The U mobile will automatically renew the mobile broadband or not?
Digi has a bad habit of automatically renew the RM15/unlimited internet without notifying the users.
U Mobile The U-Mobile Thread #2, all about U~
Nov 16 2010, 08:06 PM
5,289 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
The U mobile will automatically renew the mobile broadband or not?
Digi has a bad habit of automatically renew the RM15/unlimited internet without notifying the users. |
Nov 16 2010, 09:31 PM
QUOTE(iipohbee @ Nov 16 2010, 08:08 PM) What do you mean by renew? This is postpaid service. If you refer to their prepaid service ,then No. They do not auto renew unlike DiGi. So if you subscribed to prepaid and your data plan expired, your money will get drained with the pay as u use charges. QUOTE(robertlee @ Nov 16 2010, 08:12 PM) Look like very good deal there. Should subscribes for the MIFI. better version then Digi and Maxis offer. Umobile is manual renew for prepaid U68. no auto. QUOTE(cybpsych @ Nov 16 2010, 08:12 PM) look at the plan table. http://www.u.com.my/broadband/plans Ok. Thanks guys for replying. I just bought the U mobile prepaid sim pack. Preparing to use it with the modem. those with "days" validity = no auto-renewal. those with "monthly subscription" = yes, autorenewal every month. If i over use it, how much are they going to charge me? Is it RM 0.01 per 10kb? |
Nov 18 2010, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Nov 18 2010, 08:46 AM) definitely no issue on chatting/msn/etc. Yeah. There is 1 package for Internet only cost about RM 10 per month, but can use 100mb only. no trial period. get the normal prepaid pack and subscribe the broadband plans. you get cheaper call rates and broadband as well But it is good enough for me to use it for my Nokia 5800 requirement. |
Nov 18 2010, 02:25 PM
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Nov 18 2010, 12:54 PM) offically, the FUP is 5GB. but effectively most ppl got capped around 10GB+. you are damm lucky using up to 30GB/60GB for the price you pay! When their network upgrade will be completed?other provides dont even give you this kind of "hidden" benefits Added on November 18, 2010, 12:56 pm i have tried around Subang Mewah, SS13/15 and Sunway Pyramid. Very good performance. I guess SS19 should be well covered. BTW, Sunway/Subang area will soon be upgraded for 42mbps HSPA+ network. Everytime when i heard my P1 or my hostel network being upgrade, their performance sucks until the upgrading is completely over. QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Nov 18 2010, 02:15 PM) thanks man. SS15 is very near to ss19 already but still I dnt feel save. think i better buy their prepaid sim first. +1.their UB68 MiFi plan is very tempting. another question, do u know if i can use the Mifi with other telco's sim? Added on November 18, 2010, 2:21 pm even 10GB is well over maxis who is soooooo efficient to throttle your speed to 0.000000000000001kb after 3GB When i use their internet using the mobile phone, they do remind me i was about to exceed the quota. |
Nov 18 2010, 02:34 PM
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Nov 18 2010, 02:29 PM) donno when but it should be by end 2010 (guess how long this gonna be? +1http://www.u.com.my/media-room/press-relea...oadband-network read 3rd paragraph, last sentence. Now it is almost year end already. I guess when i come back to Sunway by next year it should be ready. |
Nov 18 2010, 03:18 PM
QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Nov 18 2010, 03:13 PM) yes low, but the chances are still there. don't take this personally, but i have learned not to trust telcos talk too much. your map still has non-3g spots here and there inside your 3g coverage area. i just want to make sure another catch with the coverage map is that you won't know if that area is congested or not when checking for other telcos.No one answered me yet so maybe u can. Can i use the MiFi in your UB68 package with other sims? Cz when i balik kampung theres no u mobile coverage there. For U mobile, it seems to be ok. |
Nov 18 2010, 04:54 PM
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Nov 18 2010, 03:44 PM) not rep lah. a user like you Hopefully it can be remained that way for a long time.had poor experience with p1, digi and maxis. only umobile gives me better service. You use P1 for how long? I also waiting for my contract to expire, then change to Prepaid Internet fully. |
Nov 18 2010, 07:55 PM
Nov 18 2010, 08:26 PM
QUOTE(iipohbee @ Nov 18 2010, 08:22 PM) Umobile is quite generous in their FUP quota. They'll not cap you unless your area is highly congested and you're flagged as the top user by certain percentage in their network monitoring system. Same as the P1 Wimax when they are first introduce. They never cap me in the first few months. But now, i think they capped the users real time or at least day by day. |
Nov 19 2010, 06:50 PM
Nov 19 2010, 08:59 PM
Nov 19 2010, 10:43 PM
Nov 19 2010, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(iipohbee @ Nov 19 2010, 11:01 PM) Now Yes has spoilt everything and the industry. Another issue is that they can't even get their damned website up. Thanks to them other telcos now feel less threatened than before and might follow their exhorbitant pricing. Malaysian broadband industry has no hope anymore. I really hope that the other telcos won't follow that. |
Nov 20 2010, 05:08 PM
QUOTE(iipohbee @ Nov 19 2010, 11:27 PM) Umobile was about to launch a very competitive plan to equal Yes with their MiFi promotion and upgrades. Wow, looks like i can only use the RM 20 per month package. No need to worry about the throttling speed and sufficient for my usage.Now that Yes failed to turn heads, they instead changed the cap speeds after exceeding quota from 384kbps to 128kbps? That's why I say they went and spoilt things.. QUOTE(debbierowe @ Nov 20 2010, 09:47 AM) cybpsych have just explained.but looking at the current situation, i think we should be real careful about subscribing a plan. QUOTE(cybpsych @ Nov 20 2010, 10:40 AM) no. read the plans again in the website. What to do? We hardly have any good choices.except ub68 "unlimited" plan, all other plans dont really have FUP because after quota, it will be charged PAYU rate (which is why it is not considered as "unlimited"). NO throttling as FUP doesnt applies. ub68 plan is termed "unlimited" as you dont need to pay extra charges. however, there is a quota threshold whereby throttling will take effect (as per FUP) http://www.u.com.my/policies-terms-and-con...ir-usage-policy remember: FUP is applied by ALL service providers, not just umobile. FUP is there to protect other equal users as well. most ppl with high-usage felt hindered/troubled because they hit FUP quota too fast the only not-so-clear-FUP is by Streamyx. really unlimited, but you get sux services from them. QUOTE(wongpeter @ Nov 20 2010, 04:22 PM) Whatever the industry, unless its a monopoly, is subject to the laws of supply & demand. it is for us endusers to dictate the demand. Let us work together and ensure that whichever telco decides to raise the charges which are already exorbitant, will be committing suicide by jumping ship. So in the unlikely event that Maxis raises their charges, let us all migrate to DIGI and leave Maxis high and dry. Now we shall just wait & see which telco is smart enough to DROP their prices and leave YES to die a stillborn death! I hope DIGI's top brass will read this. *hint* *hint* YES already have a real bad start already.If all telco maintain the current rate and maybe adjust the voice plan, they still can compete with YES. For me, I am definitely won't buy a new phone and commit myself to the "irrational" plan to enjoy YES services. I stick with Digi and U mobile. |
Nov 20 2010, 08:38 PM
QUOTE(mitodna @ Nov 20 2010, 07:49 PM) This throttling is now industry standard? Digi is 128kbps, Celcom too? Maxis too? Anyway, the Yes rate look not cheap at all, you need a their device. Voice is 9 sen, U Mobile is 12 sen if using 3G on U Mobile, of course with U Mobile, you need to reload 10myr which has 30 days. Not like Yes, you need 30myr minimum usage. I thought this existed for a very long time?I really hope a better HSPA+ package Anyway, i hope that the slow speed for U mobile for these few days is because they are upgrading their system only. |
Nov 21 2010, 01:50 AM
QUOTE(guamainmain @ Nov 20 2010, 11:12 PM) oopps..sorry guys. actualy im talking about my case. im using p1 now. even after xceed limit, i still get quite good speed(maybe because not much people using it here, thank god). the problem is its RM 99. if change to u68, can use the balance for electricity bill. You are lucky. My p1 throttle me in real time. |
Nov 21 2010, 03:40 PM
QUOTE(-i7- @ Nov 21 2010, 10:14 AM) Woaaa.. people getting more more high expectation. when we have something good we want more but when the more we get we insist for more it a never ending cycle. This reminds me a joke my lecturer tell to the class:as Umobile BB user i'm happy with the speed(1mb daily) and the quota at the moment but if i were as what i am before using streamyx(now at new house no tm line) this will not be enough. but i learn to live with it but with a dream one day Umobile have better plan higher speed and quota. huhuhu... morning dream.. pssss .. UMobile dont capped me arr » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I remember it quite well because it is shown on the screen through the Microsoft Words and i think i am one of them. This post has been edited by Quantum_thinking: Nov 21 2010, 03:41 PM |
Nov 22 2010, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(ronn77 @ Nov 22 2010, 11:13 AM) Guys, for RM68 plan which meant to be unlimited. In FUP, it stated that it shouldn't be exceeding 5GB so why don't they stated 5GB plan in 68 plan rather than hide under FUP? So will the unlimited plan under 68 will be capped the speed at 128k if exceeding 5gb? The term unlimited means that you still can use after using over 5GB. Otherwise, it would start to charge the users once it exceed the limit.Correct me if i am wrong. |
Nov 22 2010, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Nov 22 2010, 05:41 PM) yep, unlimited usage after 5GB [b]with FUP applies[ No offense, but i don't think that would happen.if no FUP, sure bankrupt the service providers ler (digi, maxis, umobile) Before that happen, i think most users would stop using the U mobile first due to the congestion problem. |
Nov 22 2010, 06:00 PM
| Change to: | 0.0421sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:29 AM |