113 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Bottom

Intel® Core™2 Duo/Quad Overhauled Rev. 4, The journey continues...

frostbiteengine
post Mar 11 2012, 03:39 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(smallvill3 @ Mar 11 2012, 11:35 AM)

Hey guys.. i just OC my current CPU to 3.5GHz.
Why the number does not change? (see picture)
use gpu-z to verify ...... gpu-z is more accurate than windows err..... bla bla bla ........ nice oc bro ....... thumbup.gif
Boldnut
post Mar 11 2012, 04:34 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(THE ZUL @ Mar 3 2012, 01:31 AM)
x brani buat sbb xleh customize voltage dlm bios probably too high overclock or too low vcore.
try 3.8 ghz trus x idup.
3.7 ghz  boleh tp stutter dlm game
so far 3.6 stable.

for E5400, anything below 1.4v is safe. try stay below 1.35v.

I can get E5800(Original 3.2GHz) to 3.83GHz(333MHzx11) @ 1.32v no prob. I think u should be able to get pretty stable below 1.35v.
lengchai86
post Mar 11 2012, 07:26 PM

P90
1,162 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Mar 11 2012, 04:34 PM)
for E5400, anything below 1.4v is safe. try stay below 1.35v.

I can get E5800(Original 3.2GHz) to 3.83GHz(333MHzx11) @ 1.32v no prob. I think u should be able to get pretty stable below 1.35v.
E5 and E8 not same bro. E8 can stay at higher clock at low voltage sleep.gif
or depends on stepping. some stepping has lower voltage then others at same clock
frostbiteengine
post Mar 11 2012, 07:31 PM

95 posts

i wish there was a thumbs up or like button in this forum .
Boldnut
post Mar 11 2012, 08:49 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(lengchai86 @ Mar 11 2012, 07:26 PM)
E5 and E8 not same bro. E8 can stay at higher clock at low voltage  sleep.gif
or depends on stepping. some stepping has lower voltage then others at same clock

what the heck u talking about? E5800 is the same chip as E5400.

lengchai86
post Mar 11 2012, 09:22 PM

P90
1,162 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Mar 11 2012, 08:49 PM)
what the heck u talking about? E5800 is the same chip as E5400.
sorry bro miss read your reply as E8500, actually yours was E5800.
sorry again for miss understanding sweat.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
smallvill3
post Mar 12 2012, 07:04 PM

657 posts

QUOTE(frostbiteengine @ Mar 11 2012, 03:39 PM)
use gpu-z to verify ...... gpu-z is more accurate than windows err..... bla bla bla ........  nice oc bro .......  thumbup.gif
no..u misunderstood me..im getting exactly the speed that i have OC'..

just that figure does not update..
frostbiteengine
post Mar 12 2012, 08:20 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(smallvill3 @ Mar 12 2012, 07:04 PM)
no..u misunderstood me..im getting exactly the speed that i have OC'..

just that figure does not update..
ignore the windows one ...... they always like that ...... sometimes won't update .....

wait ....... wait the minute ....... u mean windows experience index ?
smallvill3
post Mar 12 2012, 08:32 PM

657 posts

QUOTE(frostbiteengine @ Mar 12 2012, 08:20 PM)
ignore the windows one ...... they always like that ...... sometimes won't update ..... 
wait ....... wait the minute ....... u mean windows experience index ?
no la..did u even see the picture? the one that i circle with red.. biggrin.gif

last time im using different Core duo 2Ghz..i oc until 2.67ghz and it shows like this 2.00Ghz @ 2.67Ghz
frostbiteengine
post Mar 12 2012, 08:51 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(smallvill3 @ Mar 12 2012, 08:32 PM)
no la..did u even see the picture? the one that i circle with red.. biggrin.gif

last time im using different Core duo 2Ghz..i oc until 2.67ghz and it shows like this 2.00Ghz @ 2.67Ghz
lololololol...... sorry bro ...... kpale byk pening plak skrang ni biggrin.gif camner la bleh xnmpak ......
THE ZUL
post Mar 13 2012, 04:21 PM

The Mercurial Ben Arfa
883 posts

manage to pass 8 hours stress test with prime 95. with 0 errors 0 warnings

my cpu OC from 2.7 to 3.5 (260x13.5)
before this not stable cause of ram frequency.

team elite ram very noob 1 lol.
i have to lower the timing from 6-6-6-15 to 7-7-7-20 (390mhz)
my ram rated at 667mhz DDR3.

gonna test with dual ram kvr 2gbx2 soon with tight timing.
team elite ram very fragile 1.

my mobo not so good in oc.
can't change volt at bios
mobo model : msi g41-p28 http://www.msi.com/product/mb/G41M-P28.html

does lowering ram frequency affect performance too?

frostbiteengine
post Mar 13 2012, 06:48 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(THE ZUL @ Mar 13 2012, 04:21 PM)
manage to pass 8 hours stress test with prime 95. with 0 errors 0 warnings

my cpu OC from 2.7 to 3.5 (260x13.5)
before this not stable cause of ram frequency.

team elite ram very noob 1 lol.
i have to lower the timing from 6-6-6-15 to 7-7-7-20 (390mhz)
my ram rated at 667mhz DDR3.

gonna test with dual ram kvr 2gbx2 soon with tight timing.
team elite ram very fragile 1.

my mobo not so good in oc.
can't change volt at bios
mobo model : msi g41-p28 http://www.msi.com/product/mb/G41M-P28.html

does lowering ram frequency affect performance too?

I think u should stop oc there ...... already nice numbah ........ biggrin.gif great oc bro !!! rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
THE ZUL
post Mar 13 2012, 07:03 PM

The Mercurial Ben Arfa
883 posts

QUOTE(frostbiteengine @ Mar 13 2012, 06:48 PM)
I think u should stop oc there ...... already nice numbah ........  biggrin.gif great oc bro !!!  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif
what u think about RAM, is it bad ratio?
lengchai86
post Mar 13 2012, 08:42 PM

P90
1,162 posts

QUOTE(THE ZUL @ Mar 13 2012, 04:21 PM)

nice OC there with very low vcore drool.gif
i just wonder what is your default team elite timing and speed...
CL6/CL7 is consider tight for ddr3 (normal ddr3 nowadays rate at 1333 CL9)
tight is better than loose timing. isit your ram can run only at 800/667mhz due to LGA775 proc?

lowering ram freq sure effecting the perfomance (in benchmark)
in real world, i doubt we can notice any diff... i normally test the the ram perfomance using
aida64 memory benchmark to find the best score. this is not the best software but the test
is simple and fast. can get the result in a couple second only nod.gif

example (AMD phenom ii system)

This post has been edited by lengchai86: Mar 13 2012, 08:42 PM
THE ZUL
post Mar 13 2012, 09:14 PM

The Mercurial Ben Arfa
883 posts

QUOTE(lengchai86 @ Mar 13 2012, 08:42 PM)
nice OC there with very low vcore  drool.gif
i just wonder what is your default team elite timing and speed...
CL6/CL7 is consider tight for ddr3 (normal ddr3 nowadays rate at 1333 CL9)
tight is better than loose timing. isit your ram can run only at 800/667mhz due to LGA775 proc?

lowering ram freq sure effecting the perfomance (in benchmark)
in real world, i doubt we can notice any diff... i normally test the the ram perfomance using
aida64 memory benchmark to find the best score. this is not the best software but the test
is simple and fast. can get the result in a couple second only  nod.gif

example (AMD phenom ii system)

i have no idea to maybe cause of my mobo or proc rclxub.gif

currently i change to 1:2 ratio 6-6-6-15 (500mhz)
my ram not stable if over >500 mhz rclxub.gif

i dunno what happens my elite ram, CL-value 9-9-9-24
maybe i shud change manually in BIOS?
lengchai86
post Mar 13 2012, 09:36 PM

P90
1,162 posts

QUOTE(THE ZUL @ Mar 13 2012, 09:14 PM)

CL9 so speed should be 1333Mhz... hurm... hmm.gif
try change in bios, increase ti vdimm from 1.5-1.6v

This post has been edited by lengchai86: Mar 13 2012, 09:43 PM
THE ZUL
post Mar 13 2012, 09:38 PM

The Mercurial Ben Arfa
883 posts

QUOTE(lengchai86 @ Mar 13 2012, 09:36 PM)
CL9 so speed should be 1333Mhz... hurm...  hmm.gif
try change in bios, increase ti vdimm from 1.5-1.6v
my mobo can't change volt rclxub.gif
Boldnut
post Mar 13 2012, 09:40 PM

2,209 posts

OC in BIOS not software.

3.5 is pretty much can be run on stock voltage on E5000 series. E5000 are knowned to run @ 3.7-3.8GHz easy. *45nm. Extreme part may be 4GHz. but that req a lot of voltage. u can try 3.7GHz. I am not sure if u can hit 3.8 with decent voltage or not since mine is a better chip E5800.

667 RAM should have no trouble feeding 333FSB, Check ur RAM ratio in BIOS, make sure is below 667.
THE ZUL
post Mar 13 2012, 09:43 PM

The Mercurial Ben Arfa
883 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Mar 13 2012, 09:40 PM)
OC in BIOS not software.

3.5 is pretty much can be run on stock voltage on E5000 series. E5000 are knowned to run @ 3.7-3.8GHz easy. *45nm. Extreme part may be 4GHz. but that req a lot of voltage. u can try 3.7GHz. I am not sure if u can hit 3.8 with decent voltage or not since mine is a better chip E5800.

667 RAM should have no trouble feeding 333FSB, Check ur RAM ratio in BIOS, make sure is below 667.
ya i oc use BIOS.
yea my ram ratio now is 500.

Added on March 13, 2012, 9:45 pmmy current RAM stats :

This post has been edited by THE ZUL: Mar 13 2012, 09:45 PM
Boldnut
post Mar 13 2012, 09:49 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(THE ZUL @ Mar 13 2012, 09:43 PM)
ya i oc use BIOS.
yea my ram ratio now is 500.

Without upping vcore 3.5-3.6GHz is max u could go. With vcore up 3.8 is easy.

my E5800 is stock 3.2GHz at default vcore 1.25v

3.73GHz(266x14) @ 1.29v
3.83GHz(333x11.5) @ 1.325v

I tried 1.3625v(intel's max) @ 4GHz, failed so far.

I never need to tune my ram, just change FSB/ Ram ratio to keep it at the spec.

113 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Top

0.0326sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:03 PM