127 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

VW Golf 1.4TSI,Scirocco1.4,Polo 1.2TSI, Volkswagen Cars Discussion.Das Auto!

rcracer
post Sep 5 2010, 03:57 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(MOSSAD @ Sep 5 2010, 07:26 AM)
if i flash the twin charger's ecu/... will the warranty still stand?

cause my cousin flashed his jetta twincharger to 200+bhp.. and it still stands in singapore
most likely not, sg can because they cannot simply do things as they like unlike msia

also i wouldn't do it because i feel our petrol quality is bare bare bare bare minimum required to run the engines reliably. pushing the limits might not be good in the long run
TSphas3r
post Sep 5 2010, 07:27 PM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(nomar @ Sep 5 2010, 01:59 PM)
wah, no chance to balik kampung with the new golf then

What to do.....    Anyway already bought ticket back home.  wouldn't dare abuse my DSG so early with not a single VW S.C in my kampung State.
so early scared of DSG prob ah? my DSG starting to show some jerkiness now. but mine is the old 6 speed

QUOTE(musclemass @ Sep 5 2010, 02:17 PM)
a quick question, is polo is the same category as mini cooper?
golf is the same mini cooper category

test drove the Golf 1.4 and Golf gti mk6 today. the golf 1.4 seems to have a bit lag at very low rpm, after that the superb torque brings it to higher speed with ease. no leather, but with water resistant fabric. no electric seats too.
the gti, well it was fast drool.gif

it was short so can't conclude much

This post has been edited by phas3r: Sep 5 2010, 07:28 PM
MOSSAD
post Sep 5 2010, 10:46 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Sep 5 2010, 03:57 PM)
so early scared of DSG prob ah? my DSG starting to show some jerkiness now. but mine is the old 6 speed
golf is the same mini cooper category
jerkiness is normal because the gears are made to be abused agressively so if u drive it like a baby it will jerk... the 7th speed dsg wont give you such a powerful kick like the old 6speed... that's why mass market they use 7, more powerful ones they still use the 6
Travies
post Sep 5 2010, 11:56 PM

1,048 posts

so now, which 1 to choose, 2nd GTI gold or this new 1.4 golf?
TSphas3r
post Sep 6 2010, 01:28 AM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(MOSSAD @ Sep 5 2010, 10:46 PM)
jerkiness is normal because the gears are made to be abused agressively so if u drive it like a baby it will jerk... the 7th speed dsg wont give you such a powerful kick like the old 6speed... that's why mass market they use 7, more powerful ones they still use the 6
in traffic jam you have no choice la. that's why jerking here and there. but it's still better than say alfa romeo's selespeed.and sometimes if you are at 5km/h, the DSG decided that it's ok to use 2nd gear. but in the end your car can barely move because of turbo lag. must at least 1800rpm to get the torque
p/s: sup dupe

QUOTE(Travies @ Sep 5 2010, 11:56 PM)
so now, which 1 to choose, 2nd GTI gold or this new 1.4 golf?
mk5 gti is higher spec-ed than the 1.4 golf. mk5 gti has leather seat(well some of them does), 17 or 18 inch rims, electric driver seats etc. price range 140-170k
and it's still faster although the 1.4 is pretty fast as well
but the 1.4 golf has a MFD(multi function display i think) to control the settings of the car, can be accessed via steering wheel

This post has been edited by phas3r: Sep 6 2010, 01:30 AM
Mavik
post Sep 6 2010, 11:44 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Went for a test drive of the car on Saturday and placed a booking for the Golf 1.4 wink.gif

Got some pros and cons from the test drive I feel, don't feel the lag too much but the things that irk me is the interior in terms of the lack of leather seats, electric seats seem to make it look cheapish.

Was considering a 2nd hand Mk5 before this but in the end decided to get a new car instead.

If you get it from Wearnes you get a 5 year road assist complimentary from them.

supercharger
post Sep 6 2010, 12:01 PM

46 posts

yeah no electric seat. I too went for test drive yesterday. I like the dashboard design, very simple, well made and ergonomic. I can feel the car jerking, but during low rpm. Other than that, this car is excellent. Value for money.
rcracer
post Sep 6 2010, 02:00 PM

?????
3,772 posts

Next sweet ride would be to bring the TDi's in, petrol now changing from month to month
Mavik
post Sep 6 2010, 02:06 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Sep 6 2010, 02:00 PM)
Next sweet ride would be to bring the TDi's in, petrol now changing from month to month
The problem with bringing in the TDI's in here to Malaysia is that our petrol stations are only selling Euro 2M diesels instead of the Euro 4M where they get their most benefits of more power and better FC. I really wish that in Malaysia that they start selling the Euro 4M diesels. Then might see more diesel cars being brought in.
rcracer
post Sep 6 2010, 02:11 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Sep 6 2010, 08:06 AM)
The problem with bringing in the TDI's in here to Malaysia is that our petrol stations are only selling Euro 2M diesels instead of the Euro 4M where they get their most benefits of more power and better FC. I really wish that in Malaysia that they start selling the Euro 4M diesels. Then might see more diesel cars being brought in.
yeah i know, because here in europe even though the TSIs are fantastic engines, still there are more TDIs on the roads
azxel
post Sep 6 2010, 02:30 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

later 4pm maybe test drive the new Golf as well smile.gif
musclemass
post Sep 6 2010, 03:14 PM

934 posts

is the polo available for test drive?
supercharger
post Sep 6 2010, 03:31 PM

46 posts

the new polo not yet available for test drive
climacool
post Sep 6 2010, 03:46 PM

Never End
1,415 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Sep 6 2010, 11:44 AM)
Went for a test drive of the car on Saturday and placed a booking for the Golf 1.4 wink.gif

Got some pros and cons from the test drive I feel, don't feel the lag too much but the things that irk me is the interior in terms of the lack of leather seats, electric seats seem to make it look cheapish.

Was considering a 2nd hand Mk5 before this but in the end decided to get a new car instead.

If you get it from Wearnes you get a 5 year road assist complimentary from them.
I would strongly suggest u buy NEW car instead of 2nd hand MK5. The benefit of 5 years warranty is really worth it. In additional to that, unlimited mileage...you can have greater peace of mind on your ride.
Let's say if your car's parts got problem or spoil during year 3 or 4*touch wood*, the warranty cover everything. rclxms.gif

Once you get ur baby Golf 1.4, make sure u organize TT session... tongue.gif i think forumer phas3r strongly agree ! biggrin.gif
supercharger
post Sep 6 2010, 03:52 PM

46 posts

..and don't forget to remap your ECU brows.gif
climacool
post Sep 6 2010, 03:53 PM

Never End
1,415 posts

QUOTE(supercharger @ Sep 6 2010, 03:52 PM)
..and don't forget to remap your ECU  brows.gif
will it void warranty ? I think it will... hmm.gif
sleepwalker
post Sep 6 2010, 04:03 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(climacool @ Sep 6 2010, 03:46 PM)
I would strongly suggest u buy NEW car instead of 2nd hand MK5. The benefit of 5 years warranty is really worth it. In additional to that, unlimited mileage...you can have greater peace of mind on your ride.
Let's say if your car's parts got problem or spoil during year 3 or 4*touch wood*, the warranty cover everything.  rclxms.gif

Once you get ur baby Golf 1.4, make sure u organize TT session... tongue.gif i think forumer phas3r strongly agree ! biggrin.gif
It's factory warranty and does not cover consumables and items that wear out from use. Things like the clutch and the belts are not covered under this warranty.
supercharger
post Sep 6 2010, 04:18 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(climacool @ Sep 6 2010, 03:53 PM)
if you worry about warranty, better not to do it. However many of vw golf on our road are modded with at least Stage 1 and so far no negative feedback from them. 1 thing for sure, they're happy with their rides rclxm9.gif
Mavik
post Sep 6 2010, 05:44 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(climacool @ Sep 6 2010, 03:46 PM)
Let's say if your car's parts got problem or spoil during year 3 or 4*touch wood*, the warranty cover everything.  rclxms.gif

Yeah I had the same thought hence I decided to get a new car. Never really owned a new car before n most of my previous cars were 2nd hand. Had to live through a nightmare with the current one hence decided to get a new car.

QUOTE(supercharger @ Sep 6 2010, 03:52 PM)
..and don't forget to remap your ECU  brows.gif
Yeah I saw the APR remap, brings it to 190hp brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

QUOTE(climacool @ Sep 6 2010, 03:53 PM)
I think it will to, need to check and double check with the SC and the shop that does the remap

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Sep 6 2010, 04:03 PM)
It's factory warranty and does not cover consumables and items that wear out from use. Things like the clutch and the belts are not covered under this warranty.
Yeah they have a huge list of clauses there!
mikelee
post Sep 6 2010, 07:05 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(supercharger @ Sep 6 2010, 03:31 PM)
the new polo not yet available for test drive
I guess same goes to scirocco (1.4L TSI)?

127 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:42 AM