Astro B.yond V6.0, NEW WORLD OF ENTERTAINMENT

minimize
post Oct 27 2010, 06:38 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(simpul @ Oct 27 2010, 03:22 PM)
Oh, if that's the case, how much monthly is for b.yond for following package?
Normal + Sports + Entertainment (Star world, MTV)
Just add RM20 from your current bill.
Qash-M
post Oct 27 2010, 08:18 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

Some news about Al-Hijrah TV did mention FTA HD channel, some isn't. If lucky, B.yond HD channel will get 16 rather than 15 that Astro promised. tongue.gif
gaarared
post Oct 27 2010, 09:18 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ Oct 27 2010, 04:27 PM)
where did u hear this news?
My friends want to subscribe for that channel, so she call Astro CS,
customer service said that for this time its free for astro Byond, but in future
will slot in variety package, I dont know is it true or not.
Qash-M
post Oct 27 2010, 10:31 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

Astro row escalates
Company wants court to restrain satellite TV operator from supplying dish used by B.yond subscribers
Frankie D'Cruz
Wednesday, October 27th, 2010 13:15:00

KUALA LUMPUR: The dispute over Astro’s new satellite dish that reduces signal loss during rainstorms intensified today with an application for an injunction to restrain further supply and production of the parabolic antenna.

AV Asia Sdn Bhd, the company claiming to own the data to manufacture the dish, filed the application at the High Court here this morning.

The company sought to restrain Astro operator, Measat Broadcast Network Systems Sdn Bhd (MBNS), from further supplying the dishes to its customers.

The injunction is also applied to restrain the second defendant, Tele System Electronic (M) Sdn Bhd from further providing the dishes to MBNS.

The move by AV Asia comes in the wake of its RM1.3 billion suit filed last month against MBNS over alleged “leaked” confidential data to produce the new dish.

In the affidavit to support the application, AV Asia — a local TV support equipment supplier — claimed the satellite dishes were manufactured using its confidential information.

The company also stated that MBNS was in breach of a mutual non-disclosure agreement over its rain fade technology by leaking classified data to other satellite providers in a tender exercise.

AV Asia stated in the affidavit, the injunction was inevitable as there were serious questions to be tried between the warring parties.

Furthermore, the company stated unless the injunction was granted it would “suffer irreparable damage” that could not be adequately compensated.

It claimed MBNS was guilty of “inequitable and unconscionable conduct” by using the plaintiff’s confidential information to launch Astro B.yond “which in substance is a scam product”.

B.yond is Malaysia’s first high definition (HD) television service. The plaintiff argued that B.yond customers, who had a new decoder and a satellite dish installed for a monthly payment of RM20 to receive HD transmission, did not need the new dish.

A copy of an expert opinion that Astro’s standard dish was capable of high definition (HD) programmes was also attached with the affidavit. AV Asia claimed that MBNS withheld information from its customers that the new satellite dish made using the plaintiff’s confidential information had a built-in rain fade solution.

Rain fade is a trait of satellite transmission in tropical weather conditions where, during rain, the satellite transmission would suffer interruptions.

Astro’s signals are frequently interrupted by rain. AV Asia said this problem was impossible to completely eradicate but that it could be reduced.

The company said its Japan-based partner Maspro Denkoh Corp developed the rain fade technology.

The Japanese firm is an electronics heavyweight and well known globally in the manufacture and sale of television-related equipment and satellite communications products.

AV Asia is seeking RM1.3billion in damages for loss of potential commercialisation and another RM4.41million in damages for research and development.

The figure was based on the 7.3 million subscribers which MBNS has targetted by 2020 as well as the estimated pre-tax profits of each satellite dish at RM183.84.

AV Asia had calculated that with Astro’s current three million customer base and the monthly additional payment of RM20, MBNS stood to rake in an annual revenue of RM0.72 billion.

Both Astro and MBNS are sister companies under parent company Usaha Tegas Sdn Bhd, owned by billionaire T. Ananda Krishnan.

The application for the injunction was filed with the commercial division of the High Court by lawyer Ravi Sodhi of Messrs Watson Peters & Mohd Fuad. Also present was AV Asia managing director V. Vijayakumar.
Warring parties

● Plaintiff: AV Asia Sdn Bhd
A KL-based firm in the business of providing television support equipment. A closely-held company, its managing director is V. Vijayakumar.

● For the Plaintiff: Maspro Denkoh Corp
The Japan-based company that was asked by AV Asia to initiate a research and development exercise to manufacture a satellite dish to reduce rain fade for the Malaysian market. In Aug 2008, Maspro granted AV Asia the exclusive rights to manufacture and sell its rain fade product in Malaysia.

● First Defendant: Measat Broadcast Network Systems Sdn Bhd
A subsidiary of Astro All Asia Networks plc, the company enjoys an exclusive 20-year licence for satellite direct-to-home transmission in Malaysia under the brand name Astro (All-Asian Satellite Television and Radio Operator).

● Second Defendant: Tele System Electronic (M) Sdn Bhd
Based in Taman Sains Selangor 1, Kota Damansara, Petaling Jaya, this firm designed the contentious satellite dish that is currently being used.

Who will win this "showdown"? brows.gif
azrin_kiko
post Oct 27 2010, 10:43 PM

634 posts

So.. what is behind astro black dish? of course astro's standard dish also can receive HD
wongsf
post Oct 27 2010, 10:44 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Oct 27 2010, 10:31 PM)
Who will win this "showdown"? brows.gif
Definetely Astro.
minimize
post Oct 27 2010, 10:49 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(wongsf @ Oct 27 2010, 10:44 PM)
Definetely Astro.
Yup because astro will pay all jugdes that has been involve in that case. tongue.gif
Qash-M
post Oct 27 2010, 10:50 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Oct 27 2010, 10:43 PM)
So.. what is behind astro black dish? of course astro's standard dish also can receive HD
Probably can, but they have to change the decoder 'coz old decoder didn't support HD. hmm.gif

Added on October 27, 2010, 10:51 pm
QUOTE(minimize @ Oct 27 2010, 10:49 PM)
Yup because astro will pay all jugdes that has been involve in that case.  tongue.gif
or bribed them with free B.yond for life. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Qash-M: Oct 27 2010, 10:51 PM
AjkR06
post Oct 27 2010, 11:27 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Oct 27 2010, 10:43 PM)
This new dish are designed to reduce rain fade problem and it also can receive signal more properly than standard astro dish....
Plus it more bigger than standard dish....
I have tested this new dish with my old Philips decoder, signal strength reading (AGC) about 84 something....
SUSlogit85
post Oct 27 2010, 11:59 PM

1,814 posts

24oct2010 i got Astro Byond normail wow Decorder smailer then my old decorder big
my astro byond normail
how to check setelite signal how many %
like my old decorder we can check setelite signal 65% like that
azrin_kiko
post Oct 28 2010, 12:12 AM

634 posts

QUOTE(logit85 @ Oct 27 2010, 11:59 PM)
24oct2010 i got Astro Byond normail wow Decorder smailer then my old decorder big
my astro byond normail
I don't understand what you are saying here...
victorwan
post Oct 28 2010, 12:19 AM

292 posts

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Oct 28 2010, 12:12 AM)
I don't understand what you are saying here...
thumbup.gif shakehead.gif notworthy.gif biggrin.gif doh.gif rclxub.gif

me too !!!!

dxjb
post Oct 28 2010, 12:23 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(victorwan @ Oct 28 2010, 12:19 AM)
thumbup.gif  shakehead.gif  notworthy.gif  biggrin.gif  doh.gif  rclxub.gif

me too !!!!
i also dont understand but i see he likes the letter 'i'.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by dxjb: Oct 28 2010, 12:24 AM
neb
post Oct 28 2010, 12:39 AM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(logit85 @ Oct 27 2010, 11:59 PM)
my astro byond normail
on your byond remote control, press "home", then select "settings", "installation settings", enter password "0000", then select "satellite settings", on LNB type: universal, press "OK", select any entry point from 1 to 18, you will get your satellite signal strength and signal quality, some entry point will not show any signal, this is normal
after viewing your satellite signal, press "back" button a few time to go back to your channel viewing

need to go through many step just to check on satellite signal, not very user friendly at all, they should provide single button press to show satellite signal on the remote

by the way some browser has built-in spell checker, just use it brows.gif

This post has been edited by neb: Oct 28 2010, 12:45 AM
smileguy
post Oct 28 2010, 06:52 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Oct 27 2010, 10:49 PM)
Yup because astro will pay all jugdes that has been involve in that case.  tongue.gif
I salute your knowledge abt our Judiciary ! Astro wl win . First the high Court wl become sensational .Astro wl lose in High Court,the newspapers wld carry the headlines and someone wl say nobody is above the law......then it wl go higher and higher finally the judge at Appeal Court wl say the magic word No Merits In Case, and astro Wins! rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif
prataboy
post Oct 28 2010, 08:53 AM

QUOTE(ColbyRaikkonen @ Aug 9 2010, 04:04 PM)
Let me RANT here....regarding my Astro Beyond...!!!
vmad.gif  vmad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif

1) Failure to record / (Maybe due to Astro PVR hang)

I am on vacation from Saturday til Wednesday....
When i come back, it didn't record all my booked episode on SUnday till wednesday...
and I have to restart my PVR since it didn;t respond to my remote.

So, possible it hang while recording...!!!
2) My stored programme MISSING!!!

On last Friday before going home to hometown, i noticed that i have 210 hours recording time left...
When i get back on Sunday...suddenly 220 hours left.....without i delete anything...

then when i scroll, some of earlier programme that i'm yet to watch already GONE!!!!!

I'm really mad....

+ some other programme during the weekend also have failure to record...
3) Series LINK

Justin said it already fixed that it will only record one episode only...
but that link is still useless.......it record everything including repeat....in channel 701, and 721.....
(and possible the reason some of other programme booked is not recorded)
4) Unable to record due to Unavailable Information in planner

When i want to hometown last friday, I want to record something in channel 104.....
unfortunately, there is no available information....(only on channel 104, 105, 106)

It could be because of the guide not updated yet...
In MAX, there is information updating function.....but there is no such thing in PVR...
In MAX, there is also Manual Planner.....but there is no such thing in PVR...

Therefore, there is no WAY that i can record the programme that i want, if that programme is not on the guide planner...
For the PVR can use any brand and model Hardisk or die die must be WD one?

if just WD MyPassport hardisk is it enough? or die die must be 320GB WD MyPassport AV hardisk...

AjkR06
post Oct 28 2010, 08:59 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(prataboy @ Oct 28 2010, 08:53 AM)
For the PVR can use any brand and model Hardisk or die die must be WD one?

if just WD MyPassport hardisk is it enough? or die die must be 320GB WD MyPassport AV hardisk...
1) Only "die die" WD My Passport AV 320GB HDD are suitable and can be used on Byond (at least for now rclxub.gif )
prataboy
post Oct 28 2010, 09:19 AM

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Oct 28 2010, 09:59 AM)
1) Only "die die" WD My Passport AV 320GB HDD are suitable and can be used on Byond (at least for now  rclxub.gif )
Normal MyPassport HDD without the "AV" one but 320GB can or not????

or 500GB one can or not???

cannot be used u mean when plug in the device cannot recognize the HDD or???? sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
AjkR06
post Oct 28 2010, 09:22 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(prataboy @ Oct 28 2010, 09:19 AM)
Normal MyPassport HDD without the "AV" one but 320GB can or not????

or 500GB one can or not???

cannot be used u mean when plug in the device cannot recognize the HDD or???? sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Unfortunately, you can't...
byond will only recognize WD MyPassport AV 320GB Ext HDD..

TSapexg2
post Oct 28 2010, 10:01 AM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

there are oni 1 model compatible at the time..correct me if im wrong

129 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:12 AM