Apple iPad Discussion Thread v3, Everything about iPad

dinodog_Jr
post Aug 18 2010, 02:54 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

it will be another struggling waiting game for ipad 2 to release in Malaysia.
Buy the desired model at the price you feel worth it... So, can pass the old model to someone only when upgrade is necessary.

Sometimes the upgrade in a hardware is unnecessary to oneself. I myself no using webcam on laptop that much..

I have someone helped to hunt an ipad in SG too. It's not an easy task..haha...

Good Luck to whoever hunting for one now.

p/s: Anyone saw peoples using ipad inside KL LRT train so far?

dinodog_Jr
post Aug 18 2010, 11:09 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

QUOTE(Jerm_vii @ Aug 18 2010, 03:10 PM)
just ask your friend to buy for you using his credit card and reimburse him back lo.

That's what I did. You get it direct from Apple, no third party puchaser, no tax, etc. It has arrived already, so I'm going there next week to collect it. You can also order whatever accessories you want from the Apple website, and they will deliver it free to your friend's doorstep.

By the way, the delivery is not 7-10 days. I ordered mine on 2nd of August and only delivered on the 14th of August. Right now its about 12 days..

Roughly 12 days...That's cool. My friend somehow prefer to buy in the shop.

Neekun : Jurong Point said no stock to my friend on Monday.

Agito : i only saw one gal used ipad inside the bus.. The gadget is so impressive in the dark... Haha.. Grabbing attention when PSP was born.
She played a popping games with finger..

dinodog_Jr
post Sep 4 2010, 04:50 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

how do i streaming photos from my desktop computer on ipad?

I can Air video for videos... but somehow it don't support photos in the same folder.

Have tried googled and itunes store... lack of luck to find the right apps.
dinodog_Jr
post Sep 6 2010, 09:42 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

Guys,

Is there any way to check how many apps i had bought from Apple Itunes Stores?

Afraid i spent too much...haha... Kind of getting addict to buy apps..Too 'convenient' to do it!

Thanx.

edit : solved.. got emails.

This post has been edited by dinodog_Jr: Sep 6 2010, 11:18 PM
dinodog_Jr
post Sep 7 2010, 11:33 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

To the Artists,
which painting apps have the best pressure sensivity such for blending colors?
I am making one choice between brushes or sketchbook pro?
Thx..
dinodog_Jr
post Sep 8 2010, 08:15 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

Agito,

I like 'Colors' on NDSL. The feeling in drawing almost like wacom tablet...
Somehow i tried in adobe ideas. Everything so stiff...haha..
dinodog_Jr
post Sep 8 2010, 03:10 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Sep 8 2010, 09:11 AM)
NDSL? you mean nintendo DS lite? that is resistive touch screen right?
ipad is capasitive touch screen right?

if i m true then anyway the point is i dun think ipad will detect pressure since capasitive screen only detect static electric from our fingers.
(except steve jobs comes out a special pen that can transfer pressure information to ipad directly.)

and about the 2 prgoram you mentioned...
autodesk sketchbook looks like adobe photoshop...a bit laggy thou...but draw slower will be no problem haha.
and another one brushes....err...that one can record every stroke you draw...and smoother...maybe functions is lesser....not sure yet...because every users have different usages. whistling.gif
Thanx man.. Finally something make me interested in Brushes app. I spent a few days watched a few different apps for drawing. All looks quite smooth when drawing. Some artists got mentioned a bit lag for sketch pro.

I am going to try brushes.
I saw the way how they did the painting is the way i "hate" most... I mean by layers...haha.. I prefer one layer do everything.
Did u saw a youtube video a japanese guy customize a pen using snack paper.. cut out 4 stripes ..

The strokes is soooo smooth. Feels like wacom technology on ipad...
dinodog_Jr
post Sep 8 2010, 04:03 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p0PmCz3m_ZM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ykD76JXOfgM&feature=related

It's a DIY video done by Japanese. Credit to his cool DIY.

I tried using finger direct contact with the ipad screen. I feel finger kind of 'stuck'. Prefer to have a smooth finger movement on ipad.

Which screen protector can preserve the screen clarity and sensitivity at its best still?

dinodog_Jr
post Sep 8 2010, 11:04 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Sep 8 2010, 04:07 PM)
(edit: i always messed up glossy and matte sp  rclxub.gif )
Me too.. kind of confuse sometimes. Need to think a while before i answer to someone.

by the way, what casing you use for ipad?
Now i left it naked. I just had it for a week. I survey alot of cases in google. In the end, i prefer a book-style + stand. Not sure where i can have a real look. Everything in a package~!

Anyway, I visited to Epic center, Pavillion.  Not much choices that i like..

Icedlink,
Arigato! Very informative explanation. So, matte screen protector material will provide better feeling for our finger to move on the screen, rite?
Any ideal matte screen protector that you can recommend?

I saw a few types of screen protector from Capdase at Epic center. THe highest price cost Rm15x... The lowest around Rm6*. I roughly remembering the price.

I am curious the higher price means Quality is guarantee?!

p/s: I bought the Brushes eventually. The pressure sensitivity is "there".. Haha... Feeling interesting to draw with finger. I hope there is a way for shortcut color picker button..Like three finger to 'pick' color instead of popping up the menu.

Need to explore a new way to paint!.. Its a revolution in digital art-making..

Guess i might need a pen if i keep painting like this way.
dinodog_Jr
post Sep 10 2010, 12:28 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

Thanx for the detail experience on SP, icedlink & Agito.

haha..this thread going too fast...

I wonder what are you guys most perfect experience browser currently except Safari?
I found Atomic interface is pretty neat interface which attract me more than A1 Perfect Browser.

Somehow i read one issue like cannot open new page for the link in atomic, is this true? Safari can hanlde this.

Feels like buying one 'desktop' capabilities browser instead of reloading every pages again.

Sometimes Safari failed to load ' flash video' as well..

dinodog_Jr
post Sep 11 2010, 12:18 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

vlc is my best movie player..

now i am using Oplayer. Pretty good without converting the videos from rmvb, wmv, avi and even mkv.

Only issue is no idea how to swap audio channel when the movie got two audio languages.
dinodog_Jr
post Sep 11 2010, 04:22 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

QUOTE(mrhenree @ Sep 11 2010, 02:00 PM)
Try setting, audio setting, then audio stream index.  smile.gif
hee.. i tried all channels ...from 0 to 9...Yeah, it doesn't work.

VLC is going to give us everything from the desktop features with NO BANNER floating..haha..*Hopefully*
dinodog_Jr
post Sep 12 2010, 01:18 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

Good News..~! Bring us more & faster....~! I am going to see what's on ipad 4 instead...
dinodog_Jr
post Sep 15 2010, 09:44 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Sep 15 2010, 12:46 AM)
Hi there, been looking around this forum and really considering to get an Ipad.
Most probably I will use it to surf net, check mails, watch videos, and occasional gaming (rarely as I have PS3 tongue.gif).
So as expected, I have several questions in my head.

Here goes:

1. What format of videos can it play? .avi? .mkv? .mp4?
2. Is the multitasking feature available already? i.e.: MSN while surfing net..I heard new OS will address this issue.
3. Based on my purpose to get it, is 16gb really enough? Or not? Or can't tell because it varies with everyone?

So far only these questions....I will update if I have more.

Really seriously considering it. biggrin.gif
I will say if you don't like the fussy of update video files constantly. You may get 32GB or 64GB. There are apps which allow to watch videos format such as avi, mkv, rmvb or mp4 without any conversion job. I afraid RMVB around 500mb will have sound out of sync issue. But MKV with almost 1GB is smooth on ipad. But it could not load built in subtitles.
(I am using Oplayer.)

Good things is you can delete the videos directly out from ipad within the apps.

Previously i was planned with 64GB to store alot of my favourite movies or video tutorials for study. After that, i found out. I spent most of my time surfing net or playing games with it..

Viewing picture and reading becomes secondary activities which was my main reasons for ipad. I need to discipline myself.

Reading comic & pdf on ipad is a bliss.. So much nicer 'paper size' compare to monitor. Please take note that holding an ipad for a certain period to do all the above task will tired your arm.

Good lar train muscles..haha

If i have a chance again, i will take 32GB and spent the cash for accessories like a good folio or protector gear. Or even an Applecare for it. or even a MIFI!

Since this is the 1st Generation of Ipad. Grab one now and feel the technology before the 2nd one announcing.
The upcoming one would be more excited to see!.

This post has been edited by dinodog_Jr: Sep 15 2010, 09:49 AM
dinodog_Jr
post Sep 22 2010, 12:32 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

Haha..agree so... The ipad battery power is indeed impressive... Watch Movies like 45mins, read pdf or PNG comic 45 mins.. Play 1 hour plus games... Surfing Net like 1 hour..

I just feels like if i do all the above on my laptop.. The battery life already going down under 60%.

Ipad could possibly make it around 80% or more.. I seldom worry about its battery life.. Not like the worry i usually did on a laptop.

Ipad could make it around 85% to 90% with the above activities i had done.
dinodog_Jr
post Sep 24 2010, 12:39 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

I tested the VLC player.. It need time to improve everything.. Too many issues... Hopefully the next updates would fixes all major issues.

Even Avi format it can crash the apps... I don't know what can i do with VLC player at the moment. Give myself a rest from that .

Will check out Zumocast...Hooray for RMVB..!

dinodog_Jr
post Oct 4 2010, 12:04 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Oct 3 2010, 02:43 PM)
U can try Remote 2.0 from Apple

Link: http://www.apple.com/itunes/remote/
Nice sharing!...Really handy apps for itunes.

Hopefully can control movie player too..

thx!
dinodog_Jr
post Oct 4 2010, 01:15 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

Ipad is not invented to make everyone happy customer.
But it is truly a gadget that can easily make peoples curious and red eyes. it is around the price of the latest iphone but there is magical attraction to people surrounding it.

To me, Ipad is a bizarre gadget in recent year. You won't say it is totally useless and as useful as a personal computer.

Looking at the hardware naked, you will feel everything i want to do i can do on my laptop or Pc.

And what can i possibly do with it actually?!

There are Millions of Apps which make ipad more than we could imagine. It is not about the outdated hardware spec of ipad in my case.
You need to be hardworking & smart to take responsibilities of yourself with the ipad.You need to be a creative user just like how creativity/innovative those apps available in the store.

Else, it is going to rest in peace in real soon. And gave peoples the false impression about the ipad when you have been asked of it.

Might as well get one and search the answer out from yourself..You can't feel the pros and cons of ipad without "abusing" it.

Swiping it for a few minutes or half an hour is not going to judge how ipad can change your life.

If ipad cannot be your new friend in your life. You know where to let go for a new owner.

Going to wait another 6 months for me.. No way man.. haha..

So, don't get yourself keep thinking of "ipad" for so many months.. It is suffering to the heart & brain.
Don't listen and believe reviews from any genius or apple fans.
Their life style is not your life style.

Iphone 4G, 5G or even 10G will never replace the potential of an ipad. Its bigger screen convert things in a different dimension.

In fact, You might not even need an ipad if you think hardly enough.
dinodog_Jr
post Oct 25 2010, 04:44 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

QUOTE(darlyn @ Oct 25 2010, 10:06 AM)
i just bought the ipad. but i finds that i cannot surf net and at the same time chatting with my friends. is there a way to multi tasking like a normal pc ? thanks
im+ on ipad.

Its Free.
dinodog_Jr
post Oct 31 2010, 11:25 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

How is the RMVB files working smooth with Buzz Player HD?
Any test on high resolution MKV video files which over 740x560/480?

Anyone can check?

thanx.

0.0268sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:14 AM