129 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Asus G-Series Notebooks V2, Asus G73, G53 and etc . . .

Viperion
post Sep 20 2010, 01:05 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(Zapads @ Sep 19 2010, 08:57 PM)
haha happy birthday!!! hmm MR OLD viperion..
lolz forgive me birthday boy.
currently I am on 211 and 10.8, is tat advisable to upgrade to 93vbiosa? As I did not experience any GSOD
If you are not experiencing GSOD then don't upgrade. Only upgrade if you have GSODs, don't fix it unless it's broken wink.gif tongue.gif

Thanks to the above for all the wishes smile.gif
JasonMania
post Sep 20 2010, 10:55 AM

372 posts

Hi all,

I wanted to buy Asus G53 , and I had a few questions:

1 . Any problem with the laptop that is common , such as the laptop getting unreasonably hot ?

2.One of the users on lowyat recommended that I get my notebook from GenTechPC , I was wondering if you guys have tried buying from them ? are they reliable ( I went to their website , I got a little worried cause the site doesn't look professional) ?

3. If I decided to buy from GenTechPC are there any import duties I have to pay ??

4. What is the procedure like for importing , I mean if I order it just comes to my house , no need to do anything else ?"? sorry for asking such a noob question , but I never purchased a laptop online before?

5. Also if buy from US, what do you guys do for electricity problem ? cause it is different from there and here?

This post has been edited by JasonMania: Sep 20 2010, 11:05 AM
Kaizoku
post Sep 20 2010, 11:25 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(JasonMania @ Sep 20 2010, 10:55 AM)
Hi all,

1 . Any problem with the laptop that is common , such as the laptop getting unreasonably hot ?

2.One of the users on lowyat recommended that I get my notebook from GenTechPC , I was wondering if you guys have tried buying from them ? are they reliable ( I went to their website , I got a little worried cause the site doesn't look professional) ?

3. If I decided to buy from GenTechPC are there any import duties I have to pay ??

4. What is the procedure like for importing , I mean if I order it just comes to my house , no need to do anything else ?"? sorry for asking such a noob question , but I never purchased a laptop online before?

5. Also if buy from US, what do you guys do for electricity problem ? cause it is different from there and here?
1. No problem so far... but if you are a die hard gamerz, playing high end games like Starcraft 2, Crysis 2, etc....your gpu might get slightly hot while playing..should not get hot while idling though..

2. I think many ppl in this forum bought from Gentech Pc.... I'm one of them...

3. Laptop/personal computers are tax free

4. Just order from gentechpc, then whoila! ur done... but for me last time, i use a freight forwarding service (comgateway.com) which uses DHL...they sent it right to my dooorstep..hehehe

5. ELect problem??? nope.. the laptop power adapter supports 110V/220V ....the only problem is the plug..hehehe we use British 3 pin plug....the laptop came with US 3 pin plug...
Viperion
post Sep 20 2010, 12:53 PM

112 posts

Hi all,

1.) Any gaming laptop will get hot due to the dedicated gaming card. What is important is the card is stable and bug free. Most of the G73 owners are plague with the defective ATI 5870 card which causes Gray Screen Of Death (GSOD) while running any graphic intensive applications. Check forum like Notebookreview forums or google G53+problems to find out for any issues with this particular model.

2.) I also would recommend GentechPC to you. Yes their web site doesn't look like much but I've went to other online resellers which website looks great and really professional but when you call them their staff provieds sub-par service and is not knowledgeable. GentechPC staff is quick and efficient giving the best service I've experienced thus far. Get Ken Lee as your sales person and let him know you were introduced by the TS and me (Mark Lee). He will handle your case with extra diligence then tongue.gif

3.) All PC/Notebooks is tax free so no duties.

4.)If you use the shipping option from GentechPC, they will ship with USPS. USPS will then forward the parcel to Pos Laju Malaysia when it arrives. Pos Laju will sometimes refuse to deliver the package to your house probably because they are lazy or the rates USPS pays them is too low. They will then call you and tell you to come pick up at the nearest Pos Laju branch. The other option is you can use Comgateway a freight forwarder in the USA. The shipping option is cheaper compared to what GentechPC is offering and they use DHL to deliver the parcel. This will guarantee the package will reach to your doorstep wink.gif

5.) The adapter is universal 110~240v. The only problem is the pin heads which are US standard and can be easily resolved by purchasing a RM 5 travel adapter converter.
thxxht
post Sep 20 2010, 01:44 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(Viperion @ Sep 20 2010, 12:53 PM)
1.) Any gaming laptop will get hot due to the dedicated gaming card. What is important is the card is stable and bug free. Most of the G73 owners are plague with the defective ATI 5870 card which causes Gray Screen Of Death (GSOD) while running any graphic intensive applications. Check forum like Notebookreview forums or google G53+problems to find out for any issues with this particular model.

2.) I also would recommend GentechPC to you. Yes their web site doesn't look like much but I've went to other online resellers which website looks great and really professional but when you call them their staff provieds sub-par service and is not knowledgeable. GentechPC staff is quick and efficient giving the best service I've experienced thus far. Get Ken Lee as your sales person and let him know you were introduced by the TS and me (Mark Lee). He will handle your case with extra diligence then  tongue.gif

3.) All PC/Notebooks is tax free so no duties.

4.)If you use the shipping option from GentechPC, they will ship with USPS. USPS will then forward the parcel to Pos Laju Malaysia when it arrives. Pos Laju will sometimes refuse to deliver the package to your house probably because they are lazy or the rates USPS pays them is too low. They will then call you and tell you to come pick up at the nearest Pos Laju branch. The other option is you can use Comgateway a freight forwarder in the USA. The shipping option is cheaper compared to what GentechPC is offering and they use DHL to deliver the parcel. This will guarantee the package will reach to your doorstep  wink.gif

5.) The adapter is universal 110~240v. The only problem is the pin heads which are US standard and can be easily resolved by purchasing a RM 5 travel adapter converter.
can you shed some light on the payment options available? Do GenTechPC accept credit cards? bank transfers...etc? What is the most common payment method that you guys used?

Viperion
post Sep 20 2010, 01:54 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(thxxht @ Sep 20 2010, 01:44 PM)
can you shed some light on the payment options available? Do GenTechPC accept credit cards? bank transfers...etc? What is the most common payment method that you guys used?
They don't accept credit cards but you can pay by credit card through Paypal. However if you do that you will not receive the 3% cash back discount. In order to qualify for the 3% discount, you must pay by wire transfer. I've written a guide in the previous thread on how to pay by wire transfer. Do a search or go through my post to find it wink.gif
DoubleU
post Sep 20 2010, 02:19 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

Gentech will give a 3% cash back discount if you pay using Paypal Check.
Viperion
post Sep 20 2010, 02:21 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Sep 20 2010, 02:19 PM)
Gentech will give a 3% cash back discount if you pay using Paypal Check.
Ah, thanks. Sorry I missed that information out, never paid by Paypal tongue.gif
DoubleU
post Sep 20 2010, 02:27 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

Paypal check is just like normal check, takes some time to process, not the usual instant payment like normal paypal.

Hm... should i order it from Gentech? or get it from sgcubehubs? I think sg better right? the other thing is i have until feb 2011 to get the laptop. Should i get it now? or should i wait incase they change the specs abit in the future?
Viperion
post Sep 20 2010, 02:32 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Sep 20 2010, 02:27 PM)
Paypal check is just like normal check, takes some time to process, not the usual instant payment like normal paypal.

Hm... should i order it from Gentech? or get it from sgcubehubs? I think sg better right? the other thing is i have until feb 2011 to get the laptop. Should i get it now? or should i wait incase they change the specs abit in the future?
You will be waiting forever since they will always be changing the specifications and models tongue.gif

List down your current requirements and if any laptop fulfills the requirements then purchase it. If not then wait until a laptop is launched with your requirements.

I will always go for the lowest price & best service whether it be USA or Singapore. If Singapore was offering a better price & good service I would have purchased my laptop there. However I had bad experienced from them and their prices were a little more compared to US online retailers.
TSJeffrey1987
post Sep 20 2010, 02:40 PM

1,661 posts

Hi all,

Seems that our lovely members have given you a thorough answers on how to deal with the procedure on how to buy the gaming notebook already. Just try to mention my name and Mark Lee (Viperion) in front of Ken Lee (SA). This is Ken's e-mail: ken@gentechpc.com. thumbup.gif

Added on September 20, 2010, 2:42 pm
QUOTE(DoubleU @ Sep 20 2010, 02:27 PM)

Ken Lee from GenTechPC is really nice as he was really helpful in everything. Recently, he even helped me to set up my RMA. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Jeffrey1987: Sep 20 2010, 02:42 PM
thxxht
post Sep 20 2010, 02:44 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(Viperion @ Sep 20 2010, 01:54 PM)
They don't accept credit cards but you can pay by credit card through Paypal. However if you do that you will not receive the 3% cash back discount. In order to qualify for the 3% discount, you must pay by wire transfer. I've written a guide in the previous thread on how to pay by wire transfer. Do a search or go through my post to find it  wink.gif
sorry, i did looked at the previous g73 thread but there's like 80+ pages worth of information in there. Could you link me to your post/guide?

on a sidenote, i've already contacted Ken Lee, i just need to make sure the procedures on my end is correct (doing the TT and choosing the right delivery option: comgateway)
TSJeffrey1987
post Sep 20 2010, 02:45 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(thxxht @ Sep 20 2010, 02:44 PM)
sorry, i did looked at the previous g73 thread but there's like 80+ pages worth of information in there. Could you link me to your post/guide?

on a sidenote, i've already contacted Ken Lee, i just need to make sure the procedures on my end is correct (doing the TT and choosing the right delivery option: comgateway)
May I know which gaming notebook that you plan to buy? drool.gif
DoubleU
post Sep 20 2010, 02:50 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

I've checked the sgcubehub, dun mind buying from them since the price is RM5.5K, about the same as ordering from Gentech, and also i get to see the laptop first...

hahaha the G53 is already more than i need, just wondering whether i should get it early or late...

TSJeffrey1987
post Sep 20 2010, 02:57 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Sep 20 2010, 02:50 PM)
I've checked the sgcubehub, dun mind buying from them since the price is RM5.5K, about the same as ordering from Gentech, and also i get to see the laptop first...

hahaha the G53 is already more than i need, just wondering whether i should get it early or late...

Go for it if G53 is decent enough for you. The earlier you get it, the earlier you can ENJOY it. rclxm9.gif
thxxht
post Sep 20 2010, 02:58 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Sep 20 2010, 02:45 PM)
May I know which gaming notebook that you plan to buy?  drool.gif
i'm looking at the g53. and i noticed that the specs on sgcubehub vs gentech are slightly different (500 GB vs 750 GB).

There are more customization option from Gentech too.

I choosed a 4x Bluray + a recovery disc, my total comes to about USD1590, which is bout RM4.9K. I'm not sure bout shipping, still looking at comgateway, but i think it's probably 200-300 USD.

edit: Gentech's default ram is 6Gb whereas sgcubehub's is 8Gb

This post has been edited by thxxht: Sep 20 2010, 03:04 PM
DoubleU
post Sep 20 2010, 03:07 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

oh lol, just realize backlid can change the options... hm... maybe order from gentech then...
JasonMania
post Sep 20 2010, 04:12 PM

372 posts

Thanks everybody ,
I appreciate all the detailed response , I think I am fully decided to go get G53.

one more last question , how long does it take for them to deliever to my house?

also I have Maybank Visa Debit Card , I also activated for online shopping do they accept it for payment?

thxxht
post Sep 20 2010, 04:25 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(JasonMania @ Sep 20 2010, 04:12 PM)
Thanks everybody ,
I appreciate all the detailed response , I think I am fully decided to go get G53.

one more last question , how long does it take for them to deliever to my house?

also I have Maybank Visa Debit Card , I also activated for online shopping do they accept it for payment?
this was Ken Lee's reply when i asked him about it.

2: G53JW hasn't been release yet, if payment is completed we can ship with 2 business days once G53JW has been released, once it shipped it'll take 6~10 days to deliver.

i'm assuming he is refering to comgateway's delivery (DHL).
TSJeffrey1987
post Sep 20 2010, 04:43 PM

1,661 posts

The ETA for G53 is end of Sept 2010. It is just around the corner. smile.gif

129 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0175sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:59 AM