146 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Bottom

Apple iPad Discussion Thread v3, Everything about iPad

TechnoDude94
post Sep 28 2010, 11:27 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

@frutie: What phone are you using? If you are using an Android-based phone you can enable your phone to become a "Wi-Fi Hotspot". Even if you're using an iPhone you can tether your Internet to your iPad but your iPhone has to be jailbroken. Just my 2 cents, hope I've helped with your temporary Mi-Fi woes.
Agito666
post Sep 28 2010, 11:32 AM

11,861 posts

oh ya.... Frutie, you also can install free Adobe photoshop express for ipad biggrin.gif

but just can edit simple stuff only.
fruitie
post Sep 28 2010, 11:38 AM

Rise and Shine
72,826 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Sep 28 2010, 11:27 AM)
@frutie: What phone are you using? If you are using an Android-based phone you can enable your phone to become a "Wi-Fi Hotspot". Even if you're using an iPhone you can tether your Internet to your iPad but your iPhone has to be jailbroken. Just my 2 cents, hope I've helped with your temporary Mi-Fi woes.
I'm using company's phone Nokia E71 but then my data SIM card is forever stored in my USB modem connected to my laptop.
Ya, if I get the MiFi, my current modem will be redundant. I love it so much! cry.gif

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Sep 28 2010, 11:32 AM)
oh ya.... Frutie, you also can install free Adobe photoshop express for ipad biggrin.gif

but just can edit simple stuff only.
Hey, that's really useful! biggrin.gif
I only want to edit simple stuffs. tongue.gif

By the way, kinda interested in your stylus, looking at it now but kinda confusing with the name. rclxub.gif

Added on September 28, 2010, 11:40 amBy the way, can I use the stylus for note taking, pretty need it when I go for meetings.

This post has been edited by fruitie: Sep 28 2010, 11:40 AM
Agito666
post Sep 28 2010, 11:41 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 28 2010, 11:38 AM)
I'm using company's phone Nokia E71 but then my data SIM card is forever stored in my USB modem connected to my laptop.
Ya, if I get the MiFi, my current modem will be redundant. I love it so much! cry.gif
Hey, that's really useful! biggrin.gif
I only want to edit simple stuffs. tongue.gif

By the way, kinda interested in your stylus, looking at it now but kinda confusing with the name. rclxub.gif
ya kinda crappy web design.... if dun have member recommended i also wont open bulk list to try buy this stylus to try...

pogo i heard sometimes had to press harder to detect by ipad.
Dagi pula had to use in fixed angle to do that, the "point" of the pen is plastic so you had to paste Screen protector before use the stylus to prevent your lovely ipad got scratches. tongue.gif
fruitie
post Sep 28 2010, 11:44 AM

Rise and Shine
72,826 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Sep 28 2010, 11:41 AM)
ya kinda crappy web design.... if dun have member recommended i also wont open bulk list to try buy this stylus to try...

pogo i heard sometimes had to press harder to detect by ipad.
Dagi pula had to use in fixed angle to do that, the "point" of the pen is plastic so you had to paste Screen protector before use the stylus to prevent your lovely ipad got scratches. tongue.gif
Cool. Is it recommended for sketching only? How about note taking? Oh well, is note taking a good thing on iPad on the first place?
Agito666
post Sep 28 2010, 11:49 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 28 2010, 11:44 AM)
Cool. Is it recommended for sketching only? How about note taking? Oh well, is note taking a good thing on iPad on the first place?
yes...basically all stylus ( capasitive stylus) are act like extension of your fingers....
in other words, the stylus is a conductor to direct our static electric to ipad's screen. smile.gif

you can sketch, take note , writing.... etc whatever you like....buy 2 stylus can make it like using 2 fingers...hold them like you holding chopsticks brows.gif

i bet you are imagining you are taking note with ipad and stylus and it will be a spot light on you... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Agito666: Sep 28 2010, 11:51 AM
zhou86
post Sep 28 2010, 11:50 AM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

You can use it for notetaking...handwritten notes. Just get the app Penultimate...
fruitie
post Sep 28 2010, 11:52 AM

Rise and Shine
72,826 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Sep 28 2010, 11:49 AM)
yes...basically all stylus ( capasitive stylus) are act like extension of your fingers....
in other words, the stylus is a conductor to direct our static electric to ipad's screen. smile.gif
Woot! Love it! Might drop by in a sort while but RM 60+ for the stylus is a bit heartache for me. laugh.gif

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Sep 28 2010, 11:50 AM)
You can use it for notetaking...handwritten notes. Just get the app Penultimate...
OK man! Thanks a lot! I gotta bug you guys life a lot today.
So in order to register for an iTunes account, I need to get a free app first?
zhou86
post Sep 28 2010, 11:54 AM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

Nope. The first time you connect your iPad to your comp with iTunes installed, iTunes will auto detect, open and prompt you to register your iPad for warranty and iTunes account...then it will auto sync and you are good to go...
fruitie
post Sep 28 2010, 11:59 AM

Rise and Shine
72,826 posts

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Sep 28 2010, 11:54 AM)
Nope. The first time you connect your iPad to your comp with iTunes installed, iTunes will auto detect, open and prompt you to register your iPad for warranty and iTunes account...then it will auto sync and you are good to go...
Oh that's simple! icon_rolleyes.gif
zhou86
post Sep 28 2010, 12:06 PM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

Hehe apple is pandai at taking care of their precious customers... smile.gif
TechnoDude94
post Sep 28 2010, 01:51 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

If you guys wanna get a stylus for your iPad.
I recommend that you search in YouTube for "DIY iPad Stylus".
I made it with household items in less than a minute and it works fine!
fruitie
post Sep 28 2010, 02:38 PM

Rise and Shine
72,826 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Sep 28 2010, 01:51 PM)
If you guys wanna get a stylus for your iPad.
I recommend that you search in YouTube for "DIY iPad Stylus".
I made it with household items in less than a minute and it works fine!
This looks ugly but can be found easily at everyone's house:

This rocks but I don't think I have the material... sweat.gif

Agito666
post Sep 28 2010, 02:41 PM

11,861 posts

homemade stylus is good but...

using it in outside looks uncool sad.gif
and usually i homemade one very fast broken... so i prefer buy one. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Agito666: Sep 28 2010, 02:41 PM
k0k5k0k
post Sep 28 2010, 04:17 PM

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 27 2010, 10:15 PM)
Got this tip from : http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2933410

You can play any video file using IPAD VLC, just rename file ext.

Rename the filename to filename.avi. Thats it!
Any supported format in the Desktop version, Ipad version support. just rename to something.avi.
eg.

superduper.rmvb to superduper.rmvb.avi
superduper.vob to superduper.vob.avi

Load in using itunes, and play! To remove, delete the file from within itune's ipad/apps/vlc, highlight the file and press del key.

I dont have any RMVB files - can some one test and revert
i've tried it, it's WORK !!!
thanks so much ~

by the way, the video will lag abit when use VLC player to watch rmvb format..

therefore, any FREE video player recommend ?

This post has been edited by k0k5k0k: Sep 28 2010, 04:34 PM
Jerm_vii
post Sep 28 2010, 05:09 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(k0k5k0k @ Sep 28 2010, 04:17 PM)
i've tried it, it's WORK !!!
thanks so much ~

by the way, the video will lag abit when use VLC player to watch rmvb format..

therefore, any FREE video player recommend ?
Read the older posts man..I replied to this question before..

Anyone else have problems with pages export to PDF??

Nice contributions regards to stylus..dun see myself owning one though...
leongtat
post Sep 28 2010, 05:52 PM

950 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 27 2010, 11:57 PM)
I get that kind of "teasing" with all my gadgets, God knows how much I have spent throughout the years. rclxub.gif

Anyway, which MiFi modem that allows continuous charging using USB cable? Please advise. smile.gif
err... actually im using one old motorola charger which apparently had the micro usb adapter... i just plug it on to my wall jack and let my mifi broadcasting it... you might consider it...
Cw_Huan89
post Sep 28 2010, 05:58 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 27 2010, 10:15 PM)
Got this tip from : http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2933410

You can play any video file using IPAD VLC, just rename file ext.

Rename the filename to filename.avi. Thats it!
Any supported format in the Desktop version, Ipad version support. just rename to something.avi.
eg.

superduper.rmvb to superduper.rmvb.avi
superduper.vob to superduper.vob.avi

Load in using itunes, and play! To remove, delete the file from within itune's ipad/apps/vlc, highlight the file and press del key.

I dont have any RMVB files - can some one test and revert
Hmm.. That's a good news, but still it doesn't work for MKV even though I changed the file name by adding .avi hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Cw_Huan89: Sep 28 2010, 06:02 PM
benny888
post Sep 28 2010, 06:53 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

iPAD STYLUS : A post by a member at Spore Hardwarezone:
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2881557

Just want to weigh in finally on my "stylus search" saga. I've bought 4 styluses in my quest for the optimum stylus to be used for handwriting on my iPad, in particular on the Penultimate app. Note that I'm not interested in sketching, drawing etc, because these are more "forgiving" operations, compared to handwriting. If the stylus does well on handwriting, the rest will be a walk in the park.

Looking at the attached pic, from left to right they are:
1. Rumiere: bought from the 6th flr Mac store in Sim Lim. $17.
Pros: writes relatively well.
Cons: too short, causes finger fatigue. Probably good for use on the smaller iPhone.
Rating: 6/10

2. Boxwave: bought from Boxwave online (USA). $35 incl shipping. Waited 2 weeks.
Pros: writes OK (but not as good as the Rumiere), better grip as it's shaped like a real pen, compared to the Rumiere.
Cons: expected more of it as it received good online reviews, not enough weight to give stability.
Rating: 6.5/10

3. iFinger: bought from Popular in Jurong Pt. $35 which included 20% discount for members (offer till end Sep).
Pros: writes pretty well, almost same as Rumiere, better grip as it's shaped like a real pen, compared to the Rumiere. Quite well made, and has some weight compared to the Boxware to add to the stability.
Cons: has a real ballpoint pen tip on the other hand, I thought this is unnecessary, as the ink shaft does not seem to be replaceable.
Rating: 7.5/10

4. China stylus: bought from Dealextreme.com (HK/China online merchant). $4 incl shipping. Waited 2 weeks.
Pros: none.
Cons: next to unusable on the iPad. The tip is just a block of hard rubber. Feels more like a rubber erase than anything else. Even simple operations like touching on weblinks is not smooth. $4 paid is $4 too much.
Rating: 0/10

I noticed that the tips of the first 3 styluses are all made of soft rubber. In fact, it seems that the softer it is, the better it is in handwriting. So Rumiere's is the softest, next is iFinger, next is Boxwave.

In total, I spent $91 in my "quest". In the end, iFinger is the overall "winner". I will use that going forward. :-)

fruitie
post Sep 28 2010, 09:47 PM

Rise and Shine
72,826 posts

Got my iPad! biggrin.gif

146 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0312sec    0.96    6 queries    GZIP Disabled