I dont see a purpose of this thread as its a duplicate of All About Religion thread.
You fellas should stop debating.
All religions are bollocks.
Group LYN Buddhism Retreat - SERIOUS TALK, No trolling please
Aug 16 2010, 06:42 PM
66 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Kenpachi Fried Chicken! |
Reported this thread for mods to take action.
I dont see a purpose of this thread as its a duplicate of All About Religion thread. You fellas should stop debating. All religions are bollocks. |
Aug 16 2010, 06:42 PM
943 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia. |
Aug 16 2010, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(Deadlocks @ Aug 16 2010, 06:42 PM) If this is a GROUP thread, then it should be to GROUP people who call themselves as Buddhists, regardless if its anything to do with religion or not.The thread titled LYN BUDDHISM RETREAT....now why the word "RETREAT" is being there? for you bollocks to debate about what buddhism really is, or for buddhists to lounge and hang out? you trollers pls take your debates elsewhere. |
Aug 16 2010, 06:47 PM
943 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia. |
QUOTE(ayamkambing @ Aug 16 2010, 06:45 PM) If this is a GROUP thread, then it should be to GROUP people who call themselves as Buddhists, regardless if its anything to do with religion or not. But like you asked earlier, why should it be in RWI in the first place, right? Shouldn't it be a Kopitiam thread then?The thread titled LYN BUDDHISM RETREAT....now why the word "RETREAT" is being there? for you bollocks to debate about what buddhism really is, or for buddhists to lounge and hang out? you trollers pls take your debates elsewhere. This post has been edited by Deadlocks: Aug 16 2010, 06:47 PM |
Aug 16 2010, 06:50 PM
15,855 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(SpikeMarlene @ Aug 16 2010, 11:15 AM) Added on August 16, 2010, 11:42 am I disagree. I enjoy my coffee while having a light conversation with my friend. Or reading the newspaper. Or casually looking into the distance while taking nice slow sips. To me by not being fully aware at that spilt second moment is joyful. I am not sure if you are conflating the issue of not being aware at all, like a person lost in a fantasy, to that of casual awareness which to me is sufficient to enjoy life to the fullest. Since this is quite subjective, I think it will be hard for everyone to agree that being fully aware at every moment is joyful. Again that is subjective what is meant by full and complete awareness. But here I feel that somehow, there is a necessity for zen practitioner to be fully aware. Why is that? What is the benefit to be fully aware when I can enjoy my life by being casually aware. Well I can raise my awareness depends on the circumstances, like when I feel there is a thief in the house and I am creeping towards the source of the noise. I have been to many meditation camps and I know (and also from talking to other practitioners at that time) it was quite stressful to silent one's mind and focus it to what is now. To you, not being focus is YOUR HABIT. Hence, it is STRESSFUL for you to focus on ONE THING only. Ditto, for people that TREAT meditation as an out of ordinary thing. But, as we had said again and before, there are MANY PATHS to enlightenment, choose what works for you... <<What is the benefit to be fully aware when I can enjoy my life by being casually aware.>> There are multiple stages. MINDFULNESS is just stage one. MINDLESSNESS is the stage 2. Now, the question is have you try being fully aware and whether the quality of life is better for you by doing that?? The GOAL of Zen is to form and integrate meditation into daily life. Aka, a habit. Now, I am slightly AUTISTIC. For me, FOCUS is my natural state. I can multitask but that is NOT NATURAL for me. Hence, it is STRESSFUL for me. Dreamer |
Aug 16 2010, 07:00 PM
2,780 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: yokumo village |
QUOTE(Deadlocks @ Aug 16 2010, 06:47 PM) But like you asked earlier, why should it be in RWI in the first place, right? Shouldn't it be a Kopitiam thread then? would it be the reason that mods decided whut some minister said is true and deleted the thread becoz 'it's established in certain time, so it can't be abolished' and the previous thread somehow created late and... got removed?? seeing certain people dun understand the meaning of 'the end is not important, it's the journey that u made to reach there that counts' and started just declare him the winner and let him enjoy the gentle stroke (by himself) his ep33n, so we can end this bullock and continue with our regular program!!! |
Aug 16 2010, 07:45 PM
6,240 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(ayamkambing @ Aug 16 2010, 06:33 PM) Then why should this thread be in RWI? Hello I'm not even debating anything, I was doing defensive driving.Why not in Kopitiam as those in Christian and Islam thread? There, all trollers get reported and the trolling posts gets removed. But here i see so many arguments and stuffs, shouldnt it be in All About Religion thread? This buddhist thread ought to be for buddhists to gather and for others to get to know buddhism, but all i've seen here between SPikemarlene, teongpeng, unknown warrior, dreamer101 etc are all debating! Why cant this thread be moved to kopitiam? |
Aug 16 2010, 08:01 PM
Aug 16 2010, 08:34 PM
2,003 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
QUOTE(SpikeMarlene @ Aug 16 2010, 11:15 AM) In other words you cannot explain what it is you are talking about. It is true because I said so, right? what nonsense is this? i already explained to you...but its not my fault you're too densed to understand. and again u say i didnt explain...here have a facepalm. QUOTE(SpikeMarlene @ Aug 16 2010, 11:15 AM) Here again you claim supernatural experiences are natural only to those who know them, so your argument is basically this. I cannot explain or describe it to you but it's true. Believe me. That line of reasoning has been used ad nausem. You are not spiritually attuned, you would not be able to see the invisible unicorn. wookey... no one ask u to believe also, mr troll. You've demonstrated your imbecility for all to see if u cant understand a simple anoalogy : something is only supoernatural to those who dont know, to those who does, its natural. By the way we're not interested in spiritual unicorns in a buddhist thread. Show some class...and get lost. PS:threads always turn stupid wherever spikemarlene start participating. thats supernatural right there.. This post has been edited by teongpeng: Aug 16 2010, 08:41 PM |
Aug 16 2010, 10:58 PM
363 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(ayamkambing @ Aug 16 2010, 06:33 PM) Then why should this thread be in RWI? Why are you even asking me? Why not in Kopitiam as those in Christian and Islam thread? There, all trollers get reported and the trolling posts gets removed. But here i see so many arguments and stuffs, shouldnt it be in All About Religion thread? This buddhist thread ought to be for buddhists to gather and for others to get to know buddhism, but all i've seen here between SPikemarlene, teongpeng, unknown warrior, dreamer101 etc are all debating! Why cant this thread be moved to kopitiam? This thread was originally in kopitiam but the mods decided to move it here. I don't know why but they probably had a very good reason for that. I don't really mind where it ends up as long the thread can continue to exist. Let this thread be for Buddhists to discuss about Buddhism. I am urging all those who want a comparative discussion about Buddhism with other religions as well as atheism to please take it elsewhere. Thank you. |
Aug 16 2010, 11:49 PM
QUOTE(joe_mamak @ Aug 16 2010, 10:58 PM) Why are you even asking me? The thing is, if its a thread to discuss on buddhism is in RWI, shouldnt there be threads to discuss on other religious/philosophical stuffs too? This thread was originally in kopitiam but the mods decided to move it here. I don't know why but they probably had a very good reason for that. I don't really mind where it ends up as long the thread can continue to exist. Let this thread be for Buddhists to discuss about Buddhism. I am urging all those who want a comparative discussion about Buddhism with other religions as well as atheism to please take it elsewhere. Thank you. |
Aug 17 2010, 12:23 AM
2,509 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(SpikeMarlene @ Aug 16 2010, 03:49 PM) I would somewhat disagree with carl sagan. Why? Absence of evidence is evidence of absence when you are expecting it. If you would apply this quote on something that is completely unknown, which you cannot anticipate the outcome from absence of evidence, then it is reasonable to say we do not know what this means, hence we cannot rule out it's existence. You are not supposed to be expecting it in the first place to do a unbiased judgment. I have the examples in my head right now but I can't really articulate it in words across the internet. Hope the following link sheds more light on the quote. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Absence_of_evidence |
Aug 17 2010, 12:34 AM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
QUOTE(ayamkambing @ Aug 16 2010, 11:49 PM) The thing is, if its a thread to discuss on buddhism is in RWI, shouldnt there be threads to discuss on other religious/philosophical stuffs too? you have to ask mods for that.unfortunately trolls seem to prefer to spoil the Buddhist thread compared to christian n muslim threads at the kopitiam section. hence it was moved here~ |
Aug 17 2010, 12:43 AM
363 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Aug 17 2010, 01:38 AM
QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 17 2010, 12:34 AM) you have to ask mods for that. unfortunately trolls seem to prefer to spoil the Buddhist thread compared to christian n muslim threads at the kopitiam section. hence it was moved here~ QUOTE(joe_mamak @ Aug 17 2010, 12:43 AM) Well, i see how ineffective REPORT button has become. Why they are so biased towards Buddhism? Does this also mean that buddhists and non-buddhists can banter and chat and even organize meetups and events using this thread even if its in RWI? I've reported this thread. No news from the 3 mods in charge of RWI. Probably they are looking for feedbacks. Ahwang should be responsible more on kopitiam since he's a staff there. |
Aug 17 2010, 09:29 AM
QUOTE(ayamkambing @ Aug 17 2010, 01:38 AM) Well, i see how ineffective REPORT button has become. Why they are so biased towards Buddhism? i thought a staff oversees the whole forum? they are the global moderators to begin with.Does this also mean that buddhists and non-buddhists can banter and chat and even organize meetups and events using this thread even if its in RWI? I've reported this thread. No news from the 3 mods in charge of RWI. Probably they are looking for feedbacks. Ahwang should be responsible more on kopitiam since he's a staff there. i'm still curious who moved this thread here in the first place, and why. no proper explanation was given and one fine day it just popped up in RWI. |
Aug 17 2010, 10:01 AM
5,640 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Manussa loka |
QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 17 2010, 09:29 AM) i thought a staff oversees the whole forum? they are the global moderators to begin with. Just ignore the trolls. It's really the best treatment for them you know.i'm still curious who moved this thread here in the first place, and why. no proper explanation was given and one fine day it just popped up in RWI. Anyway, I would recommend a good book on the Buddha's great disciples, not very much known outside the conservative orthodox Theravada teachings. Buddha has 2 chief disciples and 1 attendant, as it was recorded that all buddhas in the past had, and future buddhas will have too. 1. Venerable Sariputta - Marshal of the Dhamma. Foremost in wisdom (panna) and analytical knowledge. The Buddha had acknowledged that Ven Sariputta also turned the wheel of the Dhamma as the Buddha did. Also known as the Elder in the Sangha. He attained Parinibbana just 3 months before the Buddha did. His last convert was his own mother. 2. Venerable Mahamoganalla - Master of Psychic powers. 2nd chief disciple with mastery in all forms of psychic abilities. Also known as Iddhi-powers. His various feats were recorded in the Sutta, among them subduing the mighty Naga that attacked the Buddha, confronting the Arch-Demon Mara who tried to sicken him, visited the various gods in the heavens to preach the dhamma. This ability of him proved to be also the cause of envy among many ascetics, who eventually hired some bandits to terminate his life. Ven Mahamoganalla, due to his past kamma of harming his both parents (in very distant past), lost control of his own powers towards the end and had his own bone being broken and bludgeoned to death by the bandits. This serves as a great reminder that psychic powers cannot overcome Kamma. 3. Venerable Ananda - Buddha's cousin, who attended to the Buddha, and had excellent memory. Most of the Suttas were recited by him , and approved by other Arahants at the first buddhist council as being authentic and were words of the buddha , held 100 days after the Buddha passed away. 4. Ven Mahakasappa 5. Ven Anuruddha |
Aug 17 2010, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(soul2soul @ Aug 17 2010, 10:01 AM) Just ignore the trolls. It's really the best treatment for them you know. was Venerable Mahamoganalla the one who sent food to his mother in hell? didn't realised he died such a horrible death.Anyway, I would recommend a good book on the Buddha's great disciples, not very much known outside the conservative orthodox Theravada teachings. Buddha has 2 chief disciples and 1 attendant, as it was recorded that all buddhas in the past had, and future buddhas will have too. 1. Venerable Sariputta - Marshal of the Dhamma. Foremost in wisdom (panna) and analytical knowledge. The Buddha had acknowledged that Ven Sariputta also turned the wheel of the Dhamma as the Buddha did. Also known as the Elder in the Sangha. He attained Parinibbana just 3 months before the Buddha did. His last convert was his own mother. 2. Venerable Mahamoganalla - Master of Psychic powers. 2nd chief disciple with mastery in all forms of psychic abilities. Also known as Iddhi-powers. His various feats were recorded in the Sutta, among them subduing the mighty Naga that attacked the Buddha, confronting the Arch-Demon Mara who tried to sicken him, visited the various gods in the heavens to preach the dhamma. This ability of him proved to be also the cause of envy among many ascetics, who eventually hired some bandits to terminate his life. Ven Mahamoganalla, due to his past kamma of harming his both parents (in very distant past), lost control of his own powers towards the end and had his own bone being broken and bludgeoned to death by the bandits. This serves as a great reminder that psychic powers cannot overcome Kamma. 3. Venerable Ananda - Buddha's cousin, who attended to the Buddha, and had excellent memory. Most of the Suttas were recited by him , and approved by other Arahants at the first buddhist council as being authentic and were words of the buddha , held 100 days after the Buddha passed away. 4. Ven Mahakasappa 5. Ven Anuruddha my question is, to those bandits who hurt him, will Kamma get back to them too? |
Aug 17 2010, 10:59 AM
4,662 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pandan Indah |
QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 17 2010, 10:52 AM) was Venerable Mahamoganalla the one who sent food to his mother in hell? didn't realised he died such a horrible death. yes the bandits will get karma back, but Moganalla killed his parents in his previous life by beating them to death, and not only in that last life of his that he died that way but in many previous lives as well. my question is, to those bandits who hurt him, will Kamma get back to them too? That is the nature of Karma. 1. Karma is definite in that virtuous actions lead to happiness and non-virtuous to suffering. 2. Karmic imprints increase; the result is greater than the cause. 3. One will never experience a karmic result one did not create the cause for. 4. Karmic causes created are never lost. So thats why we be very careful of the actions due to the nature of its reprecussion. It does not exhaust itself when it ripens. |
Aug 17 2010, 11:08 AM
5,640 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Manussa loka |
QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 17 2010, 10:52 AM) was Venerable Mahamoganalla the one who sent food to his mother in hell? didn't realised he died such a horrible death. Ven Mahamoganalla was known to visit many beings in Hells and heavens too. Not sure about the story of sending food to his mother. AFAIK , the beings in hell don't have time to even eat..... my question is, to those bandits who hurt him, will Kamma get back to them too? He knew the bandits wanted to kill him but he used his powers to make himself become invisible to them , not to avoid his own death (as arahants don't have fear of death) but to try to help the bandits to avert a terrible kamma they were going to commit (by murdering an arahant). But towards the end, he lost control of his body when his past kamma interrupted his concentration and was finally revealed to the bandits. So.. he was hacked to death, bones broken to pieces according to the records in the sutta. The monks later asked the Buddha why Ven Mahamoganally suffered such a terrible death, and the Buddha told them that Ven Mahamoganalla had killed his parents in his past lives, and as a result of that he went to hell and suffered for a very long time, later he emerged as humans and in 7 lifetimes, he was bludgeoned to death. And that kamma also not finished .. until it caused Moganalla to die that way in his last life too. Of course, for those bandits who killed him, already commit a serious kamma which will definitely land them in Hells after their own death. There are 5 types of heavy evil kamma listed 1. harm buddha 2. kill arahants 3. kill mother 4. kill father 5. cause division in sangha These kamma will definitely appear at the mind-door of the dying person. That is to say, Hell existence is a 100% certainty for people who committed such crimes. People who commit such crimes also cannot become enlightened in that life, even if they have the ability to do so due to their past cultivation. Such individuals are said to be covered with the veil of evil kamma. So.. be nice to our parents... got lot of blessings....can go heaven one u know... Added on August 17, 2010, 11:10 am QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Aug 17 2010, 10:59 AM) yes the bandits will get karma back, but Moganalla killed his parents in his previous life by beating them to death, and not only in that last life of his that he died that way but in many previous lives as well. agreed 100%... don't play play with kamma.That is the nature of Karma. 1. Karma is definite in that virtuous actions lead to happiness and non-virtuous to suffering. 2. Karmic imprints increase; the result is greater than the cause. 3. One will never experience a karmic result one did not create the cause for. 4. Karmic causes created are never lost. So thats why we be very careful of the actions due to the nature of its reprecussion. It does not exhaust itself when it ripens. This post has been edited by soul2soul: Aug 17 2010, 11:10 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0282sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:30 PM |