146 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

Apple iPad Discussion Thread v3, Everything about iPad

zhou86
post Sep 15 2010, 12:46 AM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

Hi there, been looking around this forum and really considering to get an Ipad.
Most probably I will use it to surf net, check mails, watch videos, and occasional gaming (rarely as I have PS3 tongue.gif).
So as expected, I have several questions in my head.

Here goes:

1. What format of videos can it play? .avi? .mkv? .mp4?
2. Is the multitasking feature available already? i.e.: MSN while surfing net..I heard new OS will address this issue.
3. Based on my purpose to get it, is 16gb really enough? Or not? Or can't tell because it varies with everyone?

So far only these questions....I will update if I have more.

Really seriously considering it. biggrin.gif
TechnoDude94
post Sep 15 2010, 01:02 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

@HW-Racer: I connect to the internet through Wi-Fi (mine is a Wi-Fi only model).
I would normally bring my MacBook with me when I go back to hometown and plug my Maxis USB Broadband Dongle (Huawei E1772) to my MacBook and enable "Internet Sharing" through Wi-Fi.
No, the iPad can't be used to make phone calls (like a normal cellphone), however, there is Skype!

@zhou86: If you're gonna watch videos on the iPad that you sync to it, I doubt 16GB is gonna be sufficient. If you're a gamer, you might game A LOT on the iPad because of it's portability even though you have a PS3. No, multitasking is not available yet but it's confirmed to be available when the latest firmware is released.
shadowblack
post Sep 15 2010, 02:54 AM

857 posts

Can I use my pendrive to transfer file from my ipad to pendrive and pendrive to ipad? Any accessories for it?

QUOTE(shadowblack @ Sep 14 2010, 02:49 PM)
Can I use my pendrive to transfer file from my ipad to pendrive and pendrive to ipad? Any accessories for it?
Can someone answer my question ASAP please? Because I need to decide fast to buy or not in US

How come nobody answer my question =(
whomizzz
post Sep 15 2010, 02:59 AM

58 posts

Hey guys, can anyone tell their experience of using these 2 apps:

1. Documents To Go Premium - Office Suite, and,
2. Quickoffice Connect Mobile Suite for iPad

From the pictures in iTunes i can only see the difference between their interface, any big differences? Which one do you guys recommend? Or any other recommendations for apps like those 2?

Thanks smile.gif

@shadowblack
Yes there is a camera kit that you can connect a pendrive, but it only allows you to transfer only photos in a folder named 'DCIM'. Here is a video demonstration of connecting USB and external hard drives to iPad through camera kit. Hope it helps !

http://www.youtube.com/user/DetroitBORG#p/u/94/UBr2k1vLojA

This post has been edited by whomizzz: Sep 15 2010, 03:06 AM
agn
post Sep 15 2010, 09:21 AM

317 posts

i have been searching for an app that allows us to view tracked changes on the ipad. Todate, I understand all the usual doc viewing apps (Pages, Docs2Go, etc) do not support it - they just blindly accept all changes.
If anyone has had any success in being able to view tracked changes, I would greatly appreciate your feedback.

Agito666
post Sep 15 2010, 09:26 AM

11,861 posts

[quote=shadowblack,Sep 15 2010, 02:54 AM]Can I use my pendrive to transfer file from my ipad to pendrive and pendrive to ipad? Any accessories for it?
Can someone answer my question ASAP please? Because I need to decide fast to buy or not in US

How come nobody answer my question =(

[/quote]

they answered your question >_<
there is NO USB SLOT to plugin your pendrive...so NO way can do that.
alternate way is you have to use internet and create dropbox account or something like that to make online storage to transfer files.
or camera connection kits?
or try find apps that allowed to modify files inside your ipad? (i m not sure that that apps is for JBed or not)

i only can tell you that there is no usb can use for now sweat.gif
alternate way had to ask other member here, because i jsut own ipad for 1.5 week >_<

here is the good review from sifu benny:
dinodog_Jr
post Sep 15 2010, 09:44 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Sep 15 2010, 12:46 AM)
Hi there, been looking around this forum and really considering to get an Ipad.
Most probably I will use it to surf net, check mails, watch videos, and occasional gaming (rarely as I have PS3 tongue.gif).
So as expected, I have several questions in my head.

Here goes:

1. What format of videos can it play? .avi? .mkv? .mp4?
2. Is the multitasking feature available already? i.e.: MSN while surfing net..I heard new OS will address this issue.
3. Based on my purpose to get it, is 16gb really enough? Or not? Or can't tell because it varies with everyone?

So far only these questions....I will update if I have more.

Really seriously considering it. biggrin.gif
I will say if you don't like the fussy of update video files constantly. You may get 32GB or 64GB. There are apps which allow to watch videos format such as avi, mkv, rmvb or mp4 without any conversion job. I afraid RMVB around 500mb will have sound out of sync issue. But MKV with almost 1GB is smooth on ipad. But it could not load built in subtitles.
(I am using Oplayer.)

Good things is you can delete the videos directly out from ipad within the apps.

Previously i was planned with 64GB to store alot of my favourite movies or video tutorials for study. After that, i found out. I spent most of my time surfing net or playing games with it..

Viewing picture and reading becomes secondary activities which was my main reasons for ipad. I need to discipline myself.

Reading comic & pdf on ipad is a bliss.. So much nicer 'paper size' compare to monitor. Please take note that holding an ipad for a certain period to do all the above task will tired your arm.

Good lar train muscles..haha

If i have a chance again, i will take 32GB and spent the cash for accessories like a good folio or protector gear. Or even an Applecare for it. or even a MIFI!

Since this is the 1st Generation of Ipad. Grab one now and feel the technology before the 2nd one announcing.
The upcoming one would be more excited to see!.

This post has been edited by dinodog_Jr: Sep 15 2010, 09:49 AM
zhou86
post Sep 15 2010, 10:14 AM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Sep 15 2010, 09:44 AM)
I will say if you don't like the fussy of update video files constantly. You may get 32GB or 64GB. There are apps which allow to watch videos format such as avi, mkv, rmvb or mp4 without any conversion job. I afraid RMVB around 500mb will have sound out of sync issue. But MKV with almost 1GB is smooth on ipad. But it could not load built in subtitles.
(I am using Oplayer.)

Good things is you can delete the videos directly out from ipad within the apps.

Previously i was planned with 64GB to store alot of my favourite movies or video tutorials for study. After that, i found out. I spent most of my time surfing net or playing games with it..

Viewing picture and reading becomes secondary activities which was my main reasons for ipad. I need to discipline myself.

Reading comic & pdf on ipad is a bliss.. So much nicer 'paper size' compare to monitor. Please take note that holding an ipad for a certain period to do all the above task will tired your arm.

Good lar train muscles..haha

If i have a chance again, i will take 32GB and spent the cash for accessories like a good folio or protector gear. Or even an Applecare for it. or even a MIFI!

Since this is the 1st Generation of Ipad. Grab one now and feel the technology before the 2nd one announcing.
The upcoming one would be more excited to see!.
Hey bro, thanks for the feedback. Actually I planned only for 16gb due to budgets. But maybe I will push it abit to get the 32gb version.
Just a question, the video formats you mentioned above .avi, .rmvb, .mkv, all need to convert? Or just load it inside via itunes then can watch already? But must get the app to watch it right? Cannot use the original player right? Which is the best free player ah?

Another question to ask all you Ipad sifus:
I have a BB Bold 2 with Maxis Unlimited Data Plan, can I use the BB as my modem to access to the internet via my Ipad? Can I do it with the Ipad Wifi (without 3G)? Thanks in advance. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by zhou86: Sep 15 2010, 10:20 AM
destfull
post Sep 15 2010, 11:14 AM

Brain for Creativity
1,063 posts

How can I reset my iPad to default? Without updating to 3.2.2?

jphlau
post Sep 15 2010, 11:22 AM

1,202 posts

Go to settings --> General --> Reset --> Reset All Settings
kohtp
post Sep 15 2010, 11:40 AM

20 posts

Any clue when IPAD is coming to Malaysia? icon_question.gif
s@ni
post Sep 15 2010, 11:42 AM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,842 posts

everybody is buying from singapore laugh.gif

Apple Malaysia thinks that Malaysians dont have enuff monneh to buy it
kevler
post Sep 15 2010, 11:51 AM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

i'm not sure why Apple never think Malaysia as another potential business strategy in their mind ...educate me plz ..
nickygin
post Sep 15 2010, 11:59 AM

240 posts

Thanks all for the advice. I think i'll get the 32GB iPad and the 32GB iPhone 4 smile.gif.
TechnoDude94
post Sep 15 2010, 02:39 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

@shadowblack: You can't plug your thumbdrive/pendrive into your iPad due to the lack of a USB-port.

@whomizzz: I haven't tried QuickOffice but I'm using it on my iPT 1G and it works great. Haven't tried Documents To Go so I can't give a comparison.

@zhou86: I'm not sure about Blackberry but for Android-based phones. There is an option to enablethe phone to become a "Wi-Fi hotspot" and you can connect your iPad to your Android-based phone via Wi-Fi and utilize the Android-based phone as a modem.
bidfordun
post Sep 15 2010, 03:17 PM

2,234 posts

i heard this from a friend working at maxis. not sure if it is true. apparently, when iphone 4 is launched here, ipad will be released also.

purely rumour at the moment...
Agito666
post Sep 15 2010, 03:27 PM

11,861 posts

i actually just realize i did sleep with my ipad for 2 days. O_O

Added on September 15, 2010, 3:28 pm
QUOTE(bidfordun @ Sep 15 2010, 03:17 PM)
i heard this from a friend working at maxis. not sure if it is true. apparently, when iphone 4 is launched here, ipad will be released also.
hope the price dun different so much if not i will regret like i buy satio. >_<

This post has been edited by Agito666: Sep 15 2010, 03:28 PM
pingupink
post Sep 15 2010, 05:11 PM

24 posts

i wonder where the ipad save all downloaded apps? space in my hard disk seems din reduced....
icedlink
post Sep 15 2010, 06:23 PM

208 posts

chck itune's preference under settings Tab.
that will be the location of the files saved.
tplus1
post Sep 15 2010, 06:33 PM

1,148 posts

XD

just tried tethering 3G to my ipad via my new HD2.. XD

everything is just perfect! XD

when will iphone4 and ipad arrive in Msia? coming october??

146 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:07 AM