How Much A Hawker Can Earn?, Before I jump in the ship
Jul 2 2010, 11:28 PM, updated 16y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
44 posts Joined: May 2010 From: somewhere on earth |
Hey guys and gals. First of all, I would say posting this thread here is more appropriate as this is the business section. I would really like to know how much does an average hawker can make in a month as well as how much can a good performing hawker makes in a month? Your answer is much appreciated. Please let me know whether you're mentioning gross or net profits.
This post has been edited by Cassidy90: Jul 2 2010, 11:33 PM |
Jul 3 2010, 12:05 AM
1,382 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
What food are you going to sell ?
There is no average can be estimate, as it based on the food taste, profit per plate and also location. We can simple calculate the net profit by Gross profit : Profit per plate (RM 2) X 100 plate X 30 days = RM 6000 per month Rental : RM 800 Other expenses : RM 100 1 worker : RM 800 Therefore, Net profit : RM 6000 - RM 1700 = RM 4300 per month Above just the the estimation as a guideline. |
Jul 3 2010, 12:10 AM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
It is how much you can sell dictate how much you can earn.
Jul 3 2010, 12:25 AM
Hi Cherroy
I couldn't determine yet how much I can sell, so it would be better if I know how much can a very good performing stall earns in a month and also the average one so I can see the high and low before deciding is it worth to take the plunge. Of course many factors included esp location. If you do know the earnings of any hawker, is much appreciated. Added on July 3, 2010, 12:31 am QUOTE(YuNGSeNG @ Jul 3 2010, 01:05 AM) What food are you going to sell ? Haven't decided what to sell but it will not differ much from existing hawker foods.There is no average can be estimate, as it based on the food taste, profit per plate and also location. We can simple calculate the net profit by Gross profit : Profit per plate (RM 2) X 100 plate X 30 days = RM 6000 per month Rental : RM 800 Other expenses : RM 100 1 worker : RM 800 Therefore, Net profit : RM 6000 - RM 1700 = RM 4300 per month Above just the the estimation as a guideline. Yes, I agree with you on taste and location. Say let us just put aside those factors, I would like to know what is the range(net profits) of an average and a very good hawker can get in a month. I've heard of some saying that there are hawkers earning about RM10k plus a month(net profits) and so.. but is it real? This post has been edited by Cassidy90: Jul 3 2010, 12:31 AM |
Jul 3 2010, 12:31 AM
37 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
I think u should be more specific in defining hawkers. Do u mean real hawkers like those plying their trade along the five foot way or do u consider those chinese kopitiams hawkers too?
But here's what i know. A chicken rice stall owner in imbi is making at least 15k a month. The owner of sun meng kee roasted duck restaurant in cheras make at 100k a month. Pls dont ask for prove. I dont have any. It's all from some1 i trust. |
Jul 3 2010, 12:32 AM
1,044 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
there are also few of them doing by with few hundreds to a few k's only
Jul 3 2010, 12:39 AM
QUOTE(dannyme @ Jul 3 2010, 01:31 AM) I think u should be more specific in defining hawkers. Do u mean real hawkers like those plying their trade along the five foot way or do u consider those chinese kopitiams hawkers too? Hi dannymeBut here's what i know. A chicken rice stall owner in imbi is making at least 15k a month. The owner of sun meng kee roasted duck restaurant in cheras make at 100k a month. Pls dont ask for prove. I dont have any. It's all from some1 i trust. My definition of hawkers will be of those small stalls in Chinese kopitiams(not the owner of the Kopitiam but those who rents a stall with them). I am also referring to those small stalls at foodcourt like in Asia Cafe and so. Wow...15k is a lot but is that net or gross? Sun Meng Kee is different as it's a restaurant doesn't fall under hawker. Haha... no need prove. |
Jul 3 2010, 12:42 AM
975 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: KL |
Can't say how much profit... But, a hawker can raised up 5 kids ... with 3 studying oversea ... got 3 properties; the most expensive is 700k ... got 4 cars ....
Jul 3 2010, 12:46 AM
that'll be nett.
But honestly, i think it's not a very viable business anymore. Too much of competition. Almost 90% of those who felt like running a business nowadays will choose these big three...food, education n beauty centre. Look through those ad pamphlet like media focus n u'll get what i mean. But hey, don't let me stop u if that has always been ur dream. This post has been edited by dannyme: Jul 3 2010, 12:55 AM |
Jul 3 2010, 05:02 AM
1,741 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
don't underestimated hawker or any food seller, their turnover could be 3 - 5 times your salary.
I know a auntie just selling just noodles + side dish (liu fen), only sell morning, earn around 5k-8k per month. usually when i arrive around 11am in the market she's finished, now she retired jor =.=! my parent's childhood friends, sell meats since I was born, no need rent place just park his lorry near a restaurant, also only sell morning after 11am he start to wash and leave, sell until 2 storey banglo, 2 foreign cars + 4 children's oversea university (i'm one of his son's friend) =.=! regarding to TS, provided if your hawker's food is nice, you could earn a very good income, but, could you stand the heat everyday? i know this guy work as hawker, 6 month he give up because of the heat and now he's in australia doing another work. oh by the way, the two above i mentioned is doing it in Ipoh, so maybe KL business more better provided your location is good. and yes location is very important, more people more chances your food can be tasted and spread with mouth around =D This post has been edited by shoduken: Jul 3 2010, 05:10 AM |
Jul 3 2010, 05:57 AM
198 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
mamak stall earn min 4k max 8k perday....i repeat per day....even my father business selling drinks and ABC Hot Chocolate earns 2k perday....
Jul 3 2010, 08:34 AM
3,820 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Land of the Hornbills & Land Below the Wind |
I believe there is a limit to what you sell and how much you can sell. There are only so many tables in the food court, not everyone eat yours. Considering 10-20% customer comes to the food court to eat your food is a healthy estimate figure.
Example: Food court: 50 tables x 4 round per day (Morning, Lunch, Dinner and Supper) = 200 tables. (Do not include those tea time.) 200 tables x 3 person per table = 600 people. (Most people comes in 2 - 4) If your food court is near uni/college, you can put 4 people. 600 x 10% = 60 person. 60 person x RM 4 (average food) = RM 240. RM 240 x 30 days = RM 7.2k This serves as a guideline for you to estimate your sales figure. Please change the number to suit your needs. I estimate based on food court. Do not include those which park their lorry beside the restaurant or others. |
Jul 3 2010, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(dannyme @ Jul 3 2010, 01:46 AM) that'll be nett. I agree with you that this is a competition stiff business. But honestly, i think it's not a very viable business anymore. Too much of competition. Almost 90% of those who felt like running a business nowadays will choose these big three...food, education n beauty centre. Look through those ad pamphlet like media focus n u'll get what i mean. But hey, don't let me stop u if that has always been ur dream. "But hey, don't let me stop u if that has always been ur dream. Added on July 3, 2010, 10:34 am QUOTE(Felice821 @ Jul 3 2010, 01:42 AM) Can't say how much profit... But, a hawker can raised up 5 kids ... with 3 studying oversea ... got 3 properties; the most expensive is 700k ... got 4 cars .... Hi Felice821He's probably richer than a CEO. How you know? You know the hawker? Added on July 3, 2010, 10:35 am QUOTE(shoduken @ Jul 3 2010, 06:02 AM) don't underestimated hawker or any food seller, their turnover could be 3 - 5 times your salary. thanks for the info shoduken. I know a auntie just selling just noodles + side dish (liu fen), only sell morning, earn around 5k-8k per month. usually when i arrive around 11am in the market she's finished, now she retired jor =.=! my parent's childhood friends, sell meats since I was born, no need rent place just park his lorry near a restaurant, also only sell morning after 11am he start to wash and leave, sell until 2 storey banglo, 2 foreign cars + 4 children's oversea university (i'm one of his son's friend) =.=! regarding to TS, provided if your hawker's food is nice, you could earn a very good income, but, could you stand the heat everyday? i know this guy work as hawker, 6 month he give up because of the heat and now he's in australia doing another work. oh by the way, the two above i mentioned is doing it in Ipoh, so maybe KL business more better provided your location is good. and yes location is very important, more people more chances your food can be tasted and spread with mouth around =D This post has been edited by Cassidy90: Jul 3 2010, 10:35 AM |
Jul 3 2010, 10:36 AM
Most hawker dont have to pay income tax hence much more money to spend
Jul 3 2010, 10:39 AM
QUOTE(ptit @ Jul 3 2010, 06:57 AM) mamak stall earn min 4k max 8k perday....i repeat per day....even my father business selling drinks and ABC Hot Chocolate earns 2k perday.... Hi ptitThat's a lot but mamak stall is a restaurant instead of a hawker. Is your father's business selling drinks and ABC Hot Chocolate operating from a small stall or does he actually owns a restaurant and rented out the rest of the place for small stalls to sell food and your dad the only one selling drinks? thanks |
Jul 3 2010, 10:43 AM
8,023 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: :: Cheras :: |
Jul 3 2010, 11:23 AM
2,703 posts Joined: May 2007 From: where you need wings and awakened to reach |
depends on how good ur food gets... a popular mamak stall can get 20-30k of sales per day!!!!
Jul 3 2010, 11:24 AM
376 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
QUOTE(Cassidy90 @ Jul 3 2010, 12:25 AM) Hi Cherroy well the most important thing is know what is the turn over of the restaurant.....taking the lowest estimation people come in will be the best, if not you will lose hope very fast ( because expectation too high but the rate you imagine is too low)I couldn't determine yet how much I can sell, so it would be better if I know how much can a very good performing stall earns in a month and also the average one so I can see the high and low before deciding is it worth to take the plunge. Of course many factors included esp location. If you do know the earnings of any hawker, is much appreciated. Added on July 3, 2010, 12:31 am Haven't decided what to sell but it will not differ much from existing hawker foods. Yes, I agree with you on taste and location. Say let us just put aside those factors, I would like to know what is the range(net profits) of an average and a very good hawker can get in a month. I've heard of some saying that there are hawkers earning about RM10k plus a month(net profits) and so.. but is it real? just a few days ago, i went around pj and notice that about 4k per stall/ month which i directly ask the owner because me myself plan to start during weekend. only. because you start know what you want to sell, look for your competitor nearby where u want to start. do you need worker to help you? what are your different between other people stall. well looking at price to charge customer also have to determine your location some people might think your food and nice and cheap or reasonable price people who come from far too. putting in money in a factor as well, some marketing will help to increase your customer |
Jul 3 2010, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(Syd G @ Jul 3 2010, 10:43 AM) Lol...what a contradicting statement. I guess u mean they need to but they dont.But hey, u think only hawkers doing that? Bet most businesses here in malaysia pay the bare minimum. Anyway they pay the price by not being able to own anything significant. |
Jul 3 2010, 11:29 AM
2,755 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
since u have no idea wat to sell, better at least think that 1st before decide to go into hawker.
end of day, it's the taste of ur food that will dictate ur income. |
Jul 3 2010, 11:31 AM
8,023 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: :: Cheras :: |
Jul 3 2010, 12:59 PM
QUOTE(Syd G @ Jul 3 2010, 12:31 PM) yeah.... sometimes, the food industry.. i mean chinaman style... the price is depending on their mouth.. like mix rice... there`s no standard... u can take same amount of food on today and the price may differ tomorrow |
Jul 3 2010, 01:21 PM
QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Jul 3 2010, 12:23 PM) Hi Awakened_AngelBut this is extreme, 20-30k "PER DAY". In this case, what kind of mamak stall you're referring to? small ones or like Steven Corner? As I'm looking for answers for small stalls like those you see in WaiSikKai - in this case just a small single stall. Thankz Added on July 3, 2010, 1:28 pm QUOTE(ahpoh @ Jul 3 2010, 12:24 PM) well the most important thing is know what is the turn over of the restaurant.....taking the lowest estimation people come in will be the best, if not you will lose hope very fast ( because expectation too high but the rate you imagine is too low) Hi ahpohjust a few days ago, i went around pj and notice that about 4k per stall/ month which i directly ask the owner because me myself plan to start during weekend. only. because you start know what you want to sell, look for your competitor nearby where u want to start. do you need worker to help you? what are your different between other people stall. well looking at price to charge customer also have to determine your location some people might think your food and nice and cheap or reasonable price people who come from far too. putting in money in a factor as well, some marketing will help to increase your customer that stall you mentioned raking in RM4k a month, is it net profits or gross? If it's gross I don't see anything good but if it's net then it could be worth something to try. Eagerly waiting for your reply. Thanks This post has been edited by Cassidy90: Jul 3 2010, 01:28 PM |
Jul 3 2010, 01:54 PM
41 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
I heard from my friend that one of her friend is currently running a stall selling claypot herbal chicken with rice and has another two more stalls elsewhere earning about RM20k plus plus a month. Not sure whether it's net or gross but the owner hires people to manage while he/she oversees the business. At least the owner doesn't need to work anymore, everyday just go check out the three stalls. One of it is at Cheras. hope this helps.
Jul 3 2010, 02:29 PM
3,820 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Land of the Hornbills & Land Below the Wind |
People people. Let's us to go to the basics. Don't tell TS that this hawker earn XX money and raise how many kids, buy how many cars, earn how much property etc. Give him facts, not stories. Stories will motivate him, but it doesn't teach him how to become like them.
All he needs to know is how feasible it is to be a hawker. Let's say he is selling Bak Kut Teh with normal portion, normal taste at a normal flow of customer. And with that how much can be earn (based on estimation). Of course more pork, good sup, busy customer etc is just the bonus point. |
Jul 3 2010, 02:48 PM
1,741 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(edyek @ Jul 3 2010, 02:29 PM) People people. Let's us to go to the basics. Don't tell TS that this hawker earn XX money and raise how many kids, buy how many cars, earn how much property etc. Give him facts, not stories. Stories will motivate him, but it doesn't teach him how to become like them. good point on this one, whoever do food business do not be stingy on their ingredients, make it affordable yet profitable. if you're stingy on your ingredients and it turns out bad and terrible, customer will know it and will not buy it the second time, and mouth will spread around your foods isn't that good enough (that's me lol)All he needs to know is how feasible it is to be a hawker. Let's say he is selling Bak Kut Teh with normal portion, normal taste at a normal flow of customer. And with that how much can be earn (based on estimation). Of course more pork, good sup, busy customer etc is just the bonus point. about ba kut teh not everyone want more pork, i eat ba kut teh because of the soups herbs taste, i usually ask them to put less / entirely take out the pork and replace it with more vegetables. |
Jul 3 2010, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(edyek @ Jul 3 2010, 03:29 PM) People people. Let's us to go to the basics. Don't tell TS that this hawker earn XX money and raise how many kids, buy how many cars, earn how much property etc. Give him facts, not stories. Stories will motivate him, but it doesn't teach him how to become like them. hi edyekAll he needs to know is how feasible it is to be a hawker. Let's say he is selling Bak Kut Teh with normal portion, normal taste at a normal flow of customer. And with that how much can be earn (based on estimation). Of course more pork, good sup, busy customer etc is just the bonus point. Yes, you got me. Guys in this case: "Let's say he is selling Bak Kut Teh/Noodles/Rice with normal portion, normal taste at a normal flow of customer. And with that how much can be earn (based on estimation)" - Anyone knows? Or have heard of other hawkers' earnings??? Please share here. All I need to know is basically the profit(net) of a hawker with average business and a hawker with good business. Of course I will take note on becoming a good hawker, like not give too less ingredients or serve something that is not delicious and so. Thanks |
Jul 3 2010, 05:14 PM
QUOTE(Cassidy90 @ Jul 3 2010, 04:05 PM) hi edyek As I've replied in the previous thread.Yes, you got me. Guys in this case: "Let's say he is selling Bak Kut Teh/Noodles/Rice with normal portion, normal taste at a normal flow of customer. And with that how much can be earn (based on estimation)" - Anyone knows? Or have heard of other hawkers' earnings??? Please share here. All I need to know is basically the profit(net) of a hawker with average business and a hawker with good business. Of course I will take note on becoming a good hawker, like not give too less ingredients or serve something that is not delicious and so. Thanks Example: Food court: 50 tables x 4 round per day (Morning, Lunch, Dinner and Supper) = 200 tables. (Do not include those tea time.) 200 tables x 3 person per table = 600 people. (Most people comes in 2 - 4) If your food court is near uni/college, you can put 4 people. 600 x 10% = 60 person. 60 person x RM 4 (average food) = RM 240. RM 240 x 30 days = RM 7.2k Expenses that you need to deduct: 1) Rental 2) Workers and your wages 3) Everyday / monthly ingredient expenses (Vegetable, Meat, Spices, Gas, etc) From here you can access your income based on the estimation you have made. 1) You can access whether your food is sellable in the morning, lunch, dinner or supper. Some food are sellable when it is morning time (Rarely someone eats steak during morning time, yes?). Some is only for dinner and supper. Some is suitable for whole day(Char kuey teow, bak kut teh etc). 2) You can access whether the place you decide to rent has enough traffic flow. What kind of customer it has? Office workers? Students? Mixed? Nearby residential families? If it targets office workers, then you need to prepare the food that is for morning and afternoon (e.g. economic rice). Max your income based on this two session. 3) You can access your food price. Adjust to the price that will cover your expenses and overhead and of course with profit. And most importantly, customer feels comfortable when paying for your food. |
Jul 3 2010, 05:23 PM
1,685 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
This is what I heard from a stall owner.
One day she sold about 1,000 chicken @ RM 18 / pcs. Now you do the maths on how much she's making from that chicken alone. Don't ask me how much is the cost for that chicken, I got no answer. |
Jul 3 2010, 07:05 PM
17,053 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Cassidy90 @ Jul 3 2010, 01:21 PM) Hi Awakened_Angel my dear he stated 20-30k sales per day instead of profit. But this is extreme, 20-30k "PER DAY". In this case, what kind of mamak stall you're referring to? small ones or like Steven Corner? As I'm looking for answers for small stalls like those you see in WaiSikKai - in this case just a small single stall. Thankz Added on July 3, 2010, 1:28 pm Hi ahpoh that stall you mentioned raking in RM4k a month, is it net profits or gross? If it's gross I don't see anything good but if it's net then it could be worth something to try. Eagerly waiting for your reply. Thanks QUOTE(gs20 @ Jul 3 2010, 05:23 PM) This is what I heard from a stall owner. Those hypermarkets are selling chickens already cooked for like RM8 per chicken right? They just resale and get healthy profit.One day she sold about 1,000 chicken @ RM 18 / pcs. Now you do the maths on how much she's making from that chicken alone. Don't ask me how much is the cost for that chicken, I got no answer. |
Jul 3 2010, 08:03 PM
975 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: KL |
How I know, coz that hawker is my uncle ... hehe!!
Even my father also hawker, but seriously I don't know the fact how the profit comes from ... 1 things good about hawker is "CASH term"! |
Jul 3 2010, 08:26 PM
QUOTE(Felice821 @ Jul 3 2010, 08:03 PM) How I know, coz that hawker is my uncle ... hehe!! Your uncle is rich, but whether he get rich as you claimed he was through hawker is still a question mark. Maybe he invest in property, stock etc to get rich? As I've said in my earlier post, don't misguide TS by saying doing hawker can have "3 properties; the most expensive is 700k ... got 4 cars .... ". No offence. Even my father also hawker, but seriously I don't know the fact how the profit comes from ... 1 things good about hawker is "CASH term"! You are right about the 2nd part. Yes, hawker business is cash term business. Which is why it is a good business as long as you are there to do it. |
Jul 3 2010, 08:32 PM
Edyek
There are also numerous hawker that cant deal with those large amount of cash and end up gambling them away. True stories, 2 popular coffee shop here switched hand cause owners are deep in debt to football betting and uncle lim |
Jul 3 2010, 08:47 PM
4,928 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: /K/opitiam Pak Hang Status: Permaban |
Jul 3 2010, 09:07 PM
116 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
woooo,my ambition to become hawker in 5 years time!!!
Jul 3 2010, 09:37 PM
QUOTE(gastacopz @ Jul 3 2010, 09:47 PM) BRJ, Setapak... you should see the crowd when it reach its peak.... midnightmy favourite...... and this small mamak selling nasi lemak in TBR, setapak.... people from kajang, cheras, pj came for its nasi lemak... the chicken keep coming in non stop from kitchen the whole night Added on July 3, 2010, 9:39 pm QUOTE(Cassidy90 @ Jul 3 2010, 02:21 PM) Hi Awakened_Angel yes, you just see the food court in wai sek kai... there`s this famous stall selling mix rice.... jz beside selling bun one... the queue just know no end... and the price?/ very dear..... i once take chicken, taufu, egg & vege cost me RM 8.50 But this is extreme, 20-30k "PER DAY". In this case, what kind of mamak stall you're referring to? small ones or like Steven Corner? As I'm looking for answers for small stalls like those you see in WaiSikKai - in this case just a small single stall. Thankz in SS2 man... not KLCC This post has been edited by Awakened_Angel: Jul 3 2010, 09:39 PM |
Jul 3 2010, 10:22 PM
525 posts Joined: May 2010 From: KL |
QUOTE(idunnolol @ Jul 3 2010, 10:36 AM) try not to get too famous or end up like the CKT auntie in pg, the income tax ppl sit there whole day to see how mant CKT she selling to check why her income tax so low. hahahahahabut seriously TS, u need to think of what's the tastiest thing u can cook to sell with the least amount of trouble (no need to do too many fancy things to cook it) but also profitable. then go ard look for a good stall location then ask abt the rental. then start ur calculations lar. no use asking us like this. ur question is so vague and we also don't know what u aim to do. |
Jul 4 2010, 12:31 AM
QUOTE(Jinx-Z @ Jul 3 2010, 10:07 PM) Hi jinx-Zwhy wait another 5years? why not make it now. Added on July 4, 2010, 12:38 am QUOTE(lexiqa @ Jul 3 2010, 11:22 PM) try not to get too famous or end up like the CKT auntie in pg, the income tax ppl sit there whole day to see how mant CKT she selling to check why her income tax so low. hahahahaha Hi lexiqabut seriously TS, u need to think of what's the tastiest thing u can cook to sell with the least amount of trouble (no need to do too many fancy things to cook it) but also profitable. then go ard look for a good stall location then ask abt the rental. then start ur calculations lar. no use asking us like this. ur question is so vague and we also don't know what u aim to do. ahahaha... i agree with what you said above and by that I mean all the points. i may not yet know what i wanna sell but at least by knowing what the worse and the best can make will certainly help in deciding my decision to jump in or not then only am i able to know what i can sell. This post has been edited by Cassidy90: Jul 4 2010, 12:38 AM |
Jul 4 2010, 02:03 AM
now still nit to study for 1 year. den nit working and get some money. while working, try to collect some secret tasty recipe and try it at home....so need to take few year time to start my hawker life.loL~
im thinking to start at pasar malam first...rugi oso wont take hurt |
Jul 4 2010, 02:20 AM
9,137 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Wouldn't be around much, pls PM other mods. |
This are good motivational stories on hawker being rich.
But how many heard of hawkers that doesn't survive. (devil's advocate here) Did anyone list down the hard work one puts in to be successful? i.e. basically no life. Early morning has to rise and go market. After getting fresh ingredients then have to prepare the portions and also seasoning. Then it's cooking; even at night after closing, have to prepare the seasoning materials for the next day. It's basically hard work and hardly any rest to be successful. |
Jul 4 2010, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(b00n @ Jul 4 2010, 03:20 AM) This are good motivational stories on hawker being rich. yes...... But how many heard of hawkers that doesn't survive. (devil's advocate here) Did anyone list down the hard work one puts in to be successful? i.e. basically no life. Early morning has to rise and go market. After getting fresh ingredients then have to prepare the portions and also seasoning. Then it's cooking; even at night after closing, have to prepare the seasoning materials for the next day. It's basically hard work and hardly any rest to be successful. but sadly.... many also work hard and yet to be succesful... they work harder than the succesful one |
Jul 4 2010, 10:02 AM
QUOTE(b00n @ Jul 4 2010, 03:20 AM) This are good motivational stories on hawker being rich. Hi BoonBut how many heard of hawkers that doesn't survive. (devil's advocate here) Did anyone list down the hard work one puts in to be successful? i.e. basically no life. Early morning has to rise and go market. After getting fresh ingredients then have to prepare the portions and also seasoning. Then it's cooking; even at night after closing, have to prepare the seasoning materials for the next day. It's basically hard work and hardly any rest to be successful. Yes we cant ignore those that failed too. But in business it's about taking risk. If one is prepared to try, he/she will eventually accept whether it's a positive or negative outcome. When someone fails, I believe there will always be somewhere wrong. Hardwork is a lot in running a hawker stall, and having no life is basically one. But there are also hawkers that have plenty of time to do own things and they merely even help out at the stall other than just monitoring it. It depends on how you do, what gives the perception that by being a hawker it's about very long hours and it takes you the whole day including preparing for tomorrow's ingredients? It all depends on what you sell and whether is there a system in place. I have seen some hawkers only spend little time on preparation before the start, and some even after helping out in preparation will leave for home while other people will help manning the stall. |
Jul 4 2010, 12:13 PM
2,932 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Which really means that how much other hawkers can earn has very little relevance to what you can earn.
There are way too many variables involved, and it's very different for each individual. |
Jul 4 2010, 12:22 PM
410 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(YuNGSeNG @ Jul 3 2010, 12:05 AM) What food are you going to sell ? yup, the above calculation is very close... my experience on selling burgers, pisang goreng, and flavored drinks during my school days (with 1 partner) produces almost the same result as the gross profit. We started from 5 pm after class until 11 pm. Knowing ur fixed and variable cost well is very important... Dont under estimate these costs...There is no average can be estimate, as it based on the food taste, profit per plate and also location. We can simple calculate the net profit by Gross profit : Profit per plate (RM 2) X 100 plate X 30 days = RM 6000 per month Rental : RM 800 Other expenses : RM 100 1 worker : RM 800 Therefore, Net profit : RM 6000 - RM 1700 = RM 4300 per month Above just the the estimation as a guideline. |
Jul 4 2010, 01:57 PM
QUOTE(howszat @ Jul 4 2010, 01:13 PM) Which really means that how much other hawkers can earn has very little relevance to what you can earn. Hi howszatThere are way too many variables involved, and it's very different for each individual. yes, how much others can earn has little relevance to what i can earn as there are many differences and like you said variables involved. but knowing the bottom and top enables me to do my calculations and much or less affect my decision making. Added on July 4, 2010, 1:59 pmBesides providing me with an insight of hawker business in terms of earnings. This post has been edited by Cassidy90: Jul 4 2010, 01:59 PM |
Jul 4 2010, 03:04 PM
2,932 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
One good thing about the hawker business is you can set it up with very little capital commitment, and see how it works out.
If you don't like it, you can walk away from it. |
Jul 4 2010, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(howszat @ Jul 4 2010, 04:04 PM) One good thing about the hawker business is you can set it up with very little capital commitment, and see how it works out. yeah, well said. but do you guys know where to hire people to man the stall? If you don't like it, you can walk away from it. and i still need more feedbacks for thread. thanks guys and gals in advance, just keep the answers coming in. This post has been edited by Cassidy90: Jul 4 2010, 03:23 PM |
Jul 4 2010, 03:28 PM
QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Jul 4 2010, 09:20 AM) yes...... True. But most hawker only work hard but not smart enough. Purely depending on hawker biz is not the answer. How many can strike rich due to its good food? Most hawkers just have an average income. Some are smart enough to invest in property, stock, funds n etc.but sadly.... many also work hard and yet to be succesful... they work harder than the succesful one QUOTE(howszat @ Jul 4 2010, 12:13 PM) Which really means that how much other hawkers can earn has very little relevance to what you can earn. True enough. There are way too many variables involved, and it's very different for each individual. |
Jul 4 2010, 03:45 PM
anyone can tell me where to hire ppl for a hawker stall or do you guys know where other hawkers get their staffs/workers from?
Jul 4 2010, 03:51 PM
115 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
When a customer when to a kopitiam they already knew which stall food to eat so for the first half year you need some capital to curb your losses while you build your customer base...............
Just my 2 cents opinion.............. |
Jul 4 2010, 06:06 PM
I wouldn't say that you can't make good profits nor you're going to make the worst profits here being a hawker. As far as I am concerned, people no matter what still needs to eat especially those working people. How much you can earn depends on many factors which I believe you can adjust. In short you determine it by how you are going to do it. I've heard of a pancake/waffle stall owner earning more than 10k a month while he himself is still holding on to his day job as an IT consultant. His stall is located at Wangsa Maju. My friend personally asked the owner himself, while I'm not sure whether this is true or not but I've been there once and all I can tell is that he has found a very good location and based on the traffic, and some estimation, there's a very high possibility that you can believe what the owner said.
Jul 4 2010, 06:27 PM
errrr,u mean the one that near to traffic light 1 ?? din feel tat the fella will earn 10k per month. but one thing for sure is, tat owner is using his own mix tepung to make waffle 1(safe cost,cause most of the owner of waffle is using fanchise way to make waffle).taste is ok ok only but location is quite good
This post has been edited by Jinx-Z: Jul 4 2010, 06:27 PM |
Jul 4 2010, 07:06 PM
200 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
anyone want to open a hawker stall?
Jul 4 2010, 08:47 PM
QUOTE(Jinx-Z @ Jul 4 2010, 06:27 PM) errrr,u mean the one that near to traffic light 1 ?? din feel tat the fella will earn 10k per month. but one thing for sure is, tat owner is using his own mix tepung to make waffle 1(safe cost,cause most of the owner of waffle is using fanchise way to make waffle).taste is ok ok only but location is quite good no, not the one near to the traffic light. but the one somewhere near the lrt station. Added on July 4, 2010, 8:49 pm QUOTE(draggy @ Jul 4 2010, 07:06 PM) i have a friend who has a lot of knowledge in the F&B field. he's interested to set up one and has been doing research for quite some time already. so you mean you're interested as well?This post has been edited by ivan.nickivan: Jul 4 2010, 08:49 PM |
Jul 4 2010, 10:14 PM
6,728 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: YOUR HOUSE |
I've worked as a cashier for a store that sells satay (different kinds, chicken, lamb, fishballs, ba gua and etc).
The store's revenue is 10k per day. |
Jul 4 2010, 10:28 PM
1,360 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
do we have to pay gangster protection fees for this business?
Jul 5 2010, 08:00 AM
QUOTE(Cassidy90 @ Jul 3 2010, 10:39 AM) Hi ptit my father stall its part a food court...that have 12 permanent table with 6 seats each...its a big food court like 50 stalls inside...and there is like 8-9 stall that sells drinks....it's a very compatitive environment...and we need to be creative to attract customers....That's a lot but mamak stall is a restaurant instead of a hawker. Is your father's business selling drinks and ABC Hot Chocolate operating from a small stall or does he actually owns a restaurant and rented out the rest of the place for small stalls to sell food and your dad the only one selling drinks? thanks now it become a family business....my brother is taking over the business even he have a degree...last time my father use indon workers as stall helpers...but after a few immagration raids....he start to take only locals...it's very hard to find locals ppl to work in such business...luckily he brought most of our helpers from kampung.... ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() sorry for the promo... |
Jul 5 2010, 10:20 AM
1,177 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(b00n @ Jul 4 2010, 02:20 AM) This are good motivational stories on hawker being rich. True, true. I had a colleague who once worked over ten years ago selling fruits. Very early in the morning, he would get up to buy fresh fruit. Then he would spend time chopping them and preparing them. Then he would sell them from his motorcycle-based stall. He claimed that he could earn on average RM6k a month doing this. He had no employees. And that was ten years ago. He gave up however because it took way too much time, he had no holidays at all and it did serious damage to his hands to chop and prepare the fruit. His hands were in constant pain due to the acidic content of the juices splashed on them.But how many heard of hawkers that doesn't survive. (devil's advocate here) Did anyone list down the hard work one puts in to be successful? i.e. basically no life. Early morning has to rise and go market. After getting fresh ingredients then have to prepare the portions and also seasoning. Then it's cooking; even at night after closing, have to prepare the seasoning materials for the next day. It's basically hard work and hardly any rest to be successful. |
Jul 5 2010, 10:21 AM
1,324 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Subang JAya USj |
QUOTE(ptit @ Jul 5 2010, 08:00 AM) my father stall its part a food court...that have 12 permanent table with 6 seats each...its a big food court like 50 stalls inside...and there is like 8-9 stall that sells drinks....it's a very compatitive environment...and we need to be creative to attract customers.... abc sec 2 sgt feymes wooo now it become a family business....my brother is taking over the business even he have a degree...last time my father use indon workers as stall helpers...but after a few immagration raids....he start to take only locals...it's very hard to find locals ppl to work in such business...luckily he brought most of our helpers from kampung.... ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() sorry for the promo... |
Jul 5 2010, 10:38 AM
4,514 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
Everyone commented on how much a hawker can earn in terms of thousands.
For every successful hawker, there are at least 10 who has failed to make it and ended up losing all its savings and in debt. A hawker's life is not a bed of roses. Its tough, frustrating and emotionally stressed. The input by other commenters on the mathematical input is highly relevant in determining your fate depending on the expected volume of your business. |
Jul 5 2010, 02:05 PM
in such business...dedication is the most important....truely said...my father was a very hard working man...he never close his stall...and he never trust anyone except family...
in our younger years...we thought our father never care about us....no fun...always work... then we realize...he doing it to support us...for his family future...all my younger brother/sister finish degree fully support no need ptptn etc....each family have their own car... 50 acre land... 3 storey building in seksyen 7...he even built lovely kampung style house in kampung each of us have own room....for family gathering.... after i have my first son...then i get the whole picture...i wish to be like him... |
Jul 5 2010, 06:01 PM
52 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
Interesting topic. Any more ppl who knows about any hawker's earning per month?
Jul 5 2010, 06:12 PM
10,429 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
all those of you who do not have experience in F&B just stay out of the business. Don't even dream about owning a restaurant/hawker stall until you know about this inside out.
All the successful restaurant business you see...all the owners have extensive experience especially in preparing the meal. If you plan to hire a cook, I can assure you 99% you will fail. Because when the cook resign, you are screwed. You only know how to see successful restaurants...have you heard of all those that failed? I have and I know. |
Jul 5 2010, 07:29 PM
given that generation nowadays are more enterprising, whereby they are more willing to try in search of the answer than to keep guessing. after all, failing which doesn't cost their lives and if it's successful it will be beyond his/her wildest dream. many successful people in business started off with no knowledge and experience, holding on to their idea armed only with guts.
Jul 5 2010, 08:50 PM
For those aspiring would be hawkers, spend a couple of hours at a wan ton stall and see how long it takes to get one plate of wan ton ready and then you will know how many plates he can make in an hour, provided he has a constant flow of customers.
Work out the estimated profit and you will have a rough calculation of what to expect. |
Jul 5 2010, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(pinkantelope @ Jul 5 2010, 08:29 PM) given that generation nowadays are more enterprising, whereby they are more willing to try in search of the answer than to keep guessing. after all, failing which doesn't cost their lives and if it's successful it will be beyond his/her wildest dream. many successful people in business started off with no knowledge and experience, holding on to their idea armed only with guts. I just love what you said. |
Jul 5 2010, 09:21 PM
QUOTE(pinkantelope @ Jul 5 2010, 07:29 PM) given that generation nowadays are more enterprising, whereby they are more willing to try in search of the answer than to keep guessing. after all, failing which doesn't cost their lives and if it's successful it will be beyond his/her wildest dream. many successful people in business started off with no knowledge and experience, holding on to their idea armed only with guts. Some people just hold on too long without knowing they have wasted their time, and when they realized it, they think they are too old for anything.Many successful people nowadays start off with a little/half/more knowledge and experience. These days many business is about speed, planning, stragically carrying out the plans, etc. Those days without knowledge and experience and yet be successful in business is our grandpa days, and those days are getting lesser. |
Jul 5 2010, 11:09 PM
8,652 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: lolyat |
QUOTE(abubin @ Jul 5 2010, 06:12 PM) all those of you who do not have experience in F&B just stay out of the business. Don't even dream about owning a restaurant/hawker stall until you know about this inside out. if the owner is also the chef of the restaurant, i'm sure the restaurant won't face this kind of problemAll the successful restaurant business you see...all the owners have extensive experience especially in preparing the meal. If you plan to hire a cook, I can assure you 99% you will fail. Because when the cook resign, you are screwed. You only know how to see successful restaurants...have you heard of all those that failed? I have and I know. |
Jul 6 2010, 02:24 AM
QUOTE(b00n @ Jul 4 2010, 02:20 AM) This are good motivational stories on hawker being rich. which job don't need hard work wor?? only depends on whether u willing to do or not lor.But how many heard of hawkers that doesn't survive. (devil's advocate here) Did anyone list down the hard work one puts in to be successful? i.e. basically no life. Early morning has to rise and go market. After getting fresh ingredients then have to prepare the portions and also seasoning. Then it's cooking; even at night after closing, have to prepare the seasoning materials for the next day. It's basically hard work and hardly any rest to be successful. go to work also need to be scolded by boss. if u r boss also need to see ur clients' black face. everyone also need to see everyone else's black face. if so easy, everyone also don't need to work, goyang kaki ler. QUOTE(Cassidy90 @ Jul 4 2010, 03:45 PM) anyone can tell me where to hire ppl for a hawker stall or do you guys know where other hawkers get their staffs/workers from? get from those agencies that also supply maids lor. some ppl get from there to do stall/restaurant work also.btw, i thought abt it and i think rojak, chicken wings, are few things that don't need too many preparations. rojak. buy fruits, buy rojak sauce by bulk and add chilli paste or make urself only. no need cooking skills also. just good at cutting fruits fast and nicely chicken wings. buy chicken wings, add marinate then overnight. open stall then panggang and sell. both things also don't need so special cooking skills and hardly can make until so terrible no one will buy. lol QUOTE(abubin @ Jul 5 2010, 06:12 PM) all those of you who do not have experience in F&B just stay out of the business. Don't even dream about owning a restaurant/hawker stall until you know about this inside out. belum cuba belum tau ler. i rather see these ppl who wanna go ahead and do it than just talk talk talk all day about what could have been. let them go ahead and do it than discourage them lar.All the successful restaurant business you see...all the owners have extensive experience especially in preparing the meal. If you plan to hire a cook, I can assure you 99% you will fail. Because when the cook resign, you are screwed. You only know how to see successful restaurants...have you heard of all those that failed? I have and I know. so what if u fail?? failing is the mother of success (chinese saying) having no ambition is the only sure-fire way towards failure. not failing once or twice. |
Jul 6 2010, 08:04 AM
hi, guys anyone know where can get a weekend (saturday and sunday) hawker stall in PJ area form morning till afternoon time only.
I am planning to sell rice (not mix rice) and i had go a few coffee shop to find and not available. if anyone know please pm me. |
Jul 6 2010, 10:44 AM
belum cuba belum tau ler. i rather see these ppl who wanna go ahead and do it than just talk talk talk all day about what could have been. let them go ahead and do it than discourage them lar. so what if u fail?? failing is the mother of success (chinese saying) having no ambition is the only sure-fire way towards failure. not failing once or twice. [/quote] Hi Lexiqa I agree with your statement. |
Jul 6 2010, 11:48 AM
667 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(pinkantelope @ Jul 5 2010, 06:01 PM) Family member who was a chicken rice seller earned 20k a month. But he used to wake up at 4am, spent 3-4 hours deep frying his chickens and prepare other dishes so he could start his business at 11am. He sold around 50 chickens a day. Very tough work, and he quited his business after 10 years, even though it's highly profitable, because of long working hours.Family friend who sold Chrysanthemum tea (leong cha) by a nearby tourist centre sold around 400 glasses a day. Cost's negligible, and monthly profit easily more than 10k. Location matters. Friend who sold duck meat koay teow soup selling around 300 bowls a day by the roadside. Earns around 20k a month. All his family members refuse to take up the father's job because of heat, dirt and smell. They prefer to work in the factory for 80% less. I guess, if you make a dish and willing to work hard and tolerate the not-so-office-job environment. You make heaps working as a hawker. It's just that the 'job prestige' is not there. |
Jul 6 2010, 12:02 PM
this is definitely true...such job must have target to retire...enjoying the money...the best is inherit to family member...
QUOTE(newbie99 @ Jul 6 2010, 11:48 AM) Family member who was a chicken rice seller earned 20k a month. But he used to wake up at 4am, spent 3-4 hours deep frying his chickens and prepare other dishes so he could start his business at 11am. He sold around 50 chickens a day. Very tough work, and he quited his business after 10 years, even though it's highly profitable, because of long working hours. Family friend who sold Chrysanthemum tea (leong cha) by a nearby tourist centre sold around 400 glasses a day. Cost's negligible, and monthly profit easily more than 10k. Location matters. Friend who sold duck meat koay teow soup selling around 300 bowls a day by the roadside. Earns around 20k a month. All his family members refuse to take up the father's job because of heat, dirt and smell. They prefer to work in the factory for 80% less. I guess, if you make a dish and willing to work hard and tolerate the not-so-office-job environment. You make heaps working as a hawker. It's just that the 'job prestige' is not there. |
Jul 6 2010, 03:00 PM
10,429 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(lexiqa @ Jul 6 2010, 02:24 AM) which job don't need hard work wor?? only depends on whether u willing to do or not lor. What's the point of trying if you are going to fail anyway? You want to invest 50k into a business with 10% of success rate? Might as well take the money and go gamble at genting.go to work also need to be scolded by boss. if u r boss also need to see ur clients' black face. everyone also need to see everyone else's black face. if so easy, everyone also don't need to work, goyang kaki ler. get from those agencies that also supply maids lor. some ppl get from there to do stall/restaurant work also. btw, i thought abt it and i think rojak, chicken wings, are few things that don't need too many preparations. rojak. buy fruits, buy rojak sauce by bulk and add chilli paste or make urself only. no need cooking skills also. just good at cutting fruits fast and nicely chicken wings. buy chicken wings, add marinate then overnight. open stall then panggang and sell. both things also don't need so special cooking skills and hardly can make until so terrible no one will buy. lol belum cuba belum tau ler. i rather see these ppl who wanna go ahead and do it than just talk talk talk all day about what could have been. let them go ahead and do it than discourage them lar. so what if u fail?? failing is the mother of success (chinese saying) having no ambition is the only sure-fire way towards failure. not failing once or twice. How many restaurants you see whereby the owner is not the cook? You can be as hardworking as bull but in the end you still do not know how to cook. That is stupid way of doing things. You want to be successful hawker/restaurenteur then you start from basic. Go learn about cooking and preparation of food. Start from bottom and work your way up. Or go get a franchise. |
Jul 6 2010, 09:51 PM
Jul 6 2010, 10:22 PM
15,855 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(lexiqa @ Jul 6 2010, 02:24 AM) which job don't need hard work wor?? only depends on whether u willing to do or not lor. lexiqa,go to work also need to be scolded by boss. if u r boss also need to see ur clients' black face. everyone also need to see everyone else's black face. if so easy, everyone also don't need to work, goyang kaki ler. get from those agencies that also supply maids lor. some ppl get from there to do stall/restaurant work also. btw, i thought abt it and i think rojak, chicken wings, are few things that don't need too many preparations. rojak. buy fruits, buy rojak sauce by bulk and add chilli paste or make urself only. no need cooking skills also. just good at cutting fruits fast and nicely chicken wings. buy chicken wings, add marinate then overnight. open stall then panggang and sell. both things also don't need so special cooking skills and hardly can make until so terrible no one will buy. lol belum cuba belum tau ler. i rather see these ppl who wanna go ahead and do it than just talk talk talk all day about what could have been. let them go ahead and do it than discourage them lar. so what if u fail?? failing is the mother of success (chinese saying) having no ambition is the only sure-fire way towards failure. not failing once or twice. <<which job don't need hard work wor?? only depends on whether u willing to do or not lor.>> How many people work 60 to 80 hours per week on their job?? That is HARD WORK. Anything less than that is just working.... << get from those agencies that also supply maids lor. some ppl get from there to do stall/restaurant work also. btw, i thought abt it and i think rojak, chicken wings, are few things that don't need too many preparations. rojak. buy fruits, buy rojak sauce by bulk and add chilli paste or make urself only. no need cooking skills also. just good at cutting fruits fast and nicely chicken wings. buy chicken wings, add marinate then overnight. open stall then panggang and sell. both things also don't need so special cooking skills and hardly can make until so terrible no one will buy. lol>> Okay. Let's say that you are SUCCESSFUL. What is there to stop people from COPYCATTING the same business?? Dreamer This post has been edited by dreamer101: Jul 6 2010, 10:23 PM |
Jul 6 2010, 10:26 PM
3,037 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: 6-feet under |
Whoa..hawker..money roll in like footballers. No income tax somemore!
Jul 6 2010, 10:37 PM
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Jul 6 2010, 10:22 PM) lexiqa, the above food you mention require a lot skills and time to do it.<<which job don't need hard work wor?? only depends on whether u willing to do or not lor.>> How many people work 60 to 80 hours per week on their job?? That is HARD WORK. Anything less than that is just working.... << get from those agencies that also supply maids lor. some ppl get from there to do stall/restaurant work also. btw, i thought abt it and i think rojak, chicken wings, are few things that don't need too many preparations. rojak. buy fruits, buy rojak sauce by bulk and add chilli paste or make urself only. no need cooking skills also. just good at cutting fruits fast and nicely chicken wings. buy chicken wings, add marinate then overnight. open stall then panggang and sell. both things also don't need so special cooking skills and hardly can make until so terrible no one will buy. lol>> Okay. Let's say that you are SUCCESSFUL. What is there to stop people from COPYCATTING the same business?? Dreamer |
Jul 7 2010, 08:08 AM
QUOTE(ahpoh @ Jul 6 2010, 10:37 PM) ahpoh,lexiqa CLAIMED that no special skill is REQUIRED. So, she is the ONE that you need convincing... << both things also don't need so special cooking skills and hardly can make until so terrible no one will buy>> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hainanese_chicken_rice In fact, HAINANESE Chicken Rice is EVEN EASIER. So, WHY not EVERYONE make a GOOD Chicken Rice?? Dreamer |
Jul 7 2010, 10:40 AM
667 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Jul 7 2010, 11:53 AM
228 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
Everyone can count and count to show you the figures from RM1 - RM100,000 per month. Buy please bear in mind, your focus should make sure you have the most delicious food among the competitor.
Jul 7 2010, 12:07 PM
QUOTE(ivan.nickivan @ Jul 4 2010, 08:47 PM) no, not the one near to the traffic light. but the one somewhere near the lrt station. Yes, I am interested.Added on July 4, 2010, 8:49 pm i have a friend who has a lot of knowledge in the F&B field. he's interested to set up one and has been doing research for quite some time already. so you mean you're interested as well? I do not mind to learn or take up cooking or being a cook. I would say landmark or so-called location is very important as a hawker. Here are some of my homework just for knowledge reference: Making Won-Ton Noodle Soup: http://www.5min.com/Video/Making-Won-Ton-N...e-Soup-91041421 Wonton Noodle Soup http://www.cooking.com/Recipes-and-More/re...recipe-204.aspx Making Hong Kong-Style Wonton Noodle Soup http://appetiteforchina.com/recipes/making...ton-noodle-soup This post has been edited by draggy: Jul 7 2010, 11:51 PM |
Jul 7 2010, 01:29 PM
QUOTE(draggy @ Jul 7 2010, 12:07 PM) Yes, I am interested. I've just pm you.I do not mind to learn or take up to cooking or being a cook. I would say landmark or so-called location is very important as a hawker. Here are some of my homework just for knowledge reference: Making Won-Ton Noodle Soup: http://www.5min.com/Video/Making-Won-Ton-N...e-Soup-91041421 Wonton Noodle Soup http://www.cooking.com/Recipes-and-More/re...recipe-204.aspx Making Hong Kong-Style Wonton Noodle Soup http://appetiteforchina.com/recipes/making...ton-noodle-soup |
Jul 7 2010, 01:56 PM
2,834 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: here |
Alot of people wanted to skip steps and go "direct" to profit and refuse to see the real big picture. If they wanted pure motivation ,they should've gone to their friends and family members who can offer them those in an even sincere manner. A typical route of a successful busines-person: 1) wanted a better life 2) cultivate interest (in the trade FIRST, NOT the $$$$) 3) start business, learn as you go, fueled BY INTEREST 4) sacrifice personal time, life, well-being. 5) success (aka consistent and sustainable income from efforts) The middle part might takes years and decades. I bet not many of the youths these days wanted to follow the time consuming steps above. Alot of them wanted to follow these : 1) wanted a better life 2) cultivate interest , motivated by $$$$ 3) start business, learn as you go, fueled BY prospect of earn $$$ 4) success ! (dream on!) Then problem is... when $$$ takes a front-stage, the ability to think beyond sustaining a business fails. Its always about earning the biggest chunk of $$ in the shortest time. So the "notion" of seeing few hawker stalls driving a merc becomes a blind motivation ,causing them to be oblivious to hundreds more such stalls barely about to sustain everywhere. Eyes is the biggest deceiver. The thick $$ changed hands by the hawkers which we managed to spot (and drool over), might possibly just be some "income" from other sources rather than his wantan mee business. For millionaire-wannabe from hawking or any other kind of business, if you put $$$ as the biggest motivation first, you'll doomed to have the same type of penny-pinching clients and customers (aka "waah so expensive ah. and plain tasting somemore") which "stopped" you from going further. If you don't have passion in preparing the food to be sold, dont expect the $$ to come rolling in easily. |
Jul 7 2010, 04:35 PM
228 posts Joined: Jul 2010 From: Klang |
I have been looking into F&B as well.
It's true that F&B/Hawking have good profits even when your food tastes in the level of "Edible". Sales a day would vary from 500 - 5000 for a bahkuttea stall (My uncle). However bare in mind that 1) the preparation before the opening starts a few hours earlier 2) during peak time, you have no time to breath 3) ensuring stall is clean and all material are well kept from pest in between you still have to manage a lot of things including washing the dishes, collect money, attend to customer complain, etc. He's from a broke state earning his way to a double storey house and a BMW after years of hardship but soon failed blinded by the money. Gamble, gotten lazy, etc Youngster nowadays are like that as well. They assume that if they are able to get such profit in the long run, they started to 1) buy luxury stuff 2) get lazy 3) leave everything to the staff (including the money) at the end the business fail Important Note - Cost Caution - Wastage Coution The food cost in Malaysia is considered high. Let's take a simple Chicken Rice as sample Cost of a Drumstick = RM1.80 Cost of Rice (with spices) = RM0.50 Chicken Soup = RM0.20 Chili Sauce = RM0.10 Prices are inclusive of gas, water for precook cleaning, other ingredient, processing, after sales cleaning, etc Therefore the cost would come up to RM2.60. How much would you sell? Probable RM4 - RM5 depending on area. So let's assume RM4.50. You earned RM1.90 for each rice sold. This Exclude RENTAL. So assume the rental cost average per plate is RM0.50. Therefore the Net Profit is RM1.40. That's about 31% margin. However, do remember that you need to sell 2/3 of your food before you could start profit. that's the breakeven point. If you successfully sell 100% therefore you earn 31% Max. if you have 5% wastage, that 5% is cutting from your profit of 31% which left 26%. You do the maths Proper planning and reality have to kick in. If you ever think that working is harder than being a boss. Think again. Some of the successful ppl tell me stories like 1) "I used to ate rice with soy sauce" - ended up with a banglo and few luxury car 2) "I used to borrow money from loan shark to buy food" - Currently his Share Dividen is above few hundred K 3) "I used to ate rice with water" - Millionaire 4) "I once sold my house and borrow money from all friends and relatives to repay debts on my business" - Earning good money 5) "I slept 4 hours a day during the early stage, almost bankrupt" - Having Euro trip every year for a month with family. The early stage of a business is a Hell's walkway. The end part is Heaven. Just make sure you dont get lured to the Devil's den. Finally, You could find some advise, listen to experience, do the research, come out with a good business plan but the most important thing is to take the risk. Take the 1st step and never forget the effort and hardship that you been thru. Dont Dream the Future, Make the Future. No one plans to fail, they simply fail to plan. My 2 cent opinion. A Special advise to Cassidy90 - This serve as a guideline for your option. As to your choice of working or business, it's not about the money. It's about the effort you are willing to put in. Reward comes only after the work. Make sure that you want to do hawkering and not the money. Any work or business could generate money as long as you have the passion for the job. This post has been edited by Al3x0174: Jul 7 2010, 04:56 PM |
Jul 7 2010, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(Al3x0174 @ Jul 7 2010, 05:35 PM) I have been looking into F&B as well. Hi Al3x0174It's true that F&B/Hawking have good profits even when your food tastes in the level of "Edible". Sales a day would vary from 500 - 5000 for a bahkuttea stall (My uncle). However bare in mind that 1) the preparation before the opening starts a few hours earlier 2) during peak time, you have no time to breath 3) ensuring stall is clean and all material are well kept from pest in between you still have to manage a lot of things including washing the dishes, collect money, attend to customer complain, etc. He's from a broke state earning his way to a double storey house and a BMW after years of hardship but soon failed blinded by the money. Gamble, gotten lazy, etc Youngster nowadays are like that as well. They assume that if they are able to get such profit in the long run, they started to 1) buy luxury stuff 2) get lazy 3) leave everything to the staff (including the money) at the end the business fail Important Note - Cost Caution - Wastage Coution The food cost in Malaysia is considered high. Let's take a simple Chicken Rice as sample Cost of a Drumstick = RM1.80 Cost of Rice (with spices) = RM0.50 Chicken Soup = RM0.20 Chili Sauce = RM0.10 Prices are inclusive of gas, water for precook cleaning, other ingredient, processing, after sales cleaning, etc Therefore the cost would come up to RM2.60. How much would you sell? Probable RM4 - RM5 depending on area. So let's assume RM4.50. You earned RM1.90 for each rice sold. This Exclude RENTAL. So assume the rental cost average per plate is RM0.50. Therefore the Net Profit is RM1.40. That's about 31% margin. However, do remember that you need to sell 2/3 of your food before you could start profit. that's the breakeven point. If you successfully sell 100% therefore you earn 31% Max. if you have 5% wastage, that 5% is cutting from your profit of 31% which left 26%. You do the maths Proper planning and reality have to kick in. If you ever think that working is harder than being a boss. Think again. Some of the successful ppl tell me stories like 1) "I used to ate rice with soy sauce" - ended up with a banglo and few luxury car 2) "I used to borrow money from loan shark to buy food" - Currently his Share Dividen is above few hundred K 3) "I used to ate rice with water" - Millionaire 4) "I once sold my house and borrow money from all friends and relatives to repay debts on my business" - Earning good money 5) "I slept 4 hours a day during the early stage, almost bankrupt" - Having Euro trip every year for a month with family. The early stage of a business is a Hell's walkway. The end part is Heaven. Just make sure you dont get lured to the Devil's den. Finally, You could find some advise, listen to experience, do the research, come out with a good business plan but the most important thing is to take the risk. Take the 1st step and never forget the effort and hardship that you been thru. Dont Dream the Future, Make the Future. No one plans to fail, they simply fail to plan. My 2 cent opinion. A Special advise to Cassidy90 - This serve as a guideline for your option. As to your choice of working or business, it's not about the money. It's about the effort you are willing to put in. Reward comes only after the work. Make sure that you want to do hawkering and not the money. Any work or business could generate money as long as you have the passion for the job. Thank you very much for your advice. I really appreciate it. I've been looking into this since a year plus and I've spent countless time working and learning along the way. Frankly, if I say if it weren't for the money it would be a big lie, and again of course I am ready to take on my new role knowing the consequences that I will face from this transition(from working in the office with no fuss to hawking on the street). I went through all the hardship to learn this trade and what you guys contributed here will have me deeply look into, of course I will not do something blindly. I would like to sincerely thank all those who has contributed a line or two here in this thread. Al3x0174, good luck to you since you're looking into this trade as well. |
Jul 7 2010, 07:22 PM
I found that there are a couple of interested people looking to start up one and this might be a nice place to look for partners who shared a common interest in food.
Jul 7 2010, 08:29 PM
Jul 7 2010, 08:59 PM
20 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
Jul 7 2010, 11:00 PM
QUOTE(boy2902 @ Jul 7 2010, 08:59 PM) Don't think it will work, and you're not telling me you're planning to sell wantan mee? More over it's a recipe taken from the web. I might be selling wantan noodle but a gathering event is about people gather together at a specify place to exchange ideas and contacts.This post has been edited by draggy: Jul 7 2010, 11:04 PM |
Jul 7 2010, 11:09 PM
QUOTE Hi Al3x0174 Thank you very much for your advice. I really appreciate it. I've been looking into this since a year plus and I've spent countless time working and learning along the way. Frankly, if I say if it weren't for the money it would be a big lie, and again of course I am ready to take on my new role knowing the consequences that I will face from this transition(from working in the office with no fuss to hawking on the street). I went through all the hardship to learn this trade and what you guys contributed here will have me deeply look into, of course I will not do something blindly. I would like to sincerely thank all those who has contributed a line or two here in this thread. Al3x0174, good luck to you since you're looking into this trade as well. You are welcome Just to make things a bit clearer. I'm not saying that we are not looking it into money, but the money is a form of reward. Irregardless of working or doing business, money is the reward. Ppl are often blinded by the truth. Look into the "work" and do it well. Rewards will come in as well. I believe that you and I share a comon dilemma where we have a choice. Option A - Stable flowing income with no fuss but have to work as slave earning peanuts. Option B - Working as hard but have a better reward by facing uncertainty/risks. From my opinion, ppl who are successful are either can afford to lose or have nothing to lose. Those stucked in between are always choosing the safe box to be in. If you have a strong believe in what you do but are afraid of losing the stable income, try doing the business part time. Let's share another few real stories 1) a married couple open a small stall by the roadside selling herbal tea. It was hardwork as both took turns in overlooking at the business with 1 maid to help around. NOW it's fully handled by 2 maids with them just sending and picking them back up. As for the money, stocks are limited and they could monitor it. sales are off set with the remaining stocks. 2) a boy selling home made jam to neighbours soon rented a factory on certain days to pack his jam and sell to supermarkets. Years later, he owns the factory and selling it nationwide 3) even Warren Buffett sold coca colas in his younger days. Starting it part time would expose you to the business world and at the same time maintaining your stable income. I personally experience it myself. I do part time BBQ for small parties but now changed to selling marinates (Found in the Food Section - Support a bit For a party on saturday night, I would have to start purchasing my ingredients on thursday night after work. Mostly I would finish by 10.00pm on the shopping. Then I have to proceed with cleaning the raw foods and pack them to be marinated on the next day. On Friday night (after work), I would have to marinate the meats, prepares some ingredients such as chopping garlic, onions, pack the meats nicely. Saturday will start off as early as 6.30am with double checking on the meat, ingredients and final run to purchase anything. Next would be to prepare potatoes as potatoes must be made fresh. Cutting, Trimming, Boiling and prepare them. next is to make the sauces. once you finish 1 sauce, it had to be stored and you need to clean the pots and utensil before moving on to the next sauce. Then I stopped for a simple breakfast and rest... then move on to cleaning and cutting vegetables for salads. Cutting a piece or 2 is simple... try cutting for a bunch of ppl... by yourself... while standing for the whole morning... you cant sit... it lowers the efficiency and you are racing against time. Then proceed to making prebaked pizzas base. When all is done, I get to eat lunch. after lunch would be packing all the tools, utensils, icebox, all other containers into the car... with careful planning. Lucky for me that I'm driving Myvi... Lots of space once you moved down the seat. At my customers place I would set up the fire, prepare the prep table, serve cooked food, BBQ the meats then move on to cleaning up at customers place, packing back and once I reach home, I have to start cleaning my tools and utensils, pots, containers which ended at 2am. Next morning I have to store them back to the cabinets. Between 6am to 2am, that's 20 hours and most of the time I'm standing... my knees are screaming at me (No, I dont have the time to sit even at customers place while waiting for food to cook, I make sure that my customer have some cooked food to be served) Finally... $ I would earn more spending that hours working at McD Why I do it? I would like to know the respond of my customers on my food and love the reaction they gave me. It was like those Stephen Chow movie where the reaction are hyper Morale of the story I felt happy doing countless hours earning peanuts for myself than an easy life at the office. It gave me something that money cant buy. It exposes me to the reality where nothing comes easy. I have now improved on my skills and recipe which have reduce the prep works. I'm more confident of doing larger scale of business and hopefully soon progress to starting my own restaurant. WTS - BBQ Foods <--- My Link. Thanks for your Support Live the Dream, Shape the Future This post has been edited by Al3x0174: Jul 7 2010, 11:18 PM |
Jul 8 2010, 06:28 PM
264 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
Hi Cassidy90
Being in this hawking trade myself, perhaps I can answer your question more accurately, take one of my stalls for instant which is raking in about RM9k nett(more or less) - taking into consideration that volume is a variable. To be in this business location is the number one factor to consider, believe me or not, if you have a nice spot anything is just going to sell. Of course it must be food that is of reasonable taste. Long before I started, I have many people pouring cold water on my idea. Just like everyone else I almost abandoned my plan but hey, if it's something that you want to do, do it now. Go and find out for yourself, you can take the opinions and advice from others as a reference but don't be influenced by them. You know how to weigh them. I understand too that many shares the same view that being a hawker = no life(long hours/the heat/etc), well, it depends on how you're going to do it - the food and the system that you're going to put in place. Being a hawker I too can have a short working hours or perhaps working hours of those in the office. At the end is just about whether can you accept the transition. From an Executive job to a Hawker, from being in an air-conditioned working environment into a hot and sweat working conditions. And from an on par level with the rest of your friends to a much more lower level. But to me, whether you're working as an Engineer, or an Executive, at the end it's all just about making money. The most importantly is to have everything planned nicely, how much you can make a month whether you're an average or best performing hawker depends on many factors. Some are controllable while some are beyond our control. Good luck! |
Jul 8 2010, 06:29 PM
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Jul 7 2010, 08:08 AM) ahpoh, haha is the joke, well maybe what she mean is that just a normal nothing special, or else just buy ready made thing to sell....this one will reduce the profit.lexiqa CLAIMED that no special skill is REQUIRED. So, she is the ONE that you need convincing... << both things also don't need so special cooking skills and hardly can make until so terrible no one will buy>> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hainanese_chicken_rice In fact, HAINANESE Chicken Rice is EVEN EASIER. So, WHY not EVERYONE make a GOOD Chicken Rice?? Dreamer Hainanese rice require some good skill too, i do cook very often types of food, i even bake.... a lot people know how to cook, but the question is how they cook it, time, and tier own patent ways. ahpoh |
Jul 8 2010, 07:41 PM
QUOTE(angelsinlove @ Jul 8 2010, 07:28 PM) Hi Cassidy90 I agree with what you said angelsinlove, I've seen your thread as well. Hope I can get more advice from you. thanksBeing in this hawking trade myself, perhaps I can answer your question more accurately, take one of my stalls for instant which is raking in about RM9k nett(more or less) - taking into consideration that volume is a variable. To be in this business location is the number one factor to consider, believe me or not, if you have a nice spot anything is just going to sell. Of course it must be food that is of reasonable taste. Long before I started, I have many people pouring cold water on my idea. Just like everyone else I almost abandoned my plan but hey, if it's something that you want to do, do it now. Go and find out for yourself, you can take the opinions and advice from others as a reference but don't be influenced by them. You know how to weigh them. I understand too that many shares the same view that being a hawker = no life(long hours/the heat/etc), well, it depends on how you're going to do it - the food and the system that you're going to put in place. Being a hawker I too can have a short working hours or perhaps working hours of those in the office. At the end is just about whether can you accept the transition. From an Executive job to a Hawker, from being in an air-conditioned working environment into a hot and sweat working conditions. And from an on par level with the rest of your friends to a much more lower level. But to me, whether you're working as an Engineer, or an Executive, at the end it's all just about making money. The most importantly is to have everything planned nicely, how much you can make a month whether you're an average or best performing hawker depends on many factors. Some are controllable while some are beyond our control. Good luck! |
Jul 8 2010, 09:32 PM
QUOTE(angelsinlove @ Jul 8 2010, 07:28 PM) Hi Cassidy90 Being in this hawking trade myself, perhaps I can answer your question more accurately, take one of my stalls for instant which is raking in about RM9k nett(more or less) - taking into consideration that volume is a variable. To be in this business location is the number one factor to consider, believe me or not, if you have a nice spot anything is just going to sell. Of course it must be food that is of reasonable taste. Long before I started, I have many people pouring cold water on my idea. Just like everyone else I almost abandoned my plan but hey, if it's something that you want to do, do it now. Go and find out for yourself, you can take the opinions and advice from others as a reference but don't be influenced by them. You know how to weigh them. I understand too that many shares the same view that being a hawker = no life(long hours/the heat/etc), well, it depends on how you're going to do it - the food and the system that you're going to put in place. Being a hawker I too can have a short working hours or perhaps working hours of those in the office. At the end is just about whether can you accept the transition. From an Executive job to a Hawker, from being in an air-conditioned working environment into a hot and sweat working conditions. And from an on par level with the rest of your friends to a much more lower level. But to me, whether you're working as an Engineer, or an Executive, at the end it's all just about making money. The most importantly is to have everything planned nicely, how much you can make a month whether you're an average or best performing hawker depends on many factors. Some are controllable while some are beyond our control. Good luck! |
Jul 9 2010, 09:57 AM
2,058 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
hawker business is very good ... petrol up 0.10, they also up 0.10 or more ... customer ask just said this up that up so have to up ...
Jul 9 2010, 10:46 AM
Jul 9 2010, 02:41 PM
Jul 9 2010, 08:42 PM
181 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
did anyone knows how to start a hawker?
Jul 9 2010, 08:45 PM
Jul 9 2010, 09:29 PM
At the end of the day, passion is the key and the rewards will come later.
Where there is passion, time flies. If money is your main consideration, dont do it. |
Jul 9 2010, 09:42 PM
774 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Anyone know good & cheap suppliers? please pm me
Jul 9 2010, 09:56 PM
Jul 10 2010, 08:19 AM
Specify the location as well. You got to calculate the total cost.
One Man's Meat is Another Man's Poison |
Jul 10 2010, 11:49 AM
Jul 10 2010, 04:39 PM
187 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(Al3x0174 @ Jul 7 2010, 04:35 PM) I have been looking into F&B as well. Assume sell 200 plates per day and rental is rm1,200, then cost per plate for rental is rm0.20. Assume also need a helper because impossible to sell alone during peak hours. Assume salary is also rm1,200. Thus, cost per plate increases by another rm0.20. NET PROFIT is rm1.50 per plate. This is 33%. Assume 5% wastage and NET PROFIT margin is 28% or RM1.25 per plate.It's true that F&B/Hawking have good profits even when your food tastes in the level of "Edible". Sales a day would vary from 500 - 5000 for a bahkuttea stall (My uncle). However bare in mind that 1) the preparation before the opening starts a few hours earlier 2) during peak time, you have no time to breath 3) ensuring stall is clean and all material are well kept from pest in between you still have to manage a lot of things including washing the dishes, collect money, attend to customer complain, etc. He's from a broke state earning his way to a double storey house and a BMW after years of hardship but soon failed blinded by the money. Gamble, gotten lazy, etc Youngster nowadays are like that as well. They assume that if they are able to get such profit in the long run, they started to 1) buy luxury stuff 2) get lazy 3) leave everything to the staff (including the money) at the end the business fail Important Note - Cost Caution - Wastage Coution The food cost in Malaysia is considered high. Let's take a simple Chicken Rice as sample Cost of a Drumstick = RM1.80 Cost of Rice (with spices) = RM0.50 Chicken Soup = RM0.20 Chili Sauce = RM0.10 Prices are inclusive of gas, water for precook cleaning, other ingredient, processing, after sales cleaning, etc Therefore the cost would come up to RM2.60. How much would you sell? Probable RM4 - RM5 depending on area. So let's assume RM4.50. You earned RM1.90 for each rice sold. This Exclude RENTAL. So assume the rental cost average per plate is RM0.50. Therefore the Net Profit is RM1.40. That's about 31% margin. However, do remember that you need to sell 2/3 of your food before you could start profit. that's the breakeven point. If you successfully sell 100% therefore you earn 31% Max. if you have 5% wastage, that 5% is cutting from your profit of 31% which left 26%. You do the maths Proper planning and reality have to kick in. If you ever think that working is harder than being a boss. Think again. Some of the successful ppl tell me stories like 1) "I used to ate rice with soy sauce" - ended up with a banglo and few luxury car 2) "I used to borrow money from loan shark to buy food" - Currently his Share Dividen is above few hundred K 3) "I used to ate rice with water" - Millionaire 4) "I once sold my house and borrow money from all friends and relatives to repay debts on my business" - Earning good money 5) "I slept 4 hours a day during the early stage, almost bankrupt" - Having Euro trip every year for a month with family. The early stage of a business is a Hell's walkway. The end part is Heaven. Just make sure you dont get lured to the Devil's den. Finally, You could find some advise, listen to experience, do the research, come out with a good business plan but the most important thing is to take the risk. Take the 1st step and never forget the effort and hardship that you been thru. Dont Dream the Future, Make the Future. No one plans to fail, they simply fail to plan. My 2 cent opinion. A Special advise to Cassidy90 - This serve as a guideline for your option. As to your choice of working or business, it's not about the money. It's about the effort you are willing to put in. Reward comes only after the work. Make sure that you want to do hawkering and not the money. Any work or business could generate money as long as you have the passion for the job. If want to earn rm8,000 per month, then need to sell 6,400 plates a month or 213 plates per day. Chicken rice mostly only sell for 2 hours lunch time. This means every minute must sell 1.7 plates. Is it easy? I think it is quite hard. Maybe should look for food which can sell at least lunch and dinner. I see that you are very entrepreneurial. I am not a hands on person but would like to invest in a business. I will however monitor from financial standpoint. If you are open to discussion, pls pm me. I am looking for easy going partner who is hands on and see if we can work something out. |
Jul 11 2010, 09:25 AM
QUOTE(ivan.nickivan @ Jul 10 2010, 11:49 AM) I was wondering which you're replying to "Specify the location as well. You got to calculate the total cost." ??? If your location is at KL, no point for me to intro a place in Klang. even if it is cheaper by a bit, the cost of transports exceed the savings QUOTE Assume sell 200 plates per day and rental is rm1,200, then cost per plate for rental is rm0.20. Assume also need a helper because impossible to sell alone during peak hours. Assume salary is also rm1,200. Thus, cost per plate increases by another rm0.20. NET PROFIT is rm1.50 per plate. This is 33%. Assume 5% wastage and NET PROFIT margin is 28% or RM1.25 per plate. If want to earn rm8,000 per month, then need to sell 6,400 plates a month or 213 plates per day. Chicken rice mostly only sell for 2 hours lunch time. This means every minute must sell 1.7 plates. Is it easy? I think it is quite hard. Maybe should look for food which can sell at least lunch and dinner. I see that you are very entrepreneurial. I am not a hands on person but would like to invest in a business. I will however monitor from financial standpoint. If you are open to discussion, pls pm me. I am looking for easy going partner who is hands on and see if we can work something out. In fact you need at least 2 people if you want to sell that volume. 1 chopping chicken, 1 prepare rice and 1 serving and cleaning. However sales does not only confined to lunch peak. I knew a guy who sell lunch at 1 place and dinner at another. Fact and Figures are there. Just need to figure it out in detail. Furthermore, I'm in finance industries. As to partnership, it would be hard to be in such partnership, this industry depend on skills heavily. Human's greed is the worst thing that can ever be controlled. Unless you have strong human management skills or have deep knowledge in the industry. I would advise not to be a sleeping partner. In most cases, once the "Partner" started to see profit, normally they would end the partnership and start on their own. Unless you are willing to be an angel investor. (Nothing wrong with this but you dont earn the long term profit. Short and high is good enough) Money is source of Greed. Greed is a Sin in every Human. A special facts for all F&B newbie, 90% of F&B business fails within a year. (Dun shoot me. I got this from some Factbook and it takes data globally) I'm open for discussion. If you have interest after reading the above, we could work something out. or just a simple discussion without involving any business is fine with me as well. I love exchange of thoughts. |
Jul 11 2010, 09:42 AM
154 posts Joined: May 2009 |
nt trying to discourage bt read today's newspaper in starmag... says the experience a woman went thru to becoming a hawker and not making it thru...
u should read it too to get a glimpse of her day as a hawker... |
Jul 11 2010, 10:55 AM
774 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Jul 11 2010, 01:33 PM
QUOTE(happy_gal @ Jul 11 2010, 10:42 AM) nt trying to discourage bt read today's newspaper in starmag... says the experience a woman went thru to becoming a hawker and not making it thru... I went through the story, it seems like she's operating from a foodcourt. If you read through again you can find a few weaknesses why her business failed badly. But again, at least she tried than to regret guessing her whole life. She may have lost money, time and opportunities but this experience had her see life from another point of view. Things that she might have overlooked sitting comfortably in the office. I am impressed.u should read it too to get a glimpse of her day as a hawker... Added on July 11, 2010, 1:35 pm QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Jul 11 2010, 11:55 AM) Hardware: Cart, cooking tools, serving wares & etc deeplyheartbroken is most certainly looking for a new startup. Raw material: Meat, vege, sauces, beverages & etc Thanks This post has been edited by pinkantelope: Jul 11 2010, 01:35 PM |
Jul 11 2010, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(groggy @ Jul 10 2010, 04:39 PM) Assume sell 200 plates per day and rental is rm1,200, then cost per plate for rental is rm0.20. Assume also need a helper because impossible to sell alone during peak hours. Assume salary is also rm1,200. Thus, cost per plate increases by another rm0.20. NET PROFIT is rm1.50 per plate. This is 33%. Assume 5% wastage and NET PROFIT margin is 28% or RM1.25 per plate. Each and everyone does their accounting differently. I have been running a stall for some time already, in order for me to make RM9500 in profits, I just need to sell 150bowls per day. So a good location will determine everything.If want to earn rm8,000 per month, then need to sell 6,400 plates a month or 213 plates per day. Chicken rice mostly only sell for 2 hours lunch time. This means every minute must sell 1.7 plates. Is it easy? I think it is quite hard. Maybe should look for food which can sell at least lunch and dinner. I see that you are very entrepreneurial. I am not a hands on person but would like to invest in a business. I will however monitor from financial standpoint. If you are open to discussion, pls pm me. I am looking for easy going partner who is hands on and see if we can work something out. |
Jul 13 2010, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(abubin @ Jul 6 2010, 03:00 PM) What's the point of trying if you are going to fail anyway? You want to invest 50k into a business with 10% of success rate? Might as well take the money and go gamble at genting. this is the same as saying "why eat when u r going to be hungry later?", "why take medicine when we all going to die anyways", etcHow many restaurants you see whereby the owner is not the cook? You can be as hardworking as bull but in the end you still do not know how to cook. That is stupid way of doing things. You want to be successful hawker/restaurenteur then you start from basic. Go learn about cooking and preparation of food. Start from bottom and work your way up. Or go get a franchise. if u failed in doing sthg, doesn't mean everyone will fail too. just bcoz it wasnt the right path for u, don't discourage others to do the same. why can't we share our experiences with each other to let ppl with less experience in the area to gain from ur past experiences and failures? does dragging other ppl down make u feel better? so u won't feel so bad about failing? seriously, think about it. if Thomas Alva Edison had the same thinking as u and gave up at his 999th attempt, we will all still be using fire as light sources instead of electric lightbulbs. QUOTE Many of life's failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up. Thomas A. Edison US inventor failure shldn't be labelled as a bad thing. we all learn new things everyday. so what if we failed in one thing now, the important thing is to learn from it. if TS (or anyone for that matter) wants to do it and is determined to do so, she shld go ahead and try. her views in life and how willing she is to work hard are most likely different from urs. why then, wld she have the same results? everyone is different. QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Jul 6 2010, 10:22 PM) lexiqa, like u said, it's HARD WORK. if someone is willing to copycat it and become successful from it too, why not? it's still all due to their hard work to make it successful. u ald implied explicitly that not everyone can do this. so, how many copycats u think can survive?<<which job don't need hard work wor?? only depends on whether u willing to do or not lor.>> How many people work 60 to 80 hours per week on their job?? That is HARD WORK. Anything less than that is just working.... why are we even comparing how many ppl do it? if the person who wants to be successful badly enough, he will do it. that's the only important factor. not how many OTHERS do it or not. << get from those agencies that also supply maids lor. some ppl get from there to do stall/restaurant work also. btw, i thought abt it and i think rojak, chicken wings, are few things that don't need too many preparations. rojak. buy fruits, buy rojak sauce by bulk and add chilli paste or make urself only. no need cooking skills also. just good at cutting fruits fast and nicely chicken wings. buy chicken wings, add marinate then overnight. open stall then panggang and sell. both things also don't need so special cooking skills and hardly can make until so terrible no one will buy. lol>> Okay. Let's say that you are SUCCESSFUL. What is there to stop people from COPYCATTING the same business?? the more the merrier. IF they *willing* put in the same amount of effort and hard work. pls go ahead Dreamer why all the negativity?? u surely don't know much about cooking as u can say chicken rice is easier to make than chicken wings. chicken wings u need to marinate and leave for few hrs only after cleaning the wings. then when u open stall, u panggang the wings while u get orders. chicken rice--->clean and cook chicken, cook rice, prepare chili sauce/garlic, cook soup. even without going through the processes, u ald have more than 3 things to prepare for this. btw, it seems like u just like to simply pour cold water on ppl in this forum. there're better ways to disagree with ppl without being so aggressive and unnecessarily negative esply when talking to ppl who are sharing their aims and goals in life with us here publicly. to me, this is quite a personal thing to share in public and i really appreciate reading about it. i'm not trying to say i'm a better person or anything, but the very least we could do is share some ideas and advise these ppl who are brave enough to share their goals with us so we can guide them in their chosen paths as much as possible. esply those who failed before from the same thing. we all can learn from the past experiences. nothing shld be a mistake if u can learn from it. an experience is only a mistake when u stop trying. being a bitter person will not help u go through with life easily. whatever that happened to u in ur life to have made u so bitter and negative shldn't be the only reference u have to give advice to ppl. pls remember that. QUOTE(ahpoh @ Jul 8 2010, 06:29 PM) haha is the joke, well maybe what she mean is that just a normal nothing special, or else just buy ready made thing to sell....this one will reduce the profit. that's his assumption about chicken rice being easy. u ask him lar.Hainanese rice require some good skill too, i do cook very often types of food, i even bake.... a lot people know how to cook, but the question is how they cook it, time, and tier own patent ways. ahpoh don;t tell me u also think rojak and chicken wings need so much special skills to make. unless u want to make everything urself, of coz ur recipe has to be good enough for ppl to buy. then u need to do some proper research on perfecting ur recipe. skills are just whatever u know put into practice over and over again until u are used to and good at it, isn't it? we all don't learn to walk/swim/cycle/etc when we're born. don't forget: all those are skills too. read properly before u answer and fan trigger-happy flamers. |
Jul 13 2010, 04:16 PM
QUOTE(lexiqa @ Jul 13 2010, 04:15 PM) this is the same as saying "why eat when u r going to be hungry later?", "why take medicine when we all going to die anyways", etc You sure are something, I just can't help but to agree with you. Boy, you're really positive - just keep it on. This is the first step to being successful. Positive people attracts positive energy. Life is short, and you only have one chance to do the things that you like. Give it a shot, you don't wanna be telling yourself at the age of 60 that you should have tried. Why keep yourself guessing? Go find the answer. if u failed in doing sthg, doesn't mean everyone will fail too. just bcoz it wasnt the right path for u, don't discourage others to do the same. why can't we share our experiences with each other to let ppl with less experience in the area to gain from ur past experiences and failures? does dragging other ppl down make u feel better? so u won't feel so bad about failing? seriously, think about it. if Thomas Alva Edison had the same thinking as u and gave up at his 999th attempt, we will all still be using fire as light sources instead of electric lightbulbs. failure shldn't be labelled as a bad thing. we all learn new things everyday. so what if we failed in one thing now, the important thing is to learn from it. if TS (or anyone for that matter) wants to do it and is determined to do so, she shld go ahead and try. her views in life and how willing she is to work hard are most likely different from urs. why then, wld she have the same results? everyone is different. like u said, it's HARD WORK. if someone is willing to copycat it and become successful from it too, why not? it's still all due to their hard work to make it successful. u ald implied explicitly that not everyone can do this. so, how many copycats u think can survive? why all the negativity?? u surely don't know much about cooking as u can say chicken rice is easier to make than chicken wings. chicken wings u need to marinate and leave for few hrs only after cleaning the wings. then when u open stall, u panggang the wings while u get orders. chicken rice--->clean and cook chicken, cook rice, prepare chili sauce/garlic, cook soup. even without going through the processes, u ald have more than 3 things to prepare for this. btw, it seems like u just like to simply pour cold water on ppl in this forum. there're better ways to disagree with ppl without being so aggressive and unnecessarily negative esply when talking to ppl who are sharing their aims and goals in life with us here publicly. to me, this is quite a personal thing to share in public and i really appreciate reading about it. i'm not trying to say i'm a better person or anything, but the very least we could do is share some ideas and advise these ppl who are brave enough to share their goals with us so we can guide them in their chosen paths as much as possible. esply those who failed before from the same thing. we all can learn from the past experiences. nothing shld be a mistake if u can learn from it. an experience is only a mistake when u stop trying. being a bitter person will not help u go through with life easily. whatever that happened to u in ur life to have made u so bitter and negative shldn't be the only reference u have to give advice to ppl. pls remember that. that's his assumption about chicken rice being easy. u ask him lar. don;t tell me u also think rojak and chicken wings need so much special skills to make. unless u want to make everything urself, of coz ur recipe has to be good enough for ppl to buy. then u need to do some proper research on perfecting ur recipe. skills are just whatever u know put into practice over and over again until u are used to and good at it, isn't it? we all don't learn to walk/swim/cycle/etc when we're born. don't forget: all those are skills too. read properly before u answer and fan trigger-happy flamers. |
Jul 13 2010, 05:14 PM
Salute Lexiqa!
Jul 13 2010, 06:13 PM
QUOTE(lexiqa @ Jul 13 2010, 03:15 PM) lexiqa,Let's look at this two different POVs. A) YOUR ASSUMPTION People are AFRAID to try so that they could not succeed at anything. B) MY ASSUMPTION People always try MANY THINGS but NEVER stay at ANYTHING long enough to be SUCCESSFUL. <<skills are just whatever u know put into practice over and over again until u are used to and good at it, isn't it?>> So, it is NOT as easy as you just buy EVERYTHING from supermarket and just assemble.. It requires SKILL and /or HARD WORK. And. let's be REALISTIC here. For anything that is SUSTAINABLE BUSINESS, a person has to EXPECT COMPETITION. YOUR BELIEF is (A). People just need to try and they will be SUCCESSFUL. MY BELIEF is (B). The PROBLEM is NOT about TRYING. It is LACK of FOCUS and EXECUTION. The QUESTION is in general. Is (A) or (B) more prevalent?? A person could be SUCCESSFUL in job, business, or whatever. A person could be rich selling Wanton Noodle, Chicken Rice, or whatever if they are WILLING to put in the NECESSARY EFFORT in order to be successful. Now, if a person COULD NOT take a little bit of COLD WATER from someone in a forum, that person has NO BUSINESS to do this kind of stuff. The REAL WORLD is a hell lot tougher. Dreamer |
Jul 13 2010, 06:28 PM
QUOTE(Cassidy90 @ Jul 13 2010, 04:16 PM) You sure are something, I just can't help but to agree with you. Boy, you're really positive - just keep it on. This is the first step to being successful. Positive people attracts positive energy. Life is short, and you only have one chance to do the things that you like. Give it a shot, you don't wanna be telling yourself at the age of 60 that you should have tried. Why keep yourself guessing? Go find the answer. Cassidy90, i'm not really a positive person actually.if wanna break it down, it'll be 75 poisitive-30 negative. sometimes even 60-40...... i learnt to tell myself everyday to be more positive about life. i have failed in many things in my life too. (well, "failed" according to other ppl's views lar. to me, i don't think i really failed, i just went through a longer route to get to where i'm "supposed"/want to be.) but the more i think back abt it now, the more i'm glad that: if i didn't go through all those failures, i wouldn't have learnt much in my life and be quite naive and protected from the world. furthermore, if i were to fail in a later stage in life without all these experiences, i think i would have crumbled and fall even worse coz i wld not be as strong and able to withstand all that. i'm glad for all those life experiences, be it good or bad. although some are best forgotten let me share something one of my favourite authors have said that helped me everyday in my daily challenges. QUOTE Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover. --Mark Twain some good quotes to help u have more faith in life QUOTE "Those that fail to learn from history are doomed to repeat it." - Winston Churchill "If you are going through hell, keep going." ~ Winston Churchill There is nothing to regret - either for those who go or for those who are left behind ~ Eleanor Roosevelt ~ Never regret. If it's good, it's wonderful. If it's bad, it's experience. ~ Victoria Holt ~ Many of us crucify ourselves between two thieves - regret for the past and fear of the future. ~ Fulton Oursler ~ Regret of neglected opportunity is the worst hell that a living soul can inhabit. ~ Rafael Sabatini of coz there're many more. do put up some in front of u where u can see everyday to help u keep going when it's getting tough esply when ppl are criticising ur life choices. there's never right or wrong in life, just how u want to lead it. i managed to have a better outlook in life only from the many ppl who put their faith and trust in me all these years. without them, i'm sure it would have been a tougher uphill battle up a mountain of knives i do still have a long way to go. i hope i can do it. i also sincerely hope and wish others can achieve what they want in their lives for themselves too. even if their aims are so outlandish/weird/far-fetched to us. we can never be fortune tellers for ourselves let alone others. who are we to tell ppl that they can't achieve sthg? we cant even say what will happen tomorrow even in our own lives. i just want and hope that more ppl are willing to share their experiences with others so we can all learn from each other instead of telling them "no, u can't do it bcoz i also failed before" as this is not finding a solution but showing them a dead-end road that is not there. one person's failure can be another person's learning curve. pls understand that there's always a solution to a problem. whether u want to take that option, is ur choice and urs alone. thanx for listening to my rants. --------------------------------------------------- » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « did i say no need skills and hard work? competition is everywhere so be it. which part of my argument or even TS's comments said there's no competition from other ppl in the first place?? even at a low-paying job, there's still competition, just more or less amongst different demographics of ppl. how is giving up=focus and execution i would like to ask?? didn't i point out skills are acquired from constant practice? doesn't this means focus and determination and the right execution? isn't constant practice=keep on trying= part of success? what is it that u want to point out? my example of assembling from supermarket, LIKE I SAID, was applicable to only rojak and chicken wings. not everything. stop being presumptuous. ur definition of "successful" cant be everyone's definition of successful. maybe one person just willing to put in as much hard work to earn 5k a mth as a hawker and he thinks he's successful ald. can u tell him he's not when he's able to provide well for his own family's basic necessities?? if u can't take a few ppl disagreeing with some things u say in a nice way in a forum where ppl discuss and debate over matters, then u can't be living in the REAL WORLD as well, coz there're lots of ppl who don't form the same opinions as urs. u need to accept not everything u say and believe is the only way or applicable for everyone. let's just agree to disagree. i've had enough of ur negativity and roundabout "debates". This post has been edited by lexiqa: Jul 13 2010, 06:44 PM |
Jul 13 2010, 07:51 PM
Be cool guys. It's just different people with different views. No right or wrong. At the end people will still do what they think is right for themselves. chill
Jul 13 2010, 08:35 PM
Seriously, it all narrows down to the person him/herself for being what they want to be, and go where they want to go, or just stay inside their comfort zone.
Jul 13 2010, 08:42 PM
QUOTE(angelsinlove @ Jul 13 2010, 07:51 PM) Be cool guys. It's just different people with different views. No right or wrong. At the end people will still do what they think is right for themselves. chill GUY. not guyS.only one person being stubborn and hot-headed here wor QUOTE(edyek @ Jul 13 2010, 08:35 PM) Seriously, it all narrows down to the person him/herself for being what they want to be, and go where they want to go, or just stay inside their comfort zone. my point also.no use keep saying it will fail and think about all the negative things that will happen. just be prepared and when it comes, handle it. just do it. |
Jul 13 2010, 09:19 PM
Anyway anyone been to Taman Mayang foodcourt? Where is it? Anything nice hawker food there?
Jul 13 2010, 09:45 PM
i think most ppl wld prefer to go William's if at that area.... never heard of the foodcourt being notable for anything nice
Jul 13 2010, 09:54 PM
Guys, any nice place to start a hawker stall? Any suggestion welcome.
Jul 14 2010, 11:29 AM
Jul 14 2010, 06:17 PM
QUOTE(ivan.nickivan @ Jul 14 2010, 12:29 PM) There are a lot of hot spots to set up your small eatery, it depends on whether what you're selling and your targeted market-these will eventually help you to find a more precise place that you want. For student areas, you may want to check out subang, sunway or cheras. For office areas, you can go for business centres like damansara perdana, phileo damansara and the like. For night time, it could be hawker centres like WaiSikKai, SS2 and so. People, please do not go into business just because you see other people are making good money, then you go experimenting on food and get yourself a location. Thinking that this is what most of the people did. If you are really sure this is your choice, there must be a proper planning and surveying. In business every step is as important, from your product to your targeted market, to the A&Ps and the location. Not just that you have something to offer and a location, you have to take into considerations many other factors. |
Jul 15 2010, 08:20 PM
Jul 15 2010, 09:23 PM
4,229 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Selangor |
running hawker stall is not easy work though if good food + good location then can make tonnes of money.
Jul 15 2010, 09:24 PM
Jul 16 2010, 08:00 PM
Jul 16 2010, 08:13 PM
Jul 23 2010, 12:25 AM
any can help me with applying goverment hawker lisence?
Jul 23 2010, 08:17 AM
Jul 23 2010, 10:05 AM
Where are you staying? If you're from KL, please go to DBKL for license registration, MPPJ for Petaling Jaya, MPSJ for Subang Jaya and if you're from other place other than mentioned please go to your city council.
Jul 23 2010, 04:39 PM
4,515 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
The average noodle hawker make 8k nett. The problem is most of them spent it at Genting.
Jul 23 2010, 09:07 PM
QUOTE(angelsinlove @ Jul 23 2010, 11:05 AM) Where are you staying? If you're from KL, please go to DBKL for license registration, MPPJ for Petaling Jaya, MPSJ for Subang Jaya and if you're from other place other than mentioned please go to your city council. i have try it before,but thet will tell me 100 reason why i cant apply. |
Jul 24 2010, 12:07 AM
Jul 24 2010, 07:59 AM
11,058 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Jul 24 2010, 11:41 AM
Jul 24 2010, 11:54 AM
Jul 24 2010, 12:08 PM
Jul 24 2010, 12:42 PM
QUOTE(edyek @ Jul 24 2010, 12:08 PM) hi edyekSince you've been in business for long. I have some questions 1) Averagely a hawker's earning is about 1 to 3k, and by that it means that those who are earning 8k is really making good profits? But I've also seen myself that there are many who are making ard 5 to 6k in nett profits per month. Could it be perhaps we forumers are estimating instead of having the right figure as most of the hawkers would prefer to be secretive on their earnings? I do not mean to say that every hawker is earning good. They give me an impression by driving Japanese made cars and living in good locations. 2) I am sure you've been to some food court in Subang or KL, with that good numbers of traffic, I am sure 5 to 6k shouldn't be a problem less all expenses including rentals(which is higher). Otherwise it would be hard for them to survive the expenses which largely goes to the rent and staffs. 3) Recently, been told by a friend that a friend of hers been operating a stall selling claypot in a kopitiam. Who is currently earning 6 to 7k as in nett, I believe a kopitiam traffic is not as many as food court and so. So can this a reliable source, as in can I believe the story? Thanks! |
Jul 24 2010, 12:57 PM
QUOTE(ivan.nickivan @ Jul 24 2010, 12:42 PM) hi edyek 1) Avearge means those with average traffic flow. Normal food at normal stall. Earning 8k nett, is really a good profit (earn even more than average office employee). RM 5-6k is consider as a good income for those hawkers settle at good traffic flow of customer. The one you saw by driving Japanese cars are just some examples? People tend to listen more on success stories rather than not sucess stories. People are rather excited by listening to someone telling them that A hawker earns 10k and drive Benz. But have they heard of people telling them that, B hawker earn peanuts per month, drive lousy van, stay at a wooden kampung house? That why we always see those hawkers are rich because we always refer to those hawkers that are RICH! Since you've been in business for long. I have some questions 1) Averagely a hawker's earning is about 1 to 3k, and by that it means that those who are earning 8k is really making good profits? But I've also seen myself that there are many who are making ard 5 to 6k in nett profits per month. Could it be perhaps we forumers are estimating instead of having the right figure as most of the hawkers would prefer to be secretive on their earnings? I do not mean to say that every hawker is earning good. They give me an impression by driving Japanese made cars and living in good locations. 2) I am sure you've been to some food court in Subang or KL, with that good numbers of traffic, I am sure 5 to 6k shouldn't be a problem less all expenses including rentals(which is higher). Otherwise it would be hard for them to survive the expenses which largely goes to the rent and staffs. 3) Recently, been told by a friend that a friend of hers been operating a stall selling claypot in a kopitiam. Who is currently earning 6 to 7k as in nett, I believe a kopitiam traffic is not as many as food court and so. So can this a reliable source, as in can I believe the story? Thanks! 2) Yes, I believe those hawkers at SS15 (Asian food court, was this the name? Nearby the Taylors college) will be able to make around that figure. 3) Normal kopitiam with normal traffic flow, will not earn RM 6-7k nett per month, I only believe in gross profit. However, if the kopitiam has good traffic flow, morning till night time has 80% full house, then I shall believe RM 6-7k is possible. It is easy to estimate the the profit of hawkers, as they make buy products to make into another products to sell. There is always the expenses and profit there for us to monitor. |
Jul 24 2010, 01:00 PM
1,793 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: UC Berkeley |
yup local hawkers in Old Klang Road area only earns an average 2k.
Added on July 24, 2010, 1:02 pm QUOTE(edyek @ Jul 24 2010, 12:57 PM) 1) Avearge means those with average traffic flow. Normal food at normal stall. Earning 8k nett, is really a good profit (earn even more than average office employee). RM 5-6k is consider as a good income for those hawkers settle at good traffic flow of customer. The one you saw by driving Japanese cars are just some examples? People tend to listen more on success stories rather than not sucess stories. People are rather excited by listening to someone telling them that A hawker earns 10k and drive Benz. But have they heard of people telling them that, B hawker earn peanuts per month, drive lousy van, stay at a wooden kampung house? That why we always see those hawkers are rich because we always refer to those hawkers that are RICH! asis cafe hwaker stalls makes around 3k not more.2) Yes, I believe those hawkers at SS15 (Asian food court, was this the name? Nearby the Taylors college) will be able to make around that figure. 3) Normal kopitiam with normal traffic flow, will not earn RM 6-7k nett per month, I only believe in gross profit. However, if the kopitiam has good traffic flow, morning till night time has 80% full house, then I shall believe RM 6-7k is possible. It is easy to estimate the the profit of hawkers, as they make buy products to make into another products to sell. There is always the expenses and profit there for us to monitor. This post has been edited by rubrubrub: Jul 24 2010, 01:02 PM |
Jul 24 2010, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(rubrubrub @ Jul 24 2010, 02:00 PM) yup local hawkers in Old Klang Road area only earns an average 2k. This is an interesting topic to debate on. We wouldn't know how much a hawker can make, but I am sure a location determines all. Besides the location, the margin is as equal important. Many years back, a hawker driving a BMW is still a story that I can accept, as there aren't many competitions. Look now, everywhere you go stalls sprouting up as though people see gold in this trade. Competition is so stiff, take one place for example a food court in KL with an average traffic per day of 3000 people with a total of 30 hawker stalls operating. Each stall will definitely enjoy brisk business(about 100 patrons per stall) but imagine additional 30 more stalls being added. Instead of 30 stalls enjoying the cake now it would be 60 stalls for the cake. The number of patrons for each will fall(from 100 to 50). And each day, more stalls are on the way onto the street, into the kopitiams and so. Each competing for a piece of the cake. And in every jam packed food court, if you spend one whole day sitting in there you will see not every stall is enjoying good business, but because the place is crowded we normally have an impression that each hawker is doing good business. Take sometime sit in and count how many plates can some of them dish out(for those that are not so good in attracting the crowd) in a day?Added on July 24, 2010, 1:02 pm asis cafe hwaker stalls makes around 3k not more. I have heard of stories of successful hawkers and those who failed badly and some that are in between. And I always believe in "what you do is not no important than how you do it". You can have a few guys selling wanton mee in the same place competing among each other and yet in that group you will find one or two emerging the winners - but they are selling the same thing? Go and check out what they do to become the one that stands out. The hawker trade is similar to the credit card industry, very saturated but can still survive. All you need is innovations to differentiate yourself from others. The key ingredient to drawing the crowd in order to generate a better net profits. |
Jul 25 2010, 07:33 AM
QUOTE(pinkantelope @ Jul 24 2010, 03:32 PM) ....., if you spend one whole day sitting in there you will see not every stall is enjoying good business, but because the place is crowded we normally have an impression that each hawker is doing good business. Take sometime sit in and count how many plates can some of them dish out(for those that are not so good in attracting the crowd) in a day? This reminds me of one time when the Income Tax office station their agents to sit for a week to evaluate how much tax should the Ice Kacang seller pays. |
Jul 25 2010, 09:28 AM
17,053 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Jul 25 2010, 05:46 PM
14,990 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Wantan mee seller near my place has sent two kids to the US. Of course he works in an area with houses, government offices and shoplots
It's crowded every weekday, no chance to find a seat even. |
Jul 25 2010, 05:58 PM
QUOTE(wodenus @ Jul 25 2010, 06:46 PM) Wantan mee seller near my place has sent two kids to the US. Of course he works in an area with houses, government offices and shoplots Hi WodenusIt's crowded every weekday, no chance to find a seat even. May i know where is the stall? I would like to go and try out. Thanks |
Jul 25 2010, 08:54 PM
Jul 25 2010, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(wodenus @ Jul 25 2010, 09:54 PM) You know where HELP college is? it's across the road from there, it's near a popular mini-market called "Hock Lee's". Not very sure but I know where HELP college is, can I walk across to the stall? How do i identify the stall? Any name? My friend who is a food writer is interested to go over, is the stall operating on weekends as well? Thanks a lot. |
Jul 26 2010, 12:34 AM
3k-5k nett without paying taxes is still a lot of money for most ppl
Jul 26 2010, 12:45 AM
QUOTE(Cassidy90 @ Jul 25 2010, 09:28 PM) Not very sure but I know where HELP college is, can I walk across to the stall? How do i identify the stall? Any name? My friend who is a food writer is interested to go over, is the stall operating on weekends as well? Thanks a lot. I believe they are closed weekends but I'm never there on weekends so I don't know OKay here's what you do, from HELP college, walk to HELP college car park. Then walk up the stairs, you should see Guardian Pharmacy. Take a left from there, you should be walking down the hill. Keep going until you see a road with a pedestrian crossing traffic light. You should be able to see "Hock Lee's" from there. The hawker center is in the same block, roughly behind "Hock Lee's". If you're there during a weekday lunchtime, just walk behind it until you see a hawker place with no seats available. You can see it fwhen you turn the corner, there are some tables on the pavement as well I don't know what the name is, it's so prominent I never really bothered to look at the signboard lol Added on July 26, 2010, 12:46 am QUOTE(lexiqa @ Jul 26 2010, 12:34 AM) Not when you work 18 hour days.This post has been edited by wodenus: Jul 26 2010, 12:46 AM |
Jul 27 2010, 09:50 PM
4 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
800 rental? where is the location. definitely in some hulu..
even in bangsar - 15000 for rental. places like papa rich they renting at 20k per month |
Jul 29 2010, 09:04 PM
QUOTE(normanesham @ Jul 27 2010, 10:50 PM) 800 rental? where is the location. definitely in some hulu.. as papa rich in bangsar has two floor and corner shot lot.it may worth to rent.even in bangsar - 15000 for rental. places like papa rich they renting at 20k per month http://myno1fashion.blogspot.com/ http://e-windowshop.blogspot.com/ This post has been edited by tothebest: Aug 7 2010, 03:25 AM |
Aug 5 2010, 12:30 AM
700 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Most of the chinese food stalls hired foreigners to do the cooking, etc. And the owner is not around.
The question is, how the owner able to control the revenue?? Chicken rice stall don't provide receipt. |
Aug 5 2010, 09:45 AM
QUOTE(wh0cares @ Aug 5 2010, 01:30 AM) Most of the chinese food stalls hired foreigners to do the cooking, etc. And the owner is not around. Amazingly, seems like they have bonded very well that the owner gave them his trust. Even with the use of POS(Point-of-Sales) they can cheat too, take the money give you your rice and pocket it themselves. Not everyone will ask for receipts. The business is either built on trust or there is some kind of mechanics to minimize(but not total elimination) of workers cheating on you. For chicken rice business, the owner could possibly count how many chickens are roasted for that day. I am sure when the owner is in the business long enough he will definitely know how many plates of rice can a whole chicken serve.The question is, how the owner able to control the revenue?? Chicken rice stall don't provide receipt. |
Aug 6 2010, 11:00 AM
my father dont trust other ppl as cashier unless its a family member...so right now he have his youngest son to help him...i also help a few time per month....
if family masuk poket sikit takpe...hahahahah.... |
Aug 6 2010, 01:03 PM
Aug 9 2010, 03:59 PM
10 posts Joined: May 2010 |
it depends on what they are selling and how mush the capital they use>>>
Aug 9 2010, 06:20 PM
I have a friend who is knowledgeable in the F&B industry, I used to seek his advice and guidance long before. Seems like there are many people asking me for advice now, I was wondering if I could suggest my friend to provide a one to one guide for newbies who are interested in setting up F&B business for a nominal fee. I am still considering but would like to know if anyone would be interested?
Perhaps for a fee between RM200 to RM250 maybe from A to Z. Perhaps to include a list of suppliers/business know how/Insights into other players and etc. Only for F&B business. Even if it's not for your business use it could be a place for you to learn about F&B. If many are supportive of this idea, I will proceed discussing with my friend. Any feedback or suggestions to add to the guide are welcome. thx This post has been edited by angelsinlove: Aug 9 2010, 06:26 PM |
Aug 9 2010, 06:44 PM
QUOTE(angelsinlove @ Aug 9 2010, 06:20 PM) I have a friend who is knowledgeable in the F&B industry, I used to seek his advice and guidance long before. Seems like there are many people asking me for advice now, I was wondering if I could suggest my friend to provide a one to one guide for newbies who are interested in setting up F&B business for a nominal fee. I am still considering but would like to know if anyone would be interested? Should be good. List down what to learn from A to Z. So that people can see whether it is worth the money. Perhaps for a fee between RM200 to RM250 maybe from A to Z. Perhaps to include a list of suppliers/business know how/Insights into other players and etc. Only for F&B business. Even if it's not for your business use it could be a place for you to learn about F&B. If many are supportive of this idea, I will proceed discussing with my friend. Any feedback or suggestions to add to the guide are welcome. thx |
Aug 9 2010, 07:12 PM
5,170 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: /k//k/, /k/undasang |
RM250 for A-Z? wow thats awesome!
Aug 9 2010, 07:15 PM
QUOTE(angelsinlove @ Aug 9 2010, 07:20 PM) I have a friend who is knowledgeable in the F&B industry, I used to seek his advice and guidance long before. Seems like there are many people asking me for advice now, I was wondering if I could suggest my friend to provide a one to one guide for newbies who are interested in setting up F&B business for a nominal fee. I am still considering but would like to know if anyone would be interested? This would be good. As it's more specific, things that can be found in the net are mostly in general. More over one to one guide is better than group discussion. Looking forward. Do PM me when it's available. Perhaps for a fee between RM200 to RM250 maybe from A to Z. Perhaps to include a list of suppliers/business know how/Insights into other players and etc. Only for F&B business. Even if it's not for your business use it could be a place for you to learn about F&B. If many are supportive of this idea, I will proceed discussing with my friend. Any feedback or suggestions to add to the guide are welcome. thx |
Aug 9 2010, 09:30 PM
30 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(angelsinlove @ Aug 9 2010, 06:20 PM) I have a friend who is knowledgeable in the F&B industry, I used to seek his advice and guidance long before. Seems like there are many people asking me for advice now, I was wondering if I could suggest my friend to provide a one to one guide for newbies who are interested in setting up F&B business for a nominal fee. I am still considering but would like to know if anyone would be interested? It would be of interest. Please PM me when ready.Perhaps for a fee between RM200 to RM250 maybe from A to Z. Perhaps to include a list of suppliers/business know how/Insights into other players and etc. Only for F&B business. Even if it's not for your business use it could be a place for you to learn about F&B. If many are supportive of this idea, I will proceed discussing with my friend. Any feedback or suggestions to add to the guide are welcome. thx |
Aug 9 2010, 09:54 PM
Aug 9 2010, 09:59 PM
Aug 10 2010, 02:48 PM
Aug 11 2010, 12:48 PM
Aug 11 2010, 04:10 PM
5,713 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Aug 11 2010, 08:47 PM
30 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
Nov 23 2010, 11:01 AM
154 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
Is the A-Z guide available now?
Of which, can anyone shed light on soft drink dispensing machines? Who distributes them - ready with the syrup, of course. |
Nov 23 2010, 09:30 PM
21 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
Let me tell you a story. I was at a hawker stall selling fried la la. Each plate they charge RM6. For each plate, my guess is 50% profit since how much few eggs are going to cost plus the lala? In 2 hours, I did a calculation and there are at least 30 customers altogether. The rest you can work out the math.
Jan 19 2011, 12:51 PM
17 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
It varies and depends on a number of factors.
Jan 19 2011, 05:23 PM
374 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(edyek @ Jul 3 2010, 08:34 AM) I believe there is a limit to what you sell and how much you can sell. There are only so many tables in the food court, not everyone eat yours. Considering 10-20% customer comes to the food court to eat your food is a healthy estimate figure. Example: Food court: 50 tables x 4 round per day (Morning, Lunch, Dinner and Supper) = 200 tables. (Do not include those tea time.) 200 tables x 3 person per table = 600 people. (Most people comes in 2 - 4) If your food court is near uni/college, you can put 4 people. 600 x 10% = 60 person. 60 person x RM 4 (average food) = RM 240. RM 240 x 30 days = RM 7.2k This serves as a guideline for you to estimate your sales figure. Please change the number to suit your needs. I estimate based on food court. Do not include those which park their lorry beside the restaurant or others. I noticed that most "Success" stories always revolve around food that are either easy to prepare at site or ready-made for delivery. E.g. Duck / Chicken Rice is always a popular success story. Noodles too as the soup based can be pre-made. So they are no longer bound to restaurant capacity, not bound to time (to make the meal) and excellent food QC because they can have all the time to prepare at home or before peak hour (Its their choice to control their QC and not rushed by consumers) |
Apr 15 2017, 09:07 PM
112 posts Joined: Mar 2017 |
QUOTE(pmsoo @ Jan 19 2011, 06:23 PM) I noticed that most "Success" stories always revolve around food that are either easy to prepare at site or ready-made for delivery. E.g. Duck / Chicken Rice is always a popular success story. Noodles too as the soup based can be pre-made. So they are no longer bound to restaurant capacity, not bound to time (to make the meal) and excellent food QC because they can have all the time to prepare at home or before peak hour (Its their choice to control their QC and not rushed by consumers) RM240 Not Worth it This post has been edited by JengLoong96: Apr 15 2017, 09:11 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0730sec
5 queries
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:04 AM |