U Mobile The U-Mobile Thread #2, all about U~

eugenechiuu
post Aug 20 2010, 05:49 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

why not just do postpaid???
postpaid doesn't have contract also.. just need rm68 deposit....
Raki
post Aug 20 2010, 07:01 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Aug 20 2010, 05:49 PM)
why not just do postpaid???
postpaid doesn't have contract also.. just need rm68 deposit....
becuz u need to register and fill up a form in Umobile's counter compare to buying conveniently available starter pack.

prepaid is best for short-term use. no need to go around registering and canceling stuff. while postpaid is best for ppl that are going to use UM bb for the long run, just pay the bill and dont need to remember the validity and stuff
TScruxidex
post Aug 20 2010, 09:51 PM

898 posts

loving the speed~ its time for mega downloading again~ hehehe

downgraded my maxisbb to bare minimum for work only n save money.. cant ditch it coz i often outstation
mitodna
post Aug 22 2010, 02:22 AM

14,039 posts

QUOTE(cruxidex @ Aug 20 2010, 09:51 PM)
loving the speed~ its time for mega downloading again~ hehehe

downgraded my maxisbb to bare minimum for work only n save money.. cant ditch it coz i often outstation
Hi cruxidex, offtopic, what price and quota on Maxisbb bare minimum?

TScruxidex
post Aug 22 2010, 05:10 AM

898 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Aug 22 2010, 02:22 AM)
Hi cruxidex, offtopic, what price and quota on Maxisbb bare minimum?
RM48/mth 1.5GB
if want more save... just suspend your account by calling the CS. maxis wont charge you during suspension period for max 3month then need to reconnect back with a RM10 reconnection charge
siqplus
post Aug 22 2010, 07:00 AM

81 posts

im using umobile bbd unlimited for over 7 month already.. but just noticed/learn about usage policy last night shocking.gif doh.gif .. before that i dont know anything about it and assumed the unlimited is really unlimited sweat.gif ..

but this is the best bbd i used so far thumbup.gif .

so is there any apps that can tell how much i already used before capped?
OnigiriZoro
post Aug 22 2010, 12:28 PM

How do I confirm whether my speed has been throttled or not because because I'm pretty sure I've used up all my 5GB quota shakehead.gif

I made the assumption that I've used up all my quota because there was once I got 0.38Mbps from the speedtest result.

MaGNiFiCo
post Aug 22 2010, 01:52 PM

weeeeeeeeeeeee
1,604 posts

guys i wanna try u mobile on my location la. if i buy the prepaid starter pack the speed that im gonna get only at 384kbps rite?

cybpsych
post Aug 22 2010, 04:31 PM

---------------------
65,279 posts

no. reader post #1 on the plan table.

speed is according to which plan you subscribe.
cybpsych
post Aug 22 2010, 04:32 PM

---------------------
65,279 posts

QUOTE(OnigiriZoro @ Aug 22 2010, 12:28 PM)
How do I confirm whether my speed has been throttled or not because because I'm pretty sure I've used up all my 5GB quota  shakehead.gif

I made the assumption that I've used up all my quota because there was once I got 0.38Mbps from the speedtest result.
u want to get throttled when reaching 5GB?? sweat.gif

most ppl getting throttled around 10-15GB lah. yes, the FUP says 5GB, but the actual is HIGHER! doh.gif thumbup.gif rclxm9.gif
acat
post Aug 22 2010, 05:04 PM

312 posts

yeah, it's all depend on location. less user mean less traffic, so quota can be higher than actual.

btw, just resubscribe mine yesterday. and guess what? i'm so relieved i've got uncapped speed unlike previous months wink.gif
dont need to call their CS again for FOURTH times sweat.gif

speeds are becoming less faster than usual. maybe i'm over-advertise umobile in here, meaning more users using this broadband, no? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by acat: Aug 22 2010, 05:07 PM
Raki
post Aug 22 2010, 05:37 PM

311 posts

maybe becuz it a sunday... I notice a pattern in Umobile's network...

I use it at my home so during working hours, UM fast. maybe cuz no one at home. but at night till daylight comes, UM is so so only... and during weekends, also so so only....

i also wondering how Umobile determine and cap their users. I surely have passed way beyond their limit within a week... but i still remain uncap
TScruxidex
post Aug 22 2010, 05:49 PM

898 posts

getting flat speed as the speedtest below all day..
been direct downloading so fun now~ hehe 5GB? in just 2 days hehe which is yesterday

acat
post Aug 22 2010, 05:55 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(Raki @ Aug 22 2010, 05:37 PM)
maybe becuz it a sunday... I notice a pattern in Umobile's network...

I use it at my home so during working hours, UM fast. maybe cuz no one at home. but at night till daylight comes, UM is so so only... and during weekends, also so so only....

i also wondering how Umobile determine and cap their users. I surely have passed way beyond their limit within a week... but i still remain uncap
yeah, that applicable to other broadbands too. weekend=user spend their time at home=network congested smile.gif
but still, UM can give me decent speed even in weekend. this cant be practiced to other network as they got pretty much users. so lets enjoy the speed while we can rclxms.gif

about the cap, im not really sure how they cap users. it seems they very generous when it comes to quota. i've read somewhere in um website, u actually can call customer service to give u more quota after urs been capped. still up to their consideration whether to give u 'extra quota', though tongue.gif

This post has been edited by acat: Aug 22 2010, 05:56 PM
robertlee
post Aug 22 2010, 06:18 PM

321 posts

usually I get ready 2 sim
This month use sim A, the other month sim B, Because I notice that if continue subscibe once expire. the speed still capped 384kbps and need about 2 days to uncapped back. .
acat
post Aug 22 2010, 06:31 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(robertlee @ Aug 22 2010, 06:18 PM)
usually I get ready 2 sim
This month use sim A, the other month sim B, Because I notice that if continue subscibe once expire. the speed still capped 384kbps and need about 2 days to uncapped back. .
oh really? thats why i still get capped speed even i just purchased new plan. but worry not, those problem already gone for good smile.gif
MaGNiFiCo
post Aug 22 2010, 07:08 PM

weeeeeeeeeeeee
1,604 posts

QUOTE(acat @ Aug 22 2010, 05:55 PM)
yeah, that applicable to other broadbands too. weekend=user spend their time at home=network congested  smile.gif
but still, UM can give me decent speed even in weekend. this cant be practiced to other network as they got pretty much users. so lets enjoy the speed while we can  rclxms.gif

about the cap, im not really sure how they cap users. it seems they very generous when it comes to quota. i've read somewhere in um website, u actually can call customer service to give u more quota after urs been capped. still up to their consideration whether to give u 'extra quota', though  tongue.gif
waa mcm ni pun ada. can request more quota based on budi bicara cs rclxms.gif
mitodna
post Aug 22 2010, 08:03 PM

14,039 posts

@acat , yeah, night time and weekend will be quite congested at the logical point of view. More broadband users are subscribing wireless broadband because it is not so complex setup like fix line. @cruxidex , thanks for the information.
emkay_2020
post Aug 22 2010, 10:18 PM

226 posts

Hi, I'm just subscribe to U68 Broadband and i want use my Iphone 3gs as a modem to connect Internet on my laptop.
Anyone know how to use iphone as a modem ?
acat
post Aug 23 2010, 05:46 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(emkay_2020 @ Aug 22 2010, 10:18 PM)
Hi, I'm just subscribe to U68 Broadband and i want use my Iphone 3gs as a modem to connect Internet on my laptop.
Anyone know how to use iphone as a modem ?
u are kidding right? doh.gif
there is special subforum called Iphone under Apple Byte. u can ask how to tethering using ur phone in there.
cheers, biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by acat: Aug 23 2010, 05:47 AM

130 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0317sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:00 PM