130 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Bottom

U Mobile The U-Mobile Thread #2, all about U~

ck_boon
post Apr 27 2011, 12:12 AM

1,894 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Apr 27 2011, 01:11 AM)
I see. U Mobile Rm28/month internet is about 0.05mbps, but i still can live with it. It should be ok for me. smile.gif
Are you on the RM28/month unlimited package?
UB68 actually, dunno y its soo slow, how to we check quota we use? i know phone got some call 3g watchdog, but how bout pc?
xin
post Apr 27 2011, 02:56 AM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

QUOTE(karheng @ Apr 26 2011, 11:30 AM)
so far using U prepaid RM28 package. Something i like to share out.
1. Sim will auto connect to UMOBILE3G network
location USJ 21
average speedtest : DL 1 to 1.3Mbps , UL 0.4Mbps

2. I'm trying to network search, got UMOBILE3G, UMOBILE2G, CELCOM, with others like MY Maxis available
when i try to select UMOBILE2G, it say " your sim card does not allow a connection to this network"
So when i select CELCOM, it successful registered. Then i can see the home screen got R at signal bar. ( mean network roaming? )

I try to make a voice call - mins deducted from the credit.
sms - should be no problem.

So the summary is : can use CELCOM to make voice call, sms, internet ( data ) failed. ( edited )

So the last question is, U mobile still not able to allow us to see how many data balance from our monthly quota.
even i try to login web portal : http://www.u.com.my/index.php?q=login&acce...online-selfcare
it only show credit balance, and expiry date, not able to see data usage.
Same as *118#, not able to view data usage.

and, amazing that now using 012 ( MNP from hotlink ), using U sim card, but connected to CELCOM network.
means ur sim only support umobile3G. Umobile has 2 types of sim, one is supports umobile3G and 2G while the newer ones just support umobile3G. Both sims allow u to roam into Celcom network once Umobile coverage is null.
karheng
post Apr 27 2011, 11:09 AM

934 posts

QUOTE(ck_boon @ Apr 27 2011, 12:00 AM)
u use android?

btw how is today speed? mine seems low, only 100-1xx kbps, is it excees quota? how to check if exceed quota?
yes, i'm using Android phone.
Me also no idea how to check quota balance.

Added on April 27, 2011, 11:10 am
QUOTE(liciece @ Apr 27 2011, 12:00 AM)
If you're using a smart phone,maybe there's a setting named 'data roaming'.if you have it and enable it,you don't need to set celcom APN then,it will automatically connect to EDGE when you're roaming under Celcom.
btw,i just did a speed test on EDGE:DL-120kbps,UL-forever loading... tongue.gif
ok, will try that.

QUOTE(xin @ Apr 27 2011, 02:56 AM)
means ur sim only support umobile3G. Umobile has 2 types of sim, one is supports umobile3G and 2G while the newer ones just support umobile3G. Both sims allow u to roam into Celcom network once Umobile coverage is null.
maybe all new prepaid now is 3G only.

This post has been edited by karheng: Apr 27 2011, 11:10 AM
liciece
post Apr 27 2011, 12:56 PM

389 posts

QUOTE(karheng @ Apr 27 2011, 11:09 AM)
yes, i'm using Android phone.
Me also no idea how to check quota balance.

ok, will try that.

maybe all new prepaid now is 3G only.
The new SIM Pack is not 3G only,but it is designed to smooth switch:that means when you're are in U3G coverage,it will lock it in Umobile base station and only roaming to Celcom network there no any U3G signal.So generally speaking,that is 3G preferred setting that maximise the coverage of 3G as well as improving Umobile's overall performance.

For example,in other telco like DiGi/Maxis/Celcom,you will find even in some places you have 3G signal,but if 2G signal is very strong,your cellphone will adopt 2G as your preference at that moment unless you manually set staying on 3G only.

In Umobile,don't know what technology applied,once you have 3g signal,you most probably stay on it until it's too weak to handle the connection,it only switches.Maybe they do some kinds of optimising work on it.

Any guys have details? tongue.gif
javtan
post Apr 27 2011, 07:31 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(karheng @ Apr 26 2011, 11:49 PM)
I said failed - not able to connect internet at all if on celcom network roaming.
after trying and try, finally i know the reason.
if we want to use it, we must create APN profile for celcom and manually select. it will able to connect EDGE.
Well, try to open FB, it's open like dial-up speed....
At least the answer now is , able to connect when network roaming under celcom @ EDGE.
Hey, I'm currently on the UB10 Plan but it seems celcom keeps refusing my connection(Cellular data couldn't be activated). What's the APN for celcom? Thanks!
karheng
post Apr 27 2011, 08:38 PM

934 posts

QUOTE(javtan @ Apr 27 2011, 07:31 PM)
Hey, I'm currently on the UB10 Plan but it seems celcom keeps refusing my connection(Cellular data couldn't be activated). What's the APN for celcom? Thanks!
celcom APN : celcom3g
Quantum_thinking
post Apr 27 2011, 08:39 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(javtan @ Apr 27 2011, 07:31 PM)
Celcom APN:celcom3g

Added on April 27, 2011, 8:45 pmBy the way, just now i just use the celcom EDGE speed to test it out whether i can roam or not and it works. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Quantum_thinking: Apr 27 2011, 08:45 PM
shyuanshyuan
post Apr 27 2011, 10:00 PM

105 posts

i put prepaid simcard in different phones, can online under umobile2g and UMOBILE3G.. but hor.. dat day try to put n97, can on under UMOBILE3G but when changed to umobile2g, it says connection error and web cant perform bla blabla.. got such thing as on data roaming in n97? i supposed nokia phone shud be the same, but dunno y only n97 cant..
mitodna
post Apr 27 2011, 11:12 PM

14,039 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Apr 27 2011, 08:39 PM)
Celcom APN:celcom3g

Added on April 27, 2011, 8:45 pmBy the way, just now i just use the celcom EDGE speed to test it out whether i can roam or not and it works.  rclxms.gif
err, the APN is my3g , only works with Unlimited Internet on Prepaid Plan or normal PAYU,
no need to change the APN la

QUOTE(shyuanshyuan @ Apr 27 2011, 10:00 PM)
i put prepaid simcard in different phones, can online under umobile2g and UMOBILE3G.. but hor.. dat day try to put n97, can on under UMOBILE3G but when changed to umobile2g, it says connection error and web cant perform bla blabla.. got such thing as on data roaming in n97? i supposed nokia phone shud be the same, but dunno y only n97 cant..
clear the n97 settings and request setting again?
shyuanshyuan
post Apr 28 2011, 12:11 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Apr 27 2011, 11:12 PM)
Hmm.. i did.. but now i found something, tried two prepaid n one postpaid simcard in different phones but settings remain the same in all phones, prepaid can online under 3G but not 2G, postpaid can online under both 3G n 2G without altering internet settings..so it shouldn't be a prob of n97.. wonder why prepaid suddenly cant online under 2G these days again d.. blink.gif
Quantum_thinking
post Apr 28 2011, 12:40 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Apr 27 2011, 11:12 PM)
err, the APN is my3g , only works with Unlimited Internet on Prepaid Plan or normal PAYU,
no need to change the APN la
Just now tried to roam in celcom network and it worked for me.

QUOTE(shyuanshyuan @ Apr 28 2011, 12:11 AM)
Hmm.. i did.. but now i found something, tried two prepaid n one postpaid simcard in different phones but settings remain the same in all phones, prepaid can online under 3G but not 2G, postpaid can online under both 3G n 2G without altering internet settings..so it shouldn't be a prob of n97.. wonder why prepaid suddenly cant online under 2G these days again d..  blink.gif
I never see UMOBILE2G. Once i change the network setting to gsm mode, it connect to the celcom network.
chuahcs79
post Apr 28 2011, 12:40 AM

6,931 posts

prepaid when roam under umobile2G network,. u can only use for call and sms, broadband cannot use,.

even though my house can scan the umobile3G network,.

whenever i connect,

it response

network setting failed,

which i check so many time my USB modem all setting is correct, rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by chuahcs79: Apr 28 2011, 12:41 AM
shyuanshyuan
post Apr 28 2011, 12:44 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Apr 28 2011, 12:40 AM)
prepaid when roam under umobile2G network,. u can only use for call and sms, broadband cannot use,.

even though my house can scan the umobile3G network,.

whenever i connect,

it response

network setting failed,

which i check so many time my USB modem all setting is correct,  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
but if u dont knw yet, um alrdy support online under 2g .. hehe.. since past 1 or 2 mths my prepaid started to able online under umobile2g.. and the staff in facebook confirms me this :

Postpaid & Prepaid plan - Can do data & tether on 3G & 2G
Postpaid + data plan - Can do data & tether on 3G & 2G
Broadband only plan - Can do data on 3G only, not 2G

but dunno why these few days cant again..

Added on April 28, 2011, 12:48 am
QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Apr 28 2011, 12:40 AM)
I never see UMOBILE2G. Once i change the network setting to gsm mode, it connect to the celcom network.
um staff told me umobile2g and celcom work totally the same thing, provided the names are different only.. my new simcard usually be in celcom for few days after that become umobile2g (whenever it's roaming) d..so, u mean i can gv it a try to manually choose celcom instead letting it go into umobile2g automatically then online? what bout the internet profile? create celcom's?

This post has been edited by shyuanshyuan: Apr 28 2011, 01:04 AM
tower9
post Apr 28 2011, 11:01 AM

was sent 2 starter packs by umobile for topping up rm30 (2 times) at 7 eleven today. cant find anything on google. new promo?
mitodna
post Apr 28 2011, 12:31 PM

14,039 posts

QUOTE(tower9 @ Apr 28 2011, 11:01 AM)
was sent 2 starter packs by umobile for topping up rm30 (2 times) at 7 eleven today. cant find anything on google. new promo?
New package biggrin.gif
liciece
post Apr 28 2011, 12:44 PM

389 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Apr 28 2011, 12:31 PM)
New package biggrin.gif
Any details please? rclxms.gif
mitodna
post Apr 28 2011, 10:35 PM

14,039 posts

QUOTE(liciece @ Apr 28 2011, 12:44 PM)
Any details please? rclxms.gif
http://www.u.com.my/prepaid-packages/unlim...mobile-internet

Unlimited Mobile Internet * for 30 days (500MB full speed)
100 minutes nationwide calls
30 SMS
Hassle-free auto-renewal
Prepaid convenience with no contract and commitment
liciece
post Apr 28 2011, 11:05 PM

389 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Apr 28 2011, 10:35 PM)
http://www.u.com.my/prepaid-packages/unlim...mobile-internet

Unlimited Mobile Internet * for 30 days (500MB full speed)
100 minutes nationwide calls
30 SMS
Hassle-free auto-renewal
Prepaid convenience with no contract and commitment
i'm now using it... tongue.gif
Quantum_thinking
post Apr 29 2011, 12:07 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(liciece @ Apr 28 2011, 11:05 PM)
i'm now using it... tongue.gif
By the way, the 100 minutes calls is U mobile to U mobile only right?
liciece
post Apr 29 2011, 01:39 AM

389 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Apr 29 2011, 12:07 AM)
By the way, the 100 minutes calls is U mobile to U mobile only right?
No,100minutes call time and 30sms can be used to contact with all local numbers. smile.gif

130 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Top

0.0231sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:34 AM