time normally doesnt require any application of National Insurance, but for some employer, they will need you to apply for it.

ANother one thing that I would like to share is for those who is coming over, best is dont stay in all the time for pps. You might regret by the time you go back as you should spend more time exploring the local places, meeting new people and stuff. smile.gif

Many of my friends came, sticked together all the time and pps most of their free time. After 1 year completion of their degree, it's time to back and I am wondering if how they would discribe when people ask them how's England like .. blush.gif

For those who is coming for more than 1 year study, i would recommend to apply for internship which they call it work placement in here, it can be 3 months contract or up to 12 months. It is really a good experience where you will get involved in many new things and stuff which will strongly benefit your future career. nod.gif

This post has been edited by SunofaBeach: Sep 11 2010, 06:32 PM
Jammies
post Sep 11 2010, 10:01 PM

23 posts

Pardon the ignorance, but wot's pps?
SunofaBeach
post Sep 11 2010, 10:04 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(Jammies @ Sep 11 2010, 10:01 PM)
Pardon the ignorance, but wot's pps?
PPstream, It's an online video/movie streaming website, where you can watch movies online for free.. like watching youtube only

This post has been edited by SunofaBeach: Sep 11 2010, 10:04 PM
s3r^ph
post Sep 11 2010, 10:08 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(SunofaBeach @ Sep 11 2010, 10:04 PM)
PPstream, It's an online video/movie streaming website, where you can watch movies online for free.. like watching youtube only
so u r saying some of ur friends actually stay in n pps most of the time away?
cherriedpie
post Sep 11 2010, 10:49 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(s3r^ph @ Sep 11 2010, 10:08 PM)
it's a p2p program, and i thought p2p isn't allowed?
in my T&C it's frowned upon, and if i'm caught using it i'll get banned or something.

Not gonna pps whole day la, but I gotta keep track of some shows I'm following. :3
of course i want to tour England! not gonna stay in the room whole day (even though i paid for it) tongue.gif

btw, pps is actually daily dose of most females xD (& my brother, who has nothing to do after work~)

This post has been edited by cherriedpie: Sep 11 2010, 10:50 PM
mutiny
post Sep 12 2010, 07:13 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(SunofaBeach @ Sep 11 2010, 06:26 PM)
Working part time normally doesnt require any application of National Insurance, but for some employer, they will need you to apply for it.

ANother one thing that I would like to share is for those who is coming over, best is dont stay in all the time for pps. You might regret by the time you go back as you should spend more time exploring the local places, meeting new people and stuff.  smile.gif

Many of my friends came, sticked together all the time and pps most of their free time. After 1 year completion of their degree, it's time to back and I am wondering if how they would discribe when people ask them how's England like ..  blush.gif

For those who is coming for more than 1 year study, i would recommend to apply for internship which they call it work placement in here, it can be 3 months contract or up to 12 months. It is really a good experience where you will get involved in many new things and stuff which will strongly benefit your future career.  nod.gif
If need the national Insurance, then whr should i apply for it....
ccm123
post Sep 12 2010, 12:45 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(SunofaBeach @ Sep 11 2010, 10:04 PM)
Which would require your ability to read chinese smile.gif If you can that is.
GammaBoy
post Sep 12 2010, 02:26 PM

194 posts

Can we bring sex toys into UK??? Custom will rampas???
Syd G
post Sep 12 2010, 03:24 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(GammaBoy @ Sep 12 2010, 02:26 PM)
Sex toys are legal in the UK, iirc.

Buy there la - more variety brows.gif
HotChocolate
post Sep 12 2010, 06:28 PM

452 posts

Talking bout internet. Do we need to bring our own lan cables?
My uni's (Manchester) accomodation website on the internet (hornets) is down. So mind enlightening me?
Ty

s3r^ph
post Sep 12 2010, 07:35 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(HotChocolate @ Sep 12 2010, 06:28 PM)
My uni's (Manchester) accomodation website on the internet (hornets) is down. So mind enlightening me?
Ty
nah...u dun need to. i'm from manchester too. and last year the uni hall(grosvenor) gave me a lan cable. not sure about the other uni halls though. i did bring one along just in case. ended up having 2 lan cables.
SunofaBeach
post Sep 12 2010, 08:12 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(s3r^ph @ Sep 11 2010, 10:08 PM)
yeah.. which I think is not a good idea blush.gif

Added on September 12, 2010, 8:14 pm
QUOTE(mutiny @ Sep 12 2010, 07:13 AM)
If need the national Insurance, then whr should i apply for it....
you will have to apply via phone. Call Job centre plus and you will be asked a few questions , then expect a few weeks time for the process and they will deliver the NI (national insurance) card for you.

Here's the link:

http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/MoneyTaxAndBen...its/DG_10014073

Added on September 12, 2010, 8:15 pm
QUOTE(GammaBoy @ Sep 12 2010, 02:26 PM)
you got to be kidding !! England has loads of these stuff ! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by SunofaBeach: Sep 12 2010, 08:22 PM
youngkies
post Sep 13 2010, 12:18 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(HotChocolate @ Sep 12 2010, 06:28 PM)
Ty
Bring one with you, just in-case.
mutiny
post Sep 13 2010, 12:21 AM

111 posts

hey,anyone got bring pillow,blanket those stuff a not?
chelsh
post Sep 13 2010, 12:25 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(mutiny @ Sep 13 2010, 12:21 AM)
hey,anyone got bring pillow,blanket those stuff a not?
i am going to bring my bolster!! will buy the blanket there smile.gif
mutiny
post Sep 13 2010, 12:56 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(chelsh @ Sep 13 2010, 12:25 AM)
i am going to bring my bolster!! will buy the blanket there smile.gif
i also thinking to bring,but will it be too long to fit in the bag.........now my bag is full with food le......==
chelsh
post Sep 13 2010, 01:24 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(mutiny @ Sep 13 2010, 12:56 AM)
i also thinking to bring,but will it be too long to fit in the bag.........now my bag is full with food le......==
i think i will vacuum my bolster and put into cargo!

which uni r u going? smile.gif

174 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0377sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:57 PM