Group LYN Buddhism Retreat - SERIOUS TALK, No trolling please

eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 17 2010, 02:55 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 17 2010, 02:47 PM)
hahaha..another question for u: is leaving anything behind(your remains) pose any importance at all?  rolleyes.gif
blink.gif  i tot this is basic knowledge?

yeah...that's why the Buddha said the human life is still the best..we can experience all 6 realms and have more time and attention for the Dhamma..

at heavenly realms..you enjoy too much and care less about enriching yourself spiritually..

at lower realms..u suffer too much to even bother..

that's why the Buddha chose to be reborn in the human realm.  biggrin.gif
It does, to your family members at least. (those who chose not to burn the corpses that is)

QUOTE(kenmirzz @ Aug 17 2010, 02:53 PM)
The teaching of Buddha can be said to be the most tolerant and peace-loving as compared with other religions. The absence of eternal torture for unbelievers in Buddhism is a unique trait of this non-Abrahamic religion.
One thing I like about Buddhism is that the preachers/teachers don't force you to join it unlike certain alternatives.
soul2soul
post Aug 17 2010, 03:29 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Aug 17 2010, 02:55 PM)
It does, to your family members at least. (those who chose not to burn the corpses that is)
One thing I like about Buddhism is that the preachers/teachers don't force you to join it unlike certain alternatives.
Have you all ever pondered about death? It seems more and more real as I get older. sad.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 17 2010, 03:33 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Aug 17 2010, 03:29 PM)
Have you all ever pondered about death?  It seems more and more real as I get older.  sad.gif
Yeah. Last friend to make in a lifetime. laugh.gif

Crap I forgot the quote I read from an article back then (Buddhism article), but I chose to embrace it.

I'll take it as it comes I guess.

Added on August 17, 2010, 3:33 pmWhat about you? Any interesting things you like to highlight?

This post has been edited by eXPeri3nc3: Aug 17 2010, 03:33 PM
zstan
post Aug 17 2010, 03:45 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Aug 17 2010, 03:29 PM)
Have you all ever pondered about death?  It seems more and more real as I get older.  sad.gif
i cheated death a few times already. unsure.gif unsure.gif

soul2soul
post Aug 17 2010, 04:12 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

The relics of Ven Sariputta and Ven Mahamoganally were found earlier part of 20th century. Parts of them are on display in India, Sri Lanka and Burma. Stupa of Ven Sariputta , the great Marshal of the Dhamma.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sariputta

This actually served as a reminder to us that the Buddha and his great disciples were actually REAL people in the past. notworthy.gif

The Relics were excavated by the greedy British , but were later returned to India.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Relics_of_Sar..._Mahamoggallana

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Aug 17 2010, 04:16 PM
eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 17 2010, 04:15 PM

9,257 posts

soul you read a lot regarding Buddhism or you learned about it from schools?
soul2soul
post Aug 17 2010, 04:33 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Aug 17 2010, 04:15 PM)
soul you read a lot regarding Buddhism or you learned about it from schools?
Read and study from a teacher.

Accounts of Venerable Mahamoganalla;

Moggallana’s Last Days

So the ascetics and the bandits met their end....

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Aug 17 2010, 04:52 PM
Cho_Hakkai
post Aug 17 2010, 11:12 PM

426 posts

Is it true that originally buddha's teaching must come from those written with Sanskrit?

Is it true that Siddhartha Gautama hate things to be written in Sanskrit?
teongpeng
post Aug 17 2010, 11:52 PM

Justified and Ancient
2,003 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 17 2010, 03:45 PM)
i cheated death a few times already.  unsure.gif  unsure.gif

did u cheat death, or did death ignore you?

Joey-kun
post Aug 18 2010, 09:26 AM

no avatar plagarism plz, foxboy sez nuz
4,662 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Aug 17 2010, 11:31 AM)
But to me that does not sound like removing it. More like preventing bad seeds to be planted.

A Brother once told the students in my University in a Dharma Talk that good karmic seeds act as a hook to the door that is going to slam against you (bad karmic seeds), hence preventing one from being slammed by the door (effect). Also he said that it'll all be there until one reached enlightenment.

Well perhaps it can be from a different perspective, but both do does make sense.
the steps are to remove the seeds because Karma can come back in 4 different ways. For example a person who kills will be more inclined to kill in his future life and will be born in a place with a lot of violence. I forgot the exact term, need to go back and consult the text tongue.gif

karma is not everything. merits are more important as merits are the inclination to do good rather than just having something good.

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Aug 17 2010, 11:51 AM)
Some kamma are heavier, like committing matricide or patricide (killing parents), so the effect of this kamma may last a few lifetime like in the case of Ven Mahamoganalla.

Even good kamma that propels beings to the heavenly states (gods) will once day finish and they have to drop down to the human state or the evil destinies sooner or later.

Doing lots of good in this life will help us to be happy here and now, have a calm mind at death, and to reappear in good places after this life terminates.  It's like putting more good kamma in our pockets, so the probability of striking a good kamma is higher.
correct but at the time of death you cant control which karma that will ripen so the most familiar karma will take over. But what is more important than just enjoying a smooth life is that we do something more with it rather than just existing.

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Aug 17 2010, 12:01 PM)
Oh that's new to me. I never knew Gods that ran out of good karmic deeds / seeds will drop down from their state.

Hmm Karmic stuff so wide.
What you said is in conjunction to the definition of impermanence I guess.

But personally the thought that the BAD karmic seeds will not disappear until reborn into Buddhahood kind of scares me to be honest laugh.gif
Yep, it is mentioned that only fully enlightened Buddhas can see and calculate a person's karma from start to end. Not even Bodhisattvas and arahats can see the full extent of a person's karma.

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Aug 17 2010, 01:55 PM)
Theravada suttas (tipitaka). In the Sutta Pitaka it was mentioned that Sakka (king of the gods) paid buddha a visit when he got depressed knowing he was going to die soon as a deva.  There is also a story of a deva who panic after he saw his female playmates all disappear in front of him (apparently all took rebirth in Avici Hell after their kamma as gods finish).

The Abidhamma portion of the Tipitaka gave the lifespan of each gods, from a few million human years to a hundreds of thousands of Aeons (world cycles).

So the gods are not permanent, so warned by the Buddha.
It is said that when gods leave the heavenly realm, the suffering of that time is 16 times more of that of Avici, the hottest hell because its like everything is suddenly taken away. Those in the form and formless realms undergo more suffering because they can see where they end up after their good karma exhausts (which is, the hells) and they cant do a thing about it.

and oh yeah it would be helpful to know from you guys which school of Buddhism do we refer to because even though the teachings are the same but the viewpoints and focus on some subjects are noticeably different. It would be easier to reconcile and there will be less misunderstandings.

This post has been edited by Joey-kun: Aug 18 2010, 09:39 AM
soul2soul
post Aug 18 2010, 10:51 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(Cho_Hakkai @ Aug 17 2010, 11:12 PM)
Is it true that originally buddha's teaching must come from those written with Sanskrit?

Is it true that Siddhartha Gautama hate things to be written in Sanskrit?
Pali earlier, Sanskirt later part of buddhism.
CyberSetan
post Aug 18 2010, 11:02 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

Eh? its back in Kopitiam? ~ what happened already

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Aug 18 2010, 11:05 AM
soul2soul
post Aug 18 2010, 11:05 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Aug 18 2010, 11:02 AM)
Eh? its back in Kopitiam? section I see~ what happened already
a lot of old troll debaters kat RWI
PetomJL
post Aug 18 2010, 11:30 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(loki @ Aug 10 2010, 06:37 PM)
jangan bang...nanti kena ISA baru tau

Buddhism is a teaching, not a religion. Buddha is a teacher, not a god/saint...
Actually its not impossible. According to Islamic teaching, there were 313 rasul and more than 100,000 nabi, but only 25 mentioned in the Quran. But it seemed that it is only an idea and never researched, so I leave it like that.

Anyway, there is a question i've been wondering, are the the chinese gods, demons etc (maybe I watched too much chinese drama tongue.gif ) part of Buddha's teachings?
chezzball
post Aug 18 2010, 11:31 AM

Cheese
1,542 posts

namoamitabha
soul2soul
post Aug 18 2010, 11:35 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(PetomJL @ Aug 18 2010, 11:30 AM)
Actually its not impossible. According to Islamic teaching, there were 313 rasul and more than 100,000 nabi, but only 25 mentioned in the Quran. But it seemed that it is only an idea and never researched, so I leave it like that.

Anyway, there is a question i've been wondering, are the the chinese gods, demons etc (maybe I watched too much chinese drama  tongue.gif ) part of Buddha's teachings?
gods / demons - yes in buddhism.

The lower gods have eternal conflict with the Asuras (demons/ jealous ones) after they drove out the Titans from Travatimsa.

Conflicts were recorded in the Buddhist Sutta, where Lord Sakka (king of the gods) admitted to the Buddha his victory over the Titans were done in violence, and the happiness that arose from that occasion were shortlived.

The higher gods are free from those conflicts.

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Aug 18 2010, 11:39 AM
chezzball
post Aug 18 2010, 11:44 AM

Cheese
1,542 posts

i tot buddha no god wan
soul2soul
post Aug 18 2010, 11:45 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(chezzball @ Aug 18 2010, 11:44 AM)
i tot buddha no god wan
Got.

you can become god also, but not easy la.
purplebuilder
post Aug 18 2010, 11:45 AM

124 posts

For anyone who are interested in getting to know more deeper about Buddha's teaching can click here---->

Access to Insight

or

BuddhaNet
HangPC2
post Aug 18 2010, 11:47 AM

408 posts

What a Difference '' Hinayana '' and '' Mahayana '' Sutra

119 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0570sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled