134 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

Yes YTL WIMAX - Yes 4G

aneip
post Nov 25 2010, 10:16 AM

2,466 posts

Don't think there is YES life in the installer.. I think there is another installer.. coz remembered 1 of the demo comp in KL sentral got download link.

Added on November 25, 2010, 10:18 amGot it...

http://updates.yes.my/downloads/windows/ye...e_Installer.exe

This post has been edited by aneip: Nov 25 2010, 10:18 AM
gotdamsg
post Nov 25 2010, 10:56 AM

380 posts

this is the same from the YES website.
lin00b
post Nov 25 2010, 12:32 PM

nobody
3,592 posts

QUOTE(biatch0 @ Nov 25 2010, 01:09 AM)
You need a dictionary for every word I said?

I equated multiple caps to multiple limitations. Example in terms you "might" understand:

(1) Petrol - Yes, YOU came up with this
(2) kilometers traveled - This is mine

So, I sell you a Ferrari. With 20 liters (20GB) worth of petrol which will take you 200km. After 20 liters are finished, the Ferrari turns into a Kancil which can only do 80km/h.

If you buy another 20 liters of petrol, the Ferrari remains a Kancil until the end of the month regardless whether or not you want to drive it around (fill more petrol) before magically turning back into a Ferrari.

I hope I didn't use any big words to confuse you.
which is certainly not the case with YES, or any other service that maintain speed but charge over usage.

or as the case with digi (for example), you get to use your ferrari at a kancil speed after finishing up the petrol without the need of adding any more petrol. which is also fair.

different solution for different requirements - its just too bad non of it matches with yours (you want a ferrari that runs on air).
tyhuang
post Nov 25 2010, 12:39 PM

71 posts

i have a question to ask...
if i use this month i already pay 30, n stil left around 15, then december i din pay coz no money, january oso din pay, then february i pay 30, will my new value is 45 now?

or i need to pay 90 in february to cover back the disconnected from december and january?

silverhawk
post Nov 25 2010, 12:47 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(lin00b @ Nov 25 2010, 12:32 PM)
which is certainly not the case with YES, or any other service that maintain speed but charge over usage.

or as the case with digi (for example), you get to use your ferrari at a kancil speed after finishing up the petrol without the need of adding any more petrol. which is also fair.

different solution for different requirements - its just too bad non of it matches with yours (you want a ferrari that runs on air).
A petrol analogy is wrong though. Bandwidth limitation is based on the performance of your line. If you were to equate that to a car

Bandwidth used = distance traveled
Line speed = car's top performance
Electricity = petrol

You need petrol to power the car, otherwise it won't go anywhere, likewise, you need electricity to power the devices to run your internet laugh.gif

lilbizwiz
post Nov 25 2010, 01:25 PM

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 21 2010, 10:27 PM)
No coverage info on website wan? Dunno Puchong got or not?
Hey, u can use http://coverage.yes.my/ to check ur coverage :-)
Gh-x
post Nov 25 2010, 01:49 PM

475 posts

guys, how much do i need to pay at first to get the service? how much the dongle cost and etc?

thank you.
lingkin
post Nov 25 2010, 03:19 PM

53 posts

I use either Chrome and Firefox to access their official website yes no matter what i click it seems like i was unable to access the link of their information about the package and etc. It kind of weird? ohmy.gif
davidmak
post Nov 25 2010, 03:23 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(calvinchin @ Nov 25 2010, 12:23 AM)
WiMAX in theory can be upgraded and go up to 1Gbps. LTE can only do 300+ Mbps.
Anyway, both WiMAX, HSPDA and LTE are complimenting technologies.

HSPDA and LTE can provide nation-wide coverage + international roaming (cell phone technology).
WiMAX on the other hand, focus on Taman/City wide coverage (like Wifi).

There are 2 different technologies. But both are important and has their advantages.
Regards,
Calvin Chin
Actually there are no differences when it comes to coverage between LTE and WiMAX. You still need base stations to provide coverage on a particular location. What's so special about LTE can provide nationwide coverage where WiMAX can only focus on small neighborhoods? Aren't they the same? You still need base stations. It depends on how much you have in your pocket that drives your business model (cover the entire nation or just start with major cities).

For a green field investment, there is no difference in financial investment when it comes LTE or WiMAX. The only reason LTE is 'popular' is because conventional telcos have to work with their legacy (circuit switched). LTE PROVIDES that option and while they move to IP-based communications. For a green field investment, they don't need to be constrained with these legacies.

I don't understand what is the technical superiority of LTE over WiMAX. They both use the same modulation, very similar radio infrastructures, etc. Another reason the big guys choose LTE besides giving them the choice to work with their legacies is economies of scale. It drives equipment costs down. Companies and ODMs move where big guys move. The ecosystem shifts.

By the way, the future is IP-based communications. LTE is the future but WiMAX is the future we have today and ready. WiMAX 802.16m is on the way. By the way, does LTE have QoS? ;-) The standards for LTE is not yet ratified. Still open for changes.
tyhuang
post Nov 25 2010, 03:30 PM

71 posts

WOW..i just register during lunch n now it's activated...but i still cant login to the portal...abit weird...the connection is get is 2.3mb...which is consider acceptable lar... smile.gif
lilbizwiz
post Nov 25 2010, 03:47 PM

[quote=lleihuan,Nov 25 2010, 08:49 AM]
send email to support for the past 2 days, totally no reply. Francis Yeoh should terminate this people working there.

[/quote

Dont say like that..for all u know the r working hard to resolve all these issues..dont straight jump into conclusion icon_rolleyes.gif
biatch0
post Nov 25 2010, 04:10 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

QUOTE(lin00b @ Nov 25 2010, 12:32 PM)

My analogy was in reference to the multiple caps that many ISPs apply. It's pretty obvious my analogy would not fit yours simply because you aren't even talking about the same thing. How you read it otherwise I will never know...
almaty
post Nov 25 2010, 07:02 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Nov 25 2010, 03:58 AM)
I uploaded yes connection manage here

Yes Connection Manager.zip
There is error in 2008 Visual C+ installer. Also include in the zip file. Just run the file 1st.

2008 for Windows 7, 2005 for XP.. If not sure, just install the connection manager. When you got CRC error, take a look at the filename.. Run the attached install and after finish (VC Installer) the choose ignore at YES installer.
hmmmm...hmmmm...hhhhmmmmmmmmm

if you decide to use it...dont cry if your credits disappear...

Added on November 25, 2010, 7:22 pm
QUOTE(tyhuang @ Nov 25 2010, 03:30 PM)
WOW..i just register during lunch n now it's activated...but i still cant login to the portal...abit weird...the connection is get is 2.3mb...which is consider acceptable lar... smile.gif
if only everyone was like you wink.gif

Yes 4G's value proposition currently is speed. Time is money.

Downloading at 2mb++ vs 10mb++, imagine a download that should only take 30 mins but ends up taking 2.5 hours to complete.

Now imagine doing it at 11:30PM...which affects what time you sleep...

And imagine paying the same price for the download...

This post has been edited by almaty: Nov 25 2010, 07:22 PM
aneip
post Nov 25 2010, 08:22 PM

2,466 posts

QUOTE(almaty @ Nov 25 2010, 07:02 PM)

Downloading at 2mb++ vs 10mb++, imagine a download that should only take 30 mins but ends up taking 2.5 hours to complete.

That's installer uploaded by me extracted from the dongle itself. Nothing wrong to warned people but you can help to verify this by provided MD5 for the installer file in ur dongle.

Just wanna help others.
tyhuang
post Nov 25 2010, 08:34 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(almaty @ Nov 25 2010, 07:02 PM)

YES dongle is a portable device, i dont use it when i'm at home...i use streamyx when im at home, i use my iphone to kill off my time, i use YES during work coz my company block some sites....so,peps, you will have choice of using any device you want.....even if credit dissapear, no worries..that's their choice when they select YES.....just launch few days and ppl starts complaining.... rclxub.gif

just my 2sen....cheers!!
gotdamsg
post Nov 25 2010, 08:51 PM

380 posts

I can't login into their website to check data usage, what's the problem?
robertlee
post Nov 25 2010, 09:54 PM

321 posts

very super expensive just back to the day of Dial Up 1515.
terrible
post Nov 26 2010, 12:09 AM

Has anyone encouter this?
The YTL simply sent your password to you by email and than you can't login to YES id to change password?
Does any Bank did this before? simply send you password by email and after that you can't change the password?
This show that YTL don't know about what "Security" means ! mad.gif

This post has been edited by terrible: Nov 26 2010, 01:12 AM
stringfellow
post Nov 26 2010, 01:01 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Nov 24 2010, 01:02 AM)
wow im surprised. is it affected by weather? i remember my old jaring wireless failed miserably.

and have you tested it with your playstation?
Not sure if it is. It was drizzling between KL Sentral and Bandar Tasik Selatan but the speed held on. No, I have not turned on my Playstation for months on end already. Drunk on life. smile.gif
TSmonkeyking
post Nov 26 2010, 03:09 AM

3,807 posts

icon_rolleyes.gif YES web site under maintenances upgrades....I think may be due to DDoS attack. whistling.gif Hopefully this time their security will be improved to prevent further attacks. rclxm9.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif Let's give some breathing space to YES to provide us with better & faster internet. icon_idea.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif See snapshot I made for all.

This post has been edited by monkeyking: Nov 26 2010, 03:10 AM

134 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0308sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:50 PM