U Mobile The U-Mobile Thread #2, all about U~

robertlee
post Aug 22 2010, 06:18 PM

321 posts

usually I get ready 2 sim
This month use sim A, the other month sim B, Because I notice that if continue subscibe once expire. the speed still capped 384kbps and need about 2 days to uncapped back. .
robertlee
post Oct 24 2010, 08:28 PM

321 posts

The UB40 plan is 2GB usage. if usage is over. It will charge 10sen/kb and capped at RM176 according the Term and Condition.
robertlee
post Oct 24 2010, 09:02 PM

321 posts

As I know. The Prepaid also the same but no capped. So it will eat all the available credit balance you have after exceed the data usage quota.

Why, because I was fall in to the trap before. Last time I purchase a nearly expiry Umobile Prepaid with cheaper price. RM100 value only RM85.
The seller got 3 and need to be reload before 31/07/2010.
I got grab all and load it in. So credit balance is RM300 at that time.
Later while I go get the UB40, and start using. Anyway due to I forgot to unplug the modem from the netbook and leave it on the table.
My cousin come and play and finish all the quota in the noon, he use to download from fileserve with his premium account and he claim it very fast.

After reading the SMS. I was shocked and the new credit balance is only RM 4 left....

robertlee
post Oct 24 2010, 09:29 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Oct 24 2010, 09:11 PM)
lets say we only hav a very mininum credit on the prepaid, will the line get disconnected once we breached zero credit?
yes,it will disconnect you after you have insufficient credit,you will not able to browse internet and only can access wap.u.com.my.

robertlee
post Nov 16 2010, 08:12 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(iipohbee @ Nov 16 2010, 06:24 PM)
Ah yes, I've been getting very slow speeds and very low signal recently here at Pasir Putih, Ipoh. Made a complain and Umobile technical team called up saying that they're upgrading and doing optimization to their networks. They're upgrading some areas to 42mbps for high demand areas and 21mbps for most other residential areas like mine.

The network will be up by 20th this month which will coincide with the launch of another wireless isp.
Looking at the ad above, that would mean HSPA would be available which allows speeds upto 7.2mbps and 5.76mbps upload.

Wow Umobile is indeed agressive.

Time to ditch crap TM and they can kiss my a$$ goodbye for not taking Ipoh residents in consideration. Their wired lines are just too useless to start with with that kind of bad administration and mentality they have.

Added on November 16, 2010, 6:29 pm

That one comes with a LCD panel unlike the version which Maxis and DiGi offers which mean it's a better deal. RM210 upfront payment with RM20X5 rebates. It's way very good deal.
Look like very good deal there. Should subscribes for the MIFI. better version then Digi and Maxis offer.

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Nov 16 2010, 08:06 PM)
The U mobile will automatically renew the mobile broadband or not?

Digi has a bad habit of automatically renew the RM15/unlimited internet without notifying the users.
Umobile is manual renew for prepaid U68. no auto.
robertlee
post Nov 23 2010, 08:31 PM

321 posts

I think I may get and P1 RM29 as spare backup.

After the Umobile 129kbps throttle.
robertlee
post Nov 23 2010, 09:04 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 23 2010, 08:44 PM)
P1 RM29

got this package???
just release today I guess.
When I pass by a shopping complex.

Sorry,just check out website it RM49 with rebate RM20 .... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by robertlee: Nov 23 2010, 09:08 PM
robertlee
post Nov 23 2010, 09:35 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Nov 23 2010, 09:01 PM)
This one will get limited or not?
As far as I'm concerned, UBB is good but just that the upload speed is poor. If they can somehow improve this, I'm sure UBB would be a real contender to other wireless broadband out there.
it depend maxis want to manged you or not.

Its still no so safe.

robertlee
post Nov 23 2010, 11:45 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Nov 23 2010, 10:57 PM)
Cool idea but at 384kbps speed right?

Added on November 23, 2010, 10:59 pm

Call 1318 to confirm whether been throttle on excess usage. Also you can report the unstable speed. Take care.
Yes it maximum speed will be 384kbps.

Anyway, one day I need to download 2 episode of TVB drama. Average is one file is 300MB, then 2 will be 600MB + light surfing. Then 5 days is ngam ngam 3GB ++.

robertlee
post Nov 24 2010, 09:29 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 24 2010, 05:51 PM)
the reason behind the throttle speed of 128kbps

could it be tat once you exceed the 5GB, you line will  be "ported" to roam on DiGi network as DiGi and UM hav signed an agreement to utilise each other's bandwidth recently........as 128kbps is DiGi's nationwide Edge speed
For Digi Edge, I can get about 200kbps with my old old 2.5G sim (show on Samsung SGH-250) with max RM5 daily.

I think is celcom, only GPRS because you can change APN to celcom3g and Dial Number to *99***1# ,umobile sim also can be connect.

Recently just notice the Display name change from "Umobile" to "Umobile3G"

This post has been edited by robertlee: Nov 24 2010, 09:30 PM
robertlee
post Nov 26 2010, 11:28 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(caterpiez @ Nov 26 2010, 11:10 AM)
i just coming back to my college since the holiday at the end of october.i was surprised my speed only 100kbps max????  doh.gif  what happen?  vmad.gif
Look like you also exceeded the data quota and capped at 128kbps.
robertlee
post Nov 26 2010, 03:31 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 26 2010, 08:13 AM)
seems like UM users are having problems since the launch of YES, could Wimax interfering wif UM signal or juz tat because of the Cap and FUP?
This is another issues where I strongly believe is marketting and monopoly complain over MCMC.
I am sure they come out a meeting where set the standard for all FUP to 128kbps.

Behind on that, the politics also got slightly involve a little bit.
If not, I think Digi sure have better and cheaper Broadband service if last time can get 3G license instead of all other X company.

He the one kbkb when Digi share over TIME 3G spectrum.

robertlee
post Nov 26 2010, 10:22 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Nov 26 2010, 10:20 PM)

May be use the most lousy P1 excuse , Tower get strike or heavy rain make the signal loss. laugh.gif
robertlee
post Dec 12 2010, 09:20 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Dec 11 2010, 09:06 PM)
yes, saw my MDMA/mobile connect shows HSPA+, but didnt get to do thorough speedtest/download test.

and the press releases did say the first deployment is in BTS itself.

http://www.u.com.my/media-room/press-relea...oadband-network

http://www.u.com.my/media-room/press-relea...-support-42mbps

now.... where to get 21mbps/42mbps modem in malaysia??? sad.gif
www.comfortsurf.com can get !
robertlee
post Dec 12 2010, 10:39 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Dec 12 2010, 10:17 AM)
Have you used their product before?
Was bought several Item from them before.

Option Luxury Express Card + USB Adapater,
External Antenna for the 3G card
Sapido Mifi.

Price is not cheapest but ok lor , at least the adapter is hard to find in market and they have.
robertlee
post Dec 13 2010, 10:04 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 13 2010, 12:10 AM)
this one

so you din take the MiFi Package and instead juz took the Data Sim UB68?

how much u paid when u signup?

Added on December 13, 2010, 12:12 am

how much you paid upfront then?

the free 10GB data is for 30 days from the day u signed up rite?

wat abt the rm50 activation fee?
To get the MIFI device of Umobile package.

You have to pay RM375 total. It include activation RM100+ One Month Charges in Advanced RM68.

But if you just get the package without the MIFI, Pay RM68 and can start go.

robertlee
post Dec 14 2010, 05:22 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(tokman @ Dec 14 2010, 03:39 AM)
geng, how to check balance prepaid umobile tru SMS..
and how to topup Umobile Prepaid U68 tru SMS..
tq...
to topup Umobile by SMS is

Just key in the 14 Pin of your voucher then send it to 22128.
robertlee
post Dec 27 2010, 09:49 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 27 2010, 05:10 PM)
so this UM's one is the cheapest and latest version, mind u, the maxis Mifi is the older version as i too hav one of Maxis's Mifi.......Celcom also hav the MiFi promo but i duno which model sweat.gif u check it out wheather the MiFi hav color lights as indicator (maxis one's)

[attachmentid=1960482]

Umobile's one ---------------i peel off the U sticker and the Huawei logo was shown thumbup.gif
Oh Digilife.

I saw you go kacau people garage sales thread. laugh.gif

Anyway, What I get that is.

The E5II and E5832 is identical. Just different marketing and chipset software bundle and locked.
Just like the old one E5 and E585.

One is Retails Model and E5832 possible is OEM Telco model. For BigPond Australia,they E5838.
Anyway, function is same and all can be unlock by DCUnlocker.

Huawei is always make this kind of confusing.
Like what the HSPA Modem. E172 = E1762

sweat.gif
robertlee
post Dec 27 2010, 10:35 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Dec 27 2010, 10:24 PM)
Does this modem always disconnects without warning?
i have one. before upgrade firmware it does. after upgrade ok already.
robertlee
post Dec 28 2010, 09:53 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 28 2010, 01:39 AM)
not tat i wanna kacau him, juz tat i wanna forumers here to be well informed icon_idea.gif

i wanna repost this interesting posting from soyacincau

[attachmentid=1961413]

[attachmentid=1961414]
U Mobile’s MiFi is the cheapest in the market at RM210 outright. In addition to that, there is no contract but but you will have to commit to an upfront payment of RM168, all of which will be rebated back to your bill over several months. Specifically, RM68 will be rebated back into your bill on the first month and the remaining RM100 will be rebated over 5 months (RM20/month from the second to sixth month).

source
laugh.gif ok. i copy one of the script from lady gaga telephone music video with beyonce bill her out of jail.

You are very bad bad gal, digilife.
hehehehe

0.0433sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:43 AM