6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Asus G-Series Notebooks V2, Asus G73, G53 and etc . . .

Viperion
post Aug 22 2010, 05:51 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(zyzal @ Aug 22 2010, 02:12 AM)
no worries
BTW.... I am running everything stock.... including all those crapware.....
The only thing I uninstall: TrendMicro
So far everything runs great.
AOE 1/ AOE 1 Rise of Rome/ AOE 2/ AOE 3/ AOE 3 Warchief/ Rise of Nations Gold/ Civilization 4/ SC 2/ All running great.

AOE 3 Asian Dynasty/ Can't even get it installed  mad.gif
Check this link to help you remove the crapware from your system wink.gif

NBR Guide to Asus Bloatware

@Jeffrey
Great job bro & congratulations on the new thread. You did a great job thumbup.gif
Viperion
post Aug 22 2010, 06:09 AM

112 posts

Check this AWESOME link below for a guide to re-apply your TIM should you decide to do it. My IC Diamond 7 Carat has been confirmed and is en route to my location with and ETA of 6-7 days. I will have two extra tubes for sale for owners who are interested in reapplying their TIM. PM me if you have any interest in purchasing the IC Diamond 7 Carat from me. First come first serve basis and I would prefer C.O.D in K.L/P.J. I might be planning to apply the TIM myself and if I do my friend with E&E experience will assist me and whomever is interested in applying the TIM together. We can also have a gathering for the those who needs assistance wink.gif

NBR Thermal Re-paste Guide
Viperion
post Aug 22 2010, 06:27 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Aug 22 2010, 06:20 AM)
I have updated the 1st page. Go there to have a look.  laugh.gif
Man sweet, we now have an active thread owner rclxms.gif

Do you take request too? Could you jump for me, LMAO! tongue.gif

Thanks bro, checking out more useful threads from NBR to add for owners wink.gif

There you go tongue.gif

Complete Walk-through For Doing A Clean Windows 7 Install

All the G73JH Problems and solutions here!

Asus G73 Series Disassembly Guide

How to adjust Core Parking from inside Windows 7

This post has been edited by Viperion: Aug 22 2010, 06:29 AM
Viperion
post Aug 22 2010, 06:34 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Aug 22 2010, 06:30 AM)
I'm kinda new in this TS thing . . . what do you mean by jumping you?  sweat.gif
Dude, don't jump on me bro! I meant I say jump and you jump like a good doggie tongue.gif I'm just joking man, trying to bring some poorly attempted humor to cheer you up, LOL! tongue.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Viperion: Aug 22 2010, 06:35 AM
Viperion
post Aug 22 2010, 06:42 AM

112 posts

Interesting information for applying IC Diamond TIM:

Thermal Paste Application Instructions For ICD7

Added on August 22, 2010, 6:49 amOfficial update thread for G73JH at NBR regarding GSOD issues (Upcoming Fix) & TIM issues. Please bear in mind the thread is huge and there is an Asus Technical Manager following the thread and posting updates when available regarding the GSOD issues and the poor application of Thermal Compound from the factory. For the GSOD fix I've gathered these information so far:

1.) Asus R&D team has a modified Vbios that resolves all GSOD issues. The only problem is if you are running bios 206 and lower, you will get GSODs even with stock drivers. However if you are using bios 209 and above it will resolve all GSOD issues with ATI reference drivers.

2.) Asus is working with ATI to resolve GSOD issues with the G73JH through the next iteration of catalyst drivers. Rumors are 10.8 catalyst will have codes to resolve GSODs with those affected by it. However this is a temporary fix as we will have to rely on ATI to include this code into every future releases to prevent GSODs. A Vbios will reslove this issue permanently as evident with the MSI Vbios.

For those interested in following the thread check the link below:

NBR Update From Asus (Official)

This post has been edited by Viperion: Aug 22 2010, 06:49 AM
Viperion
post Aug 22 2010, 04:27 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(G_Force @ Aug 22 2010, 03:35 PM)
Guys, any recommendation of mousepads for the mouse included with the notebook? Interested in Roccat or Razer.
I'm using the Razer Vespula and love it. I think it's value for your money for the wrist rest which is a god send and the dual surface.

The down side is the speed surface is easily scratched if your mouse feet is defective and it's not as easily transportable compared to a mouse pad like kabuto. It really depends on your needs but if you need a comfortable mouse pad to use for hours and love a wrist wrest get the Vespula.
Viperion
post Aug 23 2010, 04:20 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(G_Force @ Aug 22 2010, 05:54 PM)
How about Roccat Sota? Is the surface rougher or smoother than the Vespula (not the speed side).. Does the wrist rest helps a lot?lol..
QUOTE(G_Force @ Aug 22 2010, 06:02 PM)
aww -.-

but i do mild gaming only. what i need more is a comfortable and not-so-smooth mousepad. so vespula does a better job in this?  shocking.gif
QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Aug 22 2010, 06:09 PM)
Maybe Razer Vespula will perform a greater job as it has the wrist rest. Nevertheless, I would like to share my exp with you, that is, I'm currently more prefer to have a smooth surface gaming mousepad after I have tried Roccat Sota (before this I used a precision type of mousepad just like the Kabuto)  biggrin.gif
With the Razer Vespula you get the option for a super smooth surface and a surface for control which is less smooth. It really also depends on the mouse you are using and with the right combination you could tweak the mouse and mouse pad to work to your needs wink.gif I'm in KL and if we ever have a gathering you can check my mouse pad out.

QUOTE(Trrienty @ Aug 22 2010, 06:19 PM)
Good Day everyone! I'm planning to get one for myself soon! but i have some question i hope all sifu here can guide me.
Can anyone tell me the step to do wire transfer and any charges for that?
If i use express mail, will it get stop by custom? Thanks  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Aug 22 2010, 07:32 PM)
Hello there! Welcome to our thread.  biggrin.gif

For the TT prcedures, I'm not really familiar with it as I bought mine via PayPal. Nevertheless, I can tell you how is the procedures roughly.

I heard from other members that Maybank is the most ideal local bank to do the wire transfer. They will charge you some money for the transfer but I forgot how much. If I'm not mistaken, it will cost you around RM30. You must bear in mind that the bank at US wil charge you too, that is, 30 USD.

As for the freight forwarder, usually we assign USPS and it will cost you 149 USD. However, there are a member called Kaizoku who assigned DHL via comGateway as his freight forwarder because he claimed that the package will not be detained by local customs then.

If you assign USPS as your freight forwarder, there will be a possibility that your package will be detained at your local customs office.  smile.gif

Hope that's helpful for you! Cheers . . .  thumbup.gif
You can also click on my nick and check my post. The information is in the previous thread and I posted the exact instructions with my experiences with wire transfer from Maybank to GentechPC.

For monitoring software use these:

AMD GPU Clock Tool
~ For monitoring your GPU and setting overclock and undercock settings

CPUID HWMonitor~ Overall system monitor, good for main CPU

GPU-Z ~ Another good GPU monitoring software. You can backup your original Vbios with this software wink.gif

This post has been edited by Viperion: Aug 23 2010, 04:30 AM
Viperion
post Aug 23 2010, 04:31 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Aug 23 2010, 01:42 AM)
You are welcome! Sorry, I did not use that software. The software may not recognize you as you are too handsome to be detected?  laugh.gif
The software maybe couldn't recognize because he/she might not be human shocking.gif laugh.gif

The software depends on the number of different angles you took your snapshots. The more snapshots of your beautiful face you take the easier it will be for you to login. The ambient lighting in your surroundings also place a major part. I use the software and it's a novelty bloatware that is fun to miss with at times.

This post has been edited by Viperion: Aug 23 2010, 04:34 AM
Viperion
post Aug 24 2010, 04:05 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Aug 24 2010, 11:30 AM)
Chill, its only 3%. Btw, i thought the 3% is only eligible for cash payment?
3% of USD 1650 = US 49.50 X 3.2 = RM 158.40.

If that's not a lot to you I'll PM you my bank number and I can chill wink.gif tongue.gif
Viperion
post Aug 24 2010, 04:25 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Aug 24 2010, 04:08 PM)
lolwut, u suddenly ambush me out of nowhere. sweat.gif
Not ambush, just wanted to point out a fact. Sorry wasn't meant to be a flame or an ambush tongue.gif

Any payment that doesn't incur service charges to the vendor will be eligible for the 3% discount. Credit cards & paypal charges the vendor for each transaction that's why those who pay by credit card doesn't get the discount wink.gif

This post has been edited by Viperion: Aug 24 2010, 04:28 PM
Viperion
post Aug 27 2010, 11:03 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(G_Force @ Aug 27 2010, 10:43 AM)
any updates? smile.gif
What kind of updates you looking for? tongue.gif

My new Intel WiFi card arrives today with 3 tubes of IC Diamond 7 rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif

**Viperion** eagerly waits for the DHL delivery man thumbup.gif
Viperion
post Aug 27 2010, 12:50 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(viruz019 @ Aug 27 2010, 12:19 PM)
*sigh*

my 2 unit of stealth bomber got sold out and no more in-stock. i end up getting the msi gx660r.. i wonder how much will the g73jw will cost..the B1 is 1.7k sweat.gif .. if jw is a lil cheaper..will definitely get it..though need to save up 1st cry.gif
Huh? You mean they sold out at GentechPC? Did Ken inform you they are not going to restock due to the JW launching soon?
Viperion
post Aug 28 2010, 12:12 AM

112 posts

New Catalyst driver is out. According to the Asus Tech Manager in the NBR forums, this update should fix the GSOD issue. I've just updated and will run some test. I will report here tomorrow after I try some GPU intensive games. For those who are adventurous, you can try the beta vBios from Asus from the link below:

Beta vBIOS update from ASUS

**WARNING**
Not for non technical people and this update will brick your GPU or laptop. If you are not sure what to do then do not attempt this at all. For those who have done vBIOS updates before please try it and report the results here. Thank You.

This post has been edited by Viperion: Aug 28 2010, 12:15 AM
Viperion
post Aug 28 2010, 12:16 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Aug 28 2010, 12:14 AM)
Waiting eagerly for your great news!  thumbup.gif
I will try to test with the new catalyst drivers first as they claim it will fix the GSOD issues. Here's hoping it works and we don't have to flash the beta vBIOS.
Viperion
post Aug 28 2010, 01:23 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(Kaizoku @ Aug 28 2010, 12:56 AM)
downloaded Catalyst 10.8 and installed, alas...still got the GSoD while playing Far Cry 2..huhuhu... but I still have the AMD GPU clock tool..soo it's still ok for me.. I'm afraid of flashing and installing the new vBios.. anybody tried the new vBios??
Could you report your temps when your GPU is under load. I've noticed the weather has been getting rather hot lately & my temps have risen about 10c since I first got the notebook. It used to idle around 54c but now it's idling around 64-70c. I smell a TIM re-paste coming tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Viperion: Aug 28 2010, 01:23 AM
Viperion
post Aug 28 2010, 01:30 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Aug 28 2010, 01:25 AM)
You plan to do the repaste by yourself or send it to Asus service center?
I honestly do not know but most probably I will let the service center re-paste my TIM because I want to try my luck for the LCD. I currently have one dead pixel and if I'm smart enough I could get them to replace the LCD, re-paste my GPU and CPU as well wink.gif tongue.gif laugh.gif
Viperion
post Aug 28 2010, 05:16 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(G_Force @ Aug 28 2010, 11:02 AM)
means those games that require high perfomance tend to have GSOD more? =.=
Correct. Any games/softwares that puts stress on the GPU will tend to make your unit GSOD.

My package from DHL arrived rclxm9.gif

Received my Intel 6200 Wifi card and three tubes of IC Diamond 7 rclxms.gif

Sales thread coming up soon tongue.gif laugh.gif
Viperion
post Aug 29 2010, 12:29 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(Kaizoku @ Aug 29 2010, 12:00 AM)
my gpu temp under load is at 62~64 (after hours of playing games).... idling temp 55~63(approx)..temp taken without the use of my laptop cooler
I got those temps in the first three weeks of ownership. After about one month, the temps started to go up and now I'm idling around your loads and maxing around 80~90C. I think the original TIM is degrading and I need to repaste sad.gif

QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Aug 29 2010, 12:20 AM)
Bro . .  . do you buy any accessories recently for your babe ?  brows.gif
Dude, you are taking the wrong course. Ever thought of business tongue.gif laugh.gif
Viperion
post Aug 29 2010, 12:35 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Aug 29 2010, 12:33 AM)
Most of the new G73 fanboy are jumping to Msi Gx660R for its value performance and no GSOD issue.
Wouldn't touch MSI with a 100 foot pole tongue.gif

You can do it if you are living overseas like the USA because you have great support there. We have confirmation the G73JH will be supported here with international warranty but what about MSI? wink.gif
Viperion
post Aug 29 2010, 01:02 AM

112 posts

Sorry for the no report yet, I am still working now at a customer's house tongue.gif

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0386sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:25 AM