Nokia N8 V2, Perfect Camera Phone

andrekua
post Aug 6 2010, 09:38 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Aug 6 2010, 09:22 PM)
I kind of agree nokia lost focus now. But saying it death r a bit unfair. At the end of the day, u r buying a phone not entire platform. Legend should be stop @ froyo also. Gingerbread is a monster.
What Nokia is doing is totally beyond the boundaries. I mean, there is suppose to be continuity in what they are doing. Just take Android phone for example. Its open source... yes, HTC really slow with the updates with Hero and Magic however, being open source, they (enthusiast) were able to somewhat come up with Froyo for Hero using whatever means of reverse engineering to the source code they get. What do you get with Nokia? I really hope they changed for good. Its pointless... they knew its going to be hard starting afresh and yet they came out with the device but leave the user for good.
cloud8318
post Aug 6 2010, 09:39 PM

7 stars still not enough lah!!!!
4,016 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Aug 6 2010, 09:22 PM)
I kind of agree nokia lost focus now. But saying it death r a bit unfair. At the end of the day, u r buying a phone not entire platform. Legend should be stop @ froyo also. Gingerbread is a monster.

Added on August 6, 2010, 9:28 pm@brother cloud, BB OS6 coming. brows.gif
oh BB...nice...but i don't own a BB cry.gif .....waiting for N8 hit malaysia and see brows.gif
andrekua
post Aug 6 2010, 09:44 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(cloud8318 @ Aug 6 2010, 09:39 PM)
oh BB...nice...but i don't own a BB cry.gif .....waiting for N8 hit malaysia and see brows.gif
If nice, then maybe I ask my wife wanna upgrade her N85 or not...
Then I also can play play... but still worried with Nokia brutal killing...
Leo the Lion
post Aug 6 2010, 09:45 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Aug 6 2010, 09:48 PM)
Unfortunately sister aspire dowan reply here. She must be totally not agree n900 in a killed plateform. That's a most open platform u know. Maemo already port over wat only not polish. U can't complaint much if they release so release so many phone n just kill off some old one. It is dame goes to android, who support the g1? Who support the hero, magic?

But about n8, not yet release but already know ^4 coming, that's really.... Lol but as long as they still support it, it's fine wat... Lol... Wu new OS coming to my phone. tongue.gif
I must agree, Maemo isn't a platform to be killed with. There are people that still supporting it. And N900 isn't a mobile phone, it's a mobile computer aka tablet with call functions. So it's different And Nokia did mentioned N900 is for Geeks and Hackable. It's a geek dreams to have this devices. So you wanna exploit all you want, it's up to you man. It's true LINUX platform, it's OPEN SOURCE and there is Maemo community that supports it aswell. Maemo won't die so soon as long as their people support it. And wanna know the reason why I sold my N900? Cause It's thick and bulky, not because of the OS.

And Nokia is currently on QT cross-platform, that it may support the existing OS (not Symbian s60 v5 or s60 v3). Hope Qt could support Symbian ^3, Symbian^4 and MeeGo.

thumbup.gif

I'm very eager to wait for Nokia MeeGo phone than Symbian^4/Symbian^3 devices. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Aug 6 2010, 09:49 PM
andrekua
post Aug 6 2010, 09:48 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Aug 6 2010, 09:45 PM)
I must agree, Maemo isn't a platform to be killed with. There are people that still supporting it. And N900 isn't a mobile phone, it's a mobile computer aka tablet with call functions. So it's different And Nokia did mentioned N900 is for Geeks and Hackable. It's a geek dreams to have this devices. So you wanna exploit all you want, it's up to you man. It's true LINUX platform, it's OPEN SOURCE and there is Maemo community that supports it aswell. Maemo won't die so soon as long as their people support it. And wanna know the reason why I sold my N900? Cause It's thick and bulky, not because of the OS.

And Nokia is currently on QT cross-platform, that it may support the existing OS (not Symbian s60 v5 or s60 v3). Hope Qt could support Symbian ^3, Symbian^4 and MeeGo.

thumbup.gif
QT... Heard this magical two letters word many moon ago and right now still in dreaming stage.
I think the performance evaluation is needed before something like this takes off.
Leo the Lion
post Aug 6 2010, 09:50 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Aug 6 2010, 10:48 PM)
QT... Heard this magical two letters word many moon ago and right now still in dreaming stage.
I think the performance evaluation is needed before something like this takes off.
Wow, it's liked you have soooooo many doubts here and there. Android really got into your head meh? flex.gif

Added on August 6, 2010, 9:52 pmBreaking news. Now we have Nokia N8 with android OS. Haha

http://www.engadget.com/2010/08/06/keepin-...ias-android-n8/

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Aug 6 2010, 09:52 PM
Andrew Lim
post Aug 6 2010, 09:52 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Aug 6 2010, 08:48 PM)
Unfortunately sister aspire dowan reply here. She must be totally not agree n900 in a killed plateform. That's a most open platform u know. Maemo already port over wat only not polish. U can't complaint much if they release so release so many phone n just kill off some old one. It is dame goes to android, who support the g1? Who support the hero, magic?
You can't compare Maemo to older versions of Android 1.5 because it is very easy to make newer 2.1 applications run on 1.5 devices. 95% of the Android APIs haven't changed and because Android uses Java you don't need a separate recompile for most applications. Even if you want to use 2.1 specific features, you can use Java Reflection to make sure the current device supports it. Also because the APIs are 95% compatible, you can see a lot of unofficial ROMs supported by the community. HTC will not give Hero an official 2.2 update, but there's already a FroydVillain ROM that provides 2.2.

This post has been edited by Andrew Lim: Aug 6 2010, 09:53 PM
BuFung
post Aug 6 2010, 10:02 PM

8,407 posts

Yes, to me, very frank, I m not impress by all the video release on n8. Me too looking forward for the meego. Hope they do it fast, else they lost more ground.

Added on August 6, 2010, 10:09 pm
QUOTE(cloud8318 @ Aug 6 2010, 09:39 PM)
Using it few days I m impress wt it. Just a trackpad but already much better experience than d symbiam wt touch screen. I m still on my fb n msn wt web browser now. Viewing my photo album wt all this application running do not feel lag.

No hang at all after few day use. Very stable. Bt no luck to surf desktop version of FB.

This post has been edited by BuFung: Aug 6 2010, 10:09 PM
Leo the Lion
post Aug 6 2010, 10:09 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Aug 6 2010, 11:02 PM)
Yes, to me, very frank, I m not impress by all the video release on n8. Me too looking forward for the meego. Hope they do it fast, else they lost more ground.
The HD Video recording and 12mp image capture seems sucks these day. I've been keeping my eye on MyNokiaBlog for a while and seems most of N8 photos and HD video recording sucks. Some mentioned that it's fake and purpose is to pursue us from getting Nokia N8.

And MeeGo latest video have been removed from youtube. Dang, it's so AWESOME and I very eager then ever. And this is what Android should be from the start.

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Aug 6 2010, 10:10 PM
andrekua
post Aug 6 2010, 10:17 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Aug 6 2010, 09:50 PM)
Wow, it's liked you have soooooo many doubts here and there. Android really got into your head meh?  flex.gif
Not really. Hard to explained. Its just like after years of using Symbian with no big break-through, and suddenly moved to something else which were much better in things that you were most interested in, makes you really think thrice about the promise of the NEW platform by the same manufacturer which does not delivery the expected goods. At times, its like calling out loud begging them to copy the competitor advantage just to make it a more complete experience which usually fell on deaf ears.
andrekua
post Aug 6 2010, 10:26 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Even Nokia is agitated...

Symbian : Hey Google, we sold 300,000 phones everyday

Leo the Lion
post Aug 6 2010, 10:30 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Aug 6 2010, 11:17 PM)
Not really. Hard to explained. Its just like after years of using Symbian with no big break-through, and suddenly moved to something else which were much better in things that you were most interested in, makes you really think thrice about the promise of the NEW platform by the same manufacturer which does not delivery the expected goods. At times, its like calling out loud begging them to copy the competitor advantage just to make it a more complete experience which usually fell on deaf ears.
Yeah, I know how you feel and I bet everyone here do. After using Nokia N97, I nearly lost faith coz come on, there is alot of good ads hanging around about N97, and it doesn't exceed any of my expectation. And when N900 came out, for a resistive devices, it exceed my expectation except it's thickness and bulkiness. And running 600Mhz + true multitasking, to be honest, android will never come close to either Symbian or Maemo (probably even MeeGo) in hardware utilization and true multitasking. Gingerbread (android 3.0) may overcome this, but have to wait till next year for it to come. And still no news whether my SGS will get Gingerbread or not. It's pretty frustrating. doh.gif

And here, after using Motorola Milestone, and now SGS, there is alot of features that android is lacking. So thats why I currently owned both E52 and SGS. Nokia have all the features I need except browsing experience sucks alot. And with SGS that have good browsing experience, my life seems nearly perfect with this 2 phones.

icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on August 6, 2010, 10:35 pm
QUOTE(andrekua @ Aug 6 2010, 11:26 PM)
I really don't like Gizmodo iPhone fanboyism and BIAS-ness. Coz it's from American and most american people are more towards iPhone and Android phone. Gizmodo even mentioned Barrack Obama want to switch from Blackberry to iPhone coz it's bored but Obama never even mentioned on switching. I still trust Engadget for not being too bias. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Aug 6 2010, 10:35 PM
andrekua
post Aug 6 2010, 10:35 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Aug 6 2010, 10:30 PM)
Yeah, I know how you feel and I bet everyone here do. After using Nokia N97, I nearly lost faith coz come on, there is alot of good ads hanging around about N97, and it doesn't exceed any of my expectation. And when N900 came out, for a resistive devices, it exceed my expectation except it's thickness and bulkiness. And running 600Mhz + true multitasking, to be honest, android will never come close to either Symbian or Maemo (probably even MeeGo) in hardware utilization and true multitasking. Gingerbread (android 3.0) may overcome this, but have to wait till next year for it to come. And still no news whether my SGS will get Gingerbread or not. It's pretty frustrating.  doh.gif

And here, after using Motorola Milestone, and now SGS, there is alot of features that android is lacking. So thats why I currently owned both E52 and SGS. Nokia have all the features I need except browsing experience sucks alot. And with SGS that have good browsing experience, my life seems nearly perfect with this 2 phones.

icon_rolleyes.gif
Have you ever wonder at times how come a company like Nokia which sucks so much at making a touch screen device can rule the world of candy bar smartphone?

Their candy bar smartphone is godly...
Orain
post Aug 6 2010, 10:37 PM

82 posts

Nokia N8 Second Look

after i read this preview.is it really symbian is better than android???especially after read this sentence."Nokia N8 is good for those who have never used anything but Nokia and have no experience with Android"
Leo the Lion
post Aug 6 2010, 10:42 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Aug 6 2010, 11:35 PM)
Have you ever wonder at times how come a company like Nokia which sucks so much at making a touch screen device can rule the world of candy bar smartphone?

Their candy bar smartphone is godly...
No, I never think of that. But after N900 came out, it's still prove that Nokia can make better touch screen device. Minimum hardware, true multitasking and alot of great features.

Added on August 6, 2010, 10:45 pm
QUOTE(Orain @ Aug 6 2010, 11:37 PM)
Nokia N8 Second Look

after i read this preview.is it really symbian is better than android???especially after read this sentence."Nokia N8 is good for those who have never used anything but Nokia and have no experience with Android"
Well Well, I'm an android and symbian users. Both have pros and cons. Features-wise, Symbian is wayy ahead. performance-wise, android is better.

wink.gif

Added on August 6, 2010, 11:06 pmI think it's enough for Nokia's Symbian vs Android for today. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Aug 6 2010, 11:06 PM
andrekua
post Aug 6 2010, 11:10 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

But if N8 really made it hard to consider which to choose compared with Android, means a big leap to Nokia in some way...
BuFung
post Aug 6 2010, 11:15 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Aug 6 2010, 10:42 PM)
No, I never think of that. But after N900 came out, it's still prove that Nokia can make better touch screen device. Minimum hardware, true multitasking and alot of great features.

Added on August 6, 2010, 10:45 pm

Well Well, I'm an android and symbian users. Both have pros and cons. Features-wise, Symbian is wayy ahead. performance-wise, android is better.

wink.gif

Added on August 6, 2010, 11:06 pmI think it's enough for Nokia's Symbian vs Android for today. tongue.gif
Stable wise, messanger wise, BB win... Our thread getting more n more technical..... Programming skill also out here. laugh.gif

Added on August 6, 2010, 11:21 pmNokia already say n8 is not going to head to head wt top end phone. I agree on it. nHD not going anywhere high. Their top end should be the meego. But purely talk r useless, we need to see something solid. Even out now I also feel slow.

This post has been edited by BuFung: Aug 6 2010, 11:21 PM
Leo the Lion
post Aug 6 2010, 11:23 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Aug 7 2010, 12:10 AM)
But if N8 really made it hard to consider which to choose compared with Android, means a big leap to Nokia in some way...
To be honest, after using SGS for 1 months, I think, "why should I get N8??". Coz Nokia E52 is already seems perfect for me and N97 past experience still haunting me. So if I want something new from Nokia, and MeeGo device for sure will be my next target. hehe icon_idea.gif

Added on August 6, 2010, 11:25 pm
QUOTE(BuFung @ Aug 7 2010, 12:15 AM)
Stable wise, messanger wise, BB win... Our thread getting more n more technical..... Programming skill also out here. laugh.gif

Added on August 6, 2010, 11:21 pmNokia already say n8 is not going to head to head wt top end phone. I agree on it. nHD not going anywhere high. Their top end should be the meego. But purely talk r useless, we need to see something solid. Even out now I also feel slow.
SGS should give me comfy for 6~8 months b4 I go to another phone. By that time, MeeGo phone probably came out and I'm SOOOOOO EAGER to have it!! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Aug 6 2010, 11:25 PM
kaigraphy
post Aug 6 2010, 11:28 PM

465 posts

wow so many funny things going on... here n900 running android.....this video shall peacified the nokia vs blah blah blah...unfortunately I think the project is dead......wakakakakakkaka....

Added on August 6, 2010, 11:32 pmmore n8 stuff...

This post has been edited by kaigraphy: Aug 6 2010, 11:32 PM
cloud8318
post Aug 6 2010, 11:35 PM

7 stars still not enough lah!!!!
4,016 posts

QUOTE(kaigraphy @ Aug 6 2010, 11:28 PM)
wow so many funny things going on... here n900 running android.....this video shall peacified the nokia vs blah blah blah...unfortunately I think the project is dead......wakakakakakkaka....

Added on August 6, 2010, 11:32 pmmore n8 stuff...

not only android can run on N900, i saw some video window95 and windowNT running on N900

that the best part of N900 icon_rolleyes.gif

126 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.76    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:54 PM