126 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

HTC Desire Official Thread V3, FAQs on First Page

qwen234
post Jul 9 2010, 07:50 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Jul 9 2010, 07:48 PM)
a friend of mine got his galaxy S today n PWNs my desire badly i guess.. hahaha.. when is htc is going to be releasing Super Amoled quality screens? hmm... i hope the super LCD is the same or better than super amoled..
how badly pwned?? haha tongue.gif
jujx
post Jul 9 2010, 07:52 PM

1,398 posts

the GPU totally pwned Desire's
benny888
post Jul 9 2010, 07:53 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(linuss @ Jul 9 2010, 06:13 PM)
online banking? application or using web browser?

Added on July 9, 2010, 6:17 pmanother thing, there any possibility that android can jail break like how iphone does? I want to get paid apps but unwilling to pay..LOL

Added on July 9, 2010, 6:50 pmwhy android games can't compete with iphone? Is just about time matter? Or hardwares do not support cool games like iphones'?
Rooting is equivalent to jailbreak. If you are unwilling to pay for apps your only choice is to go and google for those ahem versions. In this forum we don't discuss such things. Anyway pity those developers , support their efforts. Imagine you are a developer yourself , how you feel if people steal or pirate your apps - the apps are really dirt cheap ranging 99sen to US2-3 bucks only. It is so flithy cheap I buy several just to test which is best suited for me. I understand most of us want freebies but since the apps are so cheap give these developers a break. Their software is not like Microsoft or Apple which will cost you hundreds or even thousand dollars

Android in the mobile scene only 1 year +. the interest in Android actually surge when Google release the Nexus. Just in the last 3 months the apps store had grown from 10000 apps to 65000 apps as of now. Apple in the biz since 2007 - they are more established. I believe in time the apps for games will build up - actually ia chicken and egg situation. If they are no supporters of Android phones - you will see limited growth of the apps. If you are on games and is important feature, I'd say for the next 6-12 months stick to the iPhone

Having use both iPhone 3G, 3Gs and present Nexus - I have only one conclusion. Android will be a strong if not equal challenger to Apple probably in another year looking at their growth. The latest ver 2.2 is fantastic and unbelievable fast esp in browsing speed and streaming downloads. During the May Google I/O conference keynote, it was revealed that the ver 2.2 will surpass all mobile smartphones and quoted will be the " fastest in the world" . The demo shows is already 3-4X faster than the iphone 3Gs. That time I was sceptical . True as said, it is indeed fast and last week testing after official release shows is even 3-4X faster than iphone4 - you can read about this all over the web now about how ver 2.2 trounce iOS4 flat. I cannot vouch for these tests against iOS4 since I do not have the iPhone 4 but I can testify the 3Gs is a NO FIGHT case against Android ver 2.2 in browsing, video and streaming downloads. Games I cannot comment as I don't play any games - old man I am !

Added on July 9, 2010, 7:58 pm
QUOTE(maliqu3 @ Jul 9 2010, 03:05 AM)
Hey guys, I have made a tutorial for rooting our beloved Desire in simpler way(easy to understand and follow, best for noob). Check out my blog:
http://smarty-money.blogspot.com/
Check in 'Downloads' section. Say "Thanks" will be appreciated.
GOOD and simple writeup. Highly recommended

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 9 2010, 07:58 PM
pluginbaby
post Jul 9 2010, 08:08 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(qwen234 @ Jul 9 2010, 07:50 PM)
how badly pwned?? haha tongue.gif
super bad la.. even htc sense is useless i guess to be considered as an advantage.. hahahaha.. im actually impressed by the contrast ratio and the clarity of super amoled.. hmm.... will the next htc be better? iPhone and Galaxy S has the best screens up to date, and they r keeping the technology for themselves.. lol
smallizard
post Jul 9 2010, 08:11 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Jul 9 2010, 08:08 PM)
super bad la.. even htc sense is useless i guess to be considered as an advantage.. hahahaha.. im actually impressed by the contrast ratio and the clarity of super amoled.. hmm.... will the next htc be better? iPhone and Galaxy S has the best screens up to date, and they r keeping the technology for themselves.. lol
thinking to get galaxy s too...
qwen234
post Jul 9 2010, 08:16 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Jul 9 2010, 08:08 PM)
htc sense not an advantage??
haha.. actually in the futuer.. i believe it will get more difficult for htc
coz the only manufacture phones and not hardware.. making them having to rely on other hardware manufacturers whom might have conflicting interest with them
pluginbaby
post Jul 9 2010, 08:23 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(smallizard @ Jul 9 2010, 08:11 PM)
thinking to get galaxy s too...
haha.. no comments on that, just go for the one u prefer better.. i still like my htc desire btw eventhough lacking of features comparing to the galaxy S..

btw.. anyone know bout battery life? which is better? the galaxy S or the desire for daily usage.. haha.. try describing in gaming + browsing mode and texting + mild surfing battery usage between these two?

QUOTE(qwen234 @ Jul 9 2010, 08:16 PM)
htc sense not an advantage??
haha.. actually in the futuer.. i believe it will get more difficult for htc
coz the only manufacture phones and not hardware.. making them having to rely on other hardware manufacturers whom might have conflicting interest with them
yeah.. people always say that sense UI is the best UI.. but i saw that touch wiz on the galaxy S is not that bad at all.. perhaps due to that super amoled screen la.. lol.. i wonder how it would be on a normal lcd or normal amoled... but i still prefer sense ui btw.. hopefully they would update sense ui to a better functionality..

i heard that HTC is sorta working on their own display.. not sure bout that.. the only we hear is that implementaion of S-LCD instead of amoled due to the shortage of Amoled production as samsung is now focusing on their own super amoled lines of phone.. S-LCD is actually owned by samsung and sony as S-LCD is a joint venture company

This post has been edited by pluginbaby: Jul 9 2010, 08:29 PM
benny888
post Jul 9 2010, 08:32 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Jul 9 2010, 08:23 PM)
haha.. no comments on that, just go for the one u prefer better.. i still like my htc desire btw eventhough lacking of features comparing to the galaxy S..
btw.. anyone know bout battery life? which is better? the galaxy S or the desire for daily usage.. haha.. try describing in gaming + browsing mode and texting + mild surfing battery usage between these two?
The Galaxy S screen is superb and is bigger at 4" vs 3.7" if that is important to you. I have tested it but as usual dunno why Samsung just cannot improve on their interface - is a slouch and not so responsive vs the Desire.
If you like to tinker w roms and having quick updates available your choice is the Desire. BTW the Desire will get update to Froyo latest by Aug/Sep while the Galaxy S by probably year end only. Gaming - I saw a video on the net - the Samsung Galaxy is faster. So all boil down to what you want to have. It is a fact of life - you cannot have the best of both world unless you buy both of them !
Lastly the Desire resale value usually higher if that is an important consideration

battery life - if you buy such stuffs , no need to be too concerned. Cannot compare to normal phones. Most people with regular usage can last a working day. Anyway one can always buy a spare battery. I have use most of the smartphones and I'd say the general rule of a working day is a good guide unless you use it mostly to browse - then maybe 3-4 hours max. And no one can give any specific answer as everyone of us use it differently. The manufacturer specs are all ideal situation - eg call hours I find has no meaning provided you dun use the phone for other things which we won't be if we end up buying such stuff

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 9 2010, 08:37 PM
sonyman
post Jul 9 2010, 08:37 PM

1,043 posts

hey guys i wanna ask, how do you install application of android from internet.
I downloaded swype for desire, unzip the file. file extension is .apk how do i install this into my desire? i copy into the sd card, but cannot access the file.. can anyone help?
benny888
post Jul 9 2010, 08:40 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Jul 9 2010, 08:37 PM)
hey guys i wanna ask, how do you install application of android from internet.
I downloaded swype for desire, unzip the file. file extension is .apk how do i install this into my desire? i copy into the sd card, but cannot access the file.. can anyone help?
Use a file manager eg Astro File Manager - is FREE. Copy the apk file into a folder eg APK in the SD card. Using Astro FM , browse to the APK folder and just open the file. It will prompt you to install
pluginbaby
post Jul 9 2010, 08:40 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 9 2010, 08:32 PM)
The Galaxy S screen is superb and is bigger at 4" vs 3.7"  if that is important to you. I have tested it but as usual dunno why Samsung just cannot improve on their interface - is a slouch and not so responsive  vs the Desire.
If you like to tinker w roms and having quick updates available your choice is the Desire. BTW the Desire will get update to Froyo latest by Aug/Sep while the Galaxy S by probably year end only. Gaming - I saw a video on the net - the Samsung Galaxy is faster. So all boil down to what you want to have. It is a fact of life - you cannot have the best of both world unless you buy both of them !
Lastly the Desire resale value usually higher if that is an  important consideration
im using froyo sense ui on my desire right now.. but i feel that the battery usage is worse than stock 2.1 desire.. waiting for a custom kernel which perhaps improves the batterylife.. the froyo sense now is the beta build of the upcoming 2.2 official update, seems so not optimized yet and of course, its a beta build. Getting similar linpack score as on the plain Froyo Rom which i tried last week.. but i did notice that on the Froyo FRF91 rom, gaming performance is much better comparing to this sense froyo. Hopefully HTC would optimize everything up and making sense ui very efficient with the advantage of froyo.. its not that bad when they r taking quite a while updating it. Im expecting a vast of improvement from the beta release im using now..

and bout the batterylife.. i actually mean how bad or good is the hummingbird over our snapdragon in terms of batterylife.. we all know that hummingbird is better but does it drains more battery too over the gpu advantage? does the galaxy S has a better batterylife than the desire (gifted that its super amoled too) ?

This post has been edited by pluginbaby: Jul 9 2010, 08:43 PM
sonyman
post Jul 9 2010, 08:45 PM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 9 2010, 08:40 PM)
Use a file manager eg Astro File Manager - is FREE. Copy the apk file into a folder eg APK in the SD card. Using Astro FM , browse to the APK folder and just open the file. It will prompt you to install
thank you so much... i will try now

Added on July 9, 2010, 9:09 pmi tried, it installed, i turn the settings on but it dont work.... sad

This post has been edited by sonyman: Jul 9 2010, 09:09 PM
CKHong
post Jul 9 2010, 09:33 PM

1,380 posts

Dont forget to tick setting-application-unknown source
noprob
post Jul 9 2010, 09:57 PM

1,982 posts

I'm using a maxis Value plan with supplimentary family line .. which allow certain quantity sms / mms send and receive for free per monthly .

However , IINM I found that whenever i dw a mms pic attachment even fr my supplimentary line , it uses the KB fr data mobile internet .

johnsontys
post Jul 9 2010, 09:57 PM

175 posts

Guys,

I have a question about the Desire. My friend send me an SMS which have an Vcard attachment. I think it is those sending the contact via sms from her Nokia phone. When I receive the sms, I click on the vcard and it gives me a message that the vcard has been imported successfully.

However, I cannot find the contact via PEOPLE, in fact I do not know how to actually "export" that vcard to a contact. I used to be able to just save it as another contact when I use a Nokia phone but I am new to this Android ...need help

chiahau
post Jul 9 2010, 10:08 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Jul 9 2010, 02:25 PM)
I notice quite a handful Desire owner is eyeing the Class-10 microSD card.  Is there a real difference for the different class - 4, 6 or 10 in a Desire?  I thought only high megapixel DSLR with fast continuing shooting need a fast SD card?  Is there a comparison test published on the web, especially for Froyo as the apps will be running from the microSD card?

Getting one tomorrow.  So may grab a Class-4 8/16GB card to accompany it.  If the difference is noticeable for Class-10, then I might hold the purchase of the microSD card until Froyo is official released by HTC for Desire and when Class-10 is more common and thus cheaper.
Lol.
I do not know.
I am wondering too if there is any significant different >"<
Just wanna see feedback from pros..
EpsilonStar
post Jul 9 2010, 10:27 PM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Jul 9 2010, 10:08 PM)
Lol.
I do not know.
I am wondering too if there is any significant different >"<
Just wanna see feedback from pros..
I'm having a hard time to find class 6 microsd...
noprob
post Jul 9 2010, 10:32 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(EpsilonStar @ Jul 9 2010, 10:27 PM)
I'm having a hard time to find class 6 microsd...
Few days ago , i went to Lyn . Only SriComputer got it !
TSmikelee
post Jul 9 2010, 11:51 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 9 2010, 08:32 PM)
battery life - if you buy such stuffs , no need to be too concerned. Cannot compare to normal phones. Most people with regular usage can last a working day. Anyway one can always buy a spare battery. I have use most of the smartphones and I'd say the general rule of a working day is a good guide unless you use it mostly to browse - then maybe 3-4 hours max. And no one can give any specific answer as everyone of us use it differently. The manufacturer specs are all ideal situation - eg call hours I find has no meaning provided you dun use the phone for other things which we won't be if we end up buying such stuff
Agreed and get a car charger too if you travel alot.
qqmeng
post Jul 10 2010, 12:07 AM

1,098 posts

I hv both the iPhone n htc desire. A plus for desire when comes to batt life is tht I can always hv a spare batt. While my iPhone can't

126 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0264sec    1.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:02 PM