The Solid State Storage Thread

TSjinaun
post Jan 7 2012, 08:33 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

i'm too old liao... to update my postings.. probably i should hand over to the next generation.. aka V2..

Someone pls open V2 and i'll close this tered liao... and put a footer (last post to refer to the next thread)

TQ TQ TQ

This post has been edited by jinaun: Jan 7 2012, 08:33 PM
SSJBen
post Jan 9 2012, 08:00 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Crucial just announced their Arenaline SSD Cache solution (the same as OCZ Synapse) for the market, coming some time later this quarter of the year.
It's technically a 50GB cache on board a m4 though.
Mr.Lonely
post Jan 10 2012, 01:54 PM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

hi, guys i m finally made my decision ordered a crucial M4 128GB =) from united state of A. now waiting for shipment!! xD~
but the recent 5000 hours issue bother me ><
owikh84
post Jan 10 2012, 02:15 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Lonely @ Jan 10 2012, 01:54 PM)
hi, guys i m finally made my decision ordered a crucial M4 128GB =) from united state of A. now waiting for shipment!! xD~
don't worry there will be a new firmware coming out next week to fix the F4 BSOD. icon_rolleyes.gif

M4 customers,

We are aware of an issue that is currently affecting a small number of users whereby their m4 causes their system to require a restart. This issue occurs after approximately 5,000 hours of actual “on time” use. Following the initial reboot, the system then requires subsequent restarts after each additional hour of use. However, the data on the SSD is unaffected and will not be lost due to this condition.

Through our investigation, we have determined the root cause of the problem and will be releasing a firmware update that rectifies the situation. We are currently running through our validation and compatibility process. Once this process is complete, the firmware will be made available to our customers. Although we understand the desire of some people to start using unreleased firmware now, we want to ensure that our solution works across multiple chipsets, systems, and operating systems before publishing the release code. We are currently targeting the week of January 16th, 2012 to publicly release the new firmware update.

We understand the impact that this is having on some users right now and apologize for this inconvenience. We appreciate your continued support, feedback, and patience as we finalize code and resolve this issue.

SOS
Mr.Lonely
post Jan 10 2012, 07:42 PM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Jan 10 2012, 02:15 PM)
don't worry there will be a new firmware coming out next week to fix the F4 BSOD.  icon_rolleyes.gif
SOS
great! hopefully my m4 reach before CNY haha =)
HiT-AbLe
post Jan 11 2012, 01:40 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Lonely @ Jan 10 2012, 01:54 PM)
How much u bought? Cheaper than those who're selling here?
josephting
post Jan 11 2012, 02:15 PM

Hi There!
776 posts

QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ Jan 11 2012, 01:40 PM)
I can hardly find any retailers of Crucial m4 here in Malaysia.
owikh84
post Jan 11 2012, 02:32 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(josephting @ Jan 11 2012, 02:15 PM)
do a bulk to save shipping cost.
last year i bought 4 pcs of M4 128GB for RM2336 shipped so that's about RM584 each
HERE
but good luck on RMA as u might need to send it back to USA. hint: DHL express: RM165 icon_rolleyes.gif
Mr.Lonely
post Jan 11 2012, 04:10 PM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ Jan 11 2012, 01:40 PM)
RM600

QUOTE(josephting @ Jan 11 2012, 02:15 PM)
yea because there is no distributor in malaysia

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Jan 11 2012, 02:32 PM)
last year i bought 4 pcs of M4 128GB for RM2336 shipped so that's about RM584 each
HERE
but good luck on RMA as u might need to send it back to USA. hint: DHL express: RM165   icon_rolleyes.gif
but i think SSD is quite reliable right? haha
*hints* btw china oso selling M4 around RM650 for 128GB. if someone need help on getting m4 i might happy to help too =)

ps. anyway i saw ppl are looking forward for v2 thread, actually i m willing to help if jinaun can pm me the whole script he posted in the front page =)

This post has been edited by Mr.Lonely: Jan 11 2012, 04:15 PM
owikh84
post Jan 11 2012, 04:48 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Lonely @ Jan 11 2012, 04:10 PM)
but i think SSD is quite reliable right? haha
SSD is no doubt more durable than conventional HDD, but there's still a risk of failure.
kakicam
post Jan 11 2012, 07:09 PM

992 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Lonely @ Jan 11 2012, 04:10 PM)
ps. anyway i saw ppl are looking forward for v2 thread, actually i m willing to help if jinaun can pm me the whole script he posted in the front page =)
u need to pm him.. and i think u also need to create your own script hahahaha. he is too old already, too many things to do i think
Mr.Lonely
post Jan 11 2012, 09:20 PM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

QUOTE(kakicam @ Jan 11 2012, 07:09 PM)
u need to pm him.. and i think u also need to create your own script hahahaha. he is too old already, too many things to do i think
ok i will try to pm him
everling
post Jan 11 2012, 10:18 PM

3,591 posts

What is this "script"?
tskhang
post Jan 11 2012, 11:14 PM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Jan 11 2012, 02:32 PM)
HERE
but good luck on RMA as u might need to send it back to USA. hint: DHL express: RM165  icon_rolleyes.gif
Bro, can share any other US online IT stores that you know would ship international.
josephting
post Jan 11 2012, 11:25 PM

Hi There!
776 posts

QUOTE(tskhang @ Jan 11 2012, 11:14 PM)
Bro, can share any other US online IT stores that you know would ship international.
Mr.Lonely bought one, should ask him how he bought. biggrin.gif

Anyway, I know about vshub, vPost and VIAddress.
Should have plenty of others. Let's see what Mr.Lonely used. drool.gif
Mr.Lonely
post Jan 12 2012, 12:20 AM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

QUOTE(josephting @ Jan 11 2012, 11:25 PM)
Mr.Lonely bought one, should ask him how he bought. biggrin.gif

Anyway, I know about vshub, vPost and VIAddress.
Should have plenty of others. Let's see what Mr.Lonely used. drool.gif
i ask one of my fren who travel between malaysia and us quite offen to help me purchase =0
josephting
post Jan 12 2012, 12:35 AM

Hi There!
776 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Lonely @ Jan 12 2012, 12:20 AM)
i ask one of my fren who travel between malaysia and us quite offen to help me purchase =0
Wow!! So nice... Envious... ohmy.gif
Mr.Lonely
post Jan 12 2012, 01:51 AM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

The SSD thread V2 is now online! continue our endless discussion over here!
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2186620

ps. jinaun can u pls close this thread??

0.0291sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:21 PM