benny888
post Aug 13 2010, 10:12 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 13 2010, 09:35 AM)
hmmm anyone used pogo stylus before? what is it feel like?
Using finger is 101 % reliable, fast and good response. Using the pogo stylus plus 2 others i tried is frustrating, perhaps 90% max . It might be good for those who draws/sketches on pad. For normal use - nothing beats the finger
It will be good for those who need to wear gloves because of the weather

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 13 2010, 10:15 AM
benny888
post Aug 13 2010, 10:35 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

This is funny :

http://teqnolog.wordpress.com/2010/08/13/a...ts-job-on-ipad/

This is funny:
http://teqnolog.wordpress.com/2010/08/13/a...ts-job-on-ipad/

MODERATORS NOTE: DO NOT DOUBLE POST !!!!!!!!!!!!
benny888
post Aug 14 2010, 01:26 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ Aug 14 2010, 12:34 PM)
Finally got my iPad 64GB Wifi at SGD1028. Tax refund at airport was SGD56.

Been calling almost all the shops SG official resellers (roaming calls..my phone bills habis lo! ) and all standard answer "Sorry no stock".

Make a trip to Orchard and no luck. Went to Lucky Plaza with plenty of stocks but price all mark up, cheapest also SGD1100..some even SGD1350. Finally decided to buy from the shop selling SGD1100 but end up cannot recall the location of the shop, tired and fed up so called it a day.

Second day went to Sim Lim trying my luck. Same price with Lucky Plaza..until I went into an official reseller NuBox at Sim Lim, they told me no stock but they said maybe Jurong Point might have stock. Immediately call Nubox Jurong Point and make a reservation..took cab rush over and bought it. Bought Power Support Crystal Clear screen protector and the Apple iPad case (SGD58 each).

Finally iPad hunt is over!
Wow ! Respect and admire your efforts just to get the iPad. I supposed you will sleep with it tonight or will it be " Sleepless in iPadcity" ?
Enjoy your new toy
benny888
post Aug 14 2010, 05:54 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(55+ @ Aug 14 2010, 01:40 PM)
Disadvantage getting US Itune Account: (my personal experience)
1. must create VPN account costing RM20 for 3 months
2. initially put address in Texas (my son working there), 1st purchase kena 8% tax on all itune purchases. LA address worst with 10% state tax on any purchase. Advised to put Oregon State address, any address just google. and it is FREE of any tax. i.e. what price stated in application, that's the charge.
3. must buy itune gift cards which more or less equivalent to RM3.5 one USD as against present RM3.1
Guess it helps to clarify matters. Or maybe there is a better way?
I have been using my US itunes account 4 years already I'd never encountered such taxes cos I only use iTunes gift certs for purchases. I was told that if you list your address as in California, one will not be subjected to any taxes ; dunno true or not but I still use a California address . For the past 4 years I did not notice any extra charge make to all my purchases
benny888
post Aug 18 2010, 10:11 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

iPad order online from spore store takes about 7 to 10 days. But delivery address must be in spore. Now control tighter , previously about 2 years ago, I can use MSIAN credit card with delivery to spore address but now must be spore credit card and delivery address must be same as credit card address
benny888
post Aug 19 2010, 09:38 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jonest @ Aug 19 2010, 08:24 PM)
Just got myself the maxis prepaid card, intend to cut it into micro sim and place it into the iPad and subscribe tod the 3G services on daily basis at rm8/- per day. How do you subscribe it especially when the card is inside the iPad?
This is just normal prepaid top up. Just ask the telco shop to topup for you. It is expensive at RM8 /day - I tried it and gave up after a month. Now using Digi only RM2 per day and line is active for 90 day

http://www.digi.com.my/internet/promo_limited_pre.html

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 19 2010, 10:21 PM
benny888
post Aug 19 2010, 11:15 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jasonbourne222 @ Aug 19 2010, 11:02 PM)
yea its fully charged...do i have to install / setup the ipad with itunes in order to get it running..??
YES ; a brand new ipad must be connected to computer and need iTunes to have it activated before one can use it
benny888
post Aug 20 2010, 11:53 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(DDSFan8 @ Aug 20 2010, 09:17 AM)
question -

If I buy an iPad in Singapore and apply for a Maxis service here, will it work?
Why not ? There is no restriction - many members here using sets from Spore, Australia , UK and USA. Mine is Australian set - i have tested with all 3 telcos - Digi, Celcom, Hotlink Maxis
benny888
post Aug 20 2010, 08:24 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(DDSFan8 @ Aug 20 2010, 07:17 PM)
you mean we have to cut it ourselves? if we give the Digi people to do it, will they?
QUOTE(Suk @ Aug 19 2010, 09:44 PM)
anyone can help me to cut micro-sim ?
location KL,cheras

tq in advance

You can do it yourself easily

This is my answer to several who PM me about how to cut the card : you just need a sharp scissors and a piece of paper

First get the size of the card ; put a piece of paper inside the simcard slot - slightly pressed along the edges to get a impression. Cut the paper to have the size. Put paper on top of the simcard and use a pencil to trace the size on the card. What I did I cut first the right handside close to the gold edge. Then I trim the rest - it is alright to trim off slightly the top n bottoms of the gold edges. The important area is the centre part where you see 2 lines

I have cut so far 5 cards : Digi, celcom, hotlink all works perfectly without any issues
benny888
post Aug 20 2010, 11:24 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jasonbourne222 @ Aug 20 2010, 10:46 PM)
hey guys, im confused right now...how do i transfer videos or pictures and music from my PC to my IPAD?? its complicated...what kind of app should i use?? and please tell me theres a FREE way of doing this...its just file transfer lol smile.gif
Just use iTunes :in iTunes windows under Devices/iPad " Look at the RHS iPAD window - there are tabs for various items - Movies, audio, photos etc . Just go thro each tab study the features

At iTunes - select File/Add to Library whatever you want to transfer to iTunes for transfer to ipad

Suggest you download the FREE ipad user guide from iBooks store to understand all the basics of using the ipad

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 20 2010, 11:26 PM
benny888
post Aug 23 2010, 05:46 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jonest @ Aug 23 2010, 02:31 PM)
Hey Guys,

Any1 knows how to activate Maxis Hotlink 3G daily pass on the iPad? Went into the sim application under setting and select the wap portal, however came to an error msg.

any1 can help?

I don't think you can activate it from the ipad. Are you referring to the RM8/day - you have to activate by SMS using a phone. That's main reason why I stop using this Maxis - it is expensive and not so practical to use on the ipad unless you have a iphone4 to use with it to send the sms.
The best I find on prepaid is still Digi internet package
http://www.digi.com.my/internet/promo_limited_pre.html

Daily is only RM2 and a topup of RM10 gives you 5 days usage ( no limit ). The line is active for 90 days

benny888
post Aug 23 2010, 09:14 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I always advised students /or young execs buy ipad if you already own a notebook. Don't buy it thinking it can be your substitute notebook - you will be dissapointed. It will never substitute a notebook - you can of course purchase apps to improve its usage .
I have also quoted I have no qualms spending RM7k on a macbook air for my son but I will never buy an ipad for him. If he wants , he has to earn his money somewhere somehow to get it. The ipad I'd say more for those who has the extra money to spurge on it if he has already a good notebook.

benny888
post Aug 24 2010, 08:52 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Aug 23 2010, 09:55 PM)
yeah, i luv that place, 1st Starbucks drive-thru in Msia, parking also free !!! I think JB iPad population is quite low sad.gif  .... anyone else wanna go JB iPad get-together session ?

Added on August 23, 2010, 9:57 pm

so we got 3, me + you + jonest ...hehe ...anymore in Johor ? think 4 more from the records ...
Why don't you put up a new thread to attract iPad owners. There are definitely more than 6 in johor. I already knew a few chaps in bat pahat having the ipads even earlier than me. There are many shy lurkers in this forum. Organized a meet up with date/time/place. I can attend anytime as I am a retiree.
benny888
post Aug 24 2010, 10:33 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Aug 24 2010, 10:13 AM)
Hi guys,
Hope you guys can brief me on some of the things that I might missed out of having a iPad.

I plan to buy one, still deciding on the size required. Don't think will go for the 3G model...
My usage:
1. Let my son play game
2. Let my wife watch RMVB movie and also online streaming.
3. Might need to store some cartoons for long journey trips.
...I think I will jail break it as well.

So what iPad cannot do to fulfill my usage above? Can my external hard drive work as a storage for iPad?

Really appreciate the feedback.  smile.gif
Rvmb movies you need purchase 3rd party app. So far most of review of such apps unfavorable main complain is laggy. It would be better to convert such movies/audios to mp4 format. Also since your movies likely big file size 700mb n above, getting these movies in rmvb format over the internet will take a long long time considering our poor broadband speeds. Best solution is to convert and transfer over using iTunes in apple format or use air video a free app
Jbreak will definately allow your iPad to have more selection in software. Infact one of the better video player is a JB version

You need to buy a camera connection kit to allow plugin USB thumb flash drive only not hard drives. And file transfer is slow more suitable for small files

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 24 2010, 10:35 AM
benny888
post Aug 24 2010, 03:14 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jonest @ Aug 24 2010, 12:10 PM)
Where ru from? It would be great to have u along since ur one of the most knowledgeable ones here in lyn!

Mackido,

I think you start a thread on jb iPad gathering calling all owners and owners to be. We can share knowledge and newbies like me will know how to best optimise our iPad usage!

Cheerios
I am from Batu Pahat. I am not most knowledgeable, there are several ones at this forum who are really the sifus and gurus - still learning about how to get the max $$$ out of it/ I leave to you guys to organize as my time is flexible unlike most of you who need to consider your work/study schedule/ I will come, JB only 1.5 hours away, no sweat going down
benny888
post Aug 25 2010, 09:21 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

If you bought the DIGI Internet prepaid , it is auto activated. After cut your card, insert the card . It will take few seconds to detect, you will see signal bars and DIGI at top left corner. At settings/cellular data/apn settings set your apn to 3gdgnet. Read the small guide to reconfirm

Just buy reload coupon, start at rm10, IE 5 days usage. You ask the shop to topup for u or you use another DIGI line and dial from phone - read the guide is all there. Dial *123*16digit number*01 your phone no#

Omg I don't believe I need to spoon feed this as it is all in the small guide booklet

QUOTE(arthurlwf @ Aug 25 2010, 01:19 AM)
Which country do you register in itune when you go online using your ipad????
I always register Malaysia

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 25 2010, 09:27 AM
benny888
post Aug 25 2010, 10:22 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(fcchung @ Aug 25 2010, 09:52 AM)
thanks a lot...you know where is it can provide sim card cutting services?coz i dun know how to cut...
You can do it yourself : it is very easy . And I always say, if I an old man with unsteady hands can do it, why can't others do it ? OR you pay I think RM5 at least - some PDA telco outlets will do it for you - I dunno where as I never bother to find out

OR you can ask for help from any of members here - if you are in KL . One of the member Beavis86 is an expert - i see the way he cut it , just snip here, snip there without much guide; my!! he is a real expert - I'd said he can cut it with one eye close !

This is my answer to several who PM me about how to cut the card : you just need a sharp scissors and a piece of paper

First get the size of the card ; put a piece of paper inside the simcard slot - slightly pressed along the edges to get a impression. Cut the paper to have the size. Put paper on top of the simcard and use a pencil to trace the size on the card. What I did I cut first the right handside close to the gold edge. Then I trim the rest - it is alright to trim off slightly the top n bottoms of the gold edges. The important area is the centre part where you see 2 lines

I have cut so far 5 cards : Digi, celcom, hotlink all works perfectly without any issues

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 25 2010, 10:27 AM
benny888
post Aug 25 2010, 06:54 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

The ipad will enjoy international warranty in Msia once the unit is available officially for sale . meanwhile the closest point for claims is Spore.

Genuine - you mean China lookalike copy ?? As far as I know none available in Msia yet ; plenty in HK now , only US$150
benny888
post Aug 26 2010, 10:15 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Yukaeshi @ Aug 26 2010, 03:29 AM)
The iPad's battery life is really pretty impressive. I just got mine on the 20th and only needed to charge on the 24th with quite frequent and constant usage, which for me was e-books before bed and surfing mainly, with some light note-taking smile.gif

I have yet to really try putting PPT files into my iPad yet, but some of my lecture notes are also PDF, so I really can't comment on that sad.gif I'm also looking for an app that can allow me to at least open and edit Word, Excel and PPT files, but honestly, I still like bringing a hard copy of my notes to classes to refer to (Like a textbook) and writing my own notes on my iPad tongue.gif
JB , install backgrounder, allow multitask. Quickoffice is good at us14.99 one of cheaper ones. Until today I still find the iPad keyboard not so user friendly and edits bit leceh. Keynote does good job reading PowerPoint slides. If you use default viewer, many PowerPoint slides I find is poorly display with funny fonts, margins displaced, a bit unsightly.

benny888
post Aug 27 2010, 06:10 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(arthurlwf @ Aug 27 2010, 02:06 PM)
Thxs.... i just talk to the DiGi centre and was inform that Digi don't assist to top up for customer...
And need to insert (micro)sim card to a phone to reload

But the thing is that I need to get a converter to put the micro-sim and insert into normal phone to reload... it's kinda inconvenient...
The DIGI centers will not do such service for you ; any of the telephone shop selling phone topup cards will happily do for you. If any of such shop don't , just don't patronise them

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0420sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:43 AM