81 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Bottom

RPG Dragon Age: Origins + Dragon Age 2 V3, an epic storytelling game

hydrogen
post Mar 14 2011, 09:50 AM

au contraire
1,516 posts

Hmm.. I guess you can say it's fairly fun if you don't treat it as a sequel to origins or a game from Bioware.

fortunately it's not expensive.
Darkz01
post Mar 14 2011, 10:19 AM

223 posts

to me....
DA2 quite enjoyable...

maybe because i dont really have much times to play...
so i have to enjoy what's in my hand...

if compare to DAO...
yes i agree that DAO much better than DA2...
but hey, as long as its playable, i will enjoy it...
then no problem for me...

Kidicarus
post Mar 14 2011, 10:23 AM

727 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Mar 14 2011, 01:30 AM)
Yeah, i think believing what players feel is the best way to gauge how good is the game. Sure there are times that it isnt true, but most of the time, it gives a very good indication. Getting a 3.0 to 4.0 across 3 platforms for a Bioware game, doesnt it tells you that something is terribly wrong or it just tells you that players from all 3 platforms just want to troll around for fun?
If you actually looked at the metacritic user reviews, you would notice that a lot of the negative reviews were of people giving 0s and 1s, which is always the case when you have the internet rage mob. How on earth is this game a 0 or 1? that's usually reserved for the games that are deserving of hate and sadly not every game is a "leisure suit larry:box office bust". A more qualitative analysis of the 0s and 1s reviews would show you that it's people raging against bioware and advocating never to buy a bioware game again just because they felt that their expectations were not met. Ya, the numbers are damning, but if you actually read what they post, they are actually just trolling.

Is this a "great" game? in my opinion no it isn't. There are quite a few things that take away from the sense of immersion the first one had. Is it a good game though? in my opinion, it is fairly decent. The way the story plays out is far better than the usual CRPG hero plucked from obscurity to save world plot. The flashback mechanic involving Varric reminds me quite of how the events in the epic Slaine the horned god graphic novel played out as narrated by his dwarf Ukko.

If you think about it, the events in this film are quite similar to the events that take place in Scarface, the fereldens escaping from the blight, who are basically cubans escaping from communism. You have your hero hawke, who arrives with nothing, does some dodgy things to get a green card, gets money, women, power etc, loses family due to his/her action or inaction. There is even a "say hello to my little friend" reference in the game..

Few things that i did hate: recycled environments, the fact that all bodies explode into chunks. I'm only in the third act but i am enjoying it so far.

I don't know how some people are finishing this game in less than 25 hours unless they're skipping loads of dialogue or cheating their way to max level...
Darkz01
post Mar 14 2011, 10:48 AM

223 posts

^
^
so haw many hours does it takes u to act 3??

just finished act 1 last night...
it takes 20hours and 26 minutes of my life...
lol...

i do all the sub-quest untill left only deeps road...
n no dialogue skipped coz i want to know whats the story behind mission i take...

so am i doing it right?? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Darkz01: Mar 14 2011, 10:51 AM
KIntos
post Mar 14 2011, 10:49 AM

1,132 posts

i think those ppl who finished less den 30 hours could be just doing the main quest mainly. I couldn't know how many of the sub quest in DA2. I like to do all the sub quest as well as a little extra exp for my hero level. i try to re-play again if i ever missed some good sub quest especially when they are giving out nice item.
Koross
post Mar 14 2011, 11:22 AM

185 posts

Frankly I am having fun with the game so far. I am playing on Nightmare difficulty even though this is my first run through. The fights are indeed insane and friendly fire increases the difficulty further. I just managed to pass the ancient rock wraith fight and let me tell you, it took me 3 tries and on my final try I took 1 hour and a half for it. But when it was finished, I felt such a huge sense of accomplishment.

At this moment, the canned environments haven't annoyed me yet but I am taking notice. The fact that you can't change your companions' armour did irk me at the start but after some time I got used to it and it took a burden off my shoulders. Just to clarify, you can still customize your companions' armour in the form of runes but at least now I don't have to worry about making my companions ugly by wearing armour that has great stats but ugly looks.

I just love how your character has a voice now which lends a lot to the dialogue and choices you make. I usually opt for the sarcastic/ humorous reply on my character and I love some of the replies I get from the NPCs.

As for the art style and graphics, I like them. The darkspawn do tend to look a little too clean for my tastes but their new take on the other races are refreshing. Adding horns to the giant Qunari make them look even more ferocious than before. The elves have an otherworldly look to them now which I can appreciate. No more Tolkien-ish elves here, which I applaud. The dwarves are the same as before but the art style makes the textures seem too clean.

No comments on the storyline as of yet since I am just in the starting parts of Act 2.
Currylaksa
post Mar 14 2011, 11:25 AM

1,616 posts

Why do darkspawn look like skeleton warriors rclxub.gif

Broodmother kasi makeover liao laugh.gif
GreenSamurai
post Mar 14 2011, 11:26 AM

The Green One
2,150 posts

I want my mods damn it!!!!
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Mar 14 2011, 12:16 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

no one notices that the elves got avatar faces?
Spiritviper
post Mar 14 2011, 12:19 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Mar 14 2011, 12:16 PM)
LOL. That's what I thought when I first went to Sundermount. "Na'vi invasion of the Free Marches" tongue.gif
gtoforce
post Mar 14 2011, 12:30 PM

SPAM AND BECOME A SENIOR MEMBER
2,967 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Mar 14 2011, 12:16 PM)
lol
they hardly look like elves at all
i think different designers this time around

tesla_rage
post Mar 14 2011, 12:42 PM

Gundam 00
1,357 posts

QUOTE(Koross @ Mar 14 2011, 11:22 AM)
Frankly I am having fun with the game so far. I am playing on Nightmare difficulty even though this is my first run through. The fights are indeed insane and friendly fire increases the difficulty further. I just managed to pass the ancient rock wraith fight and let me tell you, it took me 3 tries and on my final try I took 1 hour and a half for it. But when it was finished, I felt such a huge sense of accomplishment.

At this moment, the canned environments haven't annoyed me yet but I am taking notice. The fact that you can't change your companions' armour did irk me at the start but after some time I got used to it and it took a burden off my shoulders. Just to clarify, you can still customize your companions' armour in the form of runes but at least now I don't have to worry about making my companions ugly by wearing armour that has great stats but ugly looks.

I just love how your character has a voice now which lends a lot to the dialogue and choices you make. I usually opt for the sarcastic/ humorous reply on my character and I love some of the replies I get from the NPCs.

As for the art style and graphics, I like them. The darkspawn do tend to look a little too clean for my tastes but their new take on the other races are refreshing. Adding horns to the giant Qunari make them look even more ferocious than before. The elves have an otherworldly look to them now which I can appreciate. No more Tolkien-ish elves here, which I applaud. The dwarves are the same as before but the art style makes the textures seem too clean.

No comments on the storyline as of yet since I am just in the starting parts of Act 2.
+1, finally someone with same thoughts as me smile.gif

Starting Act 3 soon.
FrostLance
post Mar 14 2011, 12:51 PM

Dr.Frostie
607 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ Mar 14 2011, 09:46 AM)
i've played lots of rpg back in the days but i never really fathom how games like baldur's gate, elder scrolls, heroes of might and magic, and planescape torment could actually receive good reviews because i hated those games (even when i replayed these games now, i dont think i'll like it)
of course we have fallout series, oblivion (the only elder scrolls game i think worth mentioning) and underrated games like arcanum and septerra core, i think comparing DA2 to baldur's gate etc is just plain unfair because DA2 is much better

DA2 has its downsides but it is far from being a BAD game
i enjoyed playing it though not as much as origins nor mass effect 1 or 2
but the fact that most of you finished the game and took the effort to even replay it means there's at least some enjoyment there
lol i think cRPG is the wrong genre for u. DA2 or DA series as claimed by Bioware was siupposed to be the revival of the BG series and claimed that it was the spiritual successor to BG.
So That makes DA2 suck ass.
is the WORST from bioware to come.

Added on March 14, 2011, 12:55 pmLOL mind You, ACT I will take u longest coz u have to come out with that sun of money, and the places u see in ACT I , are the only places u travel throughout the WHOLE GAME.

i finished ACTI in 15 Hours WITH ALL THE SUBQUEST, LOOTED FROM EVERYTHING CHEST , EVERY DEAD BODIES. Continued doing this till i finished the Game, The only CHALLENGING part for me was The ancient Rock Wraith and the High Dragon. Thats it. Completed the whole game in less then 25 hours with no dialogues skipped. I played very efficiently, no time wasting lepak2 or anything, TAB button was always pressed to and spamming R to quickly loot from available places.

Playing the same place OVER AND OVER again makes u very efficient, knowing where to go to and etc2

Added on March 14, 2011, 12:57 pm
QUOTE(Koross @ Mar 14 2011, 11:22 AM)

sure the recyled places doesnt bother u, u only started ACT 2, as for me i was excited at first to expect something new, but then ur doing the same thing, basicly stupid chores...go there kill him, collect this. etc etc.. quest are pretty much chores u have to do..

When i finished act 2 it started to bore me coz u have to do the same thing again and again and again

This post has been edited by FrostLance: Mar 14 2011, 12:57 PM
Spiritviper
post Mar 14 2011, 01:04 PM

77 posts

Well, after finishing the game, I can only sum it up like this:

-Well written main story, a good deviation from the standard CRPG plot.
-Certain side quests that actually have profound consequences on the main storyline based on your decisions.
-Interesting new artwork.
-Exceptional dialogue, typical of Bioware games.
-Well-fleshed companion quest chains.
-More balance between classes (Doesn't stop mages from being OP though XD)

Dislikes:
-Too many unnecessary side quests which distract from the main storyline.
-Items strength scale too steeply, basically defeating the point of gathering high-leveled loot in the first place, as you eventually get "normal" items stronger than your "special" loot.
-Less customization options.
-Isometric camera view option virtually non-existent, plus the removal of the drag-and-select system, makes tactical combat a pain in the arse.
-Compensation of less powerful enemies by spawning more enemies, which imbalances AoE skills.
-Game setting a bit too small for my liking.
-STOP REUSING THE SAME DAMN DUNGEONS AND ENVIRONMENTS mad.gif (You've thought they've learnt that after Mass Effect 1)
-Animations a bit choppy and awkward, needs more work.
-Game design feels rushed, which is unsurprising considering the time spent to develop this game.
-ZeN-
post Mar 14 2011, 01:22 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(Spiritviper @ Mar 14 2011, 01:04 PM)
Well, after finishing the game, I can only sum it up like this:

-Well written main story, a good deviation from the standard CRPG plot.
-Certain side quests that actually have profound consequences on the main storyline based on your decisions.
-Interesting new artwork.
-Exceptional dialogue, typical of Bioware games.
-Well-fleshed companion quest chains.
-More balance between classes (Doesn't stop mages from being OP though XD)

Dislikes:
-Too many unnecessary side quests which distract from the main storyline.
-Items strength scale too steeply, basically defeating the point of gathering high-leveled loot in the first place, as you eventually get "normal" items stronger than your "special" loot.
-Less customization options.
-Isometric camera view option virtually non-existent, plus the removal of the drag-and-select system, makes tactical combat a pain in the arse.
-Compensation of less powerful enemies by spawning more enemies, which imbalances AoE skills.
-Game setting a bit too small for my liking.
-STOP REUSING THE SAME DAMN DUNGEONS AND ENVIRONMENTS  mad.gif (You've thought they've learnt that after Mass Effect 1)
-Animations a bit choppy and awkward, needs more work.
-Game design feels rushed, which is unsurprising considering the time spent to develop this game.
+10

well summing up.
meetxj9
post Mar 14 2011, 02:03 PM

187 posts

Here is a tip, ever wonder why this game is garbage and feels like your missing out on so much? rolleyes.gif

For those who don't realise it, Bioware have released a few DLC's for the game already. And wants you to pay them for stuff that should have been given to you on launch upon purchase. Does this business model sound familiar? (MvsC3) vmad.gif

These rumors or facts were taken from Yogscast.
Aoshi_88
post Mar 14 2011, 04:56 PM

Talking isn't difficult. Speaking is.
4,670 posts

What we do now is WAIT for DA3. And the continuation of the story.
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Mar 14 2011, 05:00 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(Aoshi_88 @ Mar 14 2011, 04:56 PM)

wrong. we wait for bioware to release lots of DLC for the continuation of the story. rclxms.gif

FrostLance
post Mar 14 2011, 05:11 PM

Dr.Frostie
607 posts

QUOTE(Aoshi_88 @ Mar 14 2011, 04:56 PM)
In Dragon Age 3: Rise of the God

-you cant change your armor but instead it levels up according to levels.
-so does your weapons.. who needs inventory systems anyway it wastes time and brain power.
-No more tactics menu or ability to control your Party members, they are godlike and will spam their enemies with all the skills they have..
-Fixed 3rd person view ala Gears of War and New FPS mode!!!
-Dialogues wheels now only consist of 2 choices : Yes or No (Coz the CoD target audience never reads dialogues anyway)
-40% if the game will consist of Cool Cinematics of ur Awesome Hero smashing things
-Quest only consist of petty chores such as kill him/her, gather stuffs, etc etc... complex missions/quest will only confuse the players.
-more n more gore and blood
-More Button Mashing Combos for the win! now u can mix and match different button presses for More Awesome things to happened!
-more and more Homo romance scenes coz EA/BW thinks all the players who play the games are gay/lesbians.. every NPC of same gender will hit on you.

When You press a button , Something Awesome hasta happen! So button = Awesome, now connected in Dragon Age

kianweic
post Mar 14 2011, 06:08 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Mar 14 2011, 05:00 PM)
wrong. we wait for bioware to release lots of DLC for the continuation of the story. rclxms.gif
+1

Perhaps I better wait for all the DLCs to be out before starting the game though.

Easier that way, finish the game and DLCs all at one shot.

81 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:05 PM