Feb 19 2011, 08:37 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
20,901 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Miri, Sarawak |
the vertex 3 price is almost like the revodrive x2 price already..
Feb 19 2011, 08:43 AM
3,591 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
I believe the reviewed OCZ SSDs were the enterprise grade Vertex 3 Pro, and not the retail Vertex 3, hence the extra cost.
Added on February 19, 2011, 8:43 am QUOTE(borneosailor @ Feb 19 2011, 03:55 AM) I ordered from lowyat forummer ronaldjoe. he doesnt keep ready stock of vertex2 240GB, only 120GB, so he had to make special order. Thanks for the info. This post has been edited by everling: Feb 19 2011, 08:43 AM |
Feb 19 2011, 08:47 AM
8,711 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Butterworth, PG / Machang, Kelantan |
QUOTE(borneosailor @ Feb 19 2011, 02:34 AM) fuh, that's a relief to read ur explanation bro, thanx for the info bro!! i just placed an order for the OCZ Vertex2 240GB at rm1380, glad to know with normal usage it'll at least last more than 3 years. What a good price from Ronald. If not mistaken market is RM1.7k+ oh by the way, u mentioned ''548GB/day for 200GB SSDs''<<---- if i installed my SSD on my laptop alredy, then i play games like modern warfare2 and call of duty:black ops, will these games write up to 548GB/day on my SSD?? |
Feb 19 2011, 08:59 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
20,901 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Miri, Sarawak |
QUOTE(everling @ Feb 19 2011, 08:43 AM) I believe the reviewed OCZ SSDs were the enterprise grade Vertex 3 Pro, and not the retail Vertex 3, hence the extra cost. Left out the Pro.. lol.. Been thinking to get a revodrive x2 myself also.. still thinking bout this.. Added on February 19, 2011, 8:43 am Thanks for the info. |
Feb 19 2011, 09:49 AM
2,516 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Uarla Umpur |
why don't they make a 1tb ssd drive with the same speed as normal hdd, but compensate it with tremendous power savings + low heat ??
Feb 19 2011, 04:45 PM
If we use a 10W HDD 24/7/365, it will only cost us RM19.11 per year. Reducing that to a 0.1W SSD will only cost you RM0.19 per year. Not much of a saving considering how expensive SSDs can get.
And the biggest cost bottleneck is the cost of the flash memory. Assuming it is RM2.50/GB (cheapest known retail is above RM5.00/GB) that would still cost you RM2,500/terabyte. We're not going to see cheap 1TB SSDs any time soon. |
Feb 20 2011, 09:45 PM
233 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
yup. good advise
Feb 21 2011, 12:29 AM
4,789 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
anyone has a kingston v+100? any idea about the lifespan due to the super agressive garbage collection?
i bought a 128gb version and hope it will last long >.< |
Feb 21 2011, 12:33 AM
QUOTE(everling @ Feb 19 2011, 04:45 PM) If we use a 10W HDD 24/7/365, it will only cost us RM19.11 per year. Reducing that to a 0.1W SSD will only cost you RM0.19 per year. Not much of a saving considering how expensive SSDs can get. well that sux to know we won't see a cheap 1tb ssd anytime soon...And the biggest cost bottleneck is the cost of the flash memory. Assuming it is RM2.50/GB (cheapest known retail is above RM5.00/GB) that would still cost you RM2,500/terabyte. We're not going to see cheap 1TB SSDs any time soon. guess the rotating disc are here to stay for a long long time |
Feb 21 2011, 01:29 AM
QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Feb 21 2011, 12:29 AM) anyone has a kingston v+100? any idea about the lifespan due to the super agressive garbage collection? It will last at least three years, unless you have an extraordinary usage.i bought a 128gb version and hope it will last long >.< Assuming that the V+100 is based on 25nm flash (3,000 program/erase cycles), you get: 3,000 * 120GB = 360,000GB of total writes over its lifetime Let's assume that the super aggressive garbage collection is rather bad and consumes 2/3 of the writes, leaving you with only 120,000GB of writes to be used as you wish. You need to write 108GB every single day to exhaust the SSD by the end of its third year. I believe it is safe to say you don't need to worry about its lifespan at all and may expect much more than a three year lifespan without changing your normal usage behaviour. On a side note and for reference, Anand (of AnandTech) observes that he used an average of 7GB of writes per day and that he was the heaviest writer within the people of AnandTech. QUOTE(JinXXX @ Feb 21 2011, 12:33 AM) well that sux to know we won't see a cheap 1tb ssd anytime soon... If Moore's Curves holds out for the next ten years and Flash's program/erase cycle count remains at a reasonable level, we will probably see a 1TB SSD going for less than RM200 before 2020.guess the rotating disc are here to stay for a long long time This post has been edited by everling: Feb 21 2011, 01:33 AM |
Feb 21 2011, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(everling @ Feb 21 2011, 01:29 AM) On a side note and for reference, Anand (of AnandTech) observes that he used an average of 7GB of writes per day and that he was the heaviest writer within the people of AnandTech. i wonder what he used to "observe" his writes onto his SSD drive... If Moore's Curves holds out for the next ten years and Flash's program/erase cycle count remains at a reasonable level, we will probably see a 1TB SSD going for less than RM200 before 2020. but then it seems that the shrinking for the flash chips has come to a technology bottleneck they can't shrink it further below 20nm with out scarificing the quality of the chip... by 2020 1tb ssd won't mean much cause hdd might reach 6gb per disk... and also... 1 pc can have max 7 pcie slots.. unless they find a way to chuck 4tb ssd into 1 pcie slot.. then it would be good else there isnt just any place to put enough storage for storing all the stuff |
Feb 21 2011, 11:35 AM
2,330 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 192.168.1.2 |
hi all sifu,
may i know what is the best overall performance for 120GB SSD. need some recommendation. tq |
Feb 21 2011, 11:37 AM
14,242 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: JAVABUS |
With the price of 120GB of Retail Intel SSD G2 / Vertex2 OCZ
u can buy OEM 160GB Intel SSD G2 from owikh84 |
Feb 21 2011, 12:52 PM
425 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
thats preference and taste really. i'd go for slightly faster ocz than higher capacity intel.
fanboyism. =p |
Feb 21 2011, 12:56 PM
2,330 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 192.168.1.2 |
Feb 21 2011, 01:52 PM
14,242 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: JAVABUS |
QUOTE(Suk @ Feb 21 2011, 01:56 PM) Spec to spec wise its stated Slower in write speed.But you think even Intel with 70/100 MB/S write speed we can utilise also ? How often you write file into ur SSD ? Plus you need another SSD which could do the same output only will reach such speed. |
Feb 21 2011, 01:56 PM
4,494 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
is it worth to get rm700 160GB X25 INTEL ssd now?
its an OEM unit from owikh54 or i should wait for the new gen? |
Feb 21 2011, 02:29 PM
4,789 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
QUOTE(everling @ Feb 21 2011, 01:29 AM) It will last at least three years, unless you have an extraordinary usage. ah, thanks!!! amazing calcs!!! u r Assuming that the V+100 is based on 25nm flash (3,000 program/erase cycles), you get: 3,000 * 120GB = 360,000GB of total writes over its lifetime Let's assume that the super aggressive garbage collection is rather bad and consumes 2/3 of the writes, leaving you with only 120,000GB of writes to be used as you wish. You need to write 108GB every single day to exhaust the SSD by the end of its third year. I believe it is safe to say you don't need to worry about its lifespan at all and may expect much more than a three year lifespan without changing your normal usage behaviour. On a side note and for reference, Anand (of AnandTech) observes that he used an average of 7GB of writes per day and that he was the heaviest writer within the people of AnandTech. |
Feb 21 2011, 05:46 PM
QUOTE(JinXXX @ Feb 21 2011, 11:32 AM) Anand's story is in here: The Unmentionables: NAND Mortality RateQUOTE(JinXXX @ Feb 21 2011, 11:32 AM) but then it seems that the shrinking for the flash chips has come to a technology bottleneck they can't shrink it further below 20nm with out scarificing the quality of the chip... We have better alternatives in the works. Some are listed in Wikipedia: Flash scalabilityQUOTE(JinXXX @ Feb 21 2011, 11:32 AM) by 2020 1tb ssd won't mean much cause hdd might reach 6gb per disk... For a lot of use cases, 1TB would be more than enough. There are a lot of computers with less than 1TB of capacity today and a lot of the users don't need more. Also, for archival needs, we can always buy HDDs when we need it or our broadband speeds may increase to the point where personal archives become significantly less important.and also... 1 pc can have max 7 pcie slots.. unless they find a way to chuck 4tb ssd into 1 pcie slot.. then it would be good else there isnt just any place to put enough storage for storing all the stuff QUOTE(dtdw @ Feb 21 2011, 12:52 PM) thats preference and taste really. i'd go for slightly faster ocz than higher capacity intel. I'd go for larger capacity myself. Highly recommended for laptop users. It costs you nothing to wait a little longer, but it will cost you another SSD if you run out of capacity and still need or want the performance of an SSD.fanboyism. =p QUOTE(kahjye @ Feb 21 2011, 01:56 PM) is it worth to get rm700 160GB X25 INTEL ssd now? If for gaming or other minor usage, I'd rather wait to see the impact of the next series of SSDs. Iianm, the upcoming Intel SSDs boast high performance but on the old 34nm flash. There is a small chance of a price drop. Otherwise, it depends on your needs.its an OEM unit from owikh54 or i should wait for the new gen? QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Feb 21 2011, 02:29 PM) Once you understand the problem, it's just primary school maths only, multiplication and division. |
| Change to: | 0.0202sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:05 PM |