Asus G-Series Notebooks V2, Asus G73, G53 and etc . . .
TSJeffrey1987
Oct 24 2010, 10:51 PM
QUOTE(DoubleU @ Oct 24 2010, 10:46 PM) well, planning to ask my bro to help me buy some 2nd hand bluray movies from UK, they can go as low at 3 pounds (usually 5 pounds) imo its a very good price for original. Thinking of adding a 2nd 500GB hard drive instead of changing the first one to a momentus XT. What do you think? cause i can afford around 100 USD of upgrade only, so its either bluray + 500GB vs momentus XT only. Both have their own pros and cons IMHO. If you expect a faster boot up, momentus might contributes to your need. As for 500 GB normal HDD, it can serves you in terms of capacity.
Cheesenium
Oct 24 2010, 11:00 PM
QUOTE(DoubleU @ Oct 24 2010, 10:46 PM) well, planning to ask my bro to help me buy some 2nd hand bluray movies from UK, they can go as low at 3 pounds (usually 5 pounds) imo its a very good price for original. Thinking of adding a 2nd 500GB hard drive instead of changing the first one to a momentus XT. What do you think? cause i can afford around 100 USD of upgrade only, so its either bluray + 500GB vs momentus XT only. Go for Momentus XT. Im loving those 2 i have now.  Windows boots under 1 minute. Games like BFBC2 launch under seconds. Could be just because of the fast processor and Win 7. Give me one week, and i could let you know how good is Momentus XT as it takes about 1 week to save all the essential files in the SSD.
TSJeffrey1987
Oct 24 2010, 11:05 PM
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Oct 24 2010, 11:00 PM) Go for Momentus XT. Im loving those 2 i have now.  Windows boots under 1 minute. Games like BFBC2 launch under seconds. Could be just because of the fast processor and Win 7. Give me one week, and i could let you know how good is Momentus XT as it takes about 1 week to save all the essential files in the SSD. Listen to him as he is using it now. He can give you a more correct consumer's exp.
lee_what2004
Oct 24 2010, 11:08 PM
*stare* ji--------
eh, I thought booting Windows under 1 minute is normal now?
Cheesenium
Oct 24 2010, 11:11 PM
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Oct 24 2010, 11:08 PM) eh, I thought booting Windows under 1 minute is normal now?  Dont know, but never felt so fast.  Well, apparently, after 1 week of usage, it's gonna be even faster. 10 hours with my new G73. Still not really used to the new keyboard, as i always pressed some random numpad buttons accidentally whenever i type something.
TSJeffrey1987
Oct 24 2010, 11:13 PM
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Oct 24 2010, 11:11 PM) Dont know, but never felt so fast.  Well, apparently, after 1 week of usage, it's gonna be even faster. 10 hours with my new G73. Still not really used to the new keyboard, as i always pressed some random numpad buttons accidentally whenever i type something. Agree! The right arrow button is kinda to near to the numpad buttons. It failed me always. This post has been edited by Jeffrey1987: Oct 24 2010, 11:13 PM
DoubleU
Oct 24 2010, 11:20 PM
lol, hm... duno leh 134 USD for 500GB momentus XT vs 120 USD for 750GB + 500GB + bluray.....
and now got free upgrade to 8GB ram...
LightningFist
Oct 24 2010, 11:22 PM
Minion of the Damned
When people say "Windows boots under 1 minute/under 40 secs" I am surprised. Doesn't it boot faster than that on slower HDDs anyway?
I felt Windows 7 and XP both boot really fast, compared to Vista, on not particularly quick Hard drives. But Windows 7 lags a lot for me compared to XP.
DoubleU
Oct 24 2010, 11:33 PM
hm? I feel windows 7 is the fastest among all lur... and with my 5400rpm hard disk, windows 7 can boot within 40 seconds.... With ssd i remember it was 10 seconds....
Cheesenium
Oct 24 2010, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(DoubleU @ Oct 24 2010, 11:20 PM) lol, hm... duno leh 134 USD for 500GB momentus XT vs 120 USD for 750GB + 500GB + bluray..... and now got free upgrade to 8GB ram... Well it's up to you how much space you need.
lee_what2004
Oct 24 2010, 11:42 PM
*stare* ji--------
QUOTE(DoubleU @ Oct 24 2010, 11:33 PM) hm? I feel windows 7 is the fastest among all lur... and with my 5400rpm hard disk, windows 7 can boot within 40 seconds.... With ssd i remember it was 10 seconds.... Batusai's one got 24 seconds....
TSJeffrey1987
Oct 24 2010, 11:51 PM
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Oct 24 2010, 11:42 PM) Batusai's one got 24 seconds.... Perhaps Cheesenium should reboot his G73 and recount the boot up time.
usen
Oct 25 2010, 12:16 AM
QUOTE(usen @ Oct 24 2010, 11:56 AM) Anybody about this Cubehub at singapore.Or anyone Order from them B4......Thinking of order from them as there is a bro there mention its good to order at singapore if the price is around the same...G73JW-a1 Need advice for this
You can ask stalkie as he ordered his G73 from there too.
Any feedback Stalkie can post any or you can PM me for the detail
riku2replica
Oct 25 2010, 08:57 AM
QUOTE(usen @ Oct 25 2010, 12:16 AM) QUOTE(usen @ Oct 24 2010, 11:56 AM) Anybody about this Cubehub at singapore.Or anyone Order from them B4......Thinking of order from them as there is a bro there mention its good to order at singapore if the price is around the same...G73JW-a1 Need advice for this You can ask stalkie as he ordered his G73 from there too. Any feedback Stalkie can post any or you can PM me for the detail why don't u personally PM stalkie and ask him ur questions. So far, he a irregular poster in here though.
Cheesenium
Oct 25 2010, 09:01 AM
QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Oct 24 2010, 11:51 PM) Perhaps Cheesenium should reboot his G73 and recount the boot up time.   I think i need to recount my time. Anyway, updated vBIOS. Havent tested anything yet.
Batusai
Oct 25 2010, 09:40 AM
24 seconds with some bloatware i guess.. after a clean reformat.. probably would be below 20 seconds.. haha.
Cheesenium
Oct 25 2010, 09:56 AM
Nice, i havent really timed mine.
Anyway, tested BFBC2 for 40 minutes. Smooth fps, fantastic performance, even im spamming noob tube for fun.
asusg73
Oct 25 2010, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(riku2replica @ Oct 25 2010, 08:57 AM) why don't u personally PM stalkie and ask him ur questions. So far, he a irregular poster in here though. Today Cubehub reply and quote me the G73JW-A1 at SGD2500 net come with keyboard backlight and WASD in blue color(exclusive at Cubehub the website mention).compare with gentech they are more cheaper and they ship by UPS insured.So far USPS think is no a good shipment mention at the forum here thats why its cheap????? This post has been edited by asusg73: Oct 25 2010, 10:22 AM
riku2replica
Oct 25 2010, 10:44 AM
QUOTE(asusg73 @ Oct 25 2010, 10:11 AM) Today Cubehub reply and quote me the G73JW-A1 at SGD2500 net come with keyboard backlight and WASD in blue color(exclusive at Cubehub the website mention).compare with gentech they are more cheaper and they ship by UPS insured.So far USPS think is no a good shipment mention at the forum here thats why its cheap????? probably, it depends on individual if they wan quick shipment or play the waiting game like the alienware fellow.
Cheesenium
Oct 25 2010, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(riku2replica @ Oct 25 2010, 10:44 AM) probably, it depends on individual if they wan quick shipment or play the waiting game like the alienware fellow.  Well, when is your turn to get your G73.G53?  Join us, riku2replica.  On the other hand, i'll keep posting updates on mine after vBIOS update. Hopefully i could help those who just got their G73JH.