8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

HTC Desire Official Thread V5, FAQs on First Page (Froyo OTA for SEA!)

Cynox
post Aug 25 2010, 04:50 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Aug 25 2010, 04:39 PM)
I'm having a black screen with the word android there after flashing open desire..

Is this normal??
be patient. tongue.gif It is restarting. It is actually one of my main "complaint" - the startup feels like forever on NextSense 5.3, maybe becoz it is not animated? I feel the phone startup faster with the old stock 2.1.

QUOTE(chiahau @ Aug 25 2010, 04:48 PM)
5 min dy lol....
go make a kopi, it will be ready when you finish your kopi break.

This post has been edited by Cynox: Aug 25 2010, 04:52 PM
Cynox
post Aug 25 2010, 05:28 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Aug 25 2010, 05:22 PM)
Swts..
Means stg musta be wrong..

Now still blank Zzz~"
Time to reflash again..

any idea people?
did you wipe everything off before flashing? Maybe the old files interfere with the newly flash rom. hmm.gif

Hopefully mine will be smooth tonight when I flash mine to 7.0 with new 8GB card. rclxm9.gif
Cynox
post Aug 25 2010, 05:33 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Aug 25 2010, 05:29 PM)
Rebake it n try.
>"<

Wipe everything?

Which options again?
from NextSense XDA:

Installation:
-Enter to recovery, do a Wipe Factory reset, Wipe Cache, Wipe Dalvik, format/wipe partition Ext2, 3 or 4.
-Flash my ROM (If you have already last Radio you only have to install the rom Without Radio, and if not, install With Radio or separately).
-Flash new radio
-Run rom (First time takes some time to run)

icon_idea.gif

Cynox
post Aug 25 2010, 07:30 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

zzz... reach home and found out my 8GB not yet arrived. ohmy.gif super slow seller. doh.gif
Cynox
post Aug 26 2010, 12:51 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

hand itchy go flash NextSense 7.0 on my old 2GB card since my 8GB will only arrive tomorrow. But this time I use Amon_RA to partition, it is way easier. Make a rehearsal first before the real thing tomorrow with my 8GB.

So far NextSense 7.0 is rock stable as the previous 5.3. I like the new looks too. thumbup.gif

Time to sleep. rclxub.gif good night, all. laugh.gif
Cynox
post Aug 26 2010, 09:17 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

chiahau and akachester, bro bryan posted it some pages back

QUOTE(bryan_823 @ Aug 25 2010, 03:38 PM)
Cynox
post Aug 26 2010, 09:44 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Aug 26 2010, 09:29 AM)
Thanks bro..but I havent rooted my Desire.any other ways?
Just root it!! laugh.gif

I was quite hesitate to root my Desire initially and keep waiting for the official Froyo from HTC but it was keep being delayed. At the end, I lost my patience and went to the "dark side".

And I just realised how much fun and functionality I have lost with the stock ROM. Especially with the A2SD+ after root and flashing of custom rom, the microSD card can put to good use. The official Froyo A2SD is just too inferior in comparison. doh.gif I should have rooted it as soon as I get it on my hand. laugh.gif
Cynox
post Aug 26 2010, 01:34 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(d_zire @ Aug 26 2010, 01:06 PM)
there no market enabler apps in Nextsense 7?
Nope. You need "market access".

Just got my kingmax 8gb class 10 and setup nicely. Ext3 set to 1gb, no more running out of space... laugh.gif hehe.
Cynox
post Aug 26 2010, 01:59 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(bryan_823 @ Aug 26 2010, 01:43 PM)
May I know how you set ext3 to 1GB? I used ROM Manager previously and able to set 512mb max only
Yes, I m using the amon_ra thing with unrevoked. You can set whatever size you want. I set my swap to 256mb to experiment since I can't find answer why 0 or 32mb is recommended.

I dunno how stable it is, need few days to try out. Will report back. smile.gif
Cynox
post Aug 26 2010, 04:41 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(chding @ Aug 26 2010, 02:57 PM)
any url to download?
you mean Amon_RA? http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=721792
Cynox
post Aug 26 2010, 04:54 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(bryan_823 @ Aug 26 2010, 04:49 PM)
What we need to do with the img file after downloaded? Could you provide step by step guide on how to partition using this?
ok, later tonight when I have time. But it is easy actually. You need to use Unrevoked to "upload" it into your Desire.
Cynox
post Aug 27 2010, 10:20 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(bryan_823 @ Aug 26 2010, 04:49 PM)
What we need to do with the img file after downloaded? Could you provide step by step guide on how to partition using this?
ok, as promised, some basic step by step guide to partition your sd card with Amon_RA.

Stage 1: Get Amon_RA into the Desire
1. Download Unrevoked. [Link]
2. Download Amon_RA [Link]
3. Install HTC and HBOOT driver.
4. Run reflash.exe as Administrator (DO NOT connect your Desire to computer at the moment).
5. At Unrevoked, File>>Custom Recovery>>Choose recovery-RA-desire-v1.7.0.1-R5 (the Amon_RA file you download in step 2).
6. Connect your Desire (USB debug mode on, etc).
7, The rest is fully automatic. laugh.gif

Stage 2: Partition you SD Card
1. Enter into Recovery mode. You will see the options below:
- Reboot system Now
- USB-MS toggle
- Backup/restore
- Flash
- Wipe
- Mount
- Partition sdcard
- Other
- Power off
2. Under Partition sdcard, you will see:
- Partition SD
- Repair SD:ext
- SD: ext2 to ext3
- SD: ext3 to ext4
3. Use Partition SD to make the ext2, swap, and the remainder will be auto partitioned to be FAT32.
4. press back to return to step 2, select SD:ext2 to ext3 to upgrade the ext2 you created in step 3 into ext3. Do SD:ext3 to ext4 if you want to upgrade further to ext4. But I only upgrade to ext3 only coz i read somewhere ext4 is not necessary.
5. Reboot system now, it will boot with all the partitions now.

Note: If you want to flash rom, you can use the Wipe function to wipe all ext3 partition, cache, etc clean, but the partition remain intact.

Hope this mini guide helps. For more details, should refer to this master guide.

Cynox
post Aug 27 2010, 11:21 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(bryan_823 @ Aug 27 2010, 11:03 AM)
Thanks for the guide  rclxms.gif

I have question on Stage 2 - step 4, is it a must to upgrade ext2 to ext3? And why?  blush.gif
all i heard is ext3 is better than ext2. you can choose not to upgrade. Ext4 is actually the best in linux but some say using ext4 in android will sometime backfire and cause the system to slow down.

I think they are like a file system for linux, maybe is like what FAT32 is better than FAT. This is just my noob understanding. blush.gif You can google these and read for yourself.
Cynox
post Aug 27 2010, 11:51 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

hi, bro KTCY, what size of ext3 and swap file you using? I saw your quadrant score always so high. Mine was only 1200+. Yesterday upgrade to class 10 kingmax and the score drop to 1100+ shocking.gif.

I need to redo the whole thing - partition size, reinstall all apps one by one rather than from Titanium backup, etc. to make sure my Desire will run efficiently.
Cynox
post Aug 27 2010, 01:16 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 27 2010, 12:05 PM)
Swap 0 IIRC
Was on OD which I OC till 1.3Ghz to get that score wink.gif
so under non-OC situation, what is your average score? thanks. smile.gif
Cynox
post Aug 28 2010, 01:05 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(extremeken @ Aug 28 2010, 11:37 AM)
i just got my desire smile.gif))
welcome to the club! laugh.gif

faster read up on rooting and flashing and get your Desire to Froyo... laugh.gif
Cynox
post Aug 28 2010, 01:27 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(bryan_823 @ Aug 28 2010, 01:19 PM)
You are a devil  shakehead.gif
becoz no one told me like that when I first got my Desire. I waited for more than 1 month stupidly for the official Froyo to come out. But actually I should have root it and get Froyo with A2SD+ on the first day I got my Desire. The A2SD on official Froyo is just crap. doh.gif
Cynox
post Aug 28 2010, 06:47 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Aug 28 2010, 05:52 PM)
"You can make these any size, but the most common setup is 32 MB linux-swap partition, 512 MB ext2 partition, and remaining free space as a fat32 partition.  In order to work properly, the partitions must be created in this order: fat32, ext2, linux-swap."

http://androidandme.com/2009/08/news/how-t...ndroid-apps2sd/

Depends on ROM I think
not really, if you are using Amon_Ra to partition, the sequence will be ext 2 > swap > remainder as FAT32. I am using 1GB ext3 and 256 swap but I dun really know what's the difference with 0 swap. The 1GB ext3 is great as you will never run out of space to try new apps. laugh.gif
Cynox
post Aug 28 2010, 10:52 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

i also choose Desire instead of Galaxy S becoz of Sense UI. Another major reason of course is the solid build quality of HTC. thumbup.gif

Why the NextSense 7.1 take so long to come out while the 6.0 to 7.0 was so fast. sweat.gif
Cynox
post Aug 28 2010, 11:09 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Aug 28 2010, 10:59 PM)
Perhaps its quite stable so not much new implementation to be done for now smile.gif
there are some minor problem reported at xda. I also have a minor screen corruption problem during a call. So I am waiting for 7.1 to fix them. Thereafter I will set up all the apps nicely and won't flash rom again unless absolutely necessary.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0479sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:42 AM