The Solid State Storage Thread

Mr.Lonely
post Aug 5 2010, 09:28 PM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

can i know how is the performence of SSD vs hybrid Disk(momentus XT)?
Mr.Lonely
post Nov 8 2011, 02:33 PM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

Hi situ here, I planning to get a sad from us.
But I m new to it, now I shortlisted choice is
Ocz vertex3 120gb
Crucial m4 120gb

Others recommadation are welcomed .

Can user here share their experience of these ssds with me ? Are they best bang for buck in term of performance ?
Mr.Lonely
post Nov 8 2011, 04:47 PM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

QUOTE(parsona @ Nov 8 2011, 02:48 PM)
If you are getting it from US, crucial m4 is cheaper and performs almost as fast as vertex3.  Not to mention reliability but with the latest firmware maybe the vertex3 is good to go now.  Still, I'd go with the crucial m4, especially if you are getting it from US.
thank you for you suggestion smile.gif

btw can i ask if normal daily computing on Mac OS X lion, with mostly document/websurfing/photo editing/gaming/movie

izzit advice to go for SSD? coz i having 4x 1TB drive in RAID now =)

and i oso notice that for m4 it only had 270mb/s write speed as compare to vertex who had 500mb/s write is tat really impact on real world performance? or just some marketing figures?

another thing is tat since u talk about reliability how bad is sandforce compare to marvell? although i know the best reliability lean toward intel.
Mr.Lonely
post Jan 10 2012, 01:54 PM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

hi, guys i m finally made my decision ordered a crucial M4 128GB =) from united state of A. now waiting for shipment!! xD~
but the recent 5000 hours issue bother me ><
Mr.Lonely
post Jan 10 2012, 07:42 PM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Jan 10 2012, 02:15 PM)
don't worry there will be a new firmware coming out next week to fix the F4 BSOD.  icon_rolleyes.gif
SOS
great! hopefully my m4 reach before CNY haha =)
Mr.Lonely
post Jan 11 2012, 04:10 PM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ Jan 11 2012, 01:40 PM)
How much u bought? Cheaper than those who're selling here?
RM600

QUOTE(josephting @ Jan 11 2012, 02:15 PM)
I can hardly find any retailers of Crucial m4 here in Malaysia.
yea because there is no distributor in malaysia

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Jan 11 2012, 02:32 PM)
do a bulk to save shipping cost.
last year i bought 4 pcs of M4 128GB for RM2336 shipped so that's about RM584 each
HERE
but good luck on RMA as u might need to send it back to USA. hint: DHL express: RM165   icon_rolleyes.gif
but i think SSD is quite reliable right? haha
*hints* btw china oso selling M4 around RM650 for 128GB. if someone need help on getting m4 i might happy to help too =)

ps. anyway i saw ppl are looking forward for v2 thread, actually i m willing to help if jinaun can pm me the whole script he posted in the front page =)

This post has been edited by Mr.Lonely: Jan 11 2012, 04:15 PM
Mr.Lonely
post Jan 11 2012, 09:20 PM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

QUOTE(kakicam @ Jan 11 2012, 07:09 PM)
u need to pm him.. and i think u also need to create your own script hahahaha. he is too old already, too many things to do i think
ok i will try to pm him
Mr.Lonely
post Jan 12 2012, 12:20 AM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

QUOTE(josephting @ Jan 11 2012, 11:25 PM)
Mr.Lonely bought one, should ask him how he bought. biggrin.gif

Anyway, I know about vshub, vPost and VIAddress.
Should have plenty of others. Let's see what Mr.Lonely used. drool.gif
i ask one of my fren who travel between malaysia and us quite offen to help me purchase =0
Mr.Lonely
post Jan 12 2012, 01:51 AM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

The SSD thread V2 is now online! continue our endless discussion over here!
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2186620

ps. jinaun can u pls close this thread??

0.0496sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:11 AM